Rent Valkyrie Profile: Lenneth for PSP Games
view large frontback

Valkyrie Profile: Lenneth

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.0

750 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best RPG for the PSP to Date

posted by lazygamer (Northridge, CA) Aug 8, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2003

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Sure, this is the best RPG so far for the PSP (there haven't really been that many), but it's a port of a pre-existing PS1 game. Unless you want to dust off your PS1 (or surprise your PS2) AND cruise eBay for a now-collector's item, this is the way to play. Great story (abeit a bit bloated) and awesome hand-drawn art (yes, they still make these, luckily) provide the brain and eye candy. A reflex-driven turn-based battle system will keep your thumbs somewhat busy. Equip weapons, increase skills and such ala Final Fantasy Tactics. Multiple endings. What all good RPGs should be made of is in here.
However, some of the cutscenes were way too long and not enough save points in the "dungeons" make it a challenge to play on a hand-held system. Perhaps this is why more "twitch" games (or ones with lots of save potential like GTA:LCS) are more common than RPGs?
When exploring "dungeons", it doesn't make sense to shoot ice platforms to jump on when during the world map you can fly anywhere. Addressing a play balance issue? Yes. Make sense? No.
Great RPG. Easy to buy, hard to rent (if you're committed, your queue will stack yay-high). Still waiting for Vagrant Story or Chrono-Trigger though...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best psp game by far!

posted by Mitsumanic (CARRBORO, NC) Jul 29, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Valkyrie Profile: Lenneth is the best portable game I have ever played. Its heart-wrenching love story became addictive, like a tragic but good romance novel. Okay, not that good, but oh well. The battle system is crazy fun, and the game has good replay value(mult. endings, mult. difficulty modes) and tons of characters to give your group its own personal feel. The only downside is the long unskippable cutscenes and slight lack of save points. Buy this game if you love slightly traditional japanese RPG's and don't mind a slight learning curve.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't want to actually do anything? This is it!

posted by frankbot (CHICAGO, IL) Dec 18, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

11 out of 21 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

I'll admit, I don't "get" this game. But it's not because I don't like RPG's, it's because I want to PLAY a game, not watch one.

About three hours ago, I got home from work and Lenneth was waiting in my mailbox. I dropped my coat, grabbed my PSP, and hit the couch. I fully expected a lengthy cinematic introduction and I fully intended to watch it and get all geeked about the game. So I did...

And then when it was over, there was some more. And then when you think that's over, you sit through more boringness.

Without exaggeration (feel free to call me out on this if someone thinks I'm crazy), you sit through about 30 solid minutes of nothing but story before you get to control a character. Unfortunately you have to hit X after each sentence to continue through the dialog, exacerbating the agony. When you've reached the first "action" point in the game, you're not controlling much of anything. You leave your house and can wander around a painfully two-dimensional town, only to find that you have to go back to your house. When you do, more dialog continues...

In the hour I spent "playing" the game, Valkyrie Profile: Lenneth provided me with maybe five minutes of action. And by action of course, I mean turn-based fighting where again, you're not actually controlling much of anything. At no point during that time did I have to make a choice. I wasn't presented with any forks in the road, there were no treasure chests, no options whatsoever are presented.

Given the relatively high ratings this game has garnered from critics, I have to believe that the action unfolds at some point. But if you're using Gamefly for a quick fix on a fun time, forget about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A standard port.

posted by FFSamurai (OVIEDO, FL) Aug 12, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Now before I get some negative mails and threats from the cult fans keep in mind that I reviewed this game under two categories, game play and remake. Now as far as game play goes, it's a perfect ten because it's still the same great game you played in 2000. If you're looking for a cheap alternative to the original this is definitely your game and I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a fun, intriguing, depthful, and totally entertaining role playing experience. But unfortunately this review is only half about the game play itself. The other half is about the remake side, where it heavily lacks. Granted, virtually no one played this masterpiece when it first came out, but in this day and age when you can get developer interviews, new dungeons, extra footage of behind the scenes stuff, additional characters, updated dialog, and about dozens of other extras, then just including some cut scenes isn't good enough even if it's from Square Enix. Seriously, that's all you get. Now I've read in some reviews that people find it annoying that the load times are a little longer but it's really more of a nit picky thing to me because I barely noticed it. Only the lack of any real additional content warrants this game an average rating. If you want a better remake of a classic though might I suggest Final Fantasy I & II: Dawn of the Souls for the GBA, Mega Man: Powered Up for the PSP, or Devil May Cry 3: Special Edition for the PS2. But as far as this game goes, just know you're getting a fantastic six year old RPG with a new coat of CG paint and nothing more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Valkyrie Profile: Lenneth

posted by Peterinsd (SAN DIEGO, CA) Aug 12, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

6 out of 31 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

I have never written a game review before, but my conscience told me to do this. I received this game by mistake; I was supposed to get Monster Hunter Freedom (PSP). Wrong game in the correct sleeve. Unaware that I had gotten the wrong game I started up the game and I have to say that it has been the worst game ever, the cut scenes took literally forever, for example one of the first cut scenes starts by scrolling from top to bottom showing a cathedral and in the background the sound of tolling bells, and it goes on and on and on.... then the same cathedral scene would scroll from the inside from top to bottom for another 5 minutes. Pressing the buttons would not allow me to bypass these incredibly boring scenes. The game continues doing the same thing for at least 45 minutes or more. The credits are also very painful to watch, scenery with flying cherry blossoms and a lot of people’s names. By the time I thought I could try to play something I would be stuck in a cut scene again, with dreadful dialogue. The actual brief fight during all this was very primitive. A little guy with a sword that is 5 times bigger than him. By this time I was already laughing because of the frustration.
This is the worst game ever, dreadful animations and child like story with incredibly bad dialogues. Even the dialogue takes forever to complete and there are these long pauses between the characters when they speak. Oh I forgot, there is way too much hugging, what kind of game has people hugging each other??
I finally gave up and never got too play the game.
It must be a cultural thing but I don't get these Anime games.
My final assessment "Worst game ever", don't waist your time, go outside and enjoy the sun or something...
This is the worst game ever, lame animations and child like story with incredibly bad dialogues. Even the dialogue takes forever to complete and there are these long pauses between the characters when they speak. Oh I forgot, there is way too much hugging, w

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

???

posted by Phronc (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Aug 3, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I played this game for 40 minutes and barely got started. The story part of this thing is WAY too extensive. The graphics of the cut scenes and story lines were great, but do I REALLY need to stare at cherry blossoms blowing in the wind for 10 minutes... I got the idea after 30 seconds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very interesting game.

posted by SkySquid (PHOENIX, AZ) Jul 31, 2011

Member since May 2011

This is actually very good and to people who are complaining about the cinamatics at the begining it was not that long people geez. I found the cinamatics appealing anyway. Alright the gameplay was unique. Its quite hard to explain but, think like this you aquire human souls called einharjar and they help you in monster battles and depening on there hero status you can send them up to asgard to stop the end of the world and I found it interesting that every character you recieve has a long or short cutscen showing how they die.Overall it was very good and you should try it. This was kysquid in the review of Valkerie Profile:Lenneth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Valkyrine Profile Lenneth

posted by Bleachgirl (DALLAS, TX) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

The game is good for those who like old school games, the gameplay is awsome. I had played it before and recommed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Best RPG's Ever Made

posted by KristophG (CUYAHOGA FALLS, OH) Aug 12, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

Call me a fanboy if you like but Valkyrie Profile Lenneth is no slouch when it comes to a good RPG. Revived from the days of the Playstation, Valkyrie Profile Lenneth comes on one convenient UMD Disk instead of two CD's, also the game itself is amazing. The artwork of the environments are incredible and the sprites of the actual characters are fluid in movement and are enjoyable to watch in cut scenes as well as battles.

Battles are turn based but instead of each character getting their own turn you have choices here and when it comes to RPG's I love choices. You can either attack with one, two, three, or all 4 characters at once to beat up on the enemy. I say that is pretty awesome, of course you get your item selections and certain magics that you can only use with a certain menu that takes up one of the character's turns though if you do use it and the drawback is once you use an item or menu magic then the rest of your team cannot attack, that is okay. If you could attack after using Menu Magic which usually attacks all the enemies anyway for massive damage or Items which are very valuable the game would be broken.

This game also chooses your path for you depending on which difficulty you are playing on. Anything below hard (Hard being the hardest) you cannot get the true ending or some of the really awesome weapons or special characters for that matter in the Seraphic gate. If anyone has played Valkyrie Profile before and has used Freya, Brahms, Lenneth, and Lezard Valeth on the same team before, you know exactly what I am talking about. The only thing hard and annoying really in hard mode is some of the dungeons like the Tower Of Lezard Valeth, the map is completely useless because of how big that place is, and so on and so forth.

This game really puts your RPG skills to the test, if you beat this game and get the true ending without looking at a guide then you know what you are doing. This game is still a Gem either way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great RPG!

posted by LorrisB (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I love this RPG game. I had read a lot of mix reviews on this game but I decided to give it a try anyways. So glad I make this one of my first request on GameFly. The only reason I gave the game a 9 instead of a 10 is that at the start of the game you go through about 15 to 20 minutes of story and dialoge. They did a bit too much charcter build. Other then that it's a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If you want to play a game....

posted by Cikedo (MASON, OH) May 20, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Never did I think I would review a game without at LEAST getting far enough into it to get an actual opinion on it.

I was sitting with my girlfriend, playing this game for about a solid hour.
The plot wasn't anything too exciting, you're a mercenary with no respect to a king, the princess hates you, the princess turns into a monster, the monster dies and what happens to the princess? What happens to you?

Well, I don't know. And quite frankly I don't care anymore. I played for a solid hour and was given the opportunity to "fight" twice.

Now I'm pretty leanient on combat systems, if I think it has the potential to be fun, I'll give it a shot.

The combat system for the 2 "battles" i fought was humorous.
I had 3 buttons, X, Triangle and square. Each time I hit one the guy would charge and attack. So I hit all 3, and repeated twice. And I won. Literally I could have handed the game to my 3 year old button pushing nephew and he would have won sheerly on accident.

This game does NOT understand the balance of cutscenes and play time.

I've NEVER not gotten past the introduction to a video game before, and I'm almost 20. That's alot of video games, and in all my years no game has made me go "....I'm not watching these anymore....this is just a waste of freaking time".

If you can get past the cutscene, and if the combat changes, I'm sure this game is a 7 or 8.

I'm not waiting though, forget this game. Get another.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

very intense game.

posted by Amatto (WILTON MANORS, FL) Feb 2, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

I was very shocked by the story indeed, theres alot of scene where i did not expect to happen.
alright to the category.

Story/characters: 10/10
it was beautifully done, every character and personality was nicely put. The only part i find challenging is where to head next. The story has many different chapters and can be obtain in any order. It allows a free choice of will.

Gameplay: 8/10 the battle system was quite impressive. its a combination of turn base and action. basically countering in the right time to hit back. it was a refreshing idea compared to final fantasy 12's machine does all the work to your rules. The only downfall is the story, in the beginning it was quite very long,about a half hour. it was wonderful, i just wish they pick up the paste.

Graphic: 7/10
It was wonderfully done, the cut scene is so beautiful. Soem part of the game backgrounds was very frustrating. Some holes looks like doors and the one that are i did not notice. The dungeon can get frustrating. and sometimes the character block each other pixel, so i sometime cant see what im doing.

Fun Factor: 5/10
At first the battle system was so much fun and the idea of personalizing your character was awesome. Over time the game became less and less fun. The only thing i find so frustrating is every weapon i had keeps breaking on me. and it is hard to find a weapon shop. In general the fun factor keep sgoign down until i couldn't pick up the game. soon enough, i was not interested in beating it anymore.

from my experience, i would probably be better off not renting it. I wish i hadnt, in a weird sense, i felt like i wasted my time in frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

PSone Version Retailing at 100+ Bucks...?

posted by RaftRider (ORANGE PARK, FL) Apr 10, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

Back in '99, I owned the original copy of VP, but sold it to Game Stop to purchase Suikoden II a mere three days after the purchase. The amateurish voice acting really grated on my nerves, as well as having a "time limit" to play the game, topped with a lack of true world exploration and character interactment. Years later, I heard the game was EXCELLENT from many gamers, so I thought I had really missed out on something special, especially when the original was retailing at an astounding 100+ dollars. Years later, PSP came to the rescue! Unfortunately, I did not enjoy this game. Playing felt like a chore. Here are the Pros and Cons of this game:

Pros:
-A unique revision of Norse Mythology
-20+ recruitable characters
-Clean CGI visuals
-No random battles
-No need to worry about "money farming" to purchase arms and items

Cons:
-PAINFULLY repetitive
-Lackluster sound track
-Bad voice acting (with the exception of the new CGI cut scenes)
-Timed
-Little to no world exploration
-Virtually no character interaction. This feels very hollow and boring if you're accustomed to playing traditional RPGs, and really formed my opinion about the game. Lenneth is the only character that really shares her thoughts (which is usually the same "ice princess" kind of attitude). I liked VP2: Silmeria in this respect, as a certain degree of camaraderie was felt between Alicia and the core Einherjar. Many "main" characters were flat, had virtually no dialog or purpose, and back stories and motives went unexplained, even if one has played the PS2 prequel, VP2: Silmeria. For example, how did Lezard come to become enamored with Lenneth? What was the depth of Brahms's and Silmeria's relationship?
-One DUD of an ending. (I received the "A" Ending, i.e. the "best")
-Voices CANNOT be muted
-Cutscenes involving einherjar recruitment can't be skipped
-Items cannot be sufficiently organized

Only worth a rental..not 100+ dollars. Try Star Ocean 2 for a real blast (PSP port coming later)!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

storyline is the best

posted by pspbuddy (SACRAMENTO, CA) Mar 24, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I've played the game more than 20 times already but i still love valkyrie profile.
It has a good storyline based on norse myth, (a little tweaked norse myth) has good battle interface, and cool magic casting dialogs:)
For those who haven't played the game before, you will definitely get hooked in this game if you are really into it.
The intro might be lengthy, and for some different stories of characters can be confusing and/or depressing, but it actually has a better plot than most RPGs ever created.
It has great graphics, sometimes fights can feel repetitive, but in the end, hard work reaps and you will actually enjoy the game in its full extent...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by flashFIRE (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Mar 11, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

This is a great game.The best thing I liked is the move ment specs and the battle specs.Also there are lots of characters.If you like RPGs play this game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Quite good! But why the voice overs...

posted by WarauOkami (MOUNT KISCO, NY) Jan 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

Lenneth is a fabulous game, unique and interesting, with different difficulty modes, alternate endings, all the things to make a RPG lover squirm with glee...

The voice acting, is BEYOND terrible, and some of the writing a bit juvenile, but, if you can look beyond that, its a very solid game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Valkyrie Love

posted by whitebolt (PHOENIX, AZ) Nov 29, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

This is one of the best Rpg for the psp. The story line is excellent. The battle system is nice and simple, and the music game is so dam addictive. I swear , I hear it even now, as I am writing. I would recommend on getting a walkthrough of the game so you can get the ending you want. There are 3 endings a Good, Medium, and a Bad ending.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Valkyrie Profile: Lenneth

posted by ZombieTony (SACRAMENTO, CA) Sep 26, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

I had heard RAVE reviews stating that this game is one of the best RPG games for PSP, boy were they wrong.

I love detailed and great storylines, but thats all VPL was, it was like watchig a REALLY slow, REALLY bad anime. It has poor voice overs, no action, the only thing that made the game cool were the amazing CG cutscenes.

All in all, Square-Enix has really let me down with this one. It isnt fun to play, not one bit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST PSP RPG GAME!!!!!!!!!

posted by chadsky (OCALA, FL) Mar 3, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

OK so i love rpg games and i played almost all the rpg games for the psp and they all stunk,but then am Valkryie Profile Lenneth and swept me off my feet.For all you rpg fans with a psp this is probably you best bet.Let me start off by saying how awsome the games battle system is. It is supprisingly easy understand.You can do various combos and whenever you set the commands for your character to fight it looks like you went into a fast pase action fight cut scene.The characters are also very awsome and there is a plentyful amount of them to choose from.The storyline is capturing and does support have voice acting from time to time.The only real flaws is that the game is not in 3D and you can not explore as much as you would in a regular rpg,but even that doesnt stop this game from bein pretty much the most awsome rpg for the psp.A 10 out of 10 hands down!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A weak final fantasy 3

posted by SlayerZhar (MANTEO, NC) Feb 23, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

I liked the story line. All in all its a good concept, but the battles suck. This is the first rpg Ive played on psp. I hope they get better than this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not a good effort

posted by garonky (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jan 24, 2007

Member since Jun 2004

My mom makes better RPGs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Is there a game buried under the cut scenes?

posted by Zorakk (FRAMINGHAM, MA) Dec 9, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

Given the somewhat high score I thought perhaps this would be a fun game. Unfortunately I didn't read the reviews - in particular read the review by Peterinsd which I completely agree with.

There are a few problems with this game:
1) Cut scenes you are trapped in - yea they go on forever and you cannot skip them. I found this extremely frustrating.
2) S l o w dialog - okay so they are trying to set a plot and make the game interesting. Unfortunately they failed totally due to pacing.
3) Side scrolling action - when you finally after 30 minutes can actually control your character you'll find yourself in a side scroller. Worse your in a small completely bland uninteresting world.

After 45 minutes of "playing" I gave up - I'm looking for a game to actually play instead I felt like it was a UMD movie and I was controlling the menu system. Boring!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid

posted by GrimyGunZ (REGO PARK, NY) Nov 16, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

This game came out originally on the ps1 and make a solid port to the psp. I missed out on the game for ps1 due to the extremely low number of copies released. now that i have play and beat it i understand why some people were so hyped up about it but playing it now you don't get the same effect as some might of so many years ago. This game is a great rpg and deserves the title of being the best rpg on the psp.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lenneth???

posted by jarogers (CLINTON, MO) Nov 14, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

The graphics are what I expect the PSP to produce, clear and "pretty". That's the best that I can say. There didn't seem to be much of a story line. Girl finds hero, fight some fights, girl finds another hero, and so on. Not much there. Also, it is an extremely slow starting game. Took almost 20 minutes or more to actually get to play. I like a solid beginning, but I want to play before a 1/2 hour is over. Definitely glad it was a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Valkyrie Profile: Lenneth GREATEST GAME IN A WHILE

posted by BoBoKitty (FORT WALTON BEACH, FL) Nov 2, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

I got this game thinking it would be so much like the Final Fantasy games, MAN was I wrong! It does have the turn based battles, but the way it does the battles it gives you so many more options. I have had this game for a while now and 64 hours into it, it is only getting more and more addictive! I am just about to beat it, and I am so excited! This game has the graphics and story line to hold you with no problem. The game play is GREAT. Alot of thought went into making this one! I can NOT wait for the 2nd one to come out! A MUST play. A MUST buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse