Rent Virtua Fighter 5 for PS3
view large frontback

Virtua Fighter 5

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.7

2206 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Well...Personally It's the Best Virtua Fighter 5

posted by Lovaman85 (GREENVILLE, TX) Feb 24, 2007

Member since May 2006

19 out of 26 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

The graphics is outstanding, especially playing the game on 720p HD-TV. I like the details on the characters and the arena. I like the fluid movements on the characters personally I like EL-Blaze the Mexican wrestler. Nevertheless, the game falls short on the commands input its still the same. Personally, I'm too fond of it. Another thing that falls short, its hasn't really improve on the game features on the game its still the same too. Overall, its fast, better details graphics so its gets a 8 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a Fighting Game Player

posted by voxbhm (CANOGA PARK, CA) May 24, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I do not play fighting games that often, because I am not very good at them. But, I have a good time playing this one.

The graphics are wonderful, and the gameplay is fluid.

Like all fighting games, I would suggest this one be played with friends and not against the computer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent game... omg please rent it!

posted by PanzerAce (Brooklyn, NY) Feb 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

15 out of 31 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

First off, I wasn't into the series but the gameplay and the graphics are pretty awesome and will keep you intrested. You can keep going on and on with this game and it's a fantastic relief after those days of non-stop Resistance.

Excellent game, it's definately a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Beat Down

posted by ERLynx (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Apr 2, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't recommend this game through Gamefly. It's almost imperative that you have a good, solid guide while playing, if nothing more than the instruction booklet. The learning curve is ridiculous. Every character has what seems like a thousand moves. While this sounds cool at first, they are all titled in Japanese. This makes it impossible to associate any moves with their names and the buttons used to execute them. Add this to the fact that there are 2 face buttons used for punch, one for kick and one for block, and you'll find yourself button mashing more than desired. The characters are all cool, but there are NO storylines. Add this to the inexcusable lack of online play, and you're left with a game that is confusing, frustrating, and utterly forgettable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game, very deep, underrated by gamefly users

posted by djtortilla (ORANGE, CA) Apr 5, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved playing Street fighter 2 with my brother on the SNES. Even though there wasnt much to it besides fighting, I loved all the different combos each player had and the different sounds they made.

VF5 is my first VF game. My word of advice, play this game with an arcade stick, it makes the combos much easier to do then the sixaxis.

The number of moves for each player is amazing.
I love the animations and the different sounds each player makes.

No online? Big Deal. Im glad, any lag would kill this game. This game is meant to play against your buddies in the same room.

This game brings back the excitement of Street Fighter 2 to the HD generation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I gave this game a 9

posted by Annaja (BOISE, ID) Mar 9, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love this game it builds you up and becomes a challenge. I do wish there was more costumazation. Other than that it is a fun game, great to play with friends. The graphics were beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worthwhile...at least until Tekken 6

posted by falconz (MINONK, IL) Aug 29, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Good: The graphics are top notch and animation is smooth as silk. The computer AI is well done and will begin anticipating your moves. The ranking system is good way to size up your opponents before getting your virtual blood on the mat. The fight announcer is good addition. The combo system and strategy is well thought out.

The Bad: The announcers commentary does start to get stale after a few matches. No online play.

This game is a must rent, and it also represents a good game to add to your PS3 collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very Dissapointing for VF series.

posted by mrc131 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Aug 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am, I mean was, a fan of the VF series. This game is slightly better than previous games but not that much better. Obviously its ridiculously good looking for a fighting game and the physics are pretty good. Each fighter has his own style but the game lacks depth, as with many fighting games. The online mode is a neat feature that adds to the game. This is a very base fighting series, meaning you wont be shooting fireballs or soinc booms or jump over buildings. This realism is good for hardcore fighting fans, for the rest of us, it makes the game rather boring after a couple plays through the story. There are only a few characters I actually liked fighting with and once you beat it with them.... umm... yeah. BOTTOMLINE: Dont bother with this unless your hardcore VF fan, otherwise just get tekken5 off the ps Store.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not that good

posted by luvsfruit (DOVER, DE) Apr 15, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

really didnt like this game you have limited moves and the game goes from extremely easy to impossible. sure the graphics are great but that doesnt count for as much as some people think

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fighting Perfection!

posted by Gedaman (PORT MURRAY, NJ) Apr 1, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love Virtua Fighter! It's the best 3D Fighter of all time. This new installment doesn't change much from 4, but it has been refined to a fine key. The 2 new characters (Eileen & El Blaze) are cool and unique. The only thing missing is online multiplayer, but it wouldn't play right anyway so it's no big loss (look at how laggy Dead or Alive 4 plays on Xbox LIVE). Rent this game if you've got a PS3 cuz it's the only thing worth playing on Sony's new system right now!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

GRAPHICS GREAT!!! REST.... not so great....

posted by PDEE22 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 14, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was hoping for a good game to come out of this... Only thing I got was good graphics, from there on, hope was lost... Got bored 5 mins into the game... Was expecting good story, gameplay, etc.... instead got dissapointment... Only reason I gave it a 4 was for it's amazing graphics!!! If it wasn't for that I would have given it a 1...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Virtua Fighter 5

posted by IRONBROTHA (HONOLULU, HI) Feb 25, 2007

Member since Sep 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has awesome graphics but it's far too simple to have any replay value. I beat this game within 15 minutes of putting it into my PS3. Rent it, try it, and send it right back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

For VF fans only rly

posted by Piempster (CORONA, CA) Mar 15, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

8 out of 18 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

If ur a VF fan then ull love this if not then ull either hate it or jus mildly enjoy it ... its basically the old VFs with amazing graphics ... repetitive after a while but some people like that

ONLY downside is horrible default controls

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ridiculous Combo

posted by UFCfan (FOREST HILLS, NY) May 11, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

The game looks awesome. Movement is excellent, but moves are almost impossible to execute because of the ridiculously complex button combinations. Only a lifeless nerd would bother to take the hours and hours necessary to memorize the sequences.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Awsome.....but......

posted by Firstrate (LAFAYETTE, OR) Mar 15, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Graphics are the best i have seen for a fighter. The fighting is smooth and technical. The only problem is there is no online not even stat tracking. I played this game for 2 days and beat it with every character then....I have not touched it since. No one to play it with but my smaller (easy) children so why play it? I have found myself playing other games. Good fight and pleasant on the eyes but only for about 2 days...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST VF EVER

posted by kairav (Atlanta, GA) Feb 21, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

If you follow VF series and own a few of them, then nothing should stop you form buying this game. The gameplay is awesome, the characters great and the graphics are superb. This one might become one of the best selling PS3 games for a few months.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best of the Best Tournament-quality fighters.

posted by finalcut (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Feb 22, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Running at 60 frames per second, Virtua Fighter 5 is by far the best looking fighter available. With pages and pages of different moves for each character, you may also say that is the most complex fighting game on the market as well, and you would be partially correct. See, the joy of VF5 is that you have so many options to choose from in a fight, but rarely will you need to use every move in your repertoire. The moves themselves are rather simple, and the practice modes are great for getting yourself acquainted with how to play the game.
The gameplay of VF5 basically boils down to fast, quick movements, and to play it effectively, you will need to learn to react to your opponent rather than acting strictly offensively. There are three buttons you will make use of--punch, kick, and guard. This simple setup allows for even the most inexperienced players to jump in and enjoy. You are given the option to choose from all of the VF characters from previous editions, along with the two new characters, Eileen and El Blaze. Each of these characters has a unique fighting style, and none has a distinct advantage over another due to near perfect character balancing by the developers of the game.
Some people may complain of the lack of online play, but Virtua Fighter will probably never be an online fighter, and I actually prefer it that way, going by my previous experience with online fighters. Without getting too much into it, VF is really better off without it, so it was not included with this game.
If you like fighting games and are interested in getting the best, Virtua Fighter 5 is truly the best of the best. While not for everyone, this competition-based fighter will be a staple of the fighting game community for years to come. You can look for this title later in the year on the Xbox 360.

-Norm Stovall
Joystick Revolution

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst fighting game ever made.

posted by Vertisce (TOOELE, UT) Feb 24, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

17 out of 56 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

This game is flat out horrid. Characters are stiff and sluggish. Figting moves are bland. You cant use the thumbstick only the D-Pad to move with. The computer repeatedly does moves that are flat out impossible for you to do on the controller such as constantly moving around you in a circle. Most of the grabs that your able to pull off are all the same bland move. Voiceovers are horrible. The acting is anything but good. This is flat out the worst fighting game I have ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Virtua Fighter 5

posted by thenjman (DOVER, NJ) May 25, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game sucks! The graphics are nice, but the game play sucks big one. Don't buy nor rent this game. Mortal Kombat will always be number one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tekken

posted by Zan1zan1 (BOSTON, MA) Mar 11, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i only have two things to say about this game one is...Im very disappointed. also...just buy Tekken 6 matter of fact Tekken 2 had better game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

superb graphics

posted by nvjusme (HAYWARD, CA) Mar 10, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

WOW, this games look awesome!!!! Too bad I am not really a Virtula Fighter fan but I had to rent it because I heard this game looks great and it does. I don't really know how to play this game but I have played other fighting games and just started to hit the buttons and beat about 6 characters so that was cool. Other than that, that is all I did on this game and now I am ready to return it. The game looks SWEET!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun for 15mins

posted by Liquidswar (BROOMFIELD, CO) Mar 1, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

It took me 15mins to loose interest in this game. It has great graphics, beautiful scenery, and the diversity of fighting styles is a fun touch. However, for one, the environments are not fully exploitable like soul caliber and mortal kombat. The controls are limited to the D-Pad, which isn't difficult to get use to again, but one can imagine it can be more limiting in movement than the joy sticks.

Of course, the game comes with the cheesy, traditional, SEGA interface. Everything about the interface yells PS1 creativity.

To sum it up: If you see this game on display at the mall, play it and have fun. Don't recommend renting it and definitely don't buy it. It's not original in any way, and don't expect to see any ground breaking elements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too much like the older series. Not fun.

posted by gta111 (AUSTIN, TX) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The game didn't change much from the old.
Graphics were nothing to write home about.
Game play very weak. I played it for about half an hour and sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

really stupid!

posted by NeemaG (SANTA ANA, CA) Jun 19, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

man i was really looking forward to play this game but i cant beleive how bad it was. the graphics were, as always, very good thanks to ps3 itself but the gameplay was really annoying! there were no special moves, and the characters were so cheesy and steryotypical. And the last thing that i didnt like about this game was the fact that HELLO!!! THIS GAME DIDNT EVEN HAVE ANY VIOLECE! i mean its a fighting game for gods sake but none of the characters even had a nose bleed at the end of the game! anyway, its good for rent only

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

IMPRESSIVE GRAPHICS AND TACTICAL GAMEPLAY BUT....

posted by linusinCA (TORRANCE, CA) Mar 25, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

NO ONLINE PLAY??? ARE YOU KIDDING ME? VF IS GOING TO LOSE ITS FANS BECAUSE THERE IS NO ONLINE PLAY.
GRAPHICS FOR THIS GAME IS SO IMPRESSIVE. IT IS THE BEST I'VE SEEN SO FAR IN PS3. THE SOUND IS ALSO CRYSTAL CLEAR. GAMEPLAY IS SIGNATURE AND WOULD TAKE A BEGINNER A GOOD YEAR TO MASTER. HOWEVER, WHAT GOOD IS IT TO TAKE THE TIME TO PRACTICE YOUR COMBINATIONS WHEN YOU CAN'T CHALLENGE SOMEBODY ONLINE? YOU CAN PLAY AGAINST YOUR BUDDY AT HOME, BUT VF HAS LOST GROUNDS IN NEXT GEN FIGHTING GAMES GENRE BY NOT FOLLOWING EVERYBODY ELSE INTO THE ONLINE WORLD. SUCH A PITY BECAUSE THIS GAME IS WELL DEVELOPED.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse