Rent Viking: Battle for Asgard for PS3
view large frontback

Viking: Battle for Asgard

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.7

2138 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Becoming Assissin's Creed all over again!

posted by Dravenn81 (STUART, FL) Mar 31, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

19 out of 22 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

...I say that, because, as the game wears on it becomes apparent that during your travels across the "huge" Viking lands (5 - 6 minutes from coast to coast it seems) you're doing the same things on every island: Rescue Vikings, find money, liberate farms/stills/etc, and finally, battling. Don't get me wrong, calling a dragon to blow away a shaman and his cronies is NEVER a bad thing, but when that's what EVERY battle consists of, it gets old...quick. Sometimes there's a giant thrown in for good measure, but it's pretty much SSDD.

PROS:
- Beautifully-made game
- Good control scheme for fighting
- Interesting cel-shaded FMV's

CONS:
- Repetition in all aspects of gameplay
- Sound effects could be better
- No treasure, just gold...There are Vikings for crying out loud!
- No customization of equipment
- List goes on and on

I gave it a 7 because, with all the potential the PS3 puts out, this isn't the worst game to throw at it, but it's not the best either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Viking: Battle for Redundancy

posted by Stinkfly (WESTFIELD, MA) May 11, 2008

Member since May 2008

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I didn't think Viking was as bad as most people claim. In fact it's not really bad at all, it's just perhaps the most redundant game since Tetris.

You'll spend the entire game doing one of three things. Most of the time you'll be running back and forth to finish incredibly lame quests that are required to progress. Second to that you'll be dismembering your foes with the same attack sequence over and over and over. Third you'll be sneaking into the enemy encampment to retrieve an item required to then assault that very base with your army (yes it is as stupid as it sounds).

Viking brings absolutely nothing new to the table. It plays out its meritocracy very well though. I personally found it to be fairly well polished. I think people complaining that it got rushed and it isn't polished fail to see that this game was going to be a rehash of other games from the start and it is indeed a well polished mediocre game. You've got your attacks ripped from God of War. A dumbed-down quest system take from World of Warcraft. Plus you've got a weaksauce storyline that's been liberated from...well, take any game with a near nonexistent story.

Honestly, the most fun you'll have while playing this game is when you knock enemies off of cliffs or into lava with your shield. No, it's not a spectacular slow-motion sequence. It's about the only game play mechanic the developers may not have intentionally set out to do. Viking is just so god aweful linear.

As I said before Viking is not a bad game. It's just another game that will fall by the wayside 0 and for good reason. A game that while fun for the time being probably shouldn't get a sequel. And if it does, expect the same exact thing. Walking around back and forth while slashing your adversaries in the same manner repeatedly to a craptacular storyline. Don't buy it; rent it, beat it in a week and return it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A very fair review

posted by Liquidswar (BROOMFIELD, CO) Mar 29, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

32 out of 44 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I'll try to be as fair as possible, listing the good and bad for you to decide if you'll like it.

Cons: The contrast in this game is horrible to the Nth degree. I have a 10,000 to 1 contrast t.v. and even then it's hard to distinguish shades of black from each other. Walk into a shadow and you'd disappear, if it weren't for the light medallion the developers cleverly placed on you. The graphic filtering is bad too -- you don't have even edges to things. Basically, the game developers gave up and left it 90% finished graphics wise. The game is a tad repetitive, but not in a way that gets boring.

Pros: It's still a fun game if you can get over the way it appears on most larger TVs. The best parts are the large battles you have -- similar to Heavenly Sword, but less artistic and more grit and grunt, slash and smash.

The game is definitely worth a play, not a buy. Just don't play it thinking it's going to be as good looking as some of the screenshots depict.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

These Vikings Are Lame!

posted by JDADDY518 (COHOES, NY) Apr 4, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I don't know where to start? I wanted to love this game. My first impression was that it was similiar to the original Fable(on the xbox). But that feeling quickly vanished. The graphics were ok, not necessarily next-gen but passable. The audio was lousy. But where the game really falls miserably short in is the combat. Its soo slow that you feel like your playing a turn based strategy game. And oh a sprint button would have been nice since your viking can very quickly be engulfed by great hordes of enemies that your viking will be overwhelmed by! If you like vikings then maybe you could give this a rent. It may be good for a day or two until you realize how broke the combat is. The only positive thing i can say is the story sounded cool and the environment can be fun to limp 'round in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What a letdown

posted by fenrael230 (HIGH POINT, NC) Apr 4, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

First off, the game is choppy. The gameplay graphics are OK. The cutscene graphics are Less-Than-OK. Speaking characters in cutscenes just bobble there head and look at you.

Sound. It's horrible and lacking. There's not a nicer way to put this. Really.

Environment. The game is laid out "sandbox" style but aside from landscape, there is absolutely nothing to interact with. This makes your very frequent travels across this landscape painfully dull.

What's sad is that you could see "what could've been", had they just kept this game in the oven a bit longer (at least in the graphics and sound department).

Bosses. There are no bosses to speak of. no larger than life mythological creature that you get to do battle with, like God of War or even Conan. Except for the final, final, penultimate battle. And the final boss is simply laughable. When I saw it, I nearly woke up the neighbors laughing.

The story is just, well...typical good vs. evil. I didn't really go into it expecting to be wowed. The ending sucked.

Gameplay. Say it with me (but only once, please)....."REPETITION IS NOT FUN." This game started wearing on my nerves, much like Assassin's Creed. At least Assassin's Creed was pretty and had an interesting story.

So yeah. Don't buy it, don't rent it, don't borrow it. Don't give SEGA any excuse to keep pumping out sub-par games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Warrior Hack-n-slash fun..

posted by GotGame (MCKINLEYVILLE, CA) Sep 10, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

that goes from start to finish. The toughest tribe of humans in all history are worthy of several hours of bloody melee combat. It is fun, negative comments regarding this game are generated from those who play too many games, resulting in their perceptions being jaded from over entertainment. If you like God of War style games you'll enjoy this-Fight on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't Even Bother!

posted by AI9AI3LJ23 (WHITEHALL, PA) May 13, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

When i got this game i thought it would be decent. Lets just say i was VERY wrong.
Lets see:
Gameplay is very bad.
Graphics are very mediocre (to me looks like a ps2 game).
Plot of the game is stupid.
This is just a really bad game.
Dont even think about wasting your time with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by Stiles818 (STUDIO CITY, CA) Mar 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I was so excited about this game but it just feels boring to me. Any movie or game that has swords, magic, gruesome fight sequences, and evil demonic enemies get my entertainment buck without a question; but this game doesn't. I think the game's audio( or lack of it) makes it boring. When you are fighting two or three guys and the loudest thing you can hear is a bird chirping, it gives it a boring feel. Or if you walk by someone or a waterfall and you hear nothing, it takes you out of the experience.
I'll keep playing it but i wish the game was more exciting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Are 2 negatives really enough to ruin a game?

posted by CFjones (MARSHALL, IL) May 13, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The answer is YES.
For the most part Viking: Battle for Asgard is what I have come to expect from a third person hack and slash game. There were only two glaring issues that made this a truly aggravating.
The first is that if you hold the high ground in a fight you can't hit an enemy that is lower then you... This can cause your death at several points in the first portion of the game alone. I seem to recall something about "Holding the high ground" being a solid military tactic for several centuries.
The second problem that made this game truly hated during game night was the auto targeting of enemies. There are several missions that require you to take out items to kill a particular enemy. But with the auto targeting this can be interrupted by another enemy coming into close proximity. With a timed re-spawn of these items this can cost you a life or six....
The graphics were nice, not spectacular but nice. The water effects could use some work but the rest is not bad. The sea really needed white caps on the waves.
Basically to sum up the two negatives I ran into were enough to make me disenchanted with a title I was otherwise looking forward to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Viking: Battle for Asgard or Batlle for Boredom?

posted by Camsann (ENCINITAS, CA) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game had good attention to detail but did not spend too much time on the storyline. Its just the average hack and slash vs Undead deal...good game but not worth money or long wait.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sleeper Hit!

posted by GIJoe1 (LONG BEACH, CA) May 4, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you're looking for a really good rental you've found it right here. Think GTA meets Thor...well kinda.

Graphics: 3+ out of 5. Somewhere between a really polished PS2 game and a reasonable next gen offering.

Gameplay: 4 out of 5. The maps are huge, the upgrades and rewards system keeps you going, the long, on-foot exploring gets you well immersed in the wide open, plush environments.

Story: 3 out of 5. This story is serviceable but nothing really to write home about.

Negatives:
-Could use some more variety in the upgradeable attack moves.
-Some repetition in the buildings/caves but nothing that will keep you down.
-Could've used a better, more rewarding ending.

???: Is traversing huge maps on foot too slow a pace for most gamers?

Final Thoughts:
Don't believe the "6" average score. Despite it's shortcomings overall this game is a joy to play. It gives you just enough to keep you coming back for more. This is not your average "Dynasty Warriors" style button masher. It is an exploring action/adventure with plenty of limb slicing and head splitting good times.
Rent = Yes, Buy = No.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Repetitive.....

posted by Jthom203 (MIDVALE, UT) Jun 14, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After you go through the first few "quests" you have pretty much done it all. You save the farm, the lumber yard, the people in a cave, the vineyard. The fighting system is fun and when you attack the cities the big fights are really fun, but they don't last long and really all you need to kill are a couple of shaman to end the fight. They story line was ok but with the repetitive quests it wasn't enough to keep my attention til the very end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Playable but redundant

posted by Eilcon (ARLINGTON, TX) May 22, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The plot is interesting, but the gameplay is the same over and over, little difference with new moves, graphics are fair, sound is nothing special. If you want to kill some time, this game is playable, but it won't be one of the ones you want to share with everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WACK

posted by noyzone (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Dec 9, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game came in the mail...I played for about 20 minutes......Put it in the mail the next day! This game is like something from ps1, don't waste your time!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

boring

posted by mikal0822 (ROUND ROCK, TX) Oct 13, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

boring, there is no other way to describe it. nothing more or less.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

THIS GAMES IS HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!

posted by Lionofjuda (DELRAY BEACH, FL) Apr 16, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i literally played this game for 20 min. this game is slow difficult and stupid. it just a big guy swinging a ax and a sword. whup de doo so not cool. it didnt even have a tutorial. but THE ONLY THING I CAN SAY IS it had good graphic but it the game suck the graphics dont matter

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is sweet!

posted by beavismtv (AHWAHNEE, CA) Apr 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best games Ive ever played. It has a badass person and sliceing an dicing and free mode what more do you want!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great fun

posted by MicrotechM (CALIFORNIA CITY, CA) Dec 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2005

Good but sometimes the camera angle gets hard to compensate when in battle

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

no sound

posted by Gman250 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Dec 6, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

the sound in this game is very limited. so with that said the game feels less epic when having large scale wars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Enjoyable game

posted by Squeegie (BELLINGHAM, WA) Feb 27, 2011

Member since Jul 2008

I liked playing this game, but the fact that there is no background music took away a lot of the experience. Good fighting and good bosses - some of the battles were challenging. Finding items was fun, the dragons were cool, and the teleportation was neat, when you could find the portals.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

the game

posted by BloodyHeck (HOLCOMB, KS) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

it was fun but mostly because of the Norse, Pagan, and Viking elements

though after awhile the gameplay got repeative i got board after the first level

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Viking. Battle for Asgard

posted by rnicholson (INGLESIDE, IL) Jan 10, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This game is a total waste of time and energy.......No clear directions on how to equip or use special items/magic. Although it is a total open map........the game leaves a lot to be desired.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Mind numbingly dumb

posted by DOOMgear (MESA, AZ) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

ya at first this game is fun gore, swords and demons but after repeating this 200 times over and over with very little to no change in game play it begins to lose its touch i was hoping the story line would at least even this out only to be sadly disappointed if your looking for a cheap thrill this games for u but don't expect much

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Could have been better....

posted by 608gamer07 (EVANSVILLE, WI) Aug 31, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

I like the concept of the game. I thought it was actually pretty fun to play. Technical issues and poor graphics held it behind though.

When dialogue was going on no lips were moving with the voice actors. Did they forget to add that or didn't have enough money or what?

God of War 2 for the PS2 looked better graphically.

Other than that I did enjoy the game play. It wasn't too bad. I gave it a 7 because I thought it was fun to play. Worth a shot. If ya don't like it then send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Repetitious hack and slash

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Jul 19, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

Sega's "Viking: Battle for Asgard" could have been an excellent hack and slash adventure. Unfortunately, after the first few times dismembering an enemy, things get stale. Basically the game is travel here, free some Vikings so they join your army, then take on a boss, followed by some more of the same. The voice acting is okay but not outstanding, graphics are likewise- just okay, nothing that's too memorable. There's a half decent story if you care to follow it through, but chances are you'll get bored with this long before the end credits.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse