Rent Viva Pinata: Trouble in Paradise for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Viva Pinata: Trouble in Paradise

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.8

2471 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Filled With Fun

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Sep 6, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

49 out of 54 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

At first glance Viva Pinata T.I.P. looks like more of the same, but at closer examination, you will find a noticably deeper game, some improved graphics, much needed timesaving improvements, and a lot of new tricks up its sleeve.

There are now ice and desert areas that you can shift to without losing your normal garden area. You are actually only going to these different climates to trap and bring back new pinatas to your usual garden area. Some pinatas can only be found out there, and there are quite a few new additions to the pinata roster. Right from the start, they get you with the cute ladybug pinata, but delve further into the game and you will find yaks, polar bears, vultures, scarab beetles, and penguins. So far, it looks like all of the old pinatas are represented again in this new game.

The graphics are similar, but there is a new coat of paint added to the game engine this time around. Water shimmers much better, there is a softer look to all the vibrant colors, and new environmental details are everywhere.

The best part of all: they have seriously streamlined the gameplay as well. You don't have to sit there with a shovel for thirty minutes preparing your garden whenever you begin a new one. The earth is soft and ready for you to get started. Time is saved in digging out a pond as well. You can set where you want all of the corners to be and then just hit the dig button. Voila! Your pond, she is dug.

One thing that seems shockingly missing to us is the intro movie and song that went with it from the first Viva Pinata. That was a huge part of the fun of the game for us. Sometimes we would turn it on just to laugh at the intro and not even play the game.

I'm not sure how many kids are actually playing this game, but they would be able to do most things fairly easily and have fun with it. Adults would be able to dig a lot deeper into the gameplay though, and I think it really works better for an adult. A very silly adult...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Enjoyable family fun with depth for mature gamers

posted by teddaw (CORALVILLE, IA) Oct 9, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think the thing I like the most about both Viva games is that they are simply fun to play. Trouble in Paradise simply adds more variety to an already great game (original pinata). I also think most gamers shy away from such a family oriented game thinking it wont be challenging, but it really has a great difficulty curve that can press adult gamers too. I find myself thinking a lot during this game and find that planning my next garden renovation to maximize rewards per unit time is a welcome change of pace to the semi-mindless twitch type shooters I normally play. Overall a game the whole family can enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellentinata!

posted by IDAHODUB (PORTLAND, OR) Sep 11, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The first Viva Pinata was amazing, yet it had it's flaws. When VP Party Animals came out I was extremely dissapointed. Well Microsoft has made a Bigger and Better Viva Pinata with Trouble in Paradise.

The Game is amazing. There are more pinatas, so many different things that you can feed your pinatas to change them, and more gardens! It's an all around great game. It's definatelty a MUST RENT and at $40 NEW and gamefly's awesome keep it prices I would even say just buy it.

Hands down a GREAT GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

No Trouble In Paradise

posted by JohnMack (HANAHAN, SC) Sep 9, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The first Viva Pinata was an unexpected favorite of mine, so this was a sure hit for me. Although this one seems to baby the player early on, it's acceptable as the games target audience is obviously at an age where some help is appreciated. The advice it gives is helpful, but past players will likely ignore when possible. One noticeably change is the garden size is upgraded much faster, which allows for better gardens early on. The cooperative play is a great additioni, but the mini games seem like another attempt at a party game. My advice for Rare is to stick to the garden and give me some downloadable pinatas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rare Does it again...

posted by fuzzy1 (MABELVALE, AR) Sep 8, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Trouble in Paradise is a great sequel to the first Viva game, and lets not talk about Party Animals. You do not need to have played the first game to play VP:TiP, and no you can use any thing from the first game in this one.

What I like: New pinatas and new requirements for many of the old ones keep the game play new. New features like the ability to use the bumpers to jump to a given pinata or plant. Multiplayer modes Co-op, system link, and XBL also have added great enjoyment for my family. And how many great new games hit the market at under $40?

What I don't like: Camera control is a bit dizzying in local co-op mode, I would have rather have seen them use a split screen, but this is not a deal breaker.

Pester plays a larger roll in the game, and this is a good thing for the game story line, but will prove to be frustrating for many, as old items that worked in the first game do not keep him out of the garden this time.

Check out the xbox forums for help and questions, and my guide on pinata/plant requirements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesomeness

posted by aj2008 (TOOELE, UT) Sep 5, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is similar to the first one but much more exciting new cute pinatas more options it's a little harder than the first one i love that they have added a sandbox mode for casual or younger players i think this one was worth the wait i love all the new options that are offered definately worth buing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better Than the Original

posted by saintmarc (Kenosha, WI) Feb 16, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

An improved, but not much different, version of the original Viva Pinata. Good fun for the whole family and all age groups.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mostly very good

posted by zzsuperman (MARLTON, NJ) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Oct 2003

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is like the first Viva Pinata, only with (I think) more pinatas, and more importantly, more instruction. It didn't take me as long to figure out the basics, and even some of the more advanced ideas as the first game. Once I got it figured out, I lost hours of my life. I looked up and realized I hadn't moved in 8 hours. The music is solid, the pinatas are entertaining, the mechanics are great, the controls are simple (and even faster and simpler once you pick up some of the less obvious controls). My only complaint is that it does crash from time to time. The picture freezes, and I can't get back to the Dashboard without killing the power first. This happened to me twice in one weekend. Fortunately, the auto-save is very good, and I don't think I lost anything in the crashes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More of the same.

posted by NightEagle (SEATTLE, WA) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I think that this game was a decent rent. Don't be fooled by the kiddish look and plain stupid look, this game is pretty fun. Though I didn't play this game long because for some reason my save didn't work so I didn't bother to start a new one I still got a good idea of the game.

This game is just like the older version, but with new pinata, features, plants and others. The game was pretty fun, definitely something to rent, not buy. I say this because you will have fun with it for a week or two, but you will get bored of it fast because after a while you will find that the game is kind of like a cycle.

You see a new amazing, exotic, etc. pinata. You follow all the procedures to get it sucking up your time. And you finally get it and romance it to make money. You then save up for something and get it. And it just goes on for a while until you start to get tired of it. Don't get me wrong though, this game is more fun than the above makes it sound, but when you look back you realize its all the same.

It is pretty addicting and will steal your time before you know it. So if you liked the old one, then I would recomend this one and if you haven't tried it, just go for it and see what you get out of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Viva Pinata TIP

posted by jth2009 (HOMOSASSA, FL) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is fun, but basically the same as the first with newly added lands to collect Pinata from. The achievements are harder to obtain on TIP than in the first game. It is a great rental but would not purchase it if you already own the first one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very good time waster

posted by Prologic (TOPSHAM, ME) May 3, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This isn't realy a reveiw just my personal experience. Your play time will most likely be diffrent then mine. Overall an engaging game that will have you sucked in for awhile.

I must say I like these types of games. (The sims, animal crossing, ect) I like games that have no real end to them. You make your own goals and the more you play the game the more outrageous your goals become. After awhile I strived for the perfect garden. Filled with my favorite cutesy pinatas, trees, and flowers.

After getting to level 41 you stop unlocking new items in the stores and are giving the title of Ultimate Gardener. There were still pinata to be discovered but I began to lose focus in the game. I had made my "perfect garden" and felt I was done with the game. There was still alot to do, But after reaching this far into the game it just felt too shallow. My interest in continuing was lost. My total time with the game was atleast a dozen hours. It's an enjoyable game for almost anyone. Deffently worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Good Game For Certain Gamers.

posted by TheWarden4 (ATLANTA, GA) Feb 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Honestly I did actually like this game, I played it for about a day and enjoyed it but in the long run isn't my type of game. I had no desire to play it again not because it was bad, but because that gameplay didn't interest me. You raise these Pinata's, you catch them, feed them, build more land for more of them, etc. It was fun in all but I couldn't see myself putting any more time into it then a test run.

I reccomend this for the Casual Gamer, For Kids, SERIOUSLY PARENTS! Keep away the Call of Duty and Gears of War 2 away from your 9 year old, and get them this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great concept, decent execution...

posted by Jetters (TUCSON, AZ) Dec 9, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had never played the first pinata game before I jumped into this one. With that being said here are a few things I noticed:

- The tutorials in the beginning were helpful, but I was still left a little confused.

- I disliked how there would be creatures that would come in and destroy your garden. I know that this was to add in an enemy aspect, but I just wanted to focus on getting other creatures and not deal with being harassed by enemies.

+ The menu system is actually pretty good. There are a lot of sub-menus and little things to access and I think they did a good job of organizing them.

+ The overall concept of this game is great. I love customization and collecting games and this was right up my alley.

+ All the animals are so funny! It's great to see so many different cute pinatas of animals that you normally see. The names are great also.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A new kind of Viva Pinata

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Sep 8, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Viva Pinata is a xbox exclusive and many people cant wait to try out this new edition to the Viva Pinata series. This Viva Pinata is different than the other ones because you have a garden which you name and you can bring your garden on xbox live with your friends. It is still very addictive and you will be playing for hours if your a Pinata fan. This Viva Pinata needs to be in your Game Q and you really need to try this one out. I prouble wouldnt buy it but if your a fan its a nice buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Viva Pinata 1.5

posted by neilson (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 21, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

My only qualm with this game is that it is eerily similar to the first Viva Pinata game that came out. Don't get me wrong, the first game was unusually addicting and was a nice break from chainsawing people in half while my son watched me playing games. I just expected something more out of this sequel, but found myself instead feeling as if I was just playing what could have been an add-on to the first title. If you haven't played the first or if you absolutely loved the first, then this is worth checking out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game for Everybody

posted by khaleesee (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Apr 9, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

My child loved this game and so did I. The pets are exciting and cute and there are new pets that weren't in the first game. I really liked the free garden where you have unlimited money and can do what ever you like, that feature was great for this game! I would definitely recommend this game as a very fun rental or purchase for adults and kids!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Well, might be okay for a 2 year old.

posted by neeven2 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Mar 18, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I rented this for my 5 year old nephew. He couldn't get past the first stage because he was bored. It starts out with you having to dig holes, plant seeds, and water them. You grow a garden. He planted about 5 plants and wanted to know how to fight the fox in the corner. At that point he wanted to play Black Ops II. So, this might be a good game for a very little kid. Kinda a "My first video game" type of thing. And maybe the game gets better after you build a big enough garden, I really don't know.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Viva pinata:Trouble in Paradise is good but......

posted by dude123456 (HIGHLAND, CA) Feb 10, 2011

Member since May 2008

Well, it is a great game and all, but my disc would not work. The game worked... until I went in the shop. I would rate it higher but the disc would not work after that happened. You should still play it,but it might not work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is addictive

posted by baech0 (SEATTLE, WA) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

I love this game. Everything about it is remarkably addictive, though, so the only way I can retain sanity is the following formula:

1. Add it to my queue
2. Receive it and play it for two or three days.
3. Send it back in.
4. Repeat Step 1.

Yes, I literally have to do it that way. Otherwise I find myself staying up past reasonable hours, justifying it as "I really need to reach Master Romancer for Flapyak!" or some other silliness.

The art is stunning, really, and I love the addition of tricks. I am thrilled whenever I manage to hatch a wild card or twins, and I have fun just fillin' up my garden.

The game is also incredibly relaxing. I live in a city apartment, so I don't have any way to garden in real life - it's fun to raise my crops in game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Viva Pinata: Trouble in Paradise

posted by Gamerfied (MOULTRIE, GA) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

Okay. WAY too complicating for a kid. I'm 19 and this game baffled me. It had TOO many instructions, too much to remember and in the first level, became overwhelming. It's as cute as it can be, but being cute doesn't help play a game. One level, a critter that wasn't mine yet got sick on my property... you can't do anything with critters that aren't yours.. he just stayed in my way the entire level. If there was a way, I couldn't figure it out for anything. I gave it a 1 out of 10, 1 being worst. But that's only because I was going for a simple minded kids game.... I play too many stratigic shooter games. I reccomend this game for a little genius kid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cute Game - Bad Controls

posted by QUEENPEACH (EVERETT, WA) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This is an addictive Simulation game. I only had issues with the controls and the size limits for the garden. The controls didn't have a very quick response, and were more complicated than they needed to be. I also wish that they allowed more animals in the garden at one time, since I often found I was unable to keep animals or even purchase items that encourage animals to appear because of space. But I still liked playing it. It was very cute!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

awful

posted by danny29o (CASPER, WY) Sep 17, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

nothing like the original. very disappointing for the kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Never-ending Game

posted by Vain719 (FERNLEY, NV) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Viva Pinata TiP Is one of those games where you will never run out of things to do ... EVER .... Though it gets boring after a while if you put a lot of time into (Game Exs: Pokemon .... Every RP ...... Ect.) you can have a lot of fun and you can also just scip all that and go to JFF Mode (Just for fun) Though in JFF you dont get as meny Pinatas you will still feel the same vibe as you would the normal mode. All i really can say is that its the type of game that gets better going on and on but its boring before-hand. Ill give it a 6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

it's awsome

posted by jenn03202 (TULSA, OK) Jul 31, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

it was great. takes a while to learn but when you do you'll really appreciate the details and colors that make this diffrent from any other god game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game sucked!!!!

posted by Letsgameon (FLORISSANT, MO) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This game wasn't all that great as i thought. In the commercials it said that it would be easy to put back all the file in pinata central. Etc. Etc. Etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse