Rent WWE 12 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

WWE 12

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS3
GF Rating
6.9

3257 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not the best but a great attempt

posted by Sangrinn (NORTH ANDOVER, MA) Dec 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As my title says this isn't the greatest game for a few reasons. This game is decent but addictive. Universe mode is addicting once all is said and done. I read reviews where people say you cant get rid of the excess belts, first off you have to put them on someone you never intend on using, in my case Yosi Tatsu. I had WCW Nitro on Monday and WWE Main Event (created arena) on Friday. Things here can be fixed, Draft was set on but never happened without Raw and Smackdown. Aside of my rant here are the problems.

Problems.
Game play- while addictive it's still pretty bad, you have to tap/hold buttons for different moves and the console doesn't recognize this all the time.
If you interfere in a match, the one you are trying to help will attempt to attack you, even if they are on your team. The AI can break up moves in a ridiculous fashion and that has to go. In some cases this can be a good thing but in most scenarios I have been in it hasn't.
Road to Wrestlemania... Enough of the 3 on 1s, I can't tell you how overwhelming this becomes when this happens 3 or 4 times in a row..

Create an Arena- Ok this was awesome for the first attempt. The creativity is great and excellent execution
however it would be nice to change the stage to where as some arena's don't have the stage and also use a retro setup where there are retro logos.
Create a design- whatever this was called still this could use a lot of work. It would be nice to import a design.

Overall 7/10 the gameplay is addicting and where I pointed out some of the problems there are many positives. Create an entrance video is an example. The presentation is epic. Really looks like your watching it on TV. There are cut scenes in Universe mode.You can injure people. I've had Kevin Nash come back from injury just to hunt me down after a title defense which was a 5 star match in my opinion. It's really a game to enjoy but has promise for future releases.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Probably Biased but still....

posted by thadarksandman (ATTLEBORO, MA) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

28 year fan of WWE, and played every wrestling game since "Wrestlemania" on NES. I liked the SvR series but it had gotten a tad stale.

WWE 12 is a complete overhaul. The Campaign is solid, good story but a little aggrivating with some objectives.

The controls are much more intuitive. those of you who mash buttons will find that the game doesn't do the same move 50 times in a row, but it responds to the situation(how damaged opponent is, where in the ring you are).

The physics is spot on, and you can even interupt moves when you are the odd man out, a feature long overdue. You can also target limbs with the target system, which is great when you need a submission. Previous games some wrestlers would have an arm submission but no moves to work the arm, creating unwinnable submission matches.

Other than that, the customization, and Universe mode make this the greatest wrestling game EVER(No Mercy is overrated anyway, get over it.) Customize wrestlers, rings, videos, stables and even create your own virtual WWE brand, and run it as the GM. Make storylines, share your creations online..........this is more a sandbox game than people will realize.

Multiplayer is a lot less laggy than previous editions as well.

Surpassed all my expectations. SvR moved WWE into the next gen graphically, but this is the first true next gen WWE game, not just last gen with nice visuals.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

havnt had it long but

posted by jeep_guy89 (EDMOND, OK) May 19, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

in the "road to wrestlemaina" feature it seemed like i was always fighting 3 or more guys making it very hard and annoying to win matches. seemed cool at first but then realized that i was going to have to try many times to win the championship. this is my first wwe game ive played in a while. though alot of things are cool and i have enjoyed. the story line makes the rivalries intense.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Frustrating

posted by Greenlantern100 (MILLERSVILLE, MD) Feb 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Doesn't look bad but be ready to have all your moves reversed no matter what setting you put the game on. Also the enemy AI delivers the same moves to you again and again, edge tornado DDTed me prob ten times in one match. Even when I get the reversal right they somehow still get the upper hand. Wanted to smash my controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wwe 12?

posted by mooredarrenc87 (BELLEVIEW, FL) Jan 21, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

what has happen to wwe not only has wwe gotten worse over the years but so has their games. Everything about this game is horrible. They need to scrap everything and start from scratch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This is absolutely terrible

posted by cov331 (FREMONT, OH) Jun 9, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I played this game for about ten minutes before I just broke my Xbox, this horrible game took just fighting completly out of it and added nonsense controls, with one button I could do 18 different things..... For more complicated than this game ever had to be! I would not recommend this game to anybody!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Average Game

posted by BigTex86 (TYLER, TX) May 9, 2012

Member since May 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

To start, I have not played a WWE game in a long time, so this review is based on the game experience I had. This game was pretty average in its mechanics, especially the 'reverse' system, which I could never seem to get to work for me. Graphics were pretty good, which is why my rating wasn't lower. It can be fun customizing and creating your own stuff, but at some points it seems too much with too great a focus instead of gameplay. The story modes are fairly week and boring, and the XBOX Live features are unavailable for rentals unless you pay for them. I am a WWE fan, but this game just didn't really do it for me compared to the fun I used to have with older wrestling games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Game Informer explains perfect

posted by dragon_pendulum (MILLERSBURG, PA) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Had trouble playing this game and could not figure out why. I read the review in game informer and it explained it perfectly with a 5.5 rating. "Concept, reboot the long-running series with one of the most frustrating story modes in years. Graphics, The new 'Predator Technology' makes little difference, but character models are still spot-on. Sound, Michael Cole and Jerry Lawler seem to be watching entirely different matches, frequently spouting lines at inappropriate times. Playability, Glitchy gameplay sometimes causes you to restart matches. A.I. gets confused and attacks friendly characters, matches rely too heavily on hitting brief reversal windows, and some finishers won't connect even if you perform them correctly."-stated in Game Informer #225. Playability is exact, you can keep fighting and trying to do finishers but you will get nowhere without reversals.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST WRESTLING GAME PERIOD.

posted by walkerin (DETROIT, MI) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

11 out of 21 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

The is the sexiest wrestling game since smackdown: here the pain and that telling you something. this is a must have if you love games and a wrestling fan!!! THQ did a great job developing this game and I can't wait until the dlc comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a joke!

posted by INSAN3J3D1 (HIALEAH, FL) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Wrestling games used to be fun.. This is horrific.. Horrible controls, horrible graphics and terrible gameplay!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

awful

posted by Felesar (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) May 22, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

mechanics are terrible. first time you get put in a submission hold, it's over. do not recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I never thought i would say this

posted by Lazrus2000 (TACOMA, WA) Dec 3, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have been playing wwe games since the N64 have owned every previous Smackdown and was aways excited for a new one UNTIL NOW.

Lets start with the control method basically it sux the older control methods at least made sense. This one is clumsy and poorly thought out.

Road to Wrestlemania was always a high point in this game becauseyou had a choice of 5 different fully voiced scenarios. Now there is one choice and you play Shamus I mean really?

One of the points of CAS was to use them in the AS Road to Wrestlemania.

You can now only use them in Universe and half the Superstars you have to play Road to Wrestlemania to unlock. ie Edge HBK Vader.

Compared to wwe12 the TNA game was genius and we all know how bad that was.

Even the collision mechanics are bad on this the block prompt appears for a flash and if you dont hit it right you dont block.

I was playing the Raw vs Smackdown match and after my opponents di thier special moves i just hit LB and rolled out of the ring before they could pin me pointless or what.

I dont like to slam games but whatever you do do not buy this rent sur but dont buy.

Hopefully next year will be a better game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Might as well have kept the SvR title.

posted by marsupial311 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 30, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

This year's WWE title was supposed to be a rehash of the entire series with new "Predator Technology" and greater customization. The gameplay doesn't feel as drastically different as advertised from the old series. The Smackdown vs. Raw series was getting stale and while there are improvements, the biggest change is the name and this still feels like another step in the old series.

This year's Road to WrestleMania mode is much more interesting and probably the biggest improvement. Using original stories and a bigger focus on cut scenes within matches, the story is much more involved than in previous years. The main complaint with this mode is the use of the "Y" button to trigger scenes within matches breaking up the action. Very few matches are traditional "pin your opponent and win" matches and instead you just beat up your opponent until a symbol appears above their head to trigger the scene and advance the story. The story can also get repetitive fighting the same people multiple times. Overall, it's an enjoyable experience the first time through to experience the cool story but lacks replay value.

Luckily, Universe mode is where the replay value increases. For wrestling fans, this is the chance to mold the WWE into your vision. Customization is greatly improved including the ability to use WCW and classic belts on your shows. Even with the customization, the game will still allow random people to run in on your matches in almost every match. Customization will allow you to fix this much easier than last year's version but it is still a hassle to play through these matches.

The controls and gameplay remain mostly the same despite all the advertising of improvements. New camera angles and animations that no longer transport your wrestler to the middle of the ring are new but don't fix the gameplay problems. This game is a disappointment by being considered a "new" direction when many of the flaws are the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

pathetic

posted by gw0904 (SEVERN, MD) Nov 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

this game is all around pathetic. The road to wrestlemania is linear and quite boring, the controls are horrible, and it is really no different from 2011. In create a story there are absolutely no new additions besides different ppvs. although the gameplay is horrible the graphics are great. every other part of this game is awful. the stories, the controls, the online server doesn't work half the time. please stay away from thiss game. i dont write reviews often, but please don't buy this game. you'd be better off getting svr 2011

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NOT GOOD AT ALL!!!

posted by erb41478 (KILLEEN, TX) Jul 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am a WWE lover, so I really looked forward to playing this game. I am very disappointed. The controls are horrible, I had to beat the block button to death to even get one block in. I also felt that after one hit, it took the superstar forever to recover while your opponent, jumps right back up after you beat him to a pulp, makes no sense. I thought the graphics sucked, and were choppy. It was a shame to see WWE put out a product like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game is horrible

posted by frostmare (INTERLAKEN, NY) Jun 19, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i have to say not really impressed with the game at all, every other move they counter gets on a person nerves. just dont like the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WWE 12

posted by Catch1bullet (CLYDE, OH) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Epic game. The WWE is in your hands. You can create a superstar, fight with him, and basically do anything. My favorite part of it is the Universe mode. I spend hours and hours playing Univese. Also, There is Road to Wrestlemania, a mode where you follow a storyline. You play as Sheamus, Triple H, and Jacob Cass. I am working on the Cass story, I am not too far in it yet, but it is fun.

Pros:
RTWM
Univese
Gameplay

Cons:
Difficult to master.

Fun game, A

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

STEP YOUR GAME UP

posted by TEENRAGE619 (CAPITOL HEIGHTS, MD) Feb 29, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Thq is tgoing from bad to terrble this is a good game and all but its not even how good i thought it would be far from.
1. WWE UNIVERSE 2.0 not a big difference fom svr2011 they added new thing like interfere but its still lame you bearly get to doing anything before your saying im bored with this when you use a created person its just worst they want you to do evertying with your created person like win titles i respect that but you bearly get in the title picture i wanted i was trying to get the IC championship hunt but it keep setting for the wwe title when i didnt even want it. the cut scences are still garbage and you never get a chance in money in the bank match and they never even talk if this is suppose to replace season mode it better be better.
2. RTWM is lame i mean good storyline but it what you do you cant finish the match because the Y button comes up all the time like what the heck. In CAW one you pretty much just get beat up like really and also they make you fight the same people honestly svr2010 had the best RTWM there actually were fun and they had choices if you wanted to do this or that. they need to fix that.
3. GAMEPLAY its ok not good not bad the computer has an advantage most of the time and they need to imrove in the reversal kind of tough to do that.
4.CREATE A SUPERSTAR the sam old stuff they have for create a superstar is stale same old clothes same old tattatoos cant hey get real we seen the same old clothes since 2007 and for hairstyles its old they need to be able to put designs in the hair for males atleast.
5. CREATE A FINISHER big dissapointment nothing change to new style jsut nothing and hiw come it seems that regular finishers does more damage than created finsher.
In my case they have some serious editing to do they need to look at the old days like smackdown shut your mouth honestly when keel sanders was there it was pretty good then i wanted to say this game was good but i cant tell a lie SD SYM was best make it similar

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Blah....

posted by UoTradeshop (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jan 24, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game does have some cool features, but the bottom line is that this game is still the same WWE game.
Some of the features that have some potential is that you can create a character to join the roster of the WWE and compete for all the times. The dates are non stop as there is a calendar for all the different matches. The create story mode is okay if you plan on being bored for hours to create a cool show.
Overall the game has great potential.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

x-box 360 version of wwe 12

posted by JesseB123 (OREM, UT) Dec 15, 2011

Member since May 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The game sucks the controls were switched around and now you when you start winning a match boom the cpu player just pops into kick your butt mode and you cant guard or counter no matter how fast you are at button mashing and the game had to me time taking load windows and the character creation takes up too 4 hours to make one decent creation. I give this game a 2 out of 10 for poor control capability and long creation times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same old thing

posted by InToXiCaTeD (MODESTO, CA) Nov 24, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Pro's: New Graphic Engine Physics Engine The belts look real once again (finally) More match types Con's They took the same SmackDown vs Raw storyline and revamped it a tad. They are using a year old Roster line up. (I remember when they just updated it with today's roster and let it play through.) Most finishers are just plain and lame. All Stars wrestling finisher style was amazing they should have used that instead of Smackdown vs Raw style. Kevin Nash Jack Knife power bomb isn't the way it should be looks like a regular power bomb. Honestly I just hope one day they will go back to the way it used to be like on the N64. Best wrestling games today are those. Win or Lose the story line continues. With all characters not just set characters they made you used. THQ is getting lazy with making there wrestling games I just hope honestly they aren't lazy with Homefront 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I love WWE but

posted by chrisjh (CLARKSVILLE, IA) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2006

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

Yeah why cant THQ make a good game? Serously this game has little to no control and no I'm not some noob who hates on WWE but te last 4 games they made have been bad the old formula worked better on the PS2 tittles Shut Your Mouth and Just Bring It make those with new graphics job done

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by SexyGamer (STOCKBRIDGE, GA) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

9 out of 23 gamers (39%) found this review helpful

great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MOST EPIC WWE GAME EVER

posted by max2live (MIAMI, FL) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

7 out of 18 gamers (39%) found this review helpful

TITLE SAYS ALL ITS EPIC THE ACHIVEMENT LIST STORY MODE ONLINE MODE JUCT EPIC

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Can't give it a 10, not this year. Maybe next year

posted by JiggyJ (NORFOLK, VA) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I like the graphics on this, its a lot of glitches on it though. The create system is awesome, they should let u create your on stage to like the ring. The thing I hate the most which is the reason why I can't give it a 10, is the Road to Wrestlemania. U cant play as ur created player for one. You play as John Cena, Sheamus, And Triple H etc. all in one year. I started off playing it on all difficult's, to me they all seemed the same everytime i tried to do a move they reviersed it or if they try to do one on me it's very hard for me to stop it. then they move around slow, run slow. I give this game a 6.5 to a 7. No where near a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse