Rent Virtua Tennis 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Virtua Tennis 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

1074 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Casual Sports Title

posted by Stunna (SEATTLE, WA) May 14, 2007

Member since May 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Game was well developed. AI scales as user improves in ranking (World Tour Mode). Its controls are easy and quick to learn.

Definitely a good game if you are into casual sports.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent Game

posted by ficarrar (STAFFORD SPRINGS, CT) Jul 15, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I rated the game of 6. It's kind of fun and challenging once you get involved in it, but its tennis, it gets old quick. Probably a good rent, I wouldn't recommend buying it...after a week you'll be wondering why you did

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Would have given a better rating if...............

posted by LogKenosha (KENOSHA, WI) Mar 26, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Would have given a better rating if this game was online enabled. Before i rented this one i did notice that it didn't say anything about playing online. I thought that maybe there was a mistake when creating the info page on the game. Guess i was wrong. I like playing games online, playing against people is better than playing against the computer. I was disappointed that this feature was not available. Putting that aside this game is very good. The animation is done well, the game play is very easy to control, and they also offer controlling the came by moving the controller. This is a tricky though. i like that u have to train ur player to get better and to obtain more skills. i was planning on buying this one, but now that i know that u cant play online I'm not sure if i will buy this one. if u like other tennis games u will really like this on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awsome game!

posted by ManSpider (NORTHPORT, NY) May 5, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is an outstanding game. Highly addictive and worth playing over and over. Best graphics I have ever seen for any Ps3 game. I reccomend getting this game to see for yourself. The only thing bad is that there is no online play, but besides that 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun for two but not for one

posted by tdubSD (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Virtua Tennis 3 is fun for one player during the first 3 matches.

After the first 3 matches, you've learned pretty much all there is to learn and the game becomes very repetitive. I have not yet tried playing against another person, but I would guess that a human opponent would be more creative and challenging than the CPU. Doubles are probably a lot of fun too.

Other aspects of the game are pretty well thought out. The controls are easy and intuitive.

So, if you have someone to play against rent this game. If not, don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Virtua Tennis 3

posted by Camwell (SUNNY ISLES BEACH, FL) Nov 5, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Not sure what the game reviewers were thinking when rating this game. I was done playing it after about an hour. The beginner difficulty setting is ridiculously easy with opponents barley even able to return a ground stroke. Increase the difficulty, and they return everything which turns the match into a dive fest. Net play is brutal as well, as it seems your player just can't put any mustard on volleys while at the net. It's just too unrealistic to enjoy for anything past winning your first tournament. Graphics are good, gameplay not bad, but it just doesn't feel like tennis. Best enjoyed with a couple of beers and playing against friends....Other than that, not worth renting if playing alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great gameplay, very shiny, needs a bit more depth

posted by TheArvis (DELAND, FL) May 9, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I can safely say that this is the best tennis video game I have ever played. Unfortunately, that isn't saying a whole lot, since the last tennis game I really spent any time with was the abysmal "Super Tennis" on SNES. However, Virtua Tennis 3 went far beyond my expectations of a tennis game in terms of graphics and gameplay, but underwhelmed a bit in the character creation department.

Things it delievered on: graphics were absolutely amazing, very finely tuned gameplay that's easy to pick up, but hard to really master, create-your-own-character, many gameplay options.

Things it delievered that I didn't know I wanted: all the extra mini-games, like Alien Attack and Pin Topple. These were alot of fun, and using them to "train" your character in World Tour was a clever way to use them and get the player familiar with them. Also, the interaction between your custom player and the Pros was a neat little surprise. Nothing more exciting than playing mixed doubles with Maria Sharapova.

Things it needs work on: facial expressions need alot of work. The create-a-character mode, while good, needs more depth. Also, getting name brand equipment, MORE equipment, and a better interface would help. The custom character faces also need MUCH more freedom when you're making them. The guy I made looks nothing like me... or any other actual human for that matter. The increase in AI difficulty could be smoothed out a bit more as well. The computer opponents go from "special olympics" to "will kill you in 8 volleys" very abruptly.

All in all, the game is alot of fun, and interesting enough to keep my attention off of other older games I have had for a while now. Not to mention, my interest in tennis is growing every time I sit down to play the game. It's worth checking out if you like fun video games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Tennis

posted by slovakia94 (LAGUNA NIGUEL, CA) Apr 12, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

No other tennis game is better than this game. Controls are easy, and very fun to play. Only a very bad thing is that this game is not online enabled.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Virtua Tennis a Flop with no online play

posted by MNSandman (CASPER, WY) Sep 12, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I had planned on buying this game originally before joining Game Fly. I am glad I tried it out on GF first. I would not have been very happy to get this home and then not be able to play it online.

The graphics, etc. are great but it is no fun playing the computer. Therefore I rate this game as a 5.

Thanks,
MNSandman

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Alright game overall

posted by HerdJC (MILTON, WV) Apr 30, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is a decent game overall. Like other reviewers have mentioned, the lack of online play kills the continued appeal of this game. The create a player mode is alright and offers a few different options and the graphics aren't bad at all. The gameplay is sufficient and not as repetitive as I would have thought.

Overall it is worth the rental, but probably not worth a buy unless you are a big fan of tennis.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

No Online!

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Apr 25, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I definitely think this is the best tennis game out there for a Sony product. The only complaint was the lack of online. Definitely worth playing and renting but I think the lack of online would keep you from buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Tennis Game

posted by jayrocko21 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

It's easy to learn, very intense to play and I can't get enough of it. This is a great game for any tennis player who wants to have a great time off the court.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent Game

posted by FranMac (PILESGROVE, NJ) Feb 25, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

A fun game, but it is way too easy. Characters always do same motions after winning set.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Virtua Tennis 3

posted by bobster22 (LA GRANGE, IL) Feb 7, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

This game has incredible graphics! The mini games are extremely fun and the game play is amazing! though it takes some time to get used to and is somewhat difficult, it is still a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by viper74 (RAEFORD, NC) Sep 18, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

This is a good sports game. It's better than FIFA 2008. At the normal difficulty level, it's challenging, but it's still playable. Gameplay is pretty simple, but addictive, especially in career mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent, but not spectacular.

posted by Thorno74 (EDWARDSVILLE, IL) Jul 6, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

As far as the big picture is concerned, this one ranks near the top of the short list of available tennis games. After a few matches and skill building exercises, you have all you need to excel at the game. The only thing that doesn't come with prior experience is being able to spend countless hours building your skills to the point where you are competitive in major tournaments.

The only bad part is the fact that Sega spent money to license the likeness and naming rights to a few of the worlds top players, but took little effort in recreating the digital likeness. It seems like they were imported from PS2 graphic engines.

If you are a true tennis fan and don't mind building your player over a month or so of continuous play then BUY it. It doesn't make a good weekend rental. There isn't enough time to really enjoy it. Instead, you will have a weekend filled with beating scrubs. Where's the fun in that?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Virtua Tennis 3

posted by l2urik (ELGIN, TX) May 20, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

i love top spin, and this game is very similar, but the main problem is the difficulty changes drastically. it goes from easy to hard to very very hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Addicting...

posted by eshawcomed (MANASSAS, VA) Mar 13, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I never really liked tennis or understood the rules very well. However, after playing Virtua Tennis 3, I'm hooked! This game is fun for the whole family and has excellent graphics!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not to Impressive

posted by nato0519 (ROEBLING, NJ) Feb 28, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

If you've played some of the other Virtual Tennis games not much different here. A few different mini games but not to much change in overall game. Graphics looked great and very smooth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Controls Are Rocket Science!

posted by thesqdon (NEW BRIGHTON, PA) Feb 23, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Was really hoping to find a playable tennis game, but this title uses way too many complicated controls to play. Although it does offer four different controller configuration profiles, including one that uses the motion sensor, none of them allow for ease of play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not bad...

posted by Offroader (COOPERSTOWN, NY) Jan 23, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game was pretty exciting. I even got my parents to play. Although I had the tournament section beaten in 22 hrs. 58 matches and only 7 loses. Guess I just feel like there could have been more to the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Game

posted by Cattie (ANAHEIM, CA) Dec 20, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

Like the realism of this game. The graphics are very good. However, it can get monotonous. You really have to be into tennis which I'm not. But, I did enjoy the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too Short

posted by austin71 (SEAFORD, NY) Nov 12, 2007

Member since Nov 2003

While this game was fun, and pretty entertaining it was way too short. I finished the game in three days, only playing for 2-3 hours a night. Also there could have been much more in terms of character creation. Basically all you were able to do was change hairstyle and color of your clothes. Blah. It needs more of a Tiger Woods "game face" creation. The matches didn't really get competitive until the last 2-3 opponents - and even then they were somewhat medium difficulty.
I'm so glad I was able to rent this for a few days than actually pay 60 bucks for it! It has almost no replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What happened to the Online feature??

posted by Gonnells (HOUSTON, TX) Sep 19, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

This game is one, if not, the best tennis games out there.

The only flaw is that SEGA forgot to include the ONLINE feature.

I would have expected more from SEGA, what a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Virtual Tennis is an Ace!!

posted by HooRahCJ (MIDDLETOWN, NY) Aug 23, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

This is one of the best tennis games out for any system. The controls are good and easy to learn and respond very well. The game itself has a good learning curve and will have you addicted the minute you pick up your controller. The graphics are very good and take advantage of the next gen capabilities. The sound can become a bit repetitive after awhile but you can always turn your sound off and put other music on. The mini games are great and they teach you the basics of the game and try to make it fun in the process. The one downfall of the game is that there is no on line abilities and the create a player feature is not as deep as it could be. Overall I gave the game an 8 and I am patiently waiting for the next one to come out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse