Rent Vertigo for Wii
view large frontback

Vertigo

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.4

64 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't waste your marbles

posted by Mskathyw (Lakeside, TX) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was awful. It was sometimes unclear about which paths to take and you cannot pan the camera enough. I think this is better with the Wiiboard, which I tried, but still very difficult to control and play. Even my gamer son did not play very long. Marble Saga is the better marble game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Good At All

posted by gameplayor (SHREVEPORT, LA) Jun 28, 2009

Member since May 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I do not mean to be rude or anything but this game is what we call horrible!!!! So if you are just lookin for a game please look some where else just to save your some time okay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent game, just hard to control

posted by mowie (MALVERN, PA) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Would be more fun if there was a slower moving / beginner version. Otherwise good graphics, fun if you are patient, looks good on a big projector screen

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not good with the balance board

posted by mrgroovy69 (SHALLOTTE, NC) Jan 21, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I have a balance board and wanted to try playing this game with it. Unfortunately, the paths are too narrow and the control is too difficult to make the game enjoyable. I really like the idea of the game (you are a marble rolling along different paths that you try not to fall off) and it could be awesome, but the game is actually too hard. It would be nice to see a beginner's level where the paths were fairly wide so you could learn to control the marble. Another problem was that the camera doesn't switch positions fast enough when you make a turn, which adds to the difficulty of controlling the marble.

It's too bad that the control isn't better, because this cold be an AWESOME game on the balance board. Also, please note that I did not try this game using the Wiimote as I rented it specifically to play with the balance board.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Poor Controlls

posted by ReDDoG1083 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

The Kororinpa marble series in much better in my opinion. This game is alright a little at a time, but it does get annoying after a while because to me the controls aren't sensitive enough to properly take full control of your marble. What I do like about this game compared to Kororinpa is the fact you aren't turning the board to roll your marble, you actually control the marble. Definately worthy of a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Unfulfilled promise

posted by Shnazzyone (MANLIUS, NY) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

What I liked about this game is it shows just what a sensitive and accurate devise the wiimote is. The controls in all reality are very tight. The problem is that the level design is utter garbage. Such a potentially good game mechanic is wasted on seemingly thrown together generic levels that prove to only show the limits of this unique control rather then embracing the limitations and making a game that is just fun.

The music is great and the graphics seem very crisp for the wii... it's just this game is poorly designed. What a waste

Probably best to avoid this unless you want to know how the next super monkey ball should control. Then wish it was super monkey ball.... because sadly it's not.

4.8 out of 10 - Confirmed Skip

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent Game If You have a Balance Board

posted by GeorgeW (NASHVILLE, TN) Sep 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I thought the game was pretty decent IF YOU HAVE THE BALANCE BOARD. It took me a while to get used to the controls, but here is a helpful tip I found if you have trouble turning.

- Turning is pretty difficult because when you turn by leaning toward a direction on the balance board, you have to adjust for the rotating camera.
--- A better way to turn is to use the D-Pad on the Wii Remote to rotate the camera while you lean forward and backward on the balance board to control the speed. Rotating the camera will change the direction of the ball if you continue to lean forward.

It takes a little while to get used to, but this control is A LOT Better, and I could actually finish a lot of the levels! The same rule applies if you use just the wii remote.

I also thought the bowling was pretty fun. I had some friends over, and we played the Xorb bowling, and it was pretty exciting once i got used to it.

OVERALL, I don't think the game is as bad as some of the other reviewers made it out to be, but the game designer should have spent more time fixing some of the flaws in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lacks control, level design

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jul 24, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

In Vertigo, all you have to do is roll a futeristic ball from the start to the finish, going over jumps and around turns. Sounds simple, right?
Well, it would be enjoyable if the game makers didn't use the same control scheme as the one in Diva Girls: Diva on ice.
You tilt the Wiimote down to accelerate, up to slow down, and twist left/right to go left/right. I hated it in Diva Girls and I'm hating it here.
Why? Because the controls are not properly callibrated to my tastes; the up/down motion is not sensitive enough and the left/right turning is too sensitive, leading me to fall off the course because I didn't get enough speed to make the jump.
And yes, there is no way to adjust these controls.
I so wanted the game makers to give me the oppertunity to use the Nunchuck thumbstick to guide the ball, but that will probably ruin the idea of this game being a motion sensitive game.
The level design is also problematic; it's far too easy to get lost in the level, there are many, many sections where your sphere can easily fall of the course, and sometimes you have to make blind jumps off of ledges to move closer to the end of the course.
There are a few good things about this game. I like the way the game looks and I like the basic idea behind it. Also, I had some fun with the bowling mode and smashing into other players in Multiplayer mode. But the clunky controls ruin those modes, too.
Vertigo has great ideas, but the bad control set up and the lousy level designs send this hurling to its doom. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »