Rent WWE: Legends of Wrestlemania for PS3
view large frontback

WWE: Legends of Wrestlemania

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.5

2678 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Could have been better, but overall lots of FUN

posted by jamie23 (SYRACUSE, NY) Mar 24, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I'll keep this short and sweet. The game is a must have if you grew up with these "LEGENDS". It brings back lots of great memories of my childhood and before you "RELIVE" or "REWRITE" or "REDEFINE" WWF history you get to watch a re-cap or summary of the match you are about to compete in. It is a great feature to the game and helps refresh your memory of what actually went down. By the time you finish relive, rewrite and redefine you will have completed about 20 classic WWF matches and with the exception of MACHO MAN matches (he isn't in the game because he's a tool) they didn't miss any big matches. The gameplay is very simple and any two year old could play the game. Other than having a little fun with it and bringing back some memories there isn't much to this game. If it was built 100% on the smackdown vs raw engine it would have been much better, but beggars can't be choosers. Excellent roster with over 40 legends/manages in the game and I love how when they put legends in the game such as Undertaker and HHH they went back to the "old" characters and didn't put the new look HHH or Undertaker in it. You get the classic dead guy with Paul Bearer shaking his fat cheeks and you get the prissy Hunter Hearst Helmsley. These are just two examples. The game is worth buying just to see the Ultimate Warrior run down the isle and roid rage on the poor ropes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Worth a Rent for the Wrestlemania Mode

posted by Solrina (CANDLER, NC) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I, pretty much like everyone else, rented this game for what was believed to be, and certainly was, an easy platinum. But even though I played the game for barely 10 hours, it did have at least one thing going for it.

The idea of the game was brilliant. Take some of the biggest stars of WWE's history and put all of them in one game. Unfortunately, the game itself seemed very slapped together. The create-a-legend mode was average at best, the graphics nothing special, the commentary annoying, and the gameplay boring after about 20 minutes of button mashing.

The Legend mode was simple enough, beat 10 guys (38 in the largest tier) to become...well a "Legend." It was very easy to beat and not worth playing after you'd beaten all the tiers.

The Exhibition mode was fun for a while with a friend, and there was lots of match types, including the always fun Royal Rumble. But that too gets old quick.

No, the real fun was the Wrestlemania Tour mode, were you are replaying classic matches of WM's past, but with a twist. In Relive, you are copying a match, having to preform the same moves and events that actually happened, the most fun (and challenging) being Stone Cold v. The Rock at WM 15. In Rewrite you get a chance as a loser to gain some level of revenge by changing the outcome. Finally in Redefine you can chose either wrestler and have a stipulation that never happened. These modes are very fun and extremely nostalgic for those of us that remember some of the old days fondly.

Even better is the video entrances used before these matches that give you insight into the feud in case you did not know, and that was crazy fun to watch.

The game is a very, very short trip down memory lane towards your inevitable platinum, and while it's worth a rent, it'll be out of your memory quickly, as you rush to your next game.

At least I got to play as Greg "The Hammer" Valentine for a while, and that made it worth my time.

5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Grows on you

posted by nes2sin (VANCOUVER, WA) May 25, 2009

Member since May 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game seemed pretty basic at first, but after i got the hang of the controls, it got a lot better. If you like wwf wrestling, this game recreates 80's style well. the trophys are also very easy to get, and mostly silver/gold. I got the platinum in 2.5 days of renting this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Legends of Wrestlemania PS3

posted by Mastroconn (SPRINGFIELD, MA) May 15, 2009

Member since May 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Good basic wrestling game. Like the throwback controls however the game modes are far too few and need alot of expansion. The create a legend and create an entrance were fun and pretty wide open as far as creativity. Solid game with a good roster but just misses on a few points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Good, Bad and well that is it

posted by allisean05 (SOMERVILLE, MA) Mar 27, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you are expecting to pick up this game and it handle like S Vs R 2009, are you going to be in for a huge surprise. The game play is very, very different. The grapple style is gone. Now there are teired grappling. The higher the tier the stornger the move. They have a health bar which shows how easy it would be for you to kick out of a pin. Overall I would kind of describe it as a dumbed down wrestling video game that is still fun to play.
It has its great parts do not get me wrong.
The graphics of the game are really cool. Seeing Andre The Giant walk down to the ring brought back goosebumps. As well as seeing Mr. Perfect, Rick Rude and The Big Boss Man.
Also what I love about this game is they have the orginal music for all the wrestlers. When Hulk Hogan comes out, "Real American" is playing. When Piper takes to the ring you can hear those bag pipes.
What I also love is the movies. Before you Relive, Rewrite or Redefine great matches, there is a short movie that brings you back to those days before WrestleMania and they even show you the outcome. Personally I loved playing tour mode, just to unlock the movies.
Another great thing is the import mode from S vs. R 2009. You can have "The Big Show" and Big John Stud Vs Andre the Giant and Kane.
A bad thing is when you import any created character you spent hours upon hours honing your style and moves, that is all gone. I had to redo my move set for my CAW (Create-A-Wrestler). "The Fink" does not even announce the name you assigned to your CAW in S vs R 2009.
While I am still testing out most of the features and matches I do find it fun.
The battle royal and Royal Rumble is ok. There is really no big moves to be had in the ring during these matches. It's mostly a punch and kick festival to knock the opponent to the ring ropes and then push, kick and shove him out of the ring. They did keep it that if you eliminate someone you gain some health back.
I do recommend this game for some fun.
Have fun gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing game for fans and non-fans

posted by GOTWLGF (LAKELAND, FL) Jun 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing, I mean it is always fun playing as current superstars in WWE SVR, but to play as Classic Superstars who mad ethem is even better. The story mode is amazing and full of hours of fun. I believe even non-WWE fans will love it. They won't understand much about the history, but it is still fun to bash someones head in with a chair. The rating I gave it is a little over done, but the extra star is for it being a WWE game, which are # 1 in my heart.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

WWE: Legends of Wrestlemania

posted by jtaliento (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is very weak, they should had made it like the rest of smackdown vs raw. The only thing i like about wwe legends of wrestlemania was the import of smackdown vs raw 2009 in to legends of wrestlemania, I fought the big show vs big john studd, etc... And their was a few legends that was not add, what happened to ricky steamboat, george the animal steel.. But it was fair...I hope next time they could add more features.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

legends of wrestlemania

posted by pinion (EMINENCE, KY) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Gameplay sucks. Much of the game consists of timing of button pushes with on screen prompts. Special moves are limited. Crowd and arena are highly pixelized at times. When playing as road warriors special move cuts out and you don't get to see the closeline from the top rope. Multiplayer is weak. And the worst sin of all there is no macho man randy savage. WEAK, WEAK, WEAK. So glad i didn't spend 60 bucks on this game. I feel jipped that i rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Really Bad, Had So Much Potential

posted by Nick1292 (BRONX, NY) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

To keep this review short and simple, this game could've been great but several things went wrong.

# 1
The game's controls suck. It feels really awkward for a fighting game.

# 2
The fighting system is the worst. The game feels very repetitive because each fighter has barely any moves.

# 3
The game is based on this dumb chaining system where you chain about three moves together by quickly pressing the correct button. It seems something very childish and not something that should be in a wrestling game. It's also how you get ready to use your finisher (and it is even used during your finisher).

# 4
The game feels so repetitive because of the stupid chaining system and the lack of moves.

#5
The camera when you are in the ring feels so awkward, ESPECIALLY if you are coming from svr games. It is just weird because it is too close to the fighters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It was 1989 all over again

posted by evovled (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) May 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Being 34 years old and saw many of these event live...I honestly had more fun watching the fils and videos than actually playing the game!...From bobby the brain to stone cold this game served more like an encyclopedia than an athletic competition...the graphics were right on, all the voices were accuarate and hearing gorilla monsoon and all those clips from pipers pit and the snake pit made me wanna go and DDT someone like in high school...I acheieve all the trophies in like 3 days play...but when the price gets to 20 bucks, i will purchase this nostagic game for sure..The create a legend was good and the attention to detail was brilliant...the managers acted and looked like thry did in the days..and I was hoping Macho Man could be unlocked somehow but i digress..RIP ANDRE THE GIANT! it was refreshing to see you again!..Being truthful here, its hard for me to be consistent with this game since it touches my childhood so much...If you are in your 30's or 40's and somewhat watched the WWF(in my time lol), you ge this game and enjoy the best part of the game in my opinion THE SOUNDTRACK!..as curt henning would say "PERFECT"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GAME JUST PLAIN SUCKS!!!

posted by RAMSRULE (FORT SMITH, AR) Mar 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Let me start buy saying i had high expectations for this game.
#1 the graphics are last gen.
#2 the sound is just horrible, ive heard reg nintendo games that sound better
#3 the button system is the worst ive ever seen in a wrestleing game heck anygame.
#4very repetitive and i only played like 6 matches!
#5 Online is the same very repetitive matches last about 1 min and all everybody does is punch and kick for 30 sec do one stupid move and your out for the count.
wouldnt waste my time even renting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointing!

posted by Spaniard (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 7, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

After playing the game WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 I wanted more, I rented this game with good expectations after SvR09. I also looked forward to the legends such as "The Rock" and "Hollywood Hulk Hogan" which they did have. Unfortunately the graphics to this game were terrible a 1/5 in the graphics sense. The controls nothing like SvR09 they were a jumble. It seems to me as if they made this game in 1 week. Just wasn't even worth having it more than one day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WWE: Legends of Wrestlemania

posted by RAYRAY (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 2, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

for starts i was really excited about this game coming out but boy was i disaponted the controls for this game are horrible by all means they would have did alot more better taking the controls from raw vs smackdown 2009 or which ever you prefer and putting them into this game but the thing that kills me is the button control nobody wants to smash thier buttons our maybe you do i dont the grappleing system from 09 is way better this game is wack in my eyes i would not have wasted a pick on this game if i would have previewd it before i got it you cant even control your running path

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

legends does it suck or rock?

posted by jasonlee42 (LAWTON, OK) May 14, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

not enought to do and no story to it, atleast not for my create legends even tho i can import svr 09 wrestlers create and real the created ones lose their move set and entrance so you have to remake it, i think the games sucks, and their just no way aroun d it stick with svr 09 its better atleast tell svr 2010 comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not what I was hoping for...

posted by jhouse5848 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Apr 22, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

To start with I don't watch wrestling and haven't for a long time (1998 was the last time I remember). I used to own WCW Nitro for my N64 and really enjoyed that game.

When I saw this Wrestlemania game out for the PS3 I was excited because it's always fun to play wrestling with friends.

My biggest gripe about the game is the controls. I can't tell you how confused I was trying to get the controls to do what the Tutorial menu tells me they did. Every time I would try and perform a move according to the Tutorial something else seemed to happen and that was even with something as simple as a grapple. I was so disgusted with this and it totally made the game unenjoyable to me. I played 4-5 regular matches against the computer as well as a tag-team, ladder match, and a king of the ring match. The latter was by far the most enjoyable of the games.

The graphics were okay and the amount of wrestlers included was adequate. It was cool to see all the old names in their along with some newer ones.

I wouldn't recommend this game unless you enjoy wasting time trying to figure out how to make a game do what it's supposed to. Controls should be easy, they over complicated things and took the fun out of the game. That's my $0.02 anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Easy and Playable

posted by flclfanman (CHICAGO, IL) Jul 11, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its your standard wrestling game with pretty tight controls. If you're getting this for Ps3 the trophies and platinum are also easy to get (1-2 days max). Give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok

posted by smoove23 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like the selection of wrestlers they have and the presentation of the game is on point from my outlook but the fighting itself which is what the game is supposed to be about just isn't that good. You can punch and kick so hopefully you like that but other then that the game was ok worth a rent if your a wrestling fan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

legends of Wrestlmania

posted by Supercold (CONCORD, NH) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The only thing redeeming about this game is that you can upload smackdown vs raw 2009 and use those charachters and your own. The movements and controllers might as well be 16 bit. Dont rent or buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

worst wrestling game ever!!!!

posted by royboy8 (AMSTERDAM, NY) Jun 12, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game play is horrible. rediculously slow...just all around worse wrestling game i have ever played. characters are exactly what wrestling fans were hoping for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

WWE Nostalgia!

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) May 27, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I grew up in the good old days when the WWE was fun. Yes, I was a Hulkamaniac from day 1 and it was great to relive all those great moments in WWE history. However, the game has many flaws. The graphics look nice and the characters are well animated. The controls are simple, yet the collision detection is horrible and the moves are very limited per character. It gets a little stale after a few hours. I can never understand why they cannot make a wrestling game the uses the same control scheme as the N64 WWE: No Mercy game. The standard modes are available and to up the Nostalgia factor, there is even a mode where you can relive those great old Wrestlemania moments. You even get the option to change the outcome. Lots of create a wrestler options and you can even import your guys from WWE: Smackdown Vs. Raw 2009. All the legends have their signature moves and special moves available. Really, though not much strategy is involved in winning a match and its funny how everyone can body slam Andre the Giant. Great fun for a while, but loses its luster after several hours. Definitely worth a rental for fans of old school WWE. But one thing is missing, where is Macho Man Randy Savage?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I really couldn't get into it.

posted by jayrocko21 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 18, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I heard that WWE was coming out with Legends of Wrestlemania video game I was stoked, at least until it came. I received the game and started to play and it just lost me. The controls are confusing, and a lot of legends that i was looking forward to were not featured in the game. I can only say that i was a little disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wrestling Game Gone Wrong

posted by MRshaytoon (SUNLAND, CA) Apr 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THQ makes great games, but letting other developers make different wrestling games for them is just ridiculous. This game was just horrible, the controls were very annoying. The only credit I will give the game is that the superstars pictures looked great hah.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

fire the creator of the grapple system

posted by richmarks (LEWISTOWN, PA) Mar 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i really like the graphics and most of the create mode but the grapple system for the game is buy far the dumbest i have ever played it makes the whole game the worse wrestling game to ever come out i really hope THQ fires who ever came up with this idea

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

booooooo!

posted by gamermania (PALESTINE, TX) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

when i first got this game i thought it would be fun but they lacked info saying it was a arcade style game if you dont like arcade syle games i suggest you stay with games like wwe vs raw 09 but i think arcade style games should stay at arcades not consoles,but graphics were ok and you shouldint have to spend 60$ over a arcade game on console metal gear solid 4 cost that much well i hope they make a better one next year if they do but i was just speaking for myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

VERY GOOD GAME 4 A DIE HARD WRESTLING FAN!!!

posted by dxrules1 (Worcester, MA) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I LOVE HOW U CAN B THE LEGENDS LIKE STONE COLD, ANDRE,HULK HOGAN,AND ULTIMATE WARRIOR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AND I LOVE HOW YOU CAN REWRITE AND RELIVE THE PAST GOOD MATCHES FROM THE PAST WRESTLEMANIAS!!!! OVERALL THE BEST WWE GAME MADE 2 DATE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse