Rent Victorious Boxers: Revolution for Wii
view large frontback

Victorious Boxers: Revolution

Not Rentable
GF Rating
4.0

1085 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Not great, not horrible

posted by raynes (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Oct 23, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

43 out of 49 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Boxing on the wii is an odd thing. The first thing that most seem to assume is that the wii and it's motion controls would be ideal for sports games, especially the ones that were in wii sports.

The more I play Wii game, the more I have come to realize that is not always true. Take the case of boxing video games. Previously boxing games used buttons and a directional pad to control the character. The translation to on screen movement was exact. This simply is not possible with the wiimote. While there is some translation people simply move to fast for the system to translate moves accurately.

Now if you go into the game with that understanding, the game is quite fun. Pretty much the only thing that really bothered me is that I didn't feel the characters had much in the way of personality. Then again this isn't Punch Out so maybe the comparison isn't far.

So the big question is should you rent it? If you are looking for a game that is a step between Wii Sports and the next version of Punch Out (whenever that will be) then I would say yes. If you are looking for a top notch boxing game, then you will probably be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Victorius Boxers Revolution

posted by banjobill (NASHVILLE, TN) Nov 30, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game tries to tell the story of a young boxer who dreams of becoming a champion, and the storytelling fails miserably. The story is hard to follow, mostly due to the overabundance of Japanese names, and most fights are won easily.
On a better note the boxing is fun but I would suggest using the second swing technique, as trying to move around the ring using the nunchuk and wiimote is awkward. Overall I'm glad I only had to rent it. So rent it only if your dying for a boxing fix other than Wii Sports.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Seriously Under-rated

posted by arulnick (CHANDLER, AZ) Nov 4, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

At first this game will feel a little clunky, that mechanics unfamiliar to those never involved in a good fight. After a round or two of getting your butt kicked on a hard level it will just start to flow. Before you know it you're learning to box!

This game is very under-rated because what people fail to mention is how non-linear this is a for a boxing game. It's a choose your own adventure win/lose scenarios and stories unfold even while you fight! It's awesome how a fight will pause for a cut scene, boxers think through the brutal punishment they give or take.

No two fights are ever the same! For example I had to fight one guy several times to win but one time I lost by knock-out and the other was a cut scene into a special move he did while kicking my butt. The move was called something like "heart stopper" and that resulted in my character having a heart attack and my coach/corner throwing in the towel.

Truly incredible flowing game mechanics provide Wii action I haven't experienced yet plus this game provides a great work out! This one is seriously worth checking out. Think of it like a modern Punch Out for the Wii. This game gets a nine out of ten!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The good, the bad, the confusing..

posted by Coaster (EAU CLAIRE, WI) Nov 24, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Fans of the anime series, such as myself, will be happy to know that Story Mode is essentially a condensed version of the original television series.

Unfortunately those same fans, again such as myself, will be saddened by the fact that all of Ippo's trials including getting beaten up, grabbing ten leaves from the tree, and earning his amateur license, not to mention many of his early bouts, are ALL missing from the game play!

Are you listening XSeed? BOOOOO!!!! By focusing strictly on boxing in the ring you missed a golden opportunity to draw in elements from the original story line and incorporate them into the game play.

As if that weren't bad enough the abbreviated version of the story is likely very confusing (or at the least very uninteresting) to anyone not familiar with the anime. Some may even wonder why there's a story mode at all if the dialog in each cut-scene is limited to a only few short paragraphs and there's no character development. That's really a shame because the anime series was awesome and now some people are getting the wrong idea.

I'll end this review on a good note however, and that is sparring is still fun for all. The only problem there being the controls which, needless to say, could be vastly improved upon. Unfortunately that has more to do with the capabilities (or lack there of) of the Wii Remote than anything else.

Still it's more realistic than Wii Sports Boxing so if you like boxing then you definitely need this one. Get in there and box and enjoy it for what it is. Just don't expect a deep and considerate gaming experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Its a start

posted by Gorelom (Port Angeles, WA) Oct 21, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is good start to how fun a boxing game could be on the wii. Besides the weird graphics game play is strange. Its nice that the game actually recognizes what type of punch you throw. But the rounds are really fast. And the story line is boring!

Its a start, but not quite there. Actually a long ways off but good try Xseed games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't bother.

posted by ScottyDWii (CHICAGO, IL) Nov 2, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Long story short - 6 control schemes are great, but if none of them make the game fun, what's the point? Rent something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pass

posted by pezboy92 (SOUTH AMBOY, NJ) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

8 out of 21 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Victorious Boxers revolution is nothing special. The controls are alright and the art style fits the game. My advice to anyone would be to, stick to Wii sports boxing, or buy the game Punch Out on the virtual console. You might like it the first half an hour, but it will fade on you fast. I wouldn't rent or buy this game. Stick to Wii boxing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't waist your time

posted by kicksnfits (MODESTO, CA) Oct 20, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game sucks!!!!! Flat out.. Every 3 punches someone gets knock down. I tried to like the game but it just sucks, it's not worth the rent..I sure wish EA would come out with a boxing game for the Wii because nintendo needs something.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh...

posted by Bergshot (KENT, WA) Oct 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is just another wii game with poor motion sensing. Titles like these are raced to the front and the developers spend no time at all getting it right. I'd rather pick up a great game in summer 08 than see another 10 titles like this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

OKAY OKAY

posted by PS32daWii (CHULA VISTA, CA) Oct 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

swing mode 2. The game play is okay. ippos coo though thought you knew. If you like dragon ball and boxing, its a good renter. may be a joystick wouldn't be a bad idea. I like it. So hate if you will. Find me on fight night rd 3 on PS3...SaintSENDer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I lasted 1 minute with this game

posted by JDShkolnik (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 22, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I loaded it up, started the tutorial, and turned it off when it wouldn't register uppercuts. Why would I want to torture myself with yet another game's screwed up motion sensing? I admit, my patience is at an all-time low with the pathetic Wii offerings, but that doesn't mean I'm wrong about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cool Story Mode

posted by Jayallan20 (BRONX, NY) Jan 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

Victorious Boxers has some cool anime type graphics and the story mode gets you into the game but outside that I didn't really enjoy the actual boxing to much and worst of all I could not use my Wii boxing gloves that work excellent with the boxing on Wii sports. Worth checking out but not worth the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ok

posted by parttimer (INDIAN RIVER, MI) Aug 3, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

faster than Wii Boxing but maybe to fast. i felt many moves were not repeatable. Worth checking out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

victorious Failure!

posted by Warpedmind (HATTIESBURG, MS) Apr 21, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

Absolutely avoid this game. Its controls are unresponsive, and the gameplay is awful. The fights are all scripted to happen a certain way. Some rounds your opponent is super easy and other rounds they are impossible to hurt..not to hit, but to hurt...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good game simulation

posted by JDigitty (BLYTHE, CA) Apr 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This game is by far the most accurate boxing simulation that I have played. The control is quick and responsive; you can utilize your own boxing abilities to throw jabs, uppercuts, hooks, body-shots, and block/dodge. I would have gave this game a perfect 10 but the graphics are second rate.

The only thing I did not enjoy were the graphics. It was like I was trapped in a bad anime comic book :P

I am going to try some more current boxing titles and see how they compare. If I cannot find a better boxing game then I will purchase this title by using the "Keep it" feature. Thanks GameFly!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak

posted by imworking2 (EAST CHICAGO, IN) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game had some decent graphics when you're in the ring but that story mode has to go! The story is very boring and very long. I think that if they made a second part this game could be very good as long as they revamp the story and the graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Move on

posted by DbacksWSC (TEMPE, AZ) Jan 8, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

So i read the reviews and all the other ones are like it was ok.. not to bad.. somewhat fun.. yeah THEY WERE wrong.... it was so bad that even my dog left the room.. i was playing in the story mode and went to fight the 1st guy some how i knocked him out with in 20 sec and the 2nd guy in about 40...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not a great game!

posted by tropical (MC ARTHUR, OH) Nov 3, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I have been looking for a good boxing game to rent, but I tell ya this definitely is not it. The controls are not that great. It is a cheap made game. Graphics are horrible, but my rating is not based on that. The game play is not entertaining. There does not seem to be much of a challenge even on hard mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

All I can say is wow

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Aug 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2004

This game is so bad. Your fighter is uncontrollable and the graphics are childish. Waste of a rental. The boxing from wii sports is much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

very lame

posted by firebug (PALM COAST, FL) Jul 17, 2008

Member since May 2008

This game wasn't anything I had hoped it would have been. The movement was slow, it was hard to follow the opponent around and there isnt really anything i can say about this game that was good already shipped back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great responsive controls, poor tutorial

posted by LanaFire7 (ROCKVILLE CENTRE, NY) May 13, 2008

Member since May 2008

I love wii boxing & found it easy, though since I lack control with my fighting from lack of training, I use speed over technique/precision. My views on Victorious Boxer was a horribly short tutorial, unhappy you have to hit buttons to guard or bob/weave but sensed it had better responsiveness to wii boxing. I also found the drawing style of the look of the game harder to see the opponents punches & he moved much faster. With all that I did sense it was more true & had a black belt in several styles martial arts friend try out the wii boxing which he liked a lot but disapointed with it the lack of recoginition of his precision punches. He tried out VB next, agreed on the way too brief tutorial & then kicked butt on the game. He was VERY impressed with the recognition by a landslide over wii boxing.
(Both games were only played with using wii remote/nunchuck to swing/punch only, no nunchuck control stick used or classic style.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game Sux!!!!

posted by djjoel (DALLASTOWN, PA) Mar 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

I got it out of the mailbox put it in and became early pre jail Mike Tyson beating the thing in 15 min!put back in mail and now am waiting for something else!BOTTOM LINE DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Great animation, clunky gameplay.

posted by JenCiv (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 21, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I was impressed at the animation and story but have to admit the gameplay was not intuitive at all and hard to control. Not to mention you get stuck in scenes since there is no easy way out with a back to menu option. I wasn't really impressed at all with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Uhhh..What?

posted by glopesci (SAINT PAUL, MN) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

For the first time I should have listened to reviews. There is a reason why this game has scored so low with SOOOO MANY people; it is just simply not good!!

I didn't play for more than 30 minutes and the main reason was because you cannot move your guy at the same speed as your opponent. The punches were responsive for the most part but backing up and moving closer to an opponent was a nightmare for me. I would have the guy beat and then he would back up and I had no idea how to keep moving forward consistently. My character just seemed to do it almost at random.

Also the camera, sometimes your opponent will move completely off camera and you'll be left swinging at air while you try to figure out how to move to the side to get to him!! Also the computer AI is so fast you'll get beat up in the first 30 seconds(at least I did) because you are getting hit about 5 to 6 times a second and you don't know where the blows are coming from. It's like getting jumped by the Flash!!

By the time I finally got the hang of at least trapping and punching him in the corner he would dodge most of it as I got closer and closer to knocking him out or down. It was ridiculous. I got used to the idiocy of it all and started winning matches but the opponent would never allow me to knock him out. Wack!! Stay away!! Stick with Wii Sports boxing!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

disapointed

posted by jjdestino (RIVERVIEW, FL) Mar 5, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

this game was a true disappointment, the boxing was pretty cheesy, wii sports boxing was better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse