Rent Valhalla Knights: Eldar Saga for Wii
view large frontback

Valhalla Knights: Eldar Saga

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.2

261 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

you choose

posted by TBlake (FRANKLIN, PA) Feb 3, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I have mixed feeling about this game so instead of a review im writting an insight that should be helpfull.First lets start with all the bad coplaints and reviews if you notice the things people are complaining about is what makes a rpg and these reviews would make final fantasy 7,8 an 9 bad games those are the classics that set the standards so much so that square itself couldnt keep up lol.Im hearing teedious leveling, high shop prices, and confusing quest,sounds like an rpg to me.The game does have some setbacks like ALL games do! but if you fix what people are complaining about you no longer have an rpg,as for the sound so what! really if thats such a problem listen to your stereo while playing.Alls im gonna say is sorry parents your kids cant handle this game and sorry gamers its not oblivion, its a wii game a rpg and its own title.So give it a rent and send it back your not payin big buck to try it out and for the true rpg gamers you can buy this on amazon for $10.00 i'll play with ya."live free play hard"!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

1/3 of this game's engine works????

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Nov 20, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Melee Works but the rest doesn't! This game is fine from a melee standpoint! But Archers and mages are another story entirely!
Melee- just lock on, run up and hack away, and you can steam-roll alot of bad guys! If you need to heal just pop in some medicine, or ready a healing spell, or just wait and you will heal up in due course!
Ranged combat and magic-Another matter entirely! No target sights available, so manual aiming is out of the question, unless you want to blind shot the game! Only alternative is to lock-on a target, but sadly this does not work either! lock on really only works for melee weapons! Lock-on can provide some guidance, but that is not the real issue, however! Ranged and magic requires you to enter "firing" mode in which your character stops, in order to aim, but you have to get close to the enemy to use your abilites, then as you're ready to take your shot and the enemy just comes up and hits you, thus knocking you out of firing mode! You can't out run these enemies either since even the slower ones can easily keep up with you! If you re-enter firing mode they will just hit you again, and you will have nothing to show for it except that your character will be either out of mana, out of ammo, or worst on the brink of death! Firing mode is the deal breker here since the computer will end up getting a bunch of free cheap hits if you try to use either ranged weapons, or spells!
Shame on XSEED for making such a lop-sided game!!! There are better XSEED games out there than this! Get a psp and try Vahalla Knights 1 and 2; you ciould also try the Dungeon Maker series as they have contributed to that series as well! They really shouldn't try to destroy one of their own treasured gaming series just to make a quick-buck........... It is sad... really, really sad...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Hack & Slash away

posted by decapad (BRONX, NY) Oct 3, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

Hello - to me this is nothing more than a mindless hack & slash dungeon crawler. To make it even worse - the hacking & slashing ain't all that. Usual mission based story with early PS2 graphics. I chose a mage character - you're given enough MP for about 3 WIMPY spells so I end up using my cruddy dull knife to fight off these goofballs. Brilliant. There's a few crates & boxes to smash open along the way - hmmm - fun. There's equipment to buy - problem is with the interface - for the life of me I can't find the stats of the pieces for sale! Nothing like plunking down $6000 for a piece of armor that's worse than the one you already have. You get a sidekick - well they call them Mercs. You of course have to buy them - problem is they last about 5 fights till they're pushin flowers. I gave the game about 3 hours & had enough. To bigger & better games ahead, my best, D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Can't get into it...

posted by Russman286 (SURPRISE, AZ) Aug 29, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

After completing a few quests I cannot seem to remain interested. It's an easy game to follow, but the layout is so basic and boring. It is really a learning process figuring out how to equip items. And for some reason your not allowed to change gear without being in town. It looks cool from the cover, but after three hours I have yet the ability to use any powers as a mage. Also It takes zero advantage of the Wii's motion ability. It's just like playstation pushing buttons. Why have this game on Wii and not use the motion features? Overall I do not recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game is junk

posted by djaidyn (BENTON, TN) Dec 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am a huge RPG fan so when I heard about this one i was pretty excited. I got it and with only a tiny bit of storyline your put in a town with nothing. It doesn't tell you where to go or anything a girl talks to you but forgets what she is supposed to give you and after that you have to figure out who does what in the town and find a quest. Once you start questing the quest stories are junk and the fights are terrible. When you buy items it doesn't tell what you can or can't use. Game sux don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Old school gone new!!!

posted by reumeister (CONTOOCOOK, NH) Apr 11, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

7 out of 18 gamers (39%) found this review helpful

This is possable one of the best RPG games I have ever played (which is pretty good cosidering I've played almost all of them). First I will eliminate all the bad revewes about this game. The graphics, though they are what sony may ctreat, simple make this game evan better. The next thing is that as long as you have the porper aquipment you can beat any of the monsters. I once in this game beat a full groen dragon with a dagger. Those who complain about it being too hard , GET A LIFE AND SUCK IT UP! It is not realy that hard. There are numoris quests and a very apealing story-line. There is also hundreds and hundreds of diffrent items and equipment to choose from and use. You can also not only compleatly costomise your own character from gender, to race, to voice and equipment, costomise all your party members. The entire story is split into two eposodes that both fallow the same story-line. This game is completely what most look for in a RPG. The only falt that i could find in this entire game is that if you undertake the main quest, which is in semerate parts, you can not take another quest untill that one is finnished. So if you get stuck on it, it can get quite tedious. I would definetly recomend this game for all RPG players out there.

P.S. All those other bad reviews are completely unpresadenter (I have it on good athoraty all the bad reviews are by upset parents).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

bummer

posted by xtrant153 (ARVADA, CO) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

i was looking for a good RPG game for the wii when i saw the preview for this game i thought it looked awsome but turns out i was wrong. for starters the game looks like a PS2 game i mean cmon the wii can do beter then that!. 2nd its to hard to understand the stats on the wepons in armor and why whould you wanna pay 1200 gold for armor thats worse then your starting gear? and money is hard to get too!. 3rd you die way to fast in the game i used 3 healeing potions just for fighting rabits and rats and i even died becuss there were in a group only takes a group of 3 to kill you. oh and not to metion the annyoing foot steps they are the most loudest foot steps i ever heard and it gets annyoing fast. i wanted to like this game but it was just to bland in boring in somwhat stressful. skip it there will be beter RPG games in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

what is this?????

posted by darkfayt20 (LOWELL, MI) Jun 25, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

The game was good, then i started to actually play......I played this for 10 minuets wondering what heck im supposed to do in the beginning i eventually gave up.....what were the creators thinking? they just wasted my time and their time in making this worthless piece of junk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Sloppy Combat

posted by MortaSidhe (FORT WAYNE, IN) Mar 11, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

I liked everything except the combat in this game, which is "kind of" important to an RPG. The characters are interesting, the story compelling, the walkabout control was intuitive, and then you get your bum kicked in by a rabbit looking thing because you can't control the movement well enough to hit. Very frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Just wow...

posted by palin2222 (ISLAND LAKE, IL) Dec 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

I honestly cant believe that the Wii put this out.

I'm a fan of the Calhalla Knights series, and I'm not normally one that would discredit a game for how it looks, but geez did xseed even try? The graphics look like they were ported directly from the PsP, and on a 42" HD tv the flaws are glaring. The models used in the game look right at home on the N64 though...

The game play was stiff, the dialog was worse then my spelling, and combat mas made difficult by lack of desent control.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Potential Dissapointment

posted by DManTX (NORWICH, CT) Nov 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

The game had great potential... but ended in a huge dissapointment. The missions were lame, and the battle controls were lacking. Understand that stronger attacks take more recovery time, when using quick strikes your character will wait until the planets align before he is ready for his next attack. Graphics are not the best that I have seen for Wii, and the music was boring. (Nap time). The equipment menus made no sense and I was hard to identify the better weapons and armor. Controlling your character and the camera was challenging and had no real flow. I gave the game about 8 hours and had enough. Save some time and get yourself a couple of Super Nintendo classics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »