Rent Viva Pinata: Party Animals for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Viva Pinata: Party Animals

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.6

1529 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Parents: Get this game for your kids.

posted by DharmaBum (LAGUNA HILLS, CA) Dec 17, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Viva Pinata: Party Animals is great at what it was meant to do: entertain you and/or your kids for about 15-30 minutes at a time. It is adorable, fun and quick. This is not as terrible as so many other people are making it out to be, and there really isn't a quality mini-game collection for the 360 that compares to it, especially since Fusion Frenzy 2 was such a disappointment.

Viva Pinata failed to sell well because the game looked like it was marketed to young children, but was actually way too complex for them. This is the game that should have come out first. Party Animals is great G-rated entertainment for 5-6 year olds, and the original Viva Pinata would be better suited for kids between 9-12.

With its bright colors, energetic music, and fun atmosphere, along with simple gameplay mechanics that anyone can jump into, I can't recommend Viva Pinata enough. Well, I can't recommend it enough for parents of young children, or for childless 20-somethings who enjoy the occasional Disney movie or episode of Spongebob like myself.

If you're only into really deep, hardcore games, you aren't going to like this. And that's okay, everyone has different tastes. But that certainly doesn't mean that Rare has created a lackluster game - Viva Pinata: Party Animals is every bit as much an unfortunately overlooked jewel as Conker's Bad Fur Day, Grabbed by the Ghoulies, and the original Viva Pinata.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for kids, mind-numbingly boring for adults

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Oct 31, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

23 out of 29 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

This is a decent game, to be honest. Anyone over the age of 12 will probably get bored within the first hour, but really, this game is targeted for kids. The basic idea is that you and up to 3 friends play a variety of different little mini-games to earn points. The whole thing is presented kind of like a game show with announcers and the whole nine yards. You get points for how well you do in each event, and there's a running total to show who has the most points overall.

The mini-games range from simple racing to seeing who can stomp on the most insects or who can blow a sailboat across the water using the power of a soda-fueled belch. It's presented well and the graphics are nice and crisp. It certainly hits the target audience better than the original Viva Pinata which was just a little too hardcore for the youngsters.

Basically, if you are looking for a game your kids can play or something that you could actually play with them, this is a good choice. It's all very simplistic and fairly easy to control and understand. If you are looking for a good party game and most of the players are not hardcore gamers, this might suit your needs as well. Anyone else that doesn't fit those above categories will probably not be very entertained, at least not for very long, by this game.

So, I can't fault the game for not being fun for me because it's not targeted at me, but I also can't really give it high marks because there are other games out there that actually can be fun for all ages. This game just didn't hit that mark. A solid 7 for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

7/10

posted by Deathcon77 (HUDSON, FL) Aug 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Viva pinata: Party Animals is sort of like Mario party. It's all mini-games, and the 360 achievements are very easy to unlock. Although, I could not get a game for the online play because there isnt enough people playing online. It's definently worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great potential, but big flaws

posted by SpaceNinja (PETALUMA, CA) Nov 14, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A mini-game tournament starring the Viva Pinata characters is a cool concept. Too bad the execution failed.

1) The mini-games that you want to play cannot be played at any time. You have to be lucky that the tournament selection will pick that mini-game in some long sequence of mini-games. They focus around racing tracks too much. These are fine by themselves, but it would have been nice to have a choice of not including them. What is really needed is to customize your own tournament line-up! Even allow duplication of your favorites.

2) They should have allowed the users to pick any animal -- not just four.

3) The voice commentary is really bad. They are depressing (as if they know this game is bad) and very repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

repetitious overkill

posted by Snooze (BARTLESVILLE, OK) Nov 6, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

My kids are Viva Pinata fanatics. They were not however captured by this title. I played a few games myself and I found the pinata's a bit floaty in the races and most of the mini games proved very difficult for the kids to handle. Some of the games were fun but were killed with repetition. Unlocked games only proved to be the same game with a different background. They didn't play this game past Day 1. I'm just sorry I didn't get it out in time for Saturday's mail. I'm glad I could rent it here and not waste my money buying it as a Christmas gift.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

did you LOVE viva pinata?

posted by foolmanchu (BRISTOL, WI) Nov 15, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

okay, so i think its rather fair to say that viva pinata was and still is a great game to waste you time on(who needs to study or work?), so a good spinoff game should be equally as good right?
i am very disapointed to say that this isnt so.
party animals is a wholly unoriginal game (unlike its predesesor) that is based on the characters of the saturday morning kids show "viva pinata", and does a barely good attempt at making a party game. so lets give the possitive aspects first.
1. it has okay graphics and okay gameplay.
2. some of the comentary during the races r funny.
3. if you realy need a party game on the 360, this provides fairly good 4 player splitscreen fun.
now the negatives.
1.there are MUCH better party games out there.
2.ther are WAY too many races and not enough race COURSES.
3.while the minigames are fun, they are very repetitive.
4.most adults and teenagers wont be able to play this game very long, and will lose interest.
again, if you REALY need a party game for ur 360, go ahead and try this, it isnt TERRIBLE. but i have to say that the viva pinata fans out there probably would have enjoyed a simple sequel or at least an expansion pack to viva pinata much, much more. sorry RARE, but dont fix what aint broke, and don't do LAME SPINOFFS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What. Is. this?

posted by NoFaL (JACKSONVILLE, NC) Oct 21, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

If you're into kiddy party games, you might love it? I'm not though, I did however like Viva Pinata (The Original). So I find this game in my mail box, open the GF case and put it in my Xbox. 5, maybe six minutes later I was so disappointed with the game that I put it back in its mail slip as fast as I could to immediately get rid of it. Doing so I forgot to put the sleeve on the game, so I have to wait for a new mailer pack.. End story.. Not good at all if you are wanting a game like the original Viva Pinata. This is a spin off, that should have never been released.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great racing game!

posted by nstarr2 (FORT MYERS, FL) Sep 3, 2012

Member since May 2012

This is game is for the younger crowd, so it moves very slowly. The graphics are great and it is easy to play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Who invited all these glitches?

posted by Tophat (TACOMA, WA) Apr 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

This game would be so much better if it didn't have all these little glitches here and there. Pinatas get stuck sometimes and fail to jump in certain games.

The computer players bump you out of the way far to often and sometimes just attack you rather than playing the game. Ive noticed that they also auto-lock on their targets.

There are a good 20+ minigames BUT they are just a repeat of each other all in a different setting, they are shallow and repetitive. There is no easy, Medium or hard mode and you cannot select your favorite minigames unless you enter practice mode.

Every 1-3 games or so has a "race" in the middle which is annoying and determines and unfair bonus score.

What REALLY ticks me off is that they put doubles of all their characters in the roster! Talk about lazy. Instead of putting male and female versions (making only 4 real characters total) why not add some of their other characters into the game?

I thought this game was fun but it is so hard not to mentions the bad little things about it that i feel it outweighs the good things that make it fun. All in all, this game is rushed and lazy and does not compare to most other party games. I expected better even though it was enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Play Mario Kart & Mario Party back-to-back instead

posted by Botmasher (SANTA MONICA, CA) Feb 17, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

Half MarioKart, half Mario Party. All mediocre presentation and gameplay.

The graphics look great, but the play is limited - you have to choose how many races you want to complete, then how many "challenge events" (minigames) you'll do after each race. There's no other way to play the game.

Races lack the excitement and polish of better kart-racing titles. Mini games are slightly innovative at best, but most are strikingly derivative and repetitive. The whole game - including races, events, and the scoreboard tallies in between (which you'll wish you could disable) - proceeds at a slow pace. It's all a bit too easy, too familiar, and not nearly engaging enough.

As for achievements, you won't score 1000 without some online play. Unlocking all minigames, getting online hosts, etc. can be a pain, especially when the online community for this game is dead & buried. Expect a ton of repetition, followed by another two tons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't Beat Em Join Em!

posted by Ellybeth30 (SAINT CLOUD, MN) Aug 7, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I grabbed this game at the pawn shop because it looked like something i could actually play and WIN on the 360 (my boyfriend is a COD addict), and the controls looked simple. After begging him to play with me for just "one game" my man is almost as addicted as I am!
The games are simple, so anybody (even me) can figure them out. Some achievements are easy to get, and some are much more of a challenge.
I like the racing games, and I love the other minigames.
The colors are bright and its such a nice change of pace from the "Too Human" or "left for dead" graphics.
Simple and delightful, I would recommend this game to people who are either learning the controls of the 360 (me), or who need a quick, easy break from war.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring and complicated

posted by thereagans (YANCEYVILLE, NC) Feb 18, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I rented this game so my six-year-old son and I could play together. Not only was I incredibly bored, so was he. It was way too complicated and slow-paced to be a game targeted toward children. Don't waste your time with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Very original... hahaha

posted by Crowstew (STOCKTON, CA) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

This game had a lot lacking from the thrill one wanting to continue playing. one of which were there was noone online playing this game. you can get an easy 500/1000 achievements in about a day though. I think I'll stick to my garden, when it comes to viva pinata.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nothing special, but decently executed

posted by thinkbomb (KAYSVILLE, UT) Oct 7, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

Sure, it kind of feels like a cash-in, but for the most part it's actually a decent game. ... just don't compare it to the king of party games: Raving Rabbids.

The art style of Viva Pinata has been fairly proven and still looks really good. Plus there's a couple original/smart ideas for games here and there. But, playing through this you can't help but to think "I'm more entertained by those insane Rabbids."

So yeah, great stuff, probably the best party game for the 360 ... just not as good as the king.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Easy and Fun

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Sep 28, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

This game is fun for about 2 hours and then it starts to get old as you continue to grind for the achievements. I finally had to step away and send this back without completing it 100% due to boredom.

A great rental, but I wouldn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible...

posted by earthless (CHICAGO, IL) Sep 18, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

This is more suited for an XBLA release.. but not for an actual game. Wow.

But it did make for some very easy achievement points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great family fun,not so much sharing within adults

posted by MightyYuna (DENVER, CO) Sep 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

If you have young kids at home or baby sitting, this game is awesome!Kids above 4 probably will have a good hang of the cute races and 40 mini games. They are very simply to play, yet, a lot of fun.

The short game takes about 15 - 20 mins, the long game could be too lengthy (7 races and 21 mini events).

After a while, it's kind of boring for an adult like me. But I will totally use it the next time I babysit these 4,5 year olds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Good

posted by DavidW (PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL) May 14, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Is it really a 10?

For kids, you bet it is. My 5 year old and wife enjoy playing this game together. This game is not designed for hard core gamers, but for kids and party entertainment, it is very good. It is worth renting this game and buying it.

If your not a family individual or parent it may be worth renting for the achievements if your a game score wore. But beware it may become addicting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cute little kids game...

posted by Vlennert (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 30, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I am an achievement junkie (and an adult) so I rented this one cause I figured it would be an easy 1,000 points. It wasn't...well... it was...but uh all these little pinatas and that blasted "Viva Pinata!" theme song are now stepping all over my last nerve.

Essentially, if you're looking for another Viva Pinata...this isn't it. It's like an add on...a party game. You are immediately thrown into races, balloon bopping, burping contests, and hitting contests with your little colorful friends. Yes, there are dozens of different little contests that you can play online or solo (with AI against you), but for someone my age it gets old really really quickly. I think kids will get a kick out of it - althought for them there might be a pretty big learning curve. I dunno, I don't have kids...but I'm thinking 5 or 6 and up should be able to handle this one with a little parental coaching.

If you're like me and want an easy 1000 points, this will do it for ya. I had 98% of the achievements in 2 days...the final two were a pain to get.

Bottom line...I would not buy this game unless I had small children.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great for the kid

posted by DadOfEvil (ROCKFORD, MN) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Not a big fan, my 8yo loved it though. Not at all like the OG Viva. Totaly different

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great for Kids

posted by evilrob5 (WINCHESTER, KY) Apr 17, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

When I first heard of this game I thought the same as everyone else who played the original VP. "Awesome! A new VP!" I was a little disappointed to learn this was just a Mario Party knock-off and Rare was not involved at all. I really just rented this game because the achievements looked really easy. They were for the most party. It was rather hard to find someone online to play with but it seemed to pickup in prime time.

The good:
The graphic are really pretty, maybe not as good a VP, but still rather nice. Most mini-games are fun. This game would be great for kids or parties.

The bad:
Only 42 mini-games and 7 race tracks. Most of the mini-games are the same thing with a variant thrown in. They based this more on the TV show than the original. The announcers are funny at first, until the 10th time you hear a one-liner in one game. Hard to find an online match.

Overall:
Xbox's answer to Mario Party is not too horrible. There is a lot of potential for a Party Animals 2. Its worth renting to see how long the fun last for you. I would think twice about buying it unless you have kids who love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent fun, but moves too slow

posted by optimonium (LAKELAND, FL) Mar 15, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I'm one of those rare people who don't like Mario Party, but I thought this game looked cute and my wife wanted to try it. The previews I saw of the game looked funny and fast-paced, and while my wife did enjoy it a bit, I found it to be repetitive and slow. Very slow, in fact.

This is primarily a racing game, with short mini-games thrown between each race. Some of the mini-games are hard to control, some are downright boring, and a few were actually fun.

My biggest problem with the game, however, is the long period of time spent on the score board after each race and each mini-game. There is no way to skip the dialog or scoreboard animation, and I felt like I spent as much time staring at that one screen as I did playing the actual game itself.

One good point over the Mario Party series, your score is actually indicative of your performance in the game, so if you do well, you will score well. It also has a ton of achievements that are easy to earn, so it's nice for the casual gamer who wants to boost their gamerscore without mastering a hard game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not what I expected

posted by Phoenix83 (SHAW A F B, SC) Mar 5, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I got this game for my wife cause she loved the first one. She thought it was a new one not just a bunch of mini games so she was disappointed so sent it back already. Its fun if you like mini games but would rather play the regular game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever

posted by guyinpants (ROLLING HILLS ESTATES, CA) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

This game was the worst game I ever played. The first time I played it I set it to easy just because I was a beginner. When I started playing it was playing as if set to very hard.

P.S. pay no attention to the stuff after the P.P.S.

P.P.S. why so many characters needed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Terrible

posted by Robotik (MEDINA, NY) Feb 28, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

Was hoping to see and expanded garden creation in this game and was disappointed that they got rid of all it and instead gave me a gave that is essentially Mario Party + Mario Kart - Mario + Pinatas. The mini-games are fun but have a unusual learning curve for a children's game. They don't give any instructions on how to play the game just tell you what the buttons are. Even with all these problems I still enjoyed playing it they if only it was for some easy achievement points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse