Rent Viking: Battle for Asgard for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Viking: Battle for Asgard

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.5

6283 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Demon bisection simulator

posted by signal (LILBURN, GA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

37 out of 41 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

In Viking, you play as a young warrior named Skarin, and you've got orders (and the immortality that comes with it) to take down an evil race of corrupted man-like demons that have taken control of your homeland. You've got a sword and an axe, a little bit of magic power, and the strength of whatever army you can muster.

Simply put, it's Conan meets Crackdown, but not exactly the best of both worlds. Like Crackdown, you need to assault the enemy, but first you have to wear them down and build yourself up. You will need to liberate settlements to build up for a massive attack. Along the way, you'll dismember an awful lot of demons. All of your sneaking around, assassinating, or simply beating down the enemies with the competent fighting system will culminate with a massive battle to liberate a huge city.

The problem with this game is that we so rarely get into those massive battles, brutality comes at a price, and action may actually be the wrong place to go with this game.

These massive battles happen once every few hours of gameplay, and they really don't offer you many options. They definitely make you feel like a hero, but it's not possible to lose the fights through attrition; you must seek out key targets and destroy them to continue, and it's impossible to actually lose the fight.

The combat system is great for fighting small groups. But it's very easy to bite off more than you can chew, as you will get quickly overwhelmed simply because while you're beating down one guy, you will get hit in the back by someone else.

Cutting demons in half sounds cool, but about half the time it comes with a slow-motion effect, which eventually becomes simply irritating.

That's not to say that it's not fun, but you'll find yourself wishing there was more to it. It simply gets to be a little formulaic after you've done it a bit. Still, the game is worth playing. It's fun to hack up demons, and it's fun to play, at least for a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fun and entertaining game......

posted by Warchief (WALNUT, CA) Mar 27, 2008

Member since Feb 2005

66 out of 82 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game was fun right from the start. the ability to upgrade weapons and basically learn new combo moves is great. I feel that this is a game that will be fun for everyone that plays it. Just remember when playing it that it is no epic game. It is a fun game a hack and slash. The graphics are pretty good the achievements for it are pretty cool to get and the story line is not that bad. I will say though that it is not a game that you should buy right off the bat. This is the perfect example of why we have gamefly.....if you love it like I do you can buy it but if you just like it then thank the lord for gamefly where you can have fun with out dishing out the 64.94 after tax. Great game overall

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Being a VIKING could have been much better !!

posted by CNTRINSGNT (MANVILLE, NJ) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

151 out of 193 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

As usual all of my reviews contain the good, the bad, and a final thought.

==========
THE GOOD
==========

The gore in this game is very intense, if you are attracted to this sort of thing then you will enjoy this game.

The armies are MASSIVE, many many people on the battlefield at one time.

You have the freedom to explore a very large and open world, you will not find yourself not being allowed to go to places that look interesting.

The graphics are awesome, very good detail.

=========
THE BAD
=========

Very shallow story, and it gets VERY VERY repetitive very fast, Its ASSASSINS CREED all over again except this time you are a viking!

Those big battles which were really good turn really bad sometimes in terms of xbox slowdowns!

The sound is ok, but not the best. You will find the game to be too quiet sometimes and a lack of music doesn't help this issue at all.

NO MULTIPLAYER AT ALL!
Folks I cant say this enough, In the year 2008 EVERY GAME should contain multiplayer. Even if its a very shallow form of it.

--------------------- -- -- --
FINAL THOUGHTS
--------------------- -- -- --

This is an Ok game for now, If you look there are very few games releasing this month. Its worth the rent during this time but be prepared for some let downs as mentioned above. The game has VERY LITTLE replay value!
Its worth a rent but not a buy!

ACHIEVMENT DIFFICULTY 6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than other games like it.

posted by 360FanBoi (CARDINGTON, OH) May 17, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I've never really been compelled to write a review here at GameFly, but this one grabbed me. I'm not saying that it's a breakthrough masterpiece by any stretch, but this game deserves to be Q'ed. Achievement mongers will be happy to know that this is an easy 1000/1000, but that's not why you should get it.

The game starts off with you in the first city and throws you right into battle without even a simple tutorial. That IS annoying, but the game is easy to master. The combat animations are fluid and the graphics are stellar, especially during the epic siege battles. The story gets wierd towards the end, but what do you expect from a game based on Norse mythology?

Bottom line, get it. It's one of the more under-rated games here on GameFly, and I don't know why. 8/10 for me.

Also a helpful hint to anyone getting this one: LT+Y is the counter-attack button. This is THE most important move in the game. You can upgrade it later on to perform a devastating quick blow. Just always remember to stay guarded while fighting and time your Y (dodge) when you see an enemy getting ready to strike.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Quite a good game

posted by Zeromaxx (REDFORD, MI) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Like most games I play I played this game on medium (there were only 2 difficulty settings here) for the first play through. On normal I was entertained throughout the game and had little trouble winning and finding where I needed to go. The game gets extremely easy at the end if you buy the skill "Odin's Doom" and spam it, as it kills enemies quite quickly but by the time you get it you'll find you need the extra attack power. On hard the game entertained me through about half of the 2nd island, the mixture of already knowing what the game will bring and being quite a bit harder just bored me. I suggest playing on normal unless you happen to be an achievement monger (the "w" word is blocked). My one complaint about the game was that I saw the ending from the first line from Shaman Asta, most people who know the simple stories of Norse mythology probably will.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great at First...

posted by Porkchop (SANTA ANA, CA) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

26 out of 37 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

At first, i thought this game was amazing. You got to run around rescuing troops for your army, and the fatalities that you could perform were great. I just ran around killing people and trying to get everything i needed for the big battle for like 6 hours straight. The first battle was awesome. You had about 500 troops and got to use your dragon. The problem was it took like 20 minutes and all you did was kill the champions so that you could get the stones you needed for the dragons to attack the shamans. There were 2 parts that were exactly the same, and then you fought this huge champion dude, and it wasn't even that hard(and i was playing on hard...)
After that i thought that the game deserved another island WHERE YOU DID EXACTLY THE SAME THING. They didn't even change the names of the locations where the troops that you had to free were located. The battle was exactly the same again, only bigger.
Then you moved on the the third and final island WHERE EVERYTHING WAS THE SAME, only bigger.
It took forever to reach a terrible ending, and you had to put u with an extremely repetitive game to get there.
The only reason i don't give this game a 1 is because the first level was so much fun

I recommend renting the game, and not moving on the the second island.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by humpys (HONOLULU, HI) Aug 2, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I think this is was very good. It had all the makings as gears of war. if you like body parts flying and blood. this game is for you. The graphics is excellent. The only draw back is the game keeps repeating itself with all the missions in the game. wish you could play as the horde as well. Wish there was online game content for an extended version DLC pack.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Viking....Batlle For Asgard

posted by Dark182 (PROVIDENCE, RI) Apr 4, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Viking, only doesnt recieve a ten because it has no replay value. No online multiplayer and the tedious missions make it so this game is a blast the first time through but will never be touched again.
Even though the game has no replay value it is still a must for a rental. Easy to learn gameplay, short story line, and story based achievements make this game worth the six or seven hours you will put into it. As a rental Viking would get a ten, but in the overall scheme of things, Viking gets an 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The idea was there but poorly executed.

posted by Clonesfan (NORTH LIBERTY, IA) Apr 4, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Viking tries to win players over with gore which it does a good job of for the first hour but then the repetitiveness of the uninspired missions and lack of innovation steps in.

There is a lot of blood and guts in combat but besides the gore your combat is your basic setup. You buy new moves and magic of which you really only need a couple. You spend a lot of the time fight with the poor camera more then the enemies.

Most of the time during the game you spend trying freeing more Vikings to join your army and running around collecting things for NPCs.

The big shining spot is the massive battles. They are fast and intense. There are hundreds of characters on the screen battling at once. The frame rate does get hit a little but never really hurts the whole all experience of the battles.

The storyline is so poorly written that it is not worth paying attention to after the first few cut screens.

The achievements are not hard to get. You should get them all if you decide to play through the whole game on hard, which is not hard at all.

Overall, the game really had a great idea but the repetitiveness of the mission, the poor camera angles and shallow storyline really ruins the experience the Viking tried to offer gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Bad.....Not Good

posted by GotGame36 (SAINT PETERS, MO) Apr 2, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game starts out great with the blood, gore, fatalities, and stealth kills but gets very repetitious. I really enjoyed level 1 and toward the middle of level 2 I was doing the same things over and over. You would fight the EXACT same boss in every level. The boss would have the same moves and all. Another thing I did not like is that you could not upgrade your armor. You could upgrade your weapon but it did not change in looks.

Pros....
1) Graphics are excellent
2) Blood, gore, stealth kills, and "fatalities"
3) Good game play and game style

Cons....
1) Very short game
2) Not a real good story line
3) Same thing over and over
4) Upgradeable weapon but looks do not change
5) Same enemies and bosses in every level

I think Sega could have done a better job with this game. It started out as such a great game but then fell apart during level 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is the gem in the 360 library!!! Awesome game

posted by thextreme1 (BERLIN, MD) Apr 1, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Graphics are better than 90% of the 360 games out there, with more animation than any game I have ever seen. It seems as if everything in the environment animates. The gameplay is top notch and is a mix between Fable, Devil May Cry and God Of War.

There are some RPG elements and lots of gory action. There are times when there are thousands of enemies and friendly AI on the screen at once. The enemy AI is very well done and can get very challenging.

This game is a true gem to play. Alot of fun action, mixed with light RPG elements and God Of War type button sequences during boss fights.

A great rental, an even better buy! I cant recommend this game enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Gory, Gargantuan, and Great fun.

posted by Boowhatty (BANGOR, ME) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think Sega is gonna suprise alot of people with this title. It's wonderfully magnificent. If your a fan of any Battle RPG and you enjoy quite literally "spilling your opponents guts(and i do mean actual intestines...lol) this is an awesome title for you to try out. The enviorments are very nice as well as very smooth character and action sequences. RPG fans: your gonna remember this game for years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Repetitive but addicting

posted by gaminguy15 (LA PLATA, MD) Jun 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game was pretty good, except for the fact the way you complete an objective is the same on every map. Only the landscape changes. Overall game play is fun though. New enemies are produced every so often, and strategies are always changing. The game is well designed when it comes to graphics. It still doesn't beat a lot of games but it ranks up there. I personal kept the game for a few weeks because it is so much fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Assissins Creed in Sweden

posted by Neddelux (KINGWOOD, TX) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ok guys (and gals) if you loved Assissins Creed, you will love this game as well. The gameplay is just like it. An open world with some neat chop 'em up sword/axe play.

I enjoyed it alot, although,I did not have the patience to finish the final battle after 20 or so attempts....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

VIKING BATTLE FOR ASGARD

posted by aaaedwin13 (Brooklyn, NY) Apr 17, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

LIKE THE GAME SAY;BLOOD LOT OF IT.GORE AND VIOLENCE CANN'T WAIT TILL PART 2AND 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What were they thinking

posted by brownbagit (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jan 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This isn't even worth a rent in my opinion. I've played hundreds and hundreds of games in my life and I'd have to say that this is one of the worst. Graphics are decent is about the only positive I could find. Missions are extremely repetitive ala assassins creed but at least that game had great fighting mechanics. Here they are sluggish and slow to respond and tiresome, hit the bad guy several times and finish him with x. If you die after completing a mission and after you saved the game, you restart at the mission beginning again and you can either redo what you just did or reload the game. All in all it is two thumbs down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DOOOOO NOOOoTT PUT ON QUE!

posted by youngsldr1 (SUFFERN, NY) Dec 19, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is maybe theeee worst game i have played on 360. The combat controls are terrible...and the story is bad aswell. I got this game(even though it was #9! on my que because of course everygame on this dayum site is Low)yesterday and i put it back in the mailbox the same day...plz do not rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

AHRG! Im a viking?

posted by BAPHOMET (PASADENA, TX) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Man i just did a 7 hour play of viking, and no i didn't "beat" it. Mainly because this game is horrible. If you like to run around a world that looks like a 5 year old came up with.(map layouts are really "simple").or if you like tapping in repetitive monotonous button patterns for combos, in a world that looks like it is designed by a 5 year old. Not to mention no cut scenes, nor any voice acting. that's right. this very well may be the only 360 title that plays like a first gen. Sega title. OOPS... it is, but on 360. mmmm....? So basically what im trying to say is, Viking promises an "over the top, visceral experience". To some this was cool. To me, that was Valhalla! Instead, i was promised Amon Amarth, but only experienced Hagar The Horrible. BUMMER. oh yeah its got more bugs than Mississippi in July.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Viking Blows!!! Save your money!!!

posted by fred333 (STOKESDALE, NC) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

5 out of 26 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

I spent two months looking at videos and screenshots thinking I'm looking at something comparable to God Of War, was I ever wrong! This is one of the worst games I have ever come across by far! Boring from the start, graphics do not resemble what has been posted at all, totally duped! Gameplay is cumbersome and very boring. Rather ridiculous when you get down to it. Open world? 20 steps and you are in another land practically. Conan was better than this if that's telling you anything. I could go on and on but Viking has already gotten my money and time out of my life I will never get back. So if this isn't convincing enough for you then I suggest you rent before buying or just send me your 60 bucks and see what you get in return cause it will be the same as what Viking gave you for your money...Notta....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

VERRY VERRY BAD GAME

posted by karima (Lake Forest Park, WA) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I PLAYED THIS GAME A COUPLE OF DAYS AGO AND ITS HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!YOUR SOME VIKING GUY AND YOU FIGHT THINGS AND IT HAS A HORRIBLE STORY LINE!!! THIS GAME WAISTED MY TIME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth Playing Concidering the Age of The Game

posted by jacksonran (BEDFORD, IN) Jan 22, 2013

Member since Aug 2010

I would rate this game an 8 when it was first released but its about a 6 for today's games (2013). Its fun but repetative. You have 3 main islands and have to do the same general thing through all of them. Its a hack and slash but with strategy. (see below) with the Viking mythology.

Good: The combat system is pretty solid. You have to mix smash button, block, and your combo moves. So reflexes are needed. Reminds you of the A.Creed games at its basic. I like the general outline of the game too. You take over territories, free your people, and then unwillingly catch them bent over with their pants down. (since I can't place the "R" word) in a local overtaken area. Plus they had points of fast travel, that is always nice. If you are an achievement junky like myself, Play it on hard and get them all in one playthrough. Its too easy on "normal" mode.

Bad: The graphics. The were good for 2008 but not comparable to today, so be fair with that. Don't expect too much. I didn't like the repeat strategy. All the missions were, in general, the same. "its over ran, free our people" but the combat and the drive for the acheivements kept the game alive. Plus you did learn techniques along the way to kill them in different ways.

Ugly: The mythology is decent in my opinion but this game butchered it. They made connections between the "Gods" and their roles, but not enough. The story was too spaced and not well explained to keep you into it. Its not as bad as dark souls in that sence, but its no final fantasy. lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Definately try!

posted by Mr_Rager420 (WOODSTOCK, GA) Aug 27, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I've rented this 3 times. It is a very good game. The quests are ok, repetitive but the overall, no exageration, full-scale battles, are awesome. It makes the game. The story is pretty cool, but It lacked the Norse appeal, in my opinion.

I think it should have a sequal, or atleast another game like it. It reminds me of Spartan Total Warrior. Though it has free roaming, the roam range is minimal to an island, but there are(spoiler) 3 islands/levels you have to play through. I suggest playing it on hard, it make it more challenging, and the battles last 2x's as long.

Very Good game, rent it if you're interested, your doubts will clear once you get to your first "army skirmish" ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Greatest game in a while

posted by loganator57 (CHARLESTON, WV) Jun 29, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This game was a blast! massive, i mean MASSIVE battles. Very fun. i loved this game. some parts of the game took some time to think. There are four huge islands you have to explore. About 2 huge battles per island. I couldnt beat the final battle, was very challenging! All in all a very great game! A good rent! Dont buy, no replay value. My gamertag is LOGANATOR 57 for Xbox Live. Add me! See you in the games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

pretty good

posted by kill3rkong79 (CROCKER, MO) Jun 12, 2011

Member since May 2011

not a bad game just kinda drags out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

viking

posted by dud (LEXINGTON, KY) Mar 20, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

it has some of the gratis batal sens iv ever seen but there is no replay to it if u start over u completely start over no upgrades are any thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse