Rent WWE 12 for PS3
view large frontback

WWE 12

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.6

2440 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

WOO WOO WOO!!!

posted by GreedSama (WESTLAND, MI) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

21 out of 29 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

Gameplay:Reinventing its iconic SvR series, WWE ’12 boasts all-new Predator Technology, which provides the most fluid and realistic animations ever seen in a WWE video game.Also the game have some better controls then last couple off games they are now similar to No Mercy Game.Also the .A.I is so much better in this game.

WWE UNIVERSE 2.0:Is this mode is highly improve.This time around you can push who you want and really push them, not just have top guys play hand the belt off to one other.After each match a wrestler earns momentum pushing them up the rank and towards the titles..all the titles.So now you can push Zack Ryder for the WWE Championship without moving/releasing big names like HHH from a brand.

RTWM:The mode is now longer people asked for it and now it's longer they added other year onto the storylines.You get to play as HHH,Sheamus, & Your CAW. It's plays like last year but bigger and better and with more cutscenes.

Others:You can make your own arena.Everything from the last game makes the return in this one you can edit move-sets and mostly everything.

Overall it a better looking game then last year which is something. It just feel like you're part of a real WWE event.Take care spike your hair.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

wwe 12

posted by 6scotty (SAINT CLAIR, MO) Dec 1, 2011

Member since May 2011

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

i would say its alright there wasnt that much new in the game but the story mode was cool how it blends together like a show.the controls are different which make things frustrating a first it takes a little getting hang of. there are new moves and areas which are cool but i like last one better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

WWEnormous - WWReversals

posted by StarRaven (LAKE WORTH, FL) Nov 28, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

First off, this game is HUGE. I literally spent the first 3 days just going through all the creation options and there's still some I haven't done yet. Not to mention the gigantic WWE Universe and a decent RTWM Mode. So much content!

Biggest flaw, the reversals! This isn't the first time this is an issue for the series but man, even if you adjust the AI settings, it's extremely aggrivating. It literally makes the harder difficulties unplayable.

The graphics are great and I like the new gameplay. It feels a little too slow, but it's a better pace than the lightning speed the last SVR games became. The grappling system is closer to the No Mercy days, but still not as good in my opinion.

The series gets closer and closer to recreating the amazingness captured in No Mercy but never quite gets over the hill. The day it does, this series may a perfect game.

If you wanna have fun, throw it on easy, throw the AI Reversals on the lowest setting and don't take it too seriously.

Note: Player reversals use the R2 trigger and the imput is horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

One glaring problem.

posted by Zee7sms (COLUMBIA, TN) Dec 2, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

WWE 12 re-invented itself with this new addition and for the most part everything was improved. Creation is one of the top aspects of this game; it allows you to create your own wrestlers and really meshes it into the WWE well. You feel as if your creation is truly on the roster.

Where WWE 12 fails and honestly it's a HUGE problem for me, is the game play and controls. What I thought was a simpler control scheme turned out to be the same with actions being on a different button placement from the Raw versus Smackdown series. At first I was losing every match, smashing buttons in hopes that the wrestler I was playing would do something, anything!

Even after reducing the difficulty and reversal settings the game was very difficult. Just not in a fun, challenging way. It was painful and honestly once the AI started beating me around, never giving me a chance to breathe I didn't want to push myself to win, I just wanted to go back to making cool entrances.

"Button mashing aggravation" perfectly describes the game play. It's the one issue that really holds this game back because the rest of the game is full of great improvements. The good news here? There's always next year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Doesn't cut it

posted by jasntara (FORT STEWART, GA) Nov 25, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

18 out of 31 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

This is by far the worst one yet. The controls are a lot worse then the past ones. You can sit there and try to counter all day long hitting the buttons at the correct time but it still will not counter. Even on the easy setting it is still very difficult to play. Why put that on there when it doesnt work? Was looking forward to playing this title due to the enjoyment from the past games. Played it twice and it is already back in the mailbox. Very dissappointed in this game. Would not even recommend renting, just dont waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Has potential but thats about it...

posted by canadadry6252 (MELROSE, MA) Nov 24, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

11 out of 20 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

If your renting this game be aware you need an online pass, which I was not aware of. I'm not rating this game based on that. Moves,graphics,entrances, all are well done, and most likely the online play is well done aswell. What i'm saying is if you get this game you are only getting it to play w your friends or online because the single player mode is PUTRID. I can't even comprehend the fact that you can't select your character for this mode. YES, you heard that right. Road to wrestlemania starts you with 1 guy then moves you to another and you finish w a 3rd. Thats it, pretty much if you don't like any of those characters and you want any kind of customization even as basic as selecting a wrestler, don't get this game. It was fun to select your wrestler and go through the fights to try to win the title even if it got repetitve the it gave you the feeling YOU were going for the title. The same way every single game you've ever played is, your trying to win the race, your trying to save the princess. I just don't get it, if they just had the same old single player from every other year, this game is a solid 8. Nevermind if they just improved it but kept the most basic of all features, selecting your wrestler. Now for renters, pretty much if you want any kind of fun or excitement from this game you have to play exibition matches with weapons, etc etc. or against your friends (just not online).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

dont believe the haters

posted by mhug86 (SOUTH CHATHAM, MA) Nov 27, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ok so the controls take some getting used to but the matches have a natural flow to them! i had alberto del rio beat and then the momentum swung and he won the match. AND I WAS HAPPY! I havent been challenged in wrestling game in a long time more like ever. universe 2.0 is improved and you can have demolition vs l.o.d. nuff said

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wwe 12 is cool

posted by tbl (VILLA RICA, GA) Dec 7, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i played wwe12 in best buy it was fun i heard about the road to wrestlemania its cool and about the finisher stopping and the stopping move too. all of wwe12 is cool plus the create an area.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Simply put... this game blows!!!

posted by dredubb26 (SEMINOLE, FL) Dec 29, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was as excited as anyone for the new WWE game to come out, and unfortunately this is what I was looking forward to. A game that barely looks better than last years game and plays worse than any WWE game that I have ever played... EVER!!! This game is so bad that I'm surprised that one of the FAQ's on this game isn't "why does this game suck so bad?". It's awkward, jerky, the cpu can reverse pretty much anything you do, and the interface is unrealistic. I was able to suplex the Big Show with Ted DiBiase. Are you effing serious??? I'm glad I got it through Gamefly before actually shelling out the money for this garbage. I literally played it for about 45 minutes and it's already on it's way back to where it came from. I didn't even bother with the "career" mode because I'm sure it's just as bad if not worse than the rest of this pixelated vomit they call a video game. If I were anyone of any power at Titan Entertainment, I would be ashamed to have my company associated with this installation of the series. I have played some pretty horrible games in my life, and this one is definitely in the top 5. As I mentioned before, this game blows and blows hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WWE '12

posted by Cr4zyK1d326 (SHAWNEE, OK) Nov 30, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is very fun but it is slighty glitchy. You still can get into the crowd. When you throw someone off the ladder you float in mid-air.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WWE 12

posted by caaaarol (WATERLOO, NY) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

WWE 12 The game is perfect it was the best game I have ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Let Down

posted by gfive128 (NEW YORK, NY) Jan 14, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

control system suck but the graphics are the best

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bigger, Badder, Better? No, not really.

posted by TheUndertaker85 (LOVELAND, CO) Jan 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

WWE '12 has been running by the slogan "Bigger, Badder, Better" but needless to say, it's really not.

The new controls are a mess. Things tend to be more complicated than they really need to be plus honestly, did we really need another new control setup anyway? Seems like every time people get used to a "new contol setup" another one is on the way.

The in ring action in general is a pretty big mess too. I encountered numerous glitches and problems that you would've thought they fixed from last year. Superstars teleporting to different areas around the arena, opponents standing back up pretty quickly even with a "high impact" move, jittery submission system, weapons not working appropriately, PRE-DETERMINED ENDINGS IN ROAD TO WRESTLEMANIA, messy counter system that three quarters of the time either doesn't count your counter correctly or AI fighters countering left and right, even when in the worst conditions...

These messes keep coming. WWE '12 is actually the first WWE title since Shut Your Mouth that I have no desire in owning and didn't even bother to ask for Christmas for, even though at that point it'd be free... Most people can't complain about free and in most cases I can't either, but this IS an exception.

The only forgiving factor about WWE '12 is the Create-An-Arena. Customization of arenas is something WWE game players have wanted for quite some time and it's good to see that delivered. Still even that has its shortcomings such as no way to customize arena lighting or change the design/layout of the ramp or stage.

All in all there's just too much wrong with this title and honestly, I think THQ should've took the loss of a title for the year and actually took more time to put into this title. With all the time they claimed they put into this title(Multiple years working on engine and physics) it really shows they either used that time badly or didn't actually use it at all.

Very sad day for a WWE game player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

waste of time

posted by jamho1978 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Dec 18, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Most horrible wwe game ever created wwe should fire thq if you hate button mashers stay away thq did the complete opposite of what they said they were going to do they shoulda kept the analog grappling in stead of going back to something from 10 years ago
don't get this game stick with wwe smack down vs raw 11 and hopefully thq changes this head ache and brings back the analog grapple system for good beginning next year i'm a huge smackdown game fan i've owned every single one at one time even the here comes the pain grappling wasn't bad i just don't like this grapple system cause you can't do anything and it sucks cause once the computer hits you you can't reverse or anything cause the computer ai is cheap somtimes does same move over & over

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

R U Kidding?

posted by the_jakeman (PORTAGE, IN) Nov 27, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Don't waste your time. Horrible game! Go with Raw vs. Smackdown if you're looking for a wrestling game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by johnkid (TEMPLE HILLS, MD) Nov 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I love this game the ai has improved and the road to wrestlemania is great. also the universe mode is
awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

controls suck

posted by Boom2398 (SAN JOSE, CA) Dec 11, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

All i have to say is controlls suckkkk!!!worst SVR ever...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WWE 12

posted by ortizandres585j (GARDNERVILLE, NV) May 19, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is the best in all of wwe games and the best there will ever be in history. I haven' played this game before but it looks like a good game i bet all of u think it is a good game. I think this game will be the last one to ever be made in the history of the WWE games. I hope u guys like this game. Daniel bryan sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

First try......Last Try

posted by gocockssc (WEST COLUMBIA, SC) Feb 2, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I am new to PS3 and I was really geared towards getting WWE 12 right off of the bat.....got it today, and I played with it for about an hour before I decided that I hated this game........What a huge let down......I felt like I was playing an old version of RvsS.....but the controls had changed to the point that the game is unplayable.....VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by lilmatt420 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Jan 30, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

These games havent been decent since "here comes the pain",this is by far the worst one yet,at least i could get through the older ones.The story,gameplay its just bloody awful just like the wwe these days. The only one i would recomend this 2 is a 5 year old.UFC UNDISPUTED 3 GET THAT IF YOU WANNA IGHT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

really?

posted by Sarasota_Don (SARASOTA, FL) Jan 28, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

they call this a game, I call it possibly one of the worst things that has even been passed off as a game. I would literally rather throw my PS3 out of a window then try to play this game again. in every aspect this game deserves a zero or less.
THQ, I will never, and I mean never by another piece of crud that you produce. You made a mockery of wrestling with this game and destroyed what little reputation you had.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

weak

posted by kooleykool (SUMMIT, IL) Jan 26, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i guess if you have other ppl to play it with itll be good
but if your single player person i repeat do not get this game
the story modes(theres 3) that last you like a hour long with the same thing happening in each you fight the loser gets mad and then you fight them in the backstage the controls are simple but it feels less effective i found myself only doing 3 moves until i got my finisher and if you dont watch it on tv like me you wont even know who is on the game wwe has changed so much i wouldnt waste my time renting it
and the computer AI is soo upsetting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Let Down

posted by Redfren (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jan 11, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

With all the chances this game had to be great it really let me down this time. The game is almost the same as 11 with very little difference. One of the most noticeable changes in this game is the simplistic control system. The graphics are nearly identical and the story road mode is even worst then last time. Even the custom character options are the same. After all the hype I can only say it let me down this time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wwe 12

posted by noah2009 (BRONX, NY) Jan 11, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

dumm

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

controls are horrible woo woo woo you know it!!

posted by larafan (CORONADO, CA) Dec 24, 2011

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Don't buy this game. I'm about to return it. Controls re confusing and the reversals are horrible. Best part is the creation modes and being able to upload your favorite music for entrances. Game play is same as before, nothing new and the RTW is lame. I'm a tag champ with the Big Show on Universe but, still sending this back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse