Rent Up for Wii
view large frontback

Up

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.4

456 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Short, but lots of Fun for my Kids

posted by Nikikins (MAPLE GROVE, MN) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My two boys (ages 9 and 7) had a great time playing this game together, although it was completed in about 6-8 hours of gameplay. One player gets to be the little boy from the film, and the other is the old man. They had to work together, which caused a little bit of yelling at each other ("C'mon!! You did it wrong! You messed me up!")... but overall it was great to see them working together and re-living the fun of a great movie. (And I was so happy to see my favorite character... Doug the talking dog!)

This is a great example of why I love GameFly... this filled a few hours of summertime, and we parents weren't out the full price of a game that only lasted a short time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Doesn't Quite Live Up to Expectations

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) May 28, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

With another kid friendly movie coming out, you can be sure that they'll be a game based on the film.
And you can almost bet that game will be average to awful. Up, the game based on the latest Pixar film, is more average the awful.
The game sort of follows the plot of the film, but for the most part, you're in a 3D platformer; you go from point A to point B, you solve simple puzzles (like pushing blocks over and cutting rope), you make a few jumps and you fight off the bad dogs (no biscuit for you, doggies.)
Almost all the platforming elements have been done before, and once you've played the first level, you've seen almost everything that the other nine platforming levels have to offer. There's nothing new or thrilling here.
The fighting the dogs bit, on the other hand, is awful. All you do is wait for the right time to hit the B button a few times to knock it dizzy. Then you walk up to that dog and hit the B button again. This doesn't feel like fighting at all.
But there are a few, fun stages where you play as the dog named Dug, flying an airplane, shooting down other dogs in other airplanes (I'm not kidding about this).So what exactly are Carl and Russel (our heroes) doing in this game?
There's an evil guy who's up to no good, and it's' up to our heroes to stop him and save a strange bird.
Most players will be up to the challenge; it will take up to three hours for them to finish the single player mode.
There's a multiplayer mode where up to four players fly planes and try to one up each other by destroying either each other, a bunch of balloons, or teaming up to take on the villain's large blimp. (okay, I'll stop the up puns).
But the flying stages don't overcome the bland, repetitive single player mode in Up, the video game. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good

posted by tallmario365 (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I liked the game because of the muitiplayer mode me and my little brother played it and liked it rent this game now

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun but too easy

posted by Calcagno (GRESHAM, OR) Nov 2, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

My daughter at 5 didn't enjoy this game but my son at 8 loves it. Only bad part is that he's pretty much gotten to the end of the game so it's too easy for him!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

UP

posted by pennyi1 (LANSING, MI) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

When we received the game it would not work. This is the second cd that we have received that would not work in the Wii even after we cleaned it. Very frustrating to pay for a monthly fee and the games won't work when we receive them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Up

posted by ujecm22 (MEGARGEL, TX) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

My five year old nephew conquered this game in 2 days he absolutely loved it. great game i suggest to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Up

posted by melissat22 (ILION, NY) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

My son has given this game a rating of 8 beacause he just had so much fun playing it. However he has already completed the game so apparently it was not a game with much of a challenge for him.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Wii Game!!

posted by gamer740 (SMITHFIELD, RI) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This game is just awesome! On the first level where you have to fly the plane, I wasnt so sure if I was gonna like this game to much. But, when the real action in the game started, I coudn't stop playing. You can lay as the dog, an the 2 main characters. The gameplay is great and the controls are easy to master. This game is a little harder for young kids so I would defintely recommend this to older kids. If you liked or did not like the movie, you'll still definitely enjoy the game. This is a must rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

way too difficult

posted by mary299 (TEMECULA, CA) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

This game should not have an E rating, after trying for 3 days to get past the first level, my 6 year old (and me) gave up. It was very frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Simple tie-in game may amuse kids but isn't great.

posted by Funfan12 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Jun 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

With another kid-friendly movie coming out, you can be sure that they'll make a game on the film. Up is not an exceptionally great game, but it may be interesting for fans of the movie, fans of movie-tie in games, platformers or maybe kids who want to see the movie.
The gameplay is too simple if you've ever beaten Lego Star Wars or anything tougher than that. You wander around as an old man who flew off to South America by tying balloons to his house, and you can play as his boy scout assisstant. The controls are simple. In general, the game is average. In the multiplayer you fly a dog in an airplane and are commanded to shoot planes with bad dogs in them and destroy the bad guy's blimp. There's only one attack, but the game can't really sense which button you are pressing so you're just flying around like an idiot. The game is too easy, and the graphics are not great for a Wii game, which makes me so disappointed. (By the way: SEE the movie! The movie is great!)
Use your money to see the movie instead of renting the game and you'll have a much better experience. Up doesn't join my list of Worst Wii Games of 2009, but it does join the list of Wii Games you can Skip.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »