Rent Virtua Tennis 2009 for Wii
view large frontback

Virtua Tennis 2009

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3
GF Rating
5.1

266 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Virtua Tennis 2009 over Grand Slam, no contest!!!

posted by baku54 (FRANKLIN, WI) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Virtua tennis is a great game. While playing Wii sports tennis, I hated two of me even while playing singles. I tried Grand slam tennis too. Graphics for this game is cartoonish, and tennis ball looks like soft ball. Wii motion plus works fine in both. But Virtua tennis graphics is almost lifelike. Playing US open in New York, you do feel like you are in centre court. Player movements takes getting used to. I only use motion plus and let Wii console and my hands move me around the court. Just keep in mind friends that it's only a make believe game so just have fun imagining you are playing Maria Sarapova which all of us can never dream of. Oh by the way win or loose, do go through actual tennis movements and not just moving your wrist, so that you can get exercise you need. I know I started sweating after a few sets.

I GIV IT 8.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Virtua Tennis 2009

posted by Neelix (MALDEN, MA) Jun 11, 2009

Member since May 2006

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I guess I had high hopes for this game. Been reading all the hype on the Motion Plus and thought, hey, on the rainy days, I can stay in and practice and have some fun.

Well, needless to say, it just doesn't do it for me. Here are some remarks:

1) Why can't you just set the dang setting for Motion Plus ONCE!!! and forget it? Why keep asking us for it??

2) the VT coach is not helpful. It is vague and a poor coach. It should be fired

3) Unlike EA Grand Slam, when you move your remote, your avatar's racquet does not move, so you can't get a sense of how your guy's going to run to meet the ball

4) Where is the phenomenal motion sensing enhancement that I was expecting???

5) Graphics are so so - pretty much the same as the first Virtua Tennis games.

6) Not many mini games like the past. Also, they're pretty hard if you don't use the nunchuk. And it's hard even if you do use.

My advice, try the EA Grand Slam, I think you will be pleasantly surprise!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent

posted by MissDiva (FLINT, MI) Jan 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

So the mini games are fun and the fact that you get to create your own character basically from scratch is great. The moves are easy enough and it gets you moving. However, it's hard to navigate and figure out where you're supposed to go for matches. I lost interest rather quickly when it took a while to figure out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Geez I was expecting...

posted by Cruzer (RIVERTON, UT) Nov 27, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

So much more than this take my advice don't rent this game it's just a major waste of time! The controls are really iffy and graphics are absolutely terrible what went wrong here?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Too much work!

posted by evanzmom (WILMINGTON, NC) Mar 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

I didn't even get a chance to play. Too much work to get started. All I wanted to do was play a simple game of singles. Forced training? What's up with that? I play tennis outside of Wii and I've already paid for lessons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Virtua Tennis 2009 (Wii)

posted by apr2499 (KOKOMO, IN) Mar 20, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Virtua Tennis 2009 provides the most realistic tennis that you will find on the Wii. Although the game will work without Wii Motion Plus, it is really necessary to actually enjoy the game.

The game play with Wii Motion Plus is awesome. You can slice the ball, add spin, and do seemly a hundred other real tennis moves.
You can create your own character and actually make it look like you. It is not the faky Mii stuff that Nintendo uses.

It offers a regular mode where you can choose one of the famous tennis stars, or you can go into World Tour where you take your character on a journey to become a tennis champion.

Here are a list of Pros and Cons:

Pros:
VERY realistic motion controls
World Tour Mode gives the game not only a purpose but adds endless challenge and fun
Online play adds yet another level of fun as you can challenge people all over the world.

Cons:
Gameplay without the Wii motion plus is horrible and annoying.
In between EVERY match it asks you whether you are using a standard remote or Wii Motion Plus – VERY annoying.
Online play seems to be a bit sluggish. The game needs to have some sort of way of monitoring ping times and not allow you to play someone on a really slow connection.
World Tour opponents sometimes too easy to beat.

Summary: I give this game a 9.5 out of 10. Even though there are definitely some things that need improved, this is the first game that actually makes you feel like you are playing real tennis. It beats Grand Slam Tennis, Wii Sports Tennis, and definitely Racquet Sports hands down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Definitely Best Wii Tennis Game

posted by johnsrevie (CUPERTINO, CA) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

This game is, no doubt, the best tennis game on the Wii. The other Wii tennis games are Topspin 3, and Grandslam Tennis. (And the Wii Sports Tennis game).
Virtua Tennis has as good graphics as all of the games, or even better than some of them. But what really stands out is the amazing gameplay.

Virtua Tennis is the most realistic and the most immersive tennis game of the bunch. The racket Wii remote swing has to be precise, just like a real racket. A meter shows up on the screen so that you know where you're going to hit the ball. The game feels like a real game of tennis, and is really addicting, even for non-tennis fans like me.
Virtua Tennis also has a My Player sort of mode, where you create your own player and try to win match after match to get into the number one world ranking. This mode isn't as good as it seems though, because basically you're just playing match after match with a few fun minigames being added in.
All in all, Virtua Tennis is currently the best tennis game on the market. The graphics of it are almost as good as those of the HD Consoles, and the gameplay is MUCH MUCH better, MUCH MUCH MUCH better with the addition of Wii Motion Plus. If you want a realistic and engaging tennis game, pick up Virtua Tennis.

P.S. If you can't get Virtua Tennis, get Grand Slam Tennis!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Didn't blow me away

posted by Natcap (DAYTON, OH) Jan 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I'll be honest -- I was harsh upon opening the packaging for Virtua Tennis 2009. Ever since I purchased my Wii I've been on a pseudo-conquest to find a truly realistic and fun tennis game. The tennis included with Wii sports was a great first experience, but I longed for something allowing for spin shots, aim control, and more in-depth game play like that. Without buttons or joysticks that give such an easy backbone to tennis games on more traditional consoles, my expectations were both grim and hopeful.

After playing Virtua Tennis, they remain the same.

Virtua Tennis tried to include everything I wanted, and I was definatly able to see where there was more option for control of my ball. However, I didn't feel the game play was solid enough for the execution of such. To put it simply, I felt like you needed to be a real tennis player to do well in this game. And frankly, if you're a real tennis player, I doubt you're going to be playing much Wii tennis. I was actually tired after just one match.
The tutorial included with the game was frustrating at times. It told me what to do, but not as very good explanation of how to do it. I would try to serve, fault, and then do the same thing and succeed. It seemed inconsistent and angering.

I won't go so far as to say this game was bad, but it shouldn't be hard to find a better tennis game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME EVER

posted by prototypeq (SHAWNEE, KS) Oct 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This game was terrible I'm so glad i only rented it because it was terrible.

Reasons
1. The controls were not close to good they were too complicated.
2. The graphics were almost as bad as wii sports but wii sports was a bettter game you could barely tell who was who.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Expected to be better

posted by hardtosayx (COATESVILLE, PA) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

I agree with what another user said, about there being no other tennis games other than on Wii Sports. I only played the game for a couple minutes. And I had already gotten about six faults and double faults because it was impossible to hit it where you wanted to. Then when I would go to hit it, i would miss it. I definitely expected more from this game. But nothing. The graphics don't really matter for gameplay, but they aren't very good. I sent it back within 10-15 minutes of getting it and playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could have worked better

posted by apexadam (PASCO, WA) Jul 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I was excited to perform real tennis movements with this game. However, performing slices and precision hits with the standard controller was stale and inconsistent. I love tennis but struggled with this game. I wanted to love it but finally returned the game after many weeks of collecting dust.
~adam

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

????

posted by DrHague (SEATTLE, WA) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2003

Ok... if one more tennis game comes out for Wii that isn't better then Wii Sports Tennis, I'm going to freak the !&#$ out! Seriously, this game is lame. The graphics are nice, it's cool that you can pick all the current superstars or play on any surface... but the gameplay sucks! It's like having a hotel with a sweet pool, food, t.v.... and lumpy bed that you can't sleep on! What is even more disappointing about this was the hype about this new controller, and how it is supposed to add an extra degree of control. I play tennis and I assure you, the strokes you use to play the game do not in any way, shape or form resemble a real stroke. And why the heck do the players constantly run around their forehand????

I demand a Tennis game that is an improvement over Wii Sports Tennis? Is that too much to ask?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Virtua Tennis 2009

posted by ABBA1972 (GLENDALE HEIGHTS, IL) Jun 21, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

For the controls of the game when I play it, it keeps getting mixed up with the backhand and forehand. You can't really hit what you want and its kinda hard to volley. Also its kinda hard to hit what direction you want. The arcade games are harder than the previous Virtua Tennis games but its kinda more confusing. This game has a little bit better grafic but its an o.k game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tennis that'll test your timing and patience

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 18, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

When Top Spin 3 came out for the Wii, hard core gamers had a tennis simulator that they can play (unlike Mario Power Tennis or the tennis in WiiSports which are for the casual gamer)
The biggest complaints against Top Spin 3 was that it didn't have online play or character creation.
Now comes Virtual Tennis 2009 on the Wii, which corrects these shortcomings. But not all is good in this game.
You get the standard modes of play: a quick match against the AI or player, a career mode where you rise from amateur to professional tennis player, and online matches against your friends (and only your friends).
The problems start with the controls - this is not a pick up and play game.
Virtual Tennis 2009 is all about timing. When you get in place to make a shot, a bar appears just above your avatar and a line zips through that bar either from left to right or right to left (don't know how that's determined).
At the time you make contact with the ball, if the line is on the left section of the bar, the shot will go left. If it's on the right side, the ball will go right. And if it's in the middle, the ball will go straight up the middle.
Problem is, the line moves very fast, and it is easy to miss a shot. Also it's, hard to place shots with such a short window of oppertunity.
Adding to the headaches are the slice and drop shots. To make those, you hit the ball at the right time and swing softly.
Many times, I either hit the ball to hard, or the game didn't register the swing, and I lost the point. The AI, of course, doen't have to deal with these problems.
This game will take a lot of time and practice to nail down the timing and the swing techniques.
But if you do get it down pat, this game become a lot of fun, and there's a lot to do here - tournaments, mini games, online play and multiplayer modes.
Virtua Tennis 2009 is one game you should try before you buy - just to see how well you deal with the timing and controls. RENT IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Virtua Tennis 2009 is Great

posted by Howzit (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Jun 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

This game has everything, you can play as one of the pro's or start as an amateur. There are many facets to the game and having played it since it came out I'm still discovering new shots and different plays. It mimics the various professionals in minute detail. The mini games are fun especially the alligator one.

Having been a tennis player myself, this game is realistic and follows typical strategies and plays. You can run by using the arrows on the Wii remote and I found this easier than using the Nunchuk.

Two things that keeps it from getting a ten is that it is very difficult to climb the ladder in the amateur ranks and the coaching could be improved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »