Rent Virtua Tennis 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Virtua Tennis 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS3
GF Rating
7.0

1307 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Virtua Tennis, by definition - not real tennis

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Mar 22, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I'm not going to waste your time with a long review - quite simply, this game has great character models, but in every other way is not as good as Top Spin 2. Maybe it comes down to personal preference, but this game is way more "arcadey" while Top Spin is more realistic. Once you soup up your character, matches turn into a war of diving saves. It's hard to score a point when every hit that should score is miraculously saved by a diving opponent. Multiplayer boils down to trying to "out-bore" your opponent - whoever gets bored of diving saves first and just lets the other player score in order to make SOME progress. One volley can last 10 minutes or more (or hypothetically forever) if you have some strong-willed players. Also, you only play against licensed stars. There's like 20 in the game, and you start off ranked 300th. These stars are also somehow ranked around your level and you just keep beating the same people over and over while you move up the ladder. It makes absolutely no sense at all.

Virtua Tennis isn't a BAD game, it's just not as good as Top Spin 2. If you just absolutely can't get enough tennis action, by all means rent this game. If you want the best tennis game available for the 360, get Top Spin 2 instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Virtua tennis 3

posted by flyingcar (GRANADA HILLS, CA) Apr 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

the character models on this game are amazing. it takes full advantage of the 360. it is a fun game that is easy to pick up and use. the story mode however is a very tedious game that wears out after a little while, doing the same things over and over again.

most people complain about controls, mostly shot control but i have no problem running one way and hitting my shot the opposite way. i find the controls very easy. the amount of tennis players on this game are good as well. and it has some fun achievements. if you want a good tennis title, or loved virtua tennis 1 or 2, get his game because it is very similar to the first two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Surprisingly good

posted by Squiggler (KNOXVILLE, TN) May 31, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I got this game reluctantly at the suggestion of a friend. I was pleasantly surprised to find how fun this game was. The controls were fairly easy to pick up. Player control was reasonably simple from the start. The best part of the game to me though was the online play. No lag + smooth play + good competition = Fun game. I would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

VT multiplayer sucks

posted by monsterb (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) May 14, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I've been playing tennis games for a long time. This Virtual Tennis is by far the best yet.....in single player mode. When I got online to play multiplayer, I ran into nothing but cheaters, glitchers, and quitters. I was disappointed that people figured out a glitch already. The ball would stop and wait for the other player to hit it back no matter how far it was from the other player. That SUCKED because I'm pretty good if the other person's not cheating. I don't cheat, so I don't play anymore. Now that I've beat the game, there's nothing else to do. I refuse to play this game online again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too Virtua. Not enough real

posted by Jetpilot (GILBERT, AZ) Mar 23, 2007

Member since Jun 2004

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Ok so basically if you are looking for a solid tennis game with good graphics and realistic tennis game play, then Top Spin 2 for the 360 is the best. Virtua Tennis 3 has very nice graphics, some of the best, but how good the graphics are, is how bad the realism and game play is. In this game you pretty much are waking mad and diving at the ball most of the time. You never really get any rally going whatsoever. The ball physics are also really bad. For example, you come up to the net to take a soft drop volley and you somehow hit the ball 100 mph so the other guy can just do a super dive and get it back. Plus the music is terrible for a tennis game, its like DDR. Its not completely terrible, but Top Spin 2 is where the real tennis is at. Virtua is for ages 3+ if you know what I mean.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by newjack (GREENWOOD, SC) May 16, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is a great little game. you kidz will love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Too much fun - too easy to play - hard to master

posted by Hylinth (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 25, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Virtua Tennis has been one of my favorite titles and I am glad I got this game again. Main reason, online play. Totally lag free.

Controls are easy as usual and you can control your player quiet easily as soon as you start playing. Controls are the pretty much the same as the last Virtua Tennis.

World tour have a bit more training games, but nothing more than the previous versions. The graphics are much more smoother and so is the game play.

If you have 4 friends call them and play 4 player co-op play, and you will be sitting in front of your TV for hours or go on Xbox Live.

Over all you will be enjoying this game for a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Annoying Gameplay

posted by DocDosman (ATLANTA, GA) Mar 23, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I've just played the demo, and not the full version, but from playing the demo here is the little I have gathered. Controlling your shot in this game is a joke. You have very little control over shot strength and placement. Also, this game makes it out as if tennis players are diving all over the court constantly. Even when in position to make a clean hit, my guy stumbles and dives at the ball resulting in a weak, easily returnable hit. The lob shot in this game is also ridiculous, the computer AI is always able to defend it resulting in a point for them. The game looks great, it's just frustrating to play due to the terrible gameplay aspects. I haven't tried Top Spin 2, but according to the other reviews that is where it is at.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

First sports game I have enjoyed in a decade

posted by robowski (WICHITA, KS) Jan 25, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

I'm a first person shooter all the way. I try the sports games every once in a while but they don't get my attention anymore. I remember having a blast on the dreamcast with virtual tennis and so I rented it for my 360 and I finally found my sports game. Try it out people, it's great. The graphics are ok, the people don't talk they just open and close their mouth and you have to read text. There are lots of mini games. But all that doesn't matter cause the game play is unbelievable. Rent and or buy this game people. It's worth it!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

About This Game

posted by Panther199 (ZEELAND, MI) Jun 5, 2008

Member since May 2008

Virtua Tennis 3 is a pretty fun tennis game considering it being tennis. the controls are very easy and you will learn quick. The 1 disappointment for me is that for the World Tour you cant just start playing matches you need to get a higher rank and you need to complete the tennis academy which may take about 1 and 1/2 hours. overall this is a very fun game and i recommend renting it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great but not that great?

posted by BeauMan (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Apr 21, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

The game has very good graphics and 2 player gameplay, its just there isnt enough features I know its a Sport's game but its just not that great but GOOD!

Graphics: 8.5/10

Gameplay: 7/10

Mechanics: 6.8/10

OVERALL: 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sega is a master of Tennis

posted by cYeager (ANN ARBOR, MI) Mar 12, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I haven't gotten a chance to play Top Spin but I've owned every game in the Vitua Tennis series since the Dreamcast version. This version not only steps up the graphics a lot but it also has more realistic shot trajectories as well as difficulty of shots, with a couple new types of shots. The career mode is a blast, and in exhibition you can be federer or nadal. After returning this game to gamefly I went out and bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fantastic

posted by RKnight80 (RIVER FOREST, IL) Mar 10, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This game is possibly the best tennis game to come onto the 360 or the XBOX. The only flaw that I see is that the constant diving for the ball gets kinda annoying... ENJOY!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Do you like diving, then you'll love this game?

posted by djangojazz (BEAVERTON, OR) Feb 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

Ever wanted to dive a for a ball that was right next to your guy or sometimes be able to run and hit a ball that was halfway across the screen at others, then this game is for you! With that spectacular play control that is so inconsistent it just says EA or Sega you'll want to wonder why your character sometimes refuses to hit balls when you let go of the button or you don't change direction fast enough. At first the game is fun and the matches are little realistic but as you get farther the game basically is all about building your stats or you will get creamed, so build stats or get creamed. Once your stats are built the game dynamic is more luck and practicing certain moves your player is good with, strategy has little if anything to do with this game. Do yourself a favor, play Topspin 2 as it is better in nearly every way a game could be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love this game

posted by niknejad (LOS ANGELES, CA) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

This game f...... good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nearly Perfect - Online Doubles is a Blast

posted by Chronicdog (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 13, 2007

Member since May 2007

Ill keep it short - this game is an absolute blast to play online vs doubles over xbox live. The career mode and mini games are OK, but the real fun comes in teaming up with a buddy and going at it over the internet with another doubles pair. I can play doubles online for hours and hours, the game really has a lot of long term replayability in this way. A classic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, but gets old pretty quick

posted by thetunecat (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 10, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

It is a great game overall and is very realistic and fun. There is just not enough fun factor to it to make it worth buying it. It is for for 1-2 weeks though. If you like tennis you will love it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME

posted by tennist88 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 24, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

This game gets a bad rap with the diving factir but its really not that big of a deal. After you get your footwork down and you learn to read the AI's plays then it gose away.
Great rent.
Good buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun but gets boring quickly

posted by cowginger (NEW YORK, NY) Aug 16, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

The game is fun at first, but it eventually gets repetitive and doesn't offer much variety as far as playing style.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dive...Dive...more Dive

posted by tankhides (DEARBORN HEIGHTS, MI) Jul 13, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Could of been a fun game...Controls are easy to learn But way lame...Dive and then dive more. Which is fine on lower lvls, hit rating 56 and under it is murder time! When you dive there is no power or accuracy, So the cpu will crush the return and you are down 15 love....Fine it happens. Then it happens again ..and again till match is lost and your knees are bleeding raw from all the hitting the deck. And the conversations are LAMO as well honestly its fun for maybe an hour then downright annoying!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lets Play some tennis

posted by deftone7w (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Jul 5, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

I love this game in the arcades, and it has finally come home. The competition is sometimes weak in the early stages hence the no "10" spot from me. The bonus games are addicting and the career mode is fun. This game is a blast in two player mode as well, if you can find someone who knows how to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

very good tennis game

posted by SDpatFan14 (CARLSBAD, CA) Jun 30, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

it's cool cause I play the arcade game so got use to this real fast, only problem is I couldn't find a difficulty to get a challenge from, normal was to easy and the next level hard was to hard. haha oh well, it has a fun career mode but that also is pretty easy, get it though to rent its fun for a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just Okay

posted by AirmaX (HUNTERSVILLE, NC) Jun 14, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

Still waiting to get my xbox live fired up so my review will reflect that. The game starts out great but quickly falls into medium land. To me, the game got repetitive very quickly. The graphics are nice but nothing to get excited about. This is a great rental game but I would not buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not much new, but still pretty fun

posted by KillerB (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jun 12, 2007

Member since May 2007

The first Virtua Tennis on Dreamcast back in 2000 was a real breakthrough. It started all the Tennis games that followed. This is a great game (especially versus a friend), but there realy isn't a ton new from this game to the last few entries. I stuck in my Virtual Tennis Dreamcast game, and I actually like that one better.

All that said if you have never played one of the recent tennis games before I would rent it because it's fun. It's amazing how well tennis transitions to a video game. If you are familiar with the past entries there is nothing that new here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ehhhhh

posted by xCaRnAgEx (NORTH BERGEN, NJ) May 16, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

this game is ok,not the best tennis game but graphics are good but who cares about that when you have annoying gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse