Rent Vampire Rain: Altered Species for PS3
view large frontback

Vampire Rain: Altered Species

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.0

1746 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

it isnt bad, but it really isnt good either....

posted by MrMunk (KENDALLVILLE, IN) Sep 8, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

27 out of 31 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

i really wanted to like this game. the graphics are decent, the gameplay is fairly easy to pick up, and the city layout is very intricate. i honestly thought the voice over acting was horrible. it does look very Splinter Cell, although anyone saying that you cannot kill the vampires by yourself hasnt played past the first 3 levels. the only problem with it, was that after i made it through about 10 lvls, i really got bored of the game and didnt wanna continue. there are alot better games out and coming out that i am far more interested in playing, but if stealth and tactics are something you want in a game, this is a good one. definitely rent it first, because it does have plenty of flaws.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sad........

posted by knighted (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Oct 14, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

41 out of 51 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This IS the absolute worst game so far for the PS3.. Just simply horrible. "Why's it so bad" you might ask? First off.. let me say that im not hating on this game.. its just that bad. Im 34 years old.. and a veteran gamer.. and I just cant stand this game.

Graffix= 3/10
Murky textures, simple designs.. everything looks flat and boring.

A.I.= 1/10
There is no enemy AI, if you are seen.. your dead. Period. They will slam you to the ground and kill you instantly. Complete BS.

Sound/VO= 2/10
Some of the soundwork isnt that bad.. until ANY character in the game speaks. Gunfire sounds good, and some of the sounds are creepy. But overall its just poor.

Gameplay= 2/10
The game starts off with a cinema that draws you in.. not that it looks like a PS3 cinema.. more like PS2, but still intresting. Then you begin to play the game.. and slowly realize that you have been robbed of your rental space. Seriously.. its more fun to just place your hand in a bag, and hit it with a hammer.

Fun= 1/10
This is a game that you will return to gamefly 5 minutes after you begin playing it. I thought after playing F.E.A.R. and Alone in the Dark it couldnt get much worse.. I was wrong.

Overall= 1/10
There are ALOT better games out there for you to spend your time and money on.. I realize that people have different tastes and like different things.. But man, trust me.. allow me to save you alot of heartache.. Don't buy/rent/touch this game.. its just plain horrible. This game is only fit for 1 single person on this planet.. The Angry Video Game Nerd.. (youtube him.. youll see)
I hope that I have been able to shed some light on this title.. and maybe even save you the stress and disapointment I had to endure.

You guys have a great day..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Vampire Rain Has No Bite

posted by REVJR1 (ROANOKE, VA) Aug 31, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

22 out of 28 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

You've been warned: VR is a monstrosity, no pun intended. If you hoped for a decent stopgap title while waiting in line for Mercenaries (or looking ahead to A Far Cry 2, COD5, and Brothers in Arms), you'd have more fun watching Canadian Parliament on CNN like Kramer.

This is one of those games whose flaws become apparent very early and in quick succession. While it's true that VR improves marginally as the game progresses, I thought the point of playing a PS3 title in 2008 is that you shouldn't be forced to "wait" for a game to improve as it goes along.

Once you become accustomed to skipping the constant cut scenes, you notice that the graphics lack any richness or vibrancy, from the bland, wooden character models to the paste-up, untextured exteriors. Watching yourself and a teammate move throughout this game reminds me of a Scooby Doo episode - they share the same loping gait and stiff gestures as cartoon figures. Audio is a mishmash of some decent "in the distance" sound effects and the cheeseball dialogue of your teammates. AI is ludicrously incompetent.There's a distinct nod to Splinter Cell with things like night vision and the ability to navigate open spaces via sliding down wires or crossing hand-over-hand along ledges, but people like me who were disappointed by SC's last title won't be thrilled to see these features in VR.

Everyone's also been rambling on about the importance of using stealth tactics in the early missions and the fact that you die so easily without inflicting much harm until later - yeah, that's true, but it doesn't mean that the "team-based" work makes the game any more fun.

I'm telling you, put in F.E.A.R. again for something truly creepy and effective - don't expect anything from VR except disappointment. It's not worth the time to download the updates for your system or to "transfer data" to your hard drive that should never be installed in the first place.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great idea... poor execution

posted by Zlash99 (AURORA, CO) Dec 5, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Title says it all...

Pros: Interesting story line, game makes you learn to use the stealth/strategy system incorporated in it. Decent control. Excellent concept!

Cons: Poor execution of story and controls, music flat and forgettable, sound sub par, forced/linear storyline, fights one sided, sub par AI, voice acting is annoying at best, no weapons carry over between levels

So... you spend the first 10+ hours going through tutorial/missions with little to no fire power. When you do fight vampires it is one sided and they really don't have a chance (running head long into your teams fire). The controls to fire, holster, reload, wall hug and so forth really aren't set up optimally for this game. Your team really does nothing to help you, even though the strategy of this game is pretty much non-existent. What should run a lot like metal gear mixed with F.E.A.R. comes off as a second-rate third person shooter with no hint of creativity beyond the concept of the game.

Expect to die many times as the strategy portion of the game really only relates to making it around buildings and the city, not defeating enemies. If you don't follow the correct direction... the vampires will let you know. Find the right path can be a bit tricky/annoying but as long as you stay on that path you will never die unless something silly happens with your controls... and all the vampires will be ignorantly turned facing away from your path for an easy slip by or easy kill (should you have a UV Knife).

If you play the game I recommend doing the following: drinking, turning off the voices, turning on the subtitles, drinking some more, and finally installing a large amount of patients.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Should have been better

posted by Chessfu (PORTAGE, IN) Sep 7, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Most of the reviews for this title are right on the money. Too many load scenes, too many cut scenes. And in the opening chapters no clear cut way to kill the Vamps. It's not a run & gun game.

But for the games credit. If you like the stalking 3rd person games, it's not that bad.

Controls are easy to master and Vampires are everywhere. If they would supply you with a nice heavy weapon like the Mag in RESIDENT EVIL. Or a quick way to do a Vamp in. This game would be more entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Exactly what you'd expect

posted by Xisxisxis (PITTSBURGH, PA) Aug 30, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game has pretty decent graphics, I personally do not like running a character from 3rd person but this game made it quite simple. The controls are very easy to master but the game requires quite a bit of thinking and planning. There is nothing new or amazing about this game but it has great cut scenes, an engaging plot, and it's a good way to kill a couple hours. If you like the description of this game then you wont be let down too hard by the actual game... it exactly what it's supposed to be.

Online... no one seems to play this game... there were 2 people sitting in lobbies all day yesterday but no actual multiplayer games running. I can't tell you how it performs or if it's even fun online...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not Bad

posted by Cysinye (ROWLETT, TX) Sep 2, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I looked up many many reviews of this game and they all give it about a 3 out of 10 saying its really bad. Well its not. The only thing i really had a problem with was the vampire modeling. I have been playing games recently just to find the faults and fails of games and pretty much doing my own reviews for games. This game for me was a really good game that i enjoyed playing. I couldn't find any glitches or just annoying game play mechanics that made the game broken. The character animation did not have, like most mainstream titles have, annoying animation that hinders your game play experience. This game is a pure stealth game for about a good portion of the game. You get weapons in which you really devastate vampires and made it feel good killing them. Many people hate the difficulty but i felt the realism refreshing. Its not really scary and fortunately it only had like on "surprise this should scare you" moment. The game was pretty simple for the most part and if you have any intelligence you will find it pretty easy to avoid enemies. The voice acting is good except for the vampires. The audio is good, except for the vampires. Except for the vampires, overall the game was done well. The quality of the vampires is that of probably ps1 standards and I'm not joking. Its a good splinter cell/ metal gear solid clone. You shouldn't expect revolutionary things with this game but I still really enjoyed playing it. My real rating for this game would really probably be a 8 out of 10. I give it a 10 out of 10 just so i can maybe boost the overall ratings because a 3 out of 10 is a little too low for this. If your a real gamer, that enjoys playing games and like somewhat good story line then rent this game. If you just want your gears of war graphics and see many shiny things to distract you and kill a lot of stuff then stay with your Killzone 2 and Resistance. I say rent it, try it out. And heck, I would buy this game, if they did just a little bit better on the vamps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wow

posted by Ekiller92 (GREENWOOD VILLAGE, CO) Oct 18, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is the worst excuse for something actually made for PS#...graphics are awful, gameplay doesnt make any sense, and its just like another game we all know(Splinter Cell Chaos Theory). the one time i do see a vampire in the game, i cant kill it, unloading a full clip of 12 into it and not seeing its health drop one pixel is a bother. and the levels involve waling a few blocks and then ur done with the level. if u want to kill yourself, i suggest this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Easy to die

posted by NaztyNate (NASHVILLE, TN) Sep 2, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is not really a shooter unless you have your team with you which is very rare. This game is mainly about stealth, planning, skillfully, and quickly moving to your planned path without being seen. If you are seen and alert the enemies then YOU WILL DIE. This game is fun though just don't think your going to shoot your way through the nightwalkers and beat this game, ummm no. You actually have to use your brain. If you are wanting a shooter type game besides the ocasional sniper points and head shots, this is not the game for you. Trial and error is the key to beating this game. Took me less than one day to beat this game but hey, I rather enjoyed this game. Plenty of room for improvment but the voice overs are nice, the graphics are GORY, and FINALLY a game that takes a chance of being a challenge. If your a novice game player this one is not for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Scary, very scary

posted by Flogger (SOMERVILLE, MA) Sep 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Scary that a game could be this bad. Just terrible in every imaginable way, there is not one redeeming thing about this POS. They should be ashamed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

just plan awful

posted by ridgybarracuda2 (BOCA RATON, FL) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

a utter disapointment for a game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

worst ever

posted by bentneb (NEW TRIPOLI, PA) Sep 2, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

wow. how completely horrible. i would be ashamed if i had anything to do with creating, marketing, or promoting this piece of whale poo. yuck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by Gaminfiend (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 23, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Not as bad as people are saying. If you like splinter cell then you will like this game too. Great story. So definitely take this game out for a night.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not as Bad as I Thought

posted by viper74 (RAEFORD, NC) Sep 18, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is not a shooter, and it is no Metal Gear. Once you accept that it's a sneaking game that can pass the time while you're waiting for Brother's in Arms, it's pretty good. It's a long game, but I couldn't pull myself away at times. Try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a Load of bla

posted by defected (GREENVILLE, NC) Sep 3, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is truly one of the,No wait scratch that. This game is truly the worst game Iv ever played in my lifetime. if you say graphics are not all that's needed to make a good game your right! but when it comes down to poor acting/Ambient music, sound/then graphics I would be careful about wasting your time on renting this game.
Ps:Mp no 1 is playing it I tryed last night and sat in a room for 30 mins .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty much the same as the 360 version

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Sep 18, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I'm one of the few who enjoyed Vampire Rain when it first came out for the 360. I thought this was going to be a sequal but no! its a rehashed version of the original. Only with better graphics. If youve played it before give it a pass, if not, give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

expected so much more

posted by swagjacker (FLUSHING, NY) Aug 31, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Had high hopes do to the trailers come to think about it that was the best part of the game. Graphics average cut scenes are the best part of this over hyped game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Vampire Game ever

posted by hurricane305 (MC EWEN, TN) Nov 10, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

This game made Vampire in Brooklyn a masterpiece. This was the worse game Ive ever played. I will never play it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

YAY

posted by CreepingDeath29 (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 17, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Have fun with watching someone play this game to figure out how to beat the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

altered species

posted by MikeMantheGamer (KALISPELL, MT) Aug 16, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

sorry to say, but this game was to slow for people that want to see lots of action. it seemed like the first resident evil game, the graphics were bad and you die to easily, sorry, but im rating it a one, horrible. i couldnt even get the story line right, it was to boring and slow,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE!!!!

posted by Dareman1974 (EL DORADO, KS) Jan 31, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

There are no words in the english language that could express, convincingly, the worthlessness of this game: bottom line, don't wast your time everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sneeking Snackable

posted by notsuh86 (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

This game is basicly trying to sneak around "tom clancy" style, but with trying to avoid "nightwalkers" (aka vampires). since there is no easy mode you will die... a lot. even if you think you sneaked by you ether get spotted by them or another "nightwalker" and with 24 regular missions being tough, ranks don't make it much easier, especially when trying to get rank S for the main missions, trial, and several other "mini missions". but a somewhat interesting story. This game isn't for the easily frustrated, especially since you get killed in one hit, usually by a "nightwalker" you thought you avoided or didn't see. and use your ammo sparingly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's an okay game.

posted by jdperk25 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I've played better, but it wasn't all that bad. It was fun to play and not too hard. I would never buy this game, but to rent it from gamefly was worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

krappy rain no species

posted by Apoclypse (SUN CITY, CA) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

the sleeve that hold's the game say's that you get all kind's of high tech weapons like necrovision, And uv-knives but in your 1st 2 missions you've got a sissy 9 milimeter with a slincer. while your 2 teammates have assult rifels. where i come from that's called favoretisim. evey1 should start out with the same gear. and if you earn weapons along the way since this seem's 2 be a team work game then your team gets everything you get when you level up. but like i've said in most other reviews these game developing companies don't care about you beating or even enjoying the game they care only about all the profits & only the profits. I also thought the graphics we're 4 crapp this being a game 4 the ps3. the level of graphics in this game is X-BOX quality only. oh & regular bullets do not kill vampires the game creators should've known this from seeing all the vampire & zombie film's. you kan't make a game that says it comes with high tech weapons and you give them stadard bullets you should have made arc blades like from the movie blade 3 & given them UV-Bullets like from the movie underworld 2. that's itt tune in 4 my next review same bat time same batt channel your pal armegeddon man 12:57 pacific standard time. 7-12-2011

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

El Sucko

posted by bp1968 (THOMASVILLE, GA) Mar 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

El Sucko Mondo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse