Rent Vanquish for PS3
view large frontback

Vanquish

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.4

3481 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Superb: quick paced, sci-fi shooter

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Oct 20, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

36 out of 40 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Vanquish is a superb game... You do not find many games out there like this, the control layout is like Lost Planet, but the game interaction is resemblant to DarkVoid... Really, it is a unique game. Placing a likeness to this game is impractical because all of the functionality of the character you play as -- Is unlike no other game.

You assume the character, Sam Gideon...

Based in the not so distant future, a Russian Space-Orbitter, known as the "Russian Star" obliterates San Francisco, California -- Demanding that America surrenders to the Russian invaders, or what happen to California will happen to New York.
A private Military contracting sector, known as DARPA, aids the United States Military with a Prototype battle suit. Sam Gideon is the combat, operative for DARPA that is placing the Battle Suit into practice. Doing the impossible -- Sam Gideon goes into battle aiding the United States Marines...

Sega did an excellent job... The graphics are amazing, to say the least... The gameplay is very exhilarating, very quick paced. There is moments you see so much going on and you are just `wowed with a million missiles come swarming at you. The character's animation is just fun to watch--watching the gun unfold into the hand is just neat.

Being unlike no other, Vanquish is really worth a rent and buy... You do not see many games out there that really involve you to do much--Vanquish will give you a very colorful, vibrant challenge that will have you emasculated with so much great detail...

Might not be for everyone, but if you like a challenge and are a fan of quick paced shooters -- You will enjoy this very well designed game.
Story is interesting; Gameplay is very quick paced...

Watch a video or play the demo, but this truly different game is well worth purchasing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best TPS I've Ever Played

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) May 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros:
+ Bright, detailed visuals
+ Most innovating shooting game I've seen
+ Straight-forward, arcade style
+ Diverse enemies

Cons:
- A story you probably won't care about
- Generic characters

This game should get a sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Action Shooter!

posted by ValiantGamer (SPOTSWOOD, NJ) Feb 17, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm shocked I never heard of this game I could understand now they didn't have the funds to pay for the ads but wow amazing game.
I'll End up buying it later on to support the Devs. Vanquish 2 I need you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fast, Furious, and Fun. Nuff said.

posted by SNIwatcher (FAIRFIELD, CA) Feb 2, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Trust me when I say this, it's the best 5 hours of your life. Even longer if you like raising a high score or completing the extra challenges. When I say this game is fast, I mean it. You zip across the battle field in hellish cross fire as you shoot down robots and giant mechs, with the option of going slow motion given the chance. If this isn't a sci fi projection fantasy, I don't know what it is. With so many explosions, giant set pieces, and fighting going on, I'm surprised at how the whole game maintains it's smooth framerate. It's as if Michael Bay had a baby with Iron Man and Gurren Lagann.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ONE OF THE BEST SHOOTERS I PLAYED

posted by bigboy145 (HILLSBOROUGH, NC) Jan 13, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

its an amazing game that allows the player to use a suit of amor that has super human skills it has an ok story but the action is what the game really shows off bulidings falling planes blowing up few feat from you cause they were shot down its an amazing game you can also upgrade your wepons as you go along by picking up upgrades to make your wepons more powerful and have more ammo i gave this game a ten cause its really differnt from all shooters i ever played with all the features the suit allows you to do makes the game that much more fun plus it also has the gow type of boss slaying element where you press certain buttons to destroy giant robots and doge missles all in all its a must try game and to check it out why not just look at the gameplay on youtube

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fast paced shooter over way too soon

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Oct 26, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

"Vanquish", the latest actioneer from Sega and Platinum Games, is fast paced and a ton of fun to play. You play as Sam Gideon, a DARPA operative testing out an experimental suit labeled ARS. Your ARS suit is enabled with thrusters to speed you about the battlefield, as well as gives you the ability to slow down time for some easier targeting of swift enemies. Your weapon loadout can consist of three types of guns and two types of grenades, all easily accessible and mapped to the directional buttons. There are plenty of guns in the game, but chances are you'll stick to a favorite combo, only swapping out for special occassions. There is melee combat, but you won't need that much as most of the action is centered around frenetic gunplay. Controls are responsive and intuitive, and as long as you pay attention the QTEs can be pulled off without a problem. The graphics are quite pretty to look at, and the cutscenes are well done. Voice acting is decent, typical of an action title. The story, which opens with rogue Russians taking over a space station and obliterating San Francisco, is serviceable enough for a sci-fi action flick. It's no "Metal Gear Solid" in depth, but it works with this game. Sadly, the fun all ends too soon (one playthrough can take you anywhere from 6-8 hours) and there's not a whole lot of incentive to go back through, other than it's a load of fun blasting robots. There are little statues to find in each level for those completists out there, but the short length may not warrant full price for a purchase. This is a definite rent, though, and an absolute must play for shooter fans. Also, pay attention through the credits- there's a fun little minigame to go through. And, since Sega seems pleased with sales so far, a sequel is set up at the end of the game. And that's a good thing. We definitely could use more baddies for Sam to return and "Vanquish" again. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

FAST Paced Action Shooter

posted by Viciouslig (OLYMPIA, WA) Oct 21, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

15 out of 21 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is honestly a shooter madness and a blast to play. While playing game it reminded of a 3D metal slug with all the firepower just blasting off all over the place.

Story - 7
The story is very generic with nothing that provides a "wow" factor. Although if you are a fan of anime this looks and feels like you are playing an anime.

Gameplay - 9
The controlling is very easy. The only complaint is that AI was too easy and you always knew which way they would appear. Which became repetitive at times.

Graphics - 9
The graphics were good. They honestly felt like you were playing an anime. I believe they were fine for this type of game.

Sound - 8
EXPLOSION!! GUNFIRE!!! DESTRUCTION!!!! and did I miss more EXPLOSION!!!! I honestly do not remember hearing music since I just heard constant GUNFIRE!!! lol. The voice-acting is also nothing special.

Overall - 8
The game is blast to play, but extremely short. I beat it in 5 hours and there is nothing else to do afterwards (unless your trophy chaser). I would suggest renting, not buying for sure. If your a fan of 3rd person shooters, then you will have a blast with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fast Paced and Great Shooter

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Oct 21, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I just finished up another round on Fallout 3, feeling kind of disapointed this time around due to its slowness. So i manage to get Vanquish in the mail and hope its better. I've heard its really fast paced and cool, but i wasn't sure. Let me tell you, this is no playground of a videogame!

Vanquish is not a videogame where you can just waltz into a room and blow the head off of everyone without them even noticing, trust me, they'lle notice you attacking them in Vanquish. Not only is gameplay more breath-taking and awesome, but it sets a new standard for any new Sci-Fi videogames coming soon. So here's my review:

Story: The Russians finally blew it! Sam Giddeon in sent in with the A.R.S. suit to go and aid the good ol' Marines against the oppressive robot forces that threaten our beloved New York.

Gameplay: Fast-paced, if you want a minute of peace, you better either open the pause menu or find some well-fortified cover, because if you just stand there, trust me, you're head will be dislocated in a minute.

Graphics and Sound: Amazing Top-Notch graphics that really immerse me into the Vanquish universe. Sound, very good and clear. The sound is rather crisp and and realistic, in comparison to other shooter games.

AI/Enemy: Yes, occasionly during the storyline you'll get a few buds to tag along and help you defeat the Russian robots, but are they as smart as you hoped? Nope. Instead, your Marine AI buddies charge the enemy turrets and take worthless potshots at moving bots. The Enemy, however, is much smarter and it takes some thinking to drop them. So no, you cannot just run up to them and proceed to shove bullets into their face carelessly, you must think it out while dodging their bullets swiftly.

All in all, Vanquish is worth your time, and if you liked it as much as i did, then its worth your money. That wraps things up for this Review, so i hope you found this info on Vanquish hopeful. See yall at the end of Vanquish's storyline!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very different but different is good sometimes.

posted by chemical36 (WHITMAN, MA) Feb 24, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is different in a lot of ways. The combat style is unique especially the ability to slide and slow down time. Yes, I know there have been other games that give the protagonist the ability to slow down time but not done in such a way as this.

The game starts out with training. This is where you basically learn your abilities, your weapons, your suit characteristics, and your enemies. This is something not a lot of games do and I have to say, it is something I wish they did. All too often you are just thrown into combat and basically learn on the fly. It's been done for ages, it works, and most developers just adopted it. However, Vanquish adds the training, I like it, it works better and hopefully more developers will adopt this.

This is also where you get to know your character a little bit and the story begins. Yeah, it is your run of the mill "The bad guys are trying to take over the world and you are the lone gun that can stop them" type story, but still, I have been enjoying it thus far. Your character is a typical "tough guy, cigarette smoking, I don't care about anything" type of guy, but he fits the story and thus, the two combined make it very engrossing for sure.

The gameplay and graphics is where this game really starts to shine. Non-stop, bullets flying, guns blazing action that does not stop until either you are dead or the bad guys are. I haven't finished the game but as of yet, there has been no lull in the action or story. It just moves and it moves fast.

The graphics are fantastic. With every gun change, your suit morphs to fit whatever fire arm you are holding. Why it does this? I have no idea, but it is super cool to watch.

In the end, great mind numbing action game that was a surprise to be sure. I look forward to more and a sequel, depending on how this ends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome third person shooter

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 8, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Overview
===================
This is one of the best 3rd person shooters I've ever played. Story itself is pretty generic, but it is the game mechanics/controls that really sell this one. The cool features are the ability to slide around at mach 10 in your battle suite and also slow down time with ARS. Those things set it aside from the run of the mill 3rd person shooter.

Great rental...but probably not a buy.

Pros
===================
1) graphics are good (little drab though - lot of bland environments)
2) controls are tight
3) ability to slide around at mach speed & slow down time

Cons
===================
1) the story is okay....just doesn't really suck you in
2) not much for replay value

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love this game

posted by Vader3 (GULFPORT, MS) Oct 20, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

What do you get when the father of Resident Evil and the makers of MadWorld, Infinite Space, and Bayonetta come together, you get Vanquish a Sci fi shooter that is like no other, this game is just as over the top as other Platinum Games and it is one of the most entraining games I've played in a awhile the only thing should shouldn't be looking for is a deep story its as cliché as it gets but hey not a lot of sci fi shooters stories are orginal these days. The gameplay is what makes this game so great knee sliding around a battle never gets old. I strongly suggest buying it or aleast renting it you will not be disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

VANQUISH

posted by ronaldo91 (NEW RINGGOLD, PA) Nov 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its a beautiful game i love it and its on my top ten games i have ever played for 360 and Ps3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Must play for third person shooter fans

posted by juice37 (AMHERST, MA) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Simply put, this game is amazingly fun. Non-stop action from beginning to end. Its in your face and stays there. Story is predictable, voice acting iffy, but those aspects of the game are easily forgiven due to the fact that this game is just pure entertainment. Controls are great and the atmosphere is emersive. The graphics are well done (your suit is ridiculously awesome).The sense of ergency does a great job of keeping you aware of your surroundings, enemies come from everywhere, but not so that it is to overwhelming. All in all 9 out of 10. Good old fashion arcade firefights.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Vanquish = Halo + Metroid

posted by gamewizone (LEOLA, PA) Oct 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you are a PS3 owner and like Halo I recommend this game...if you have XBox 360 and like Halo I recommend this game...and if you like shooters I recommend this game...Best game flow for a shooter perhaps ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Vanquish

posted by sockit2me (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Oct 23, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Lets see fast paced awesome. cover system well done. variety of weapons and enemies is good and graphic visuals are superb. now your wandering why the most of the review is good and it got a 9 well the story is excellent just its too short for my taste i mean 4 to 6 hrs of gameplay that hurt me very bad but it stikk makes up for a good game and giving it a 9. this is a nice innovative shooter with its style of how u play. you can run and gun or play SMART unlike some ppl i knowq but good game the real thing ilke about the gameis the ARS suit. all i can say is beast. sliding to cover and stop enemy attacls by slowing down time? what more can you ask. lets just hope it wont be milked like cod or halo of its new innovation. another thing thats disappointing is no multiplayer. it wouldve been great but sadly not o well its a good game. a9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

"Look mom no Jump and I still kickass!"

posted by Daxsmkr1 (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 21, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sega! ok ok now to the point. This game is super cool! It lacks a few features (multiplayer & Online) but this is how we do it. Im ashamed of their take on Sonic 4. But making fun of Americans making fun of Japanese games is awesome!! Bad dialogue but good voice is what games like this need. Nice graphics, great sound, and its just the right difficultly. I think what makes this game hard is the control, there is no jump or fly, but dash and roll are effective. You will be doing a heck of a lot of dashing, and taking cover. Weapons are super fun! Oh and the I'm dying so force in to slow-mo sucks. Oh and the price does too. It should be a 39.99 for the fact of the lack of features. But I totally rented this one and will beat it in the short time. Call it cheesy, corny, or rip-off.. but this is how a game is suppose to be. Most games now a days are full of themselves and this one is in a good way. If you got the 60 for it go for it, rent it or borrow it, its a total must play cuz I smell this being the next thing to fill the game come in the future! V4NQU5H!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Top Notch

posted by shantd (CANOGA PARK, CA) Oct 30, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Wow...that's the first word that pops in your head when you begin playing this game, and that impression stays with you from beginning to end. This has to be among the best 3rd person shooters I've ever played. The action is non-stop and every level they out-do what they threw at you the level before. The graphics are super realistic and right up there with the Killzone 2s and MGS4's. The boss battles are absolutely epic.

My only complaint really is the weapons and upgrades system...or lack thereof. For a game that revolves around a high-tech suit, you would think there would be some flexibility/variety there, but the suit has no upgrades or customization. A huge oversight in my opinion. There is so much they could've done there like allowing for more fuel, faster jet sliding, etc...

The weapons can be upgraded, but it's all done on the field with a strange system where if your ammo is full and you pick up the same gun, that gun upgrades slowly. So in a sense, the weapon that you want upgraded the most is the weapon you will have to use the least...I don't understand the logic there. I would've preferred a system that allowed you to do your upgrading and loadouts between stages.

Those are really the only criticisms I can come up with. The story is cliche ofcourse, but that's not really an issue in a game like this. The gameplay is second to none. Do yourselves a favor and pick this up when you can. You won't be disappointed.

Shant D.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring and repetitive

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) Apr 2, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Phase 1: Spend an hour on the tutorial
Phase 2: Spend an hour going through a completely boring environment shooting wave after wave of identical robots
Phase 3: Spend 2 hours fighting one giant robot
Phase 4: Return to phase 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesomeness

posted by Dachampste (NASHVILLE, TN) Nov 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

A wonderfully made game, some flaws, but overall worth RENTING. In my opinion, unless a game has multiplayer and will keep you busy, I wouldn't empty my wallet on it.

Anyway, breaking it into categories now.

Difficulty: 2/2- Vanquish is easy to learn how to play, but the real challenge is learning how to effectively use the weaponry you are given. Your suit is very well equipped, having access to transform different guns right into your hand, amazing agility, jetpacks, some sort of temporal distortion thing where time slows down, and great strength. The enemies are smart, not to mention well equipped as well. The drones can hop out of your line of fire and effectively use cover. You encounter many different attacks, from bullets to bombs to heat-seeking missiles that shoot lasers as they converge on you. Many of the bosses have attacks that put out at least twice their body weight in grenades and missiles but of course have the lit up weak spots to attack.
Enjoyable: 2/2- Vanquish is very fun to play, as it feels like you're playing an anime or an action film. The futuristic backgrounds give an alien appearance as well, and I found myself playing for hours.
Characters: 1/2- One of my few problems with the game are the characters, as they are shallow and dont really make up much of a story element. Basically you smoke a cigarette every cutscene, and your partner grunts and curses.
Graphics: 2/2- Basically it depends of your TV. Great graphics probably for someone with HD, but my TV isn't the best. It definitely did its job, as even the little things were notable, such as your weapons folding into your arm and forming back out again. The bigger scenes were a bit lacking on graphics, like the space colony as you ride the transport train-like vehicles.
Music: 1/2- Most of the score is drowned out by explosions and gunfire. The only track I particularly liked was the one that plays during your fights with the robot made of drone scraps.

OVERALL: 8/10- Go rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Short..

posted by DealGoodDr (KILLEEN, TX) May 1, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Beat the game in 3 and a half hours on Normal. The story to the game is nonexistent. It pushes you from one objective to the next really without any over arching manner to it. You don't care for the characters or what happens to them in any way, shape or form. With a ending that felt wholly unsatisfying.

Once you power up the assault rifle to full power, the game becomes a joke.

The camera was the toughest adversary in the game for me, especially during the "bullet time" effect in the game, often wasting the ability because the cam zooms in at the wrong part making me turn it around to find the target, only to have the effect run out.

I would have been upset if I had paid 64 dollars and change for this game, its a rental at best only.

Fast paced, good action, I was just left wanting more and wondering why the game wasn't more fleshed out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

suprisingly good

posted by vandal (MODESTO, CA) Oct 25, 2010

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

a fun game inventive controls,good aiming,story ok but passable,lots of enemy types.i never heard of this game but was pleasantly surprised .i think its worth your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

VANQ......zZzZzZz

posted by Purgatori (AURORA, CO) Dec 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

After about 2 missions I was bored. I didn't even finish it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not that good

posted by jcruz567 (MANHATTAN, IL) May 8, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

not to be mean or anything, but i just didnt like the game. i think its just me that doesnt like sega type games because i feel the character moves to fast etc. but its a good concept and i hope it goes well

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A+ Awesome Game

posted by dmp316 (HOMESTEAD, FL) Oct 28, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Awesome game. Action packed, story is a little lame, but the game play and graphics and action make up for it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Its Ok...

posted by 4TheGamer (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

The game is just ok. It Has some decent fights but they can get repetative, in all honesty it feels like a rip off of Gears Of War with robots and a faster pace. Weapons are ok but theres only about 3 i even liked. Wasnt really into the storyline and didnt care for the characters thus i only continued on cause i had read about how short the game was, beat it about 4 1/2 hrs. What happens to the president in the last scene is how i felt after beating this game...the end

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse