Rent Valkyria Chronicles for PS3
view large frontback

Valkyria Chronicles

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.9

6261 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid stratagy. Different approach.

posted by Requiescat (MILWAUKEE, WI) Feb 17, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't own many SEGA games, although I grew up with the Master System and a Genisis, SEGA hasn't impressed me much with the developing third party installments since they flew the white flag in the last console war.
Valkira Chronicals is more solid then I expected. Suprising me with unique artisic graphics style and real time action during the turn baised combat.
Some of the negitives are the user interface and character devolopment. Both being clumsy and uninspiring.
That being said, it's a great game for the stratagy game hearted. I would shy away from it if your an occasonal player. I put over sixty hours into it, so you'll get your dollars worth. Add in the great cut senes and better than expected voice acting, and you've got a winner.
Can't wait for a deeper and smoother PS3 sequal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Next-Gen is here!

posted by valentine3 (SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Aug 2003

59 out of 67 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I'm not the kind of person who writes reviews, but this one calls for action! This game is incredible. This rich, story-driven game flows with simple fighting mechanics. Simple to use, fun to master. I haven't died this many times in a game and came back to play some more since Super Mario World. And, we all know how incredible that game was.

Graphics/Style: It looks as if each shot in the game was done by a real fancy street sketch artist. Like, one with a funny goatee and horn-rimmed glasses.

Genre/Bender: A little RPG, a little RTS with a personal one on one feel, a little level grinding, a little bit awesome. Did I mention it cross over characters from Skies of Arcadia- Vyse and Aika (sorry Dreamcast peoples and your Eternal Arcadia, I played that game first on Gamecube)

Hours of Gameplay is around 25 (for people with way to much time on their hands) and 35 hours for someone like me.

Over this past weekend I have played Mirror's Edge and Valkyria Chronicles and finally, FINALLY I feel like I'm playing next generation titles. They're GENIUS!

Tell your friends, tell you parents, tell your friends parents and your parents friends: They need to buy this game and support creative visionaries for us hardcore gamers. The better the sales, the better a chance for a sequel, the better the chance for a sequel to Skies of Arcadia. Just Sayin'.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What can I say...

posted by redwolv (MESA, AZ) Jul 31, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What can I say to give this game the credit it deserves. I don't really know but here is what I can say.

Story; A very good story filled with twist in turns. Over the course of the game I fell in love with all the the units in the game even to the point that I actually cried abit during one cutsceen.

Graphics; alot of reveiws I have read about this and similiar games is that the graphics suck, but that is not the case. This game is built so its should not look realalistic. If you don't like anime based Graphics this might not be for you.

Gameplay; Gameplay starts out alittle slow giving you control of just afew people(3) and gradually raising the numbers to (8-12). The battles are all based off real battles from the past, mostly from WWII considering that is the time this game is based near. One battle is based of D-day.

All in all this game is a 10/10 in my books. Fun, enjoyable, a great time passer, and even with a few hidden jokes, hehe. Rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply Spectacular

posted by BullGator (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 25, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Just finished the game and was sad to have finished. This is maybe the best game "you've never heard of."

You have to get past the first mission's odd feeling gameplay, but once you begin to understand the nature of the game it is great. At its core it's a tank commander/squad game set in WWII (alternate reality).

It is very plot and character driven so if you're into playing through a story you'll enjoy it.

So far this is the best RPG I've played for the PS3 yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Logistics never felt so fun

posted by steppin (PORTLAND, OR) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Don't get confused. This is an RPG, but it's a highly tactical one. That means, there aren't two lines of enemies, with silly little prancing attacks, followed by characters running back to get into their lineup. This is more of a freewheeling romp of attacks. You send your characters out across the map to attack and the opposition does the same. It's basic Rock, Paper, Scissors from there, but so much more interesting.

The artwork is superb and the characters really pop, like you're watching a Saturday morning cartoon. The story is also compelling.

What keeps this from getting a perfect 10 is the AI. See, at times, it downright cheats. You can be winning a game, and suddenly a Lancer shows up and blows your main character's tank to smithereens with one blast to the front of the tank! You will learn to save and save often. Also, some of the characters could use more fleshing out. Give us compelling reasons to level up different characters, rather than just leveling up classes in general.

Some of the cartoony nonsense really blows, but this game is an excellent proof of concept for what all future RPG's need to aspire to. The engine is solid. I can't wait to see what this studio produces next. I would suggest something with swords and sorcery elements!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A+ for Sega

posted by KiTtiAK (VAN NUYS, CA) Aug 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Valkyria Chronicles is probably one of the most perfect, enjoyable games i have had the pleasure of playing on any console.

While at first the battle system was a little difficult to get the hang of, after a couple of battles you can take all the guess work out of what your characters can do, how far they can move, what they can kill and how accurate they will be, etc.

The visuals are beyond beautiful and offer a great experience for most gamers using a new canvas tool software giving a water colour painting in motion effect. I'm no software buff though so i won't embarrass the system with my terrible explanation of it.

The story takes a few missions to really get into the full swing of things but when it does it doesn't stop. The story is definitely heavily character driven which is good, i mean, it's a RPG! This is a good thing! Your in game barracks are slowly filled up with new characters throughout the game each having their own special abilities making them better suited for your upcoming battle or rendering them useless. You can choose up to 20 soldiers from here to bring to the battlefront and just to give that game an extra great touch, they have given each and every character their own back story. Basically no one makes an on screen appearance that doesn't have a story!

The game length is excellent and has amazing replayability qualities. (You've gotta get them special wepaons and A ranks on your missions!) And Let's not forget the great downloadable content available.

All in all, i'd say you should go out on a limb and buy the game outright. You'll love it and want to keep it if you rent it anyway.

5 Stars!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is so. freaking. amazing!

posted by Nutmeg (TIVERTON, RI) Jul 21, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm so hooked that I've kept this game "at home" way longer than I should have. I ended up using the ''keep it'' option, because it will probably save me money in the long run!

It's a beautiful game, the graphics are simple and beautiful, with a sketchy, illustrated quality to them. The gameplay is awesome, I love the combination of strategy and action! The characters each have their own histories, likes and dislikes, and great personalities--I can find myself really caring about them, and not wanting them to die. It really makes me play the game better.

If you like RPG's with a healthy mix of strategy and action, lovable characters, clear objectives, and a very enjoyable storyline, go with Valkyria Chronicles. It's a good bet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

love it or hate it

posted by thelazyguy (MOUNT JUDEA, AR) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I dont think i was ever this exicted about a game before this one.I love how they put the rpg and the rts together becouse i play both. It takes a special person to get really like this game because its a mixed game

The graphics are great if u like the drawing style it doesnt really look high def but its nice to look at.

The combat is very unique. it takes the rts stratagy with a 3rd person shooter style combat with rpg elements.

The problems with this game is that most people that play 3rd person shooters arnt used to the long battles,strategy,and type of story it has.another problem it has is that you can get really mad at this game.You can really get attached to the charecters but they can die wich makes it really frusturating.Also the battles can be so long that if you lose you just want to quit.

I liked this game for the most part it had what i wanted and deliverd really well.I just got so mad at the game that i didnt enjoy it some of the time which is really frusturating when you really want to like the game

If you like all gameing or rts you should check this out if your more hardcore fastpaced shooter prepare to get mad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

very yes

posted by thinkbomb (KAYSVILLE, UT) Apr 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I'm a bit short on time, so I'll be brief with the review ...

STORY = Very good. the characters are convincing, it deals with mature topics (racisim, death, etc) from a very well done standpoint, and the politics actually make sense for the most part. Coming from the RPG genre that's saying a ton!

GRAPHICS = absolutely wonderful, it's seriously the best part of the game. The fact that you can sometimes mistake ingame stills for concept art says it all.

GAMEPLAY = It's basically a modification of the Tactical RPG formula. You move your units around the field (real time active control) and aim your shots in over the shoulder view. However, when you move the enemies can take shots at you if you're in range; which means you can position your troops around the field for strategic interception of the enemies. It takes a bit getting used to, but it's definitely one of the best battle systems out there.

Unfortunately the game takes some time to warm up, it isn't until the 4th real mission that the game comes into bloom. So make sure you give it some time.

So yeah, really this is an excellent title worth getting. :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the very best games for any current system

posted by edlglide (ATLANTA, GA) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

20 out of 24 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I really had no idea what to expect when I received Valkyria Chronicles in the mail. The only reason I even put it on my queue is because of the demo off the PSN Store; I hadn't heard anything about the game nor did I really know what it was about.

I was blown away. The storyline is excellent -- it does a very good job of showing the camaraderie that can develop between soldiers in a unit, as well as the conflicts that can arise and how the shared purpose can overcome those conflicts. It even avoids most of the annoying Japanese RPG cliches/silliness that pop up regularly in the Final Fantasy games (as well as others). The presentation and graphical style is also great; it's different than anything else I've seen on the PS3 or the 360.

Beyond all that, the gameplay is wonderful. The game gets progressively harder as you play; some of the chapters will require numerous attempts as you work out an effective strategy. But it eases you into the game and never becomes frustrating, which is the mark of good design. There are many different ways to approach the missions (choosing different units, equipping the units differently, etc.), and I never really wanted to stop playing until I finished the last mission.

I played Eternal Sonata just before this game, and although I enjoyed that RPG, it's not in the same league as Valkyria Chronicles. This is easily the second best PS3 game I've played this year behind only Metal Gear Solid 4 -- and it's not far behind MGS4 in overall quality. It is leaps and bounds better than the overhyped GTA IV, just as one example.

I'd really advise everyone to buy it, because it sold very few copies and I want it to be successful so we could maybe see a sequel sometime down the road, or at least another game from the same development team. But you owe it to yourself to rent it if nothing else, because it is a stellar game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best RPG on ANY Next-Gen Console

posted by TheArvis (DELAND, FL) Nov 13, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Wow, Sega. Wow. When I first saw trailers for this new RPG, I fell in love with its artistic style and direction right away. However, once I found out that it was developed by Sega, I instantly began to doubt the quality of the gameplay. "Sega hasn't made a good game in years, and it's not like they have a reputation for quality RPGs," I reasoned to myself. "No way do they get this right."

I couldn't have been more mistaken.

I was totally hooked on this game by the 3rd chapter. That's only about 5 hours in! The sheer amount of story and character content is staggering: an RPG-lover's dream come true. But they don't just throw cutscene after cutscene at you. The game implements a system wherein you can actually purchase extra cutscenes and character content (with in-game cash, not real dollars. This isn't an Epic Games title!) if you're interested. If not, pocket the money and make sure your squad is armed to the teeth with the latest weaponry. Either way, Skirmish mode is available any time you need to acquire more experience or money. And each new skirmish has multiple difficulty settings (the harder ones resulting in more cash and experience) thus adding to the insane replayability.

This brings me to your squad. Not since Final Fantasy Tactics has the SRPG player's squad of soldiers had so much personality. And objectively speaking, Valkyria Chronicles even beats out Tactics in this small regard. Each squad member is a unique character, with quirks and personality traits THAT ACTUALLY AFFECT HOW THEY PERFORM IN BATTLE. Fine-tuning your squad into an elite group of 20 soldiers that work well with each other is a never-ending process throughout the game, as more new recruits are drafted at the beginning of every chapter. Once you've begun really getting the hang of battles, you'll find yourself noticing weak points in your squad and weeding out soldiers that are not carrying their weight.

Hands down, a truly stellar showing from Sega. Let's see more!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not bad at all

posted by spykachu78 (COVINA, CA) Aug 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is very well done, the characters really draw you into the storyline. The game visuals are just awesome, because not only does it have those beautiful visuals in the cut scenes, but they are very well noticable in the actual gameplay. Which makes this game very, but very impressive, and the gameplay is fluid and does require strategic thinking, you have to really use your head and think ahead. As well as there is no problem with the aiming itself, you have to actually aim the cross hairs were you want the fires to be shot at, if you miss it is your own fault and lack of skill lol.

But seriously overall this game is very well done, and I highly recommend this game for any gamer. I will say though that fellow Fire Emblem fans, will enjoy this game very much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Terriffic Game

posted by wkendgam3r (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 1, 2009

Member since May 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

A intense strategy game. I played the demo and was instantly hooked. I just had to rent the game, the game take quite a long time to play its turn based. So if you're an impatient gamer you most likely will not enjoy this game. I suppose this is a hyrbrid RPG/Action game, you actually move each individual character and you choose where you would like to shoot and where to position the character to shield yourself from gun fire. Just like any other RPG game you gain exp and distribute it to certain classes of characters not, just distributing to each single character. But, like one some said earlier in the reviews, its a game you'll either love or hate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Time to kill

posted by tony13 (BOTHELL, WA) Apr 14, 2009

Member since May 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I'll start by saying this isn't the type of game that usually interests me, but for some reason I was attracted to it. I enjoyed playing it for a while but the "action" was soooo slow and though the story was good it was way more than I needed. I just wanted to play, not read or watch a movie. I like the strategy side of it a lot, but I found that when I have 1/2 hour to play a game it wasn't going to get me anywhere in this game. Great Potential, and many RPG palyers will love it. I guess I am what I am.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Favorite PS3 game

posted by IowaLad (DECORAH, IA) Nov 13, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is far and away my favorite game on the PS3. I tend to judge games based solely on how hard it is to put down the controller and with Valkyria Chronicles it’s nearly impossible.

The game play is unique and addictive, the story is epic, and the graphics are stunningly beautiful. It’s unlike any other game that I have played in that it mixes RPG, turn based strategy, and first person shooter mechanics.

I would say there’s 50 – 60 hours of play time the first time through the game, so it’s a really good deal that way. I would strongly encourage everyone to at least rent this game. If you do, I think there’s a good chance you’ll be clicking the KEEP IT button.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Beautiful game!

posted by Salz78 (LEXINGTON, KY) Nov 8, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First off, I have only played this game for about five hours so far, but I'm in love with it.

Pros:
The game is told as a story out of a history book. As you progress through the game you turn the pages in the history book and unlock new cinematics, missions, side missions, bonus chapters (glossary, weapons information, character information, etc.). The book format is great. You can turn pages back to watch cinematics again or to replay missions that you want to get a higher score on. The story itself is great. There are many cinematics but none of them are too long (nothing like Metal Gear), and they are all interesting. The characters are varied and interesting with good voice work.

You also have a headquarters which unlocks different places to visit as you progress. If you visit the graveyard you meet an old soldier who will teach you new battlefield commands. If you visit the workshop you can purchase tank upgrades, weapon upgrades, new uniforms, etc. There are literally dozens of upgrades to purchase and to customize your soldiers. You can visit the training field and level up your classes to provide them with better stats and abilities. You choose how to spend your experience - if you want to only upgrade your shock troops, you have that option, though it wouldn't be wise to put everything into just one set of soldiers.

The graphics are beautiful. It's like looking at a painting.
Combat is also well done. I enjoy the turn-based style with some real time thrown in. For example, you move all of your soldiers on your turn, but if you run in front of an enemy soldier he can still shoot at you even if its not his turn.

Cons:

Not many! You won't do any exploring like a traditional rpg really. The only time you control your characters is during battles. You can't walk around the cities or anything.

All in all, this is an awesome game. It has moved from my rent list to my Christmas must have list. I'll be playing this for some time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Different, but definitely good times

posted by aniketic (CHAMBERSBURG, PA) Feb 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was a bit hesitant at first about this game. I'm usually put off by the cell style animation, and I've been disappointed by rpg after rpg these last few years.

Valkyria Chronicles is a definite must play. The game play is an interesting blend of strategy, tactics, and even a little bit of platform. Your unit will develop pretty evenly, and the different soldier types actually matter (no tanking it through or anything like that.)

Story-line was, it follows your usual fare of "defeat the invading empire," but the WW2 overtones get pretty heavy, almost uncomfortable at times, especially when you stumble on the "darcsen camps." You do get really attached to your squadron members too; if they die in-battle, they're gone, forever.

Each of the major battles you'll find yourself in are actually lifted from real-world conflicts; one of the earlier ones is a straight-lift from the battle on the Hydapses, between Alexander the Great and Porus (complete with a river and fog and everything.) If your an amateur military buff, its a pleasant little surprise figuring out which one your fighting.

Some of the battles can be frustratingly difficult, and the music can grate after a while. Other than that though, its a pretty sweet game.

Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fresh N' New

posted by NaztyNate (NASHVILLE, TN) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Valkyria Chronicles is one of those rare games that comes along which has a compelling story, innovative controls, and is really fun to play.

The graphics are rather average for games on the market at the time but I feel are exactly what the programmers were going for.

The controls in this game are unlike any I have ever seen making this game a mix between strategy, RPG, and shooter. Before a Mission you position your units from Squad 7(Shock troopers, Lancers, Scouts, Engineers, Snipers) into pre-allocated positions on the map. When the mission begins you are able to move each character a certain distance per "command". After in position to fire upon enemy troops, tanks, bunkers, and much more you get to actually aim your weapon in the area in which u want to fire all the while under enemy fire. Making smart strategic actions, taking over enemy camps, to completing the current mission objective.

The story in this game is in depth and you fall in love with the characters throughout Gallia as well as the members of squad 7. From the beginning when the empire begins invading your home country, to losing comrades along the way, all the way to the conclusion I was treated to everything from smiles to tears.

The voiceovers as well as the sounds of the guns and explosions are almost perfect for this anime type game.

For me this was one of the most fun games I have played for PS3. I love a game that takes a chance and succeeds like this one has. I truly hope more games come out with this type of combat system. This game has everything from side missions which can be purchased to buying upgrades for your guns and tanks as well as so so so much more. This game has its challenge moments which seem to occur mid ways through the game because it seems to get easier towards the end.

Graphics=9
Controls/Movement=10
Story Plot=10
Sounds/Music=9
Fun Factor=10
Replay Value=5
Overall=8.8(Should be in your top 10 on your game Q

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Snuck up on me

posted by Samael (SANGER, TX) Oct 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

After less than impressive cartoon style intro's with exessively long and drawn out dialogue, I was prepared to trudge through yet another average game.

After about 20 minutes they added a little element here, another there, some more customization options, yet even more customization options, then an intriguing turn based battle, then a more challenging battle, then so many ways to customize my extremely large force of troops my head started swimming.

Long story short, 4 hours later I looked up and realized it was 2am on a work night. I was all; "what day is it? where am I?" And then I even considered finishing just one more level. A sign of any truly great game.

If you like strategy games that don't feel completely like strategy. You'll get sucked into this game and love every minute of it.

10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If you played the demo.

posted by Vindicator (DALLAS, TX) Apr 25, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Personally I played the demo for this game and it piqued my interest a little, but after playing the whole shabang I've realized it is way better than the demo lets on. The demo simply has you play one battle and doesn't show you the leveling system or the fact that you can purchase a lot of upgrades for your tank and equipment.

If you liked the demo at all, you will love the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game and story!

posted by Torque (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is one that seems like it flew under the radar. Its game play is flawless, the story is epic and is defiantly worth a play. I would go so far as even saying its in my top 5 list among other greats like Chrono Trigger and Final Fantasy.
Its twist on your normal RTS by having the full 3rd person shooter aspect, with enimies being able to fight back makes for a great mechanic that actually allows your skills to get better the more you play. All while ramping you up at the perfect speed.
The one downside for me actually was that it is very long. I spent around 50 hours playing it, and had I not had some vacation time that I was playing it over I might have been tired of it by the end. Again, not that its not awesome, I just don't have time to spend playing these epic games like I used to.
So if your even slightly interested and don't mind a long play through you can't go wrong with this saga.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game

posted by Salboaski (SILVER SPRING, MD) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was a very interesting mix of a simulation and a rts style game.

The Good:

The story is amazing. If you are into japanese anime and enjoy an amazing plot/storyline this is the game you're looking for. I found myself thoroughly enjoying the cut scenes (and there are a lot of them).

The game play was interesting. It was like a mixed turn base/simulation style game. You take turns (you and the enemy) using your AP (movement points) to put yourself into position, tell your person in control to shoot, and then use any movement points left to run away.

It was a unique game play for me.

The Bad:
Some of the levels are way too long. And unless you're using a walkthrough or a guide, there's little to no chance that you can get through half of the later missions on the first try (unless you get extremely lucky with your troop setup) and get the necessary xp required to level your soldiers up and beat the later stages.

Being a fan of Japanese games and anime, I found this game satisfying. But when renting remember this is a slower turn based game without the same kind of intensity of a Halo or UT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Moving Painting

posted by Mikerra (Grand Rapids, MI) Nov 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Im so happy sega made this game for awhile they have been making awkward games and finnally they hit the nail on the head and I couldent be happier.

This game has everything amazing gameplay elements an amazing story and the graphics may not be awesome realistic, but that is not the point of the way the game looks this is meant to be a moving painting and that is exactly what it is.

Lets start with the story it starts out with a war between two powerful empires both needing to expand to get the crystal type energy (kinda sounds like oil) you play as a person that really is into nature but you also play with many other companions that are being commanded by you. I dont want to ruin the stroy so I reccommend you find out for yourself.

Gameplay is the next element of the game where this game shine you start from a top down view of the battle to play you strategy. Then after picking what class you want you then control them and move them where you want this is great at points and bad at others sometimes you may accidentaly press a button and lose your turn and find yourself in the middle with no protection. But its not all bad it shines also when you kill someone it makes you fell accomplished and thats all I can ask when battling.

The sound has its moments the music is somewhat repetitive because there is not that much of it. I like the voice acting at times they play with good emotion and the narration is very well done. Occasionaly it is laughable with awkward moments but Im happy with it.

Gameplay - 9.5 (suprisingly good)
Graphics - 10 (Art is amazing)
Sound - 8.5 (great but some odd moments)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

brought me in took me out

posted by GFalways1 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

certain element brought me into the game other elements pushed me out.

a lot of the time i hated how the characters acted. it was like the war wasn't really all that serious. more like they were on a sports team.

very "anime" themed= friendship, opposite gender awkwardness, overcoming hard obstacles etc. which also leads to typical anime characters.

but the gameplay was just fine. i really enjoyed the mix between an actual third person shooter and the strategic rpg. but i HATED how long the computer AI took! especially when they did nothing at all. classic WORMS AI :)

fairly good game. a must rent if your an anime fan but think about it if your not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW This is a Fun game!!!

posted by greg01 (MADISONVILLE, TN) Jan 8, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I never write these so sorry so short ! but this is a fun game if you like turn based rpg real time movement games. its way worth the rent and worth the buy :) give it a try !!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse