Rent WALL-E for Wii
view large frontback

WALL-E

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.4

848 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

Why I rated this game 3 or "Bad"

posted by mxpxmxpx (SAN CLEMENTE, CA) Sep 6, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off, me and my daughter really enjoyed the movie. So I popped in the game and was pleasantly surprised how good it looked, graphics wise, and how much it followed the story. So why the bad review? Well, first off the controls are horrible! One major function is shaking the wii remote to pick stuff up. Half the time it doesn't work! Very very frustrating. Also you use the nunchuck to 'drive' wall-e around. But it's so sensitive he's all over the place! Let's talk about camera angle next. Usually this isn't a big deal to me because i can pretty much get used to anything, but in this case there's no getting around it. Mainl because you can't really adjust it to a better angle...
Last but definetly not least- the actual game play itself. It's boring. You go around and collect things. that's pretty much it. Not really any enemies or bosses or anything like that. Just go and collect stuff. The last straw that broke the camel's back was when my daughter looked up at me like, "are you kidding? this is sooo boring!" Yeah, I know dear.
BUT awesome graphics, awesome movie clips and a multiplayer feature. If you are like a 'die hard fan' of pixar or Wall-E, go ahead and rent it and see for yourself. if you are not a hardcore fan and just thought the movie was good, then don't play this game. You really will be disappointed! Happy gaming people! bye for now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I loved the Movie, loved the game.

posted by Hiroshima (FLORENCE, KY) Jul 11, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I'm not a hard core gamer, But I grew up playing on every single system after the commodore 64. So I do love to play.

After watching the movie, I bought the game and me and the kids got started playing. The Wii controls take some getting used to, thats to be expected. Most younger kids will have issues trying to drive, and lock on target while blasting and jumping out of the way. But it does make it fun to learn!

Wall E was a blast to play, the levels were all challenging in the kids can do it, grown ups will probably say it was too easy kind of way. But even I had a blast overcoming the challenges of the game.

I think the Eve levels could have been better. They have you flying in timed missions versus letting you explore and conquer. So you wind up blasting thru it so quickly that you are now back to using Wall E.

The levels where u can use both characters were great, I have NO complaints about that.

Overall I would say, if you have kids older than 5 it would be a good game to have in the collection.

Shima

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A bad camera and bad firing controls sink WALL-E

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 27, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

WALL-E, based on the Pixar movie, is your average 3D platformer; you go from point A to B, search for hidden objects, fight other robots, jump over obstacles and/or solve puzzles.
WALL-E and EVE are interesting characters, and the cut scenes are fun to watch.
However, just like many other 3D platformers, WALL-E suffers from a camera out of control. The camera has more interest in showing you a blank wall than the robots that are trying to destroy you. It also hinders in the jumping portions of the game.
Yes, you can adjust the camera, but I found the experience more like me fighting it to show me what I wanted to see, not what it wants me to see.
Another problem is EVE's gun; it's very inaccurate - or very weak. I lined up the perfect shot against a group of robots and fired, but they didn't react to my fire until the third or fourth shot; then, they exploded. (AI not very smart here.)
And with the before mentioned camera, this game needs a manual lock on in the worst way. Without it, fire fights became exercises in running about in circles.
Multiplayer is your average collection of games; shooting gallery, player vs. player, coperate, and so on. There's nothing wrong with it, but there's nothing special about it, either.
I say see the movie and skip this game; even the mighty Pixar can't make a worthy game based on a movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

WallE Looks Good But Not As A Game!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jun 27, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This looked like an awsome movie game (like Disneys Chicken Little Ace In Action was); but fell apart because after a few minutes you get to a part where you half to pick up a block and throw it but the controls dont register. Take the money and see the movie instead!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BOOOOO!

posted by mcottontail (CARROLLTON, GA) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

The game wouldn't work in my wii. It is a new black one but this game is not compatible. IDK why?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

WALL-E (Wii)

posted by stevenkage (SUBLIMITY, OR) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

this game was pretty good. the story mode is very close to the actual story. i didnt like the game's graphics too much--they were kinda dull, and the game was very short. i completed it within 4 hours. the movie trailers that were included in the game were surprisingly sharp-looking--very DVD-like quality. i wouldnt say this game is worth a buy, but if you liked the movie WALL-E, this game is worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I had high hopes ....

posted by mom2two (BONNER SPRINGS, KS) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

My little girl is five and a half and she loves wall-e. She's pretty good at playing games and comes close to beating her older sister who's almost nine. She was so excited when the Wall-e game came but her interest went away quick as she played. Now I personally didn't play it but when asked if she wanted me to buy the game her response was no thanks. I may still buy it just for the purpose for having it but she says she got trapped to many times and honestly after about fifteen minutes she lost interest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Love Wall-E, Hate the controls.

posted by pogock (CLAYTON, MI) Apr 17, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

This game had the potential to be a cute game for younger kids, however the controls frustrated even my 10 yr. old son. It was back in the mailbox the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dizzy!!!

posted by Novabrian (WESTMINSTER, CA) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game is frustrating and confusing. It's supposed to be a kids game???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great for Kids

posted by Danny143 (PALMDALE, CA) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game is great for young children and easy to follow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Controls not child friendly

posted by sim67a (ANCHORAGE, AK) Feb 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I rented this game because my 5 year old really enjoyed the movie. We did not get far into it before she quit because it was difficult to direct Wall-e to where you wanted to be. I gave up as well because there are a lot of areas that are difficult to reach. Not a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not impressed

posted by dholtzil (BARTLETT, IL) Jan 16, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

My family loved the movie WALL-E and thought the game would be fun. The controls were difficult, the premise wasn't clear, and basically even the best gamer in the house gave up after 20 minutes or so. The instructions should be much clearer on what is to be accomplished, instead of stumbling upon what needs to be done. Very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hard to use controlers

posted by novana47 (SAND LAKE, MI) Jan 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

This came was very hard to understand and to use the controlers. Did not enjoy this game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not a bad little game, but...

posted by keno1964 (BATON ROUGE, LA) Dec 28, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

I wonder if it's appeal isn't more due to the 'cuteness' and popularity of the Wall-E character instead of the gameplay. The controls are a bit clunky but with time you'll get the hang of them. The graphics are well done and the game areas are fairly expansive which allow you to roam around a bit while learning the control intricacies. It is a fun game and younger more involved gamers will probably catch on to the controls easily enough leaving them to enjoy the graphics and puzzles for a long bit of gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Grade K Approved

posted by skellum (KEOTA, OK) Dec 21, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

My KinderGamer loves this game. It's much slower than Sonic and doesn't have the violence of the shooters.

Although the older crowd will probably find themselves bored, the younger kids like about anything with a robot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wall E

posted by More4Nana (ZEPHYRHILLS, FL) Nov 27, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

This game is difficult to play if you don't do well with the Nunchuk. You have to use that most of the time. It would be fun if we could use the regular controller that plugs into the Wii controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WASTE OF TIME

posted by scooter478 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

DO NOT BUY OR RENT!!!!!!!!!!!! GAME PLAY IS BORING1 AFTER 20 MINUTES I STOPPED PLAY AND RETURNED GAME THE NEXT DAY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I tried the PC version...but

posted by skeet31 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Nov 6, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

still I would think the Wii version is the same. You had to get everything right before advancing to the next level. Even my husband who is super bright and 30 years old had trouble with it, I cannot imagine a child trying to get through this time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I did not like this game

posted by pokame (SALINA, KS) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

There was nothing really to the game. If you can get past the cop car area it might be ok but the little animal kept chirping all the time and I could only go so far. I got frustrated after several attempts to make sense of the game. Not a fun game for me. It seemed like the controls were the same movements over and over. No new tricks no matter what series you pressed.I did not have the game long, it did not keep my interest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Kids say it's boring

posted by angelariel (SPRING, TX) Aug 30, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

I have a 9 year old and a 12 year old and both say it's boring. They say all you do is drive around and collect things.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game, great movie

posted by mojoolms (CHARLESTON, ME) Aug 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

My daughter, age 9, and I, age 29, loved this game. It follows the story of the movie pretty well. The controls for Eva were a little hard to get the handle of, but we were able to get the hang of it. The game was perfect in difficulty, where it was not impossible to defeat but posed a challenge to both of us. Other reviews have mentioned problems with the camera angles, and there were a few places where the camera didn't follow where it should have, but I don't think it's as big of a problem as it seems. The multiplayer levels were fun as well. We enjoyed this game so much we kept it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fairly decent game

posted by nyc0211 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Aug 7, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

The game has a bunch of movie clips and scenes from the movie which make it fun. The game itself however is fun but doesn't have any major purpose for conquering a game. It's just like the movie where Wall-e leaves poluted Earth, goes onto the Axiom and comes back. No bosses to beat. It was however fun to watch the bonus materials to the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »