Rent Valkyria Chronicles 2 for PSP Games
view large frontback

Valkyria Chronicles 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.3

502 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

As much fun as the PS3 version

posted by reganj (LANSING, NY) Sep 9, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The pick up and play aspect of Valkyria Chronicles 2 allows me to have just as much fun with it as I did the ps3 version. This version is actually a better all around game than the ps3 version in my opinion. Being able to change classes and having skill trees are one of the many new features you will find with the psp version.

Pros: -Class changes for your charecter and npcs
-Battlefields are well done and fun to play
-Interesting storyline with great graphics
-Customizing weapos, armor and vehicles is really nice
Cons:-Cheesy dialogue at times but most jrpgs succumb to this failing
-Unable to save during battles (though you can simply place the psp in sleep mode it is still a shame you cant save anywhere

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

More like Valkria CHRONICals 2, amirite?

posted by Palhinuk (GRAND PRAIRIE, TX) Sep 24, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Ungh, sorry for that terrible title...

Okay, so this game was actually pretty good. The gameplay is solid, with plenty of room for you to be a grindhappy level junkie or a story-driven plotmonger. The graphics aren't the prettiest I've seen on the PSP, but are far from terrible. The turn-based shooter concept is very refreshing in a market full of dry, old concepts. The only real issue I have with the game is that the voice acting can be hit or miss, and that is only in the cutscenes that aren't fully narrated by the VA's. Soundbites don't always do justice to characters, especially when you've got such a huge collection of characters such as this game. But all in all, the game is very solid, with a steady learning curve, an inventive play-style, and solid leveling system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the war rpg style

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Sep 11, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

When I first played this game, I got hooked and played it for 1 hour and a half. I kind of thought it was gonna be bad because its guns and shooting and stuff like that, but when I played it through my first mission, I was like wow this is actually kind of fun because your not killing people people, your killing enemies like in any regular rpg. I recommend this as a fun rental for rpg anime war fans.

As for the story: Its nice. it has a slight mystery supense to it. It also has a main character who got told his brother died in the war and he doesn't believe it. The graphics are good looking. The game has no glitches, flaws or drawbacks. Loadtime is fast and there honestly is nothing bad about it. I chose to keep this game at 1 hour and a half because I fell in love with it after that (i would marry it if I could, kind of a joke) kaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay! ya so again huge recommendation for anime war lover rpg fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

True to the first

posted by Ice163 (HAYWARD, CA) Jun 23, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Did a great job at staying true to the first game. I'm 5 hours into the game and I hardly scratched the surface. Great turn based RPG for the PSP. Havn't tried the multiplayer feature but I'm sure it would be great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Couldnt get into the game....

posted by mulchlayer (GRESHAM, OR) May 4, 2011

Member since May 2010

BLEH!!! dont let the door hit ya where the good lord split ya...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »