Rent Virtua Fighter 5 Online for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Virtua Fighter 5 Online

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.2

2624 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An Excellent Fighting Game

posted by Commish428 (CASTALIA, OH) Jan 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

15 out of 15 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would like to preface this review by saying that I am a Tekken fan. Thought that should be known since I may carry some bias in this review.

I am somewhat surprised to see what I believe to be a negative reaction to this game, but I can somewhat understand. The game takes time to learn and fully appreciate and that is not something that many gamers want to do with a fighting game.

Each fighter has a strength and a weakness. Each fighter also has a different degree of difficulty in learning. Sarah Bryant was easy for me to learn. She had a quick style with some devastating combos that were not that difficult. Where-as Akira has been extremely difficult to learn. Some of his combos can be extremely difficult to pull off, however they are much more devastating to an opponent than the quick combos of Sarah Bryant.

The fighting is very smooth and the control configuration works well, especially with the multi-button moves.

The quest mode is an interesting modification from the last title and is one of the features that sells me on this game as a single player game.

However the best part of the game is the online feature. Testing your skills against those that are just as good. This part of the game is so addicting.

Now to the more frustrating parts of the game. As with every fighting game the end boss is a nightmare to fight. Dural seems to know every move you do before you do it. She also juggles well. I didn't mark down for this because every fighting game has this problem.

What I did mark this game down for was the lack of story and this has frustrated me with every Virtua Fighter. Where is the ending? You work your butt off beating an impossible boss and what are you rewarded with? Credits...thanks guys...thanks. One of the reasons I prefer Tekken over Virtua Fighter.

All in all I think this is the best fighting game on XBox 360 so far. It is a solid title and gets better as you play it more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Technical.. Deep.. Beautiful.. Boring

posted by Notaro (OCEAN CITY, NJ) Nov 5, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

14 out of 22 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

My first impressions, having seen it on PS3 aswell, were that the graphics are great, but the fighting wasn't intuitive at all. Getting the game in the mail this past week didn't change my opinion.

At a fighting distance.. it looks awesome: the texture detail is amazing; the characters are well proportioned and the motions are fluent; and the levels are amazing. Once you get up close in the victory scenes it's not so impressive.

The arcade mode is pathetic, in my opinion. Without knowing any real combinations I managed to get straight through with no difficulty at all. Compared to other fighting games I've played; Mortal Kombat, Dead or Alive, King of Fighters, Guilty gear, Tekken, Street fighter, the AI in this game is by far the most disappointing. I feel bad for PS3 players who're limited to the offline modes.

After putting some time in, I'm impressed by the depth of the fighting system.. but it's complicated to the point of being more work than play. This game has almost no fun factor, it's not for the casual player.

At this point, I was still thinking about sticking with the game, learning the system enough to play competitively, until I tried the online play. As you sign into the xbox live section of the game, you get to choose your character and data from the offline game. This means that once into the live menu, you can't switch characters. You then search for a match against one opponent, with your pre-selected characters, for one match, to then be kicked back to the menu again. It's almost impossible to enjoy playing with a friend, and a less advanced system then that of the xbox live arcade fighters.

Atleast for competitive players, Virtua Fighter 5 WOULD have been a must-rent, and a blast, with lots of lasting appeal and depth. They've completely destroyed the game's chances by rushing it out without a good xbox live system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best fighting game ever

posted by JoeyVast (REGO PARK, NY) Nov 5, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

8 out of 17 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

The deepest fighting game ever created. In japan old and young alike get together after work to battle it out in Virtua Fighter 5 at the local arcades.

There is a steep learning curve but the game provides a pretty good dojo mode to learn the moves.

If you like fighting games i can't recommend this game enough. Im addicted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

For the Hardcore only

posted by Hollowcow (BUCHANAN, MI) Dec 7, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Intro- Virtua fighter is the definition of fighting games. You read the history of the game and you will find that it has always had the best fighting engine of all fighting games. This game was the first 3D fighter and to this day is still the best like it or not.

Graphics- To put it quite simply they are unmatched by any other fighter on any system. The clothing and character models beneath them look as real as they could. Virtua Fighter 5 is only rivaled by Dead or Alive 4 is terms of graphics. The overworld in Quest mode looks pretty awful and is the only real graphical issue with the game.

Sound- Not much to talk about here. The menu music is fine and the voice work is good enough.

Gameplay- this game is broken into several different modes consisting of Arcade, VS, Quest, and Dojo. Arcade is probably the weakest of these modes.

Arcade- You choose a character and fight through a ladder of matches that increase in difficulty as the game progresses. Most fighting games have a story to go with the Arcade mode but Virtua Fighter 5 does not. If you want to know a characters motivation for being in the VF tournament you will have to read the manual, which is lame. The last few matches also feel very unbalanced. Towards the end the AI feels like they know what you are going to do before you do it and you MUST come up with a cheap tactic to bring them down.

VS- This allows you to play against a live person either on the console or online. The online in this game is very good but unforgiving to new VF5 players. Unless you play with a euro player with a bad connection this game is lag free. The unranked matches are mixed up with people of all skill levels. The ranked matches however are cruel and only frequented by VF gods.

Quest- Quest is the best way to learn how to play this game. It has you choose a character and begin your rise to fame as an up and coming VF5 player. The main hub is made up of arcades for you to play against A.I opponents.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

boring and annoying

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Nov 6, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 18 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

The two words best describing my impression of this game are boring and annoying. The characters were both. The fighting was both. I found that it didn't have as much fun or character as Dead Or Alive. They have attempted to go for a little more realism in the graphics compared to DOA, but end up looking bland and... boring... in comparison.

I did like the option of customizing my characters with accessories and changing the parts of their costumes around. You can never have too much customizing in a game.

The comments characters would make before and after fights were horrible. They aren't great in DOA, but there is some humor there at least. In this game, it sounds like someone tried to force some funny and poorly translated comments.

I only kept this game at home for 3 days. If you are really into these fighting games, you might like it a little more. But I would recommend DOA instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

JUST PLAIN LAME

posted by Wolfman13 (Hialeah, FL) Nov 27, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

When I first saw this game I was going crazy couldn't wait to rent it, it remind me of the old version years ago on sega. How wrong was I as I started to play i couldn't believe how easy this game was in a matter of min i went trough 6 different fighter i didn't even loose one round or came close to do so, also i control handle is just horrible so stiff I had to press like 12 buttons just for a punch man how bad is that DON'T BILEVE THE HYPE THIS GAME IS A BUST

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Avoid at all costs

posted by Donut212 (NEW YORK, NY) May 16, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

This game is a Dead or Alive 4 clone. Controls are clunky, AI is annoying even on easy, and the achievements for this game expect you to become a hermit to get them. Stay away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by 10inchgemini (HOMESTEAD, FL) Jan 30, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

i cant pay for it but i lost it so how ima send it back that dont make sense

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE

posted by Snowwulfe (HARRISBURG, AR) Dec 29, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

This Game Sucks Tried It Out And The Controls Are Terrible You Can Only Spam The Same Moves Over And Over And There Is No One Online Literally No One Not Even A 5 yr Old >.> Tis Pretty Sad...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

real fighting games

posted by gamespro (LA PUENTE, CA) Feb 12, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

this is a real fight game not the best but i feel like they can make it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

VF5O

posted by fusionfall (FEDERAL WAY, WA) May 20, 2010

Member since May 2010

VF5Online,

a very fluid fighting game to say the least.
i just have one question...do you guys have Virtua Fighter 5R?

Sincerly,
Christian

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Play and Forget

posted by Zollinger (CLARKSVILLE, TN) Aug 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

The game is fun and exciting the first couple days you play. Then it gets old, boring, and repeatative soon after that. The graphics were awesome but the game was just demanding too many things to press to pull off a not so awesome move or combination. Let's face it, it is not Tekken. Try it out, but you won't have it long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Serious Fighter for Serious Fighting Fans

posted by s1aveone (FORT GRATIOT, MI) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

I'll start by saying that if you are relatively new to fighting games, you may not fully understand what makes this game so great - unless you spend some time learning what makes it tick. If you are new to Virtua Fighter as a series, it is most comparable to Tekken, Dead or Alive, and - to a degree - Soul Calibur and not Street Fighter or Mortal Kombat. There are no fire balls or fatalities. Heck, there isn't even blood.

Virtua Fighter is a game about realistic fighting and realistic fighting techniques. Each fighter has literally hundreds of different combo possibility. The moves are relatively simple to do but you have to learn how to use them. Virtua Fighter 5 is easily the most accessible of the series. It also continues the play style of VF1, 2, and 4. The graphics are very good though I think Soul Calibur IV beats it out in that category. One other thing I should mention is that blocking is actually useful in this game - unlike many others.

All in all, this game is great. If you've been playing fighters since the 16-bit/Arcade era, you'll dig this. If you are too young or inexperienced to have enjoyed that era, this is a great place to start. Its easily accessible but very deep and complex - much like Street Fighter IV. Give it a chance, try different characters, and you'll find much to love here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a great game

posted by tretavious (BOSSIER CITY, LA) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

I think this game is awesome I could not stop playing this game I made

2nd dan my favorite charter is sarch she is a strong fighter and hot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKS

posted by Derm24 (STERLING, CO) Feb 25, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game should have NEVER been created, its so bad that i do not believe there will be another virtua fighter... Ill never again purchase or rent virtua fighter. ITS WEAK!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

VF 5 in one word.. Old.

posted by UrThumbs (GARDEN CITY, NY) Feb 24, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

While the idea of the arcades conquest is a neat idea, the menu system and overall look of the game is old... like it transports be back in time to '95 but in a bad way. I used to be a big fan of the series back when Sega had their own hardware for the home, but other fighting series just seem more attractive and fun to play than this game. With Soul Calibur and Street Fighter coming back to form, why play this game? Calibur has better Character creation if that is an interest of yours, and Street Fighter is one the best fighting mechanics around.

FUNFACTOR: 4/10

Final Thoughts:
I just felt disappointed with the whole thing. Maybe I demand a little more from a series thats been around a while. It still feels like the game from the 90's i loved but it feels so dated. With games like Soul Calibur, DOA, Street Fighter on shelves, why would I buy this? While fighting games never have a much of a story, there is still something to be said of at least some fiction. DOA, Soul Calibur, and Mortal Kombat all ways keep me interested because I loved a few characters and I like to see what they are up too. The Menu system is medieval as far as i am concerned. No menu system should take that long from one screen to the next. It looks old, and wastes my time... this isn't loading a huge GTA or Halo level. So why so slow? Go find a better fighting game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

FRUSTRATING

posted by nelsonx (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This is the most frustrating game that I have played in several years. When playing arcade mode, everything is easy until level 5. Then, all of the sudden, the CPU knows all of your moves. I wanted to throw the controller against the wall, and almost did.

Also, the button combos seem simple, but are not. Perfect timing is nearly impossible. And some of the characters are just plain better/faster than the others.

Overall, I wish this game was more like the Tekken series (or at least more like previous incarnations of the Virtua Fighter series).

MY ADVICE TO YOU:

Option one: rent Soul Calibur 4 or Mortal Kombat vs. DC.

Option two: wait for the new Street Fighter game; it looks like a winner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Feels Like Getting Punched In The Face

posted by Author (WICHITA, KS) Oct 10, 2008

Member since Jun 2005

I cannot with mere words describe to you how much I hated this game. I hated it with a vengeance. If it wasn't for the fact that Gamefly probably would have been angry with me, I would have snapped the disc in half rather than send it back and allow another player to suffer through it. There was literally one thing I enjoyed about this game, and that was the graphics. I have never seen anything like this before; there were time when I thought El Blaze's back was real, the graphics are that good and that is the only reason this game is not scoring a 1. Now that I've given the one piece of praise I can think of, allow me now to verbally rip this game apart. When I first started up a match, the entire control scheme felt really wrong; I don't know exactly how to explain it, except to say that I hated it. Fortunately, you can customize the controls with ease, but even then, I found the fighters to be extremely hard to control, although that was most likely because of Microsoft's terribly unresponsive d-pad. Even when I did get a hang of the controls, the gameplay still sucked. I felt as though my character's reactions to the buttons I was pressing took forever to actually happen, and I couldn't really get a feel of the impacts of each hit, if they ever did hit. This brings me to another point of extreme frustration; this game is really, really, really hard, almost to an unfair degree. I played this game for about an hour, and during that time, I fought about thirty matches, with my win/loss ratio being 0/30. Even if you were to completely pummel your opponent into oblivion, even if he a hundredth of his health and you had a full bar, your guard would fell like it had been inexplicably turned off, along with all other functions, and then your opponent would unmercifully beat you into the ground. I've been more mad in my life. Overall, this game sucks, I wish I had never rented it, and I encourage you to rent this one before you buy. You might save 60 bucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Virtua Flop

posted by militis (TULSA, OK) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

Strictly in terms of playability it is a very fluid fighting game. However, it would be nice to have a story line to offset the monotonous game play. On the other hand if you want an endless supply of mind numbing online arcade style matches then you have found your prom date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as good as I was expecting.

posted by emceelokey (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I loave the two Virtua Fighter games that were on the PS2 but there was something not right with this one. My biggest gripe were the controls. SOmething about it just wasn't even close to as responsive as the PS2 versions. The game looked great but was just missing something about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Fighting Game

posted by michael123 (FORKS, WA) Aug 3, 2008

Member since May 2004

VFO was a pretty good fighting game. You always had good control over your fighter. the online play was pretty good too lots of fun beating plp with high ranks. i recommend this game for fighting fans. 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Overly complicated game setup

posted by playwithme (ROCK HILL, SC) Jul 18, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Once you set up a game it's nothing special as far as fighters go. If you enjoy a good button tapper then you may like this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok Game

posted by Alckemar71 (ARVADA, CO) Jul 4, 2008

Member since May 2008

This game is ok but they could make it better with you being able to pick your own fights and walking around an city and doing it all yourself. So if they make better i am all for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Weak. WEAKWEAKWEAKWEAKWEAK!!!!!!!

posted by Thisisthat (Schroon Lake, NY) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Isn't it great when a studio totally NAILS the control scheme for their game? Like, actions are based on a simple cohesive language using simple pieces to make larger structures of combination? Y'know, so you can sort of intuit moves? In short, it's a beautiful thing when the controls, I dunno, MAKE SENSE! Isn't it?

Based on the law of contrast in perception, you'll have to rent this game to fully appreciate good sensible well-made controls. You can execute combos with about the consistency of a blind-deaf-mute lobotomy patient having a grand mal seizure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good but...

posted by MEPT72 (GLASTONBURY, CT) Jun 4, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

combo system is very interesting and it lacks what alot of classic games have, ie the ridiculous super moves. On the other hand once you get through a decent portion of the game it becomes impossible to do much unless you master the "Offensive Move" if you don't you'll essentially feel like you have feet in concrete as a 8 foot tall wrestler darts around the arena at lightening speed punching you in the back, or a mexican wrestler hits you in the back you turn he is behind you again and unleashes an unstoppable unblockable 40 hit combo to finish you. Probably more fun if I was better at that offensive move but with out it the game gets very very frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse