Rent Up for PS3
view large frontback

Up

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.6

1081 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

MrMilkman's "Up" review extravaganza

posted by MrMilkman (WEST FALLS, NY) Sep 18, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I added this game, it was purely a "trophy hunt" add. The trophys are easy to get, and the platinum only took me 6 hours. But on to the gameplay aspect; The graphics are what to be expected in a movie game adaptation. Not great, more like ps2 graphics. The playthrough time is about 3 to 4 hours, maybe less. The story goes like this, An elderly man and a boyscout (already questionable) go on an amazon themed adventure in search of a land he and his deceased wife dreampt of seeing. (I'm sure you've heard of "Up" by now, you dont need to know the story.) As they drag thier house around the generic level sets, you solve easy puzzles that dont need to be there, but are so easy they don't slow the "action". OH GOD THE ACTION!!! Push a rock on the guiser, SUPER GUISER!!! catapult your partner, CATAPULT!!! ect. For some reason there were no story cutscenes. I would just end up somewhere with no set up, but maybe that was just me. I feel this is a mean review because its not meant for the 18+ crowd. (obviously) but for what it was I did enjoy the search for all the treasure and trophies. And if I was playing this with a cousin it may have been more fun. There is a multiplayer side to this adventure of awsomeness. You fly a biplane in all 3 modes, it gets boring fast. All and all its a good game to quiet the younglings, and after they go to bed, just pick "UP" a few easy trophys. See what I did there? NO!? stupid...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

easy, short and fun in coop

posted by koolcat (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played this with my 7 year old son in co-op mode which is really the best way to play it. We got through the whole game in 2 sittings total of about 5 hours. The game is really easy. There are a few boss type battles that might give you some trouble, but the parent can take most of the load if it gets too hard for kids. It's a pretty simple collect-a-thon and adventure to the next point by moving rocks and fighting off enemies (dogs, spiders, bees, etc). You won't be bowled over by the gameplay but it delivers on what you would expect. The final airplane mission was probably the most fun and challenging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Had fun!

posted by gmhickok (SCHERTZ, TX) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had alot of fun playing this game but beat it the same night I got it. Was pretty cute though and my kids enjoyed watching me play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Entertaining

posted by Yehezkel (BONITA SPRINGS, FL) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The way a child's game should be... Very easy platinum... It also did a good job to use a couple things let out in the movie... like the use of the high pitch hearing aid and the use of the trumpet.... cute and easy... enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best movie games

posted by dannyl1017 (GARDENA, CA) May 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Up was an enjoyable game. I played with my cousin throughout the whole story and for a movie platforming game it was pretty good. There are a variety of things you have to do so it didn't get repetitive so fast. Pretty easy to platinium also.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Up Review

posted by BillSmurf (CASPER, WY) Nov 12, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game Up, is based off of the Pixar movie. The movie was great, but the game is not.
Story... WATCH THE MOVIE
Gameplay: The gameplay is basically Carl and Russel collecting bugs, solving puzzles, and hitting dogs with a walker. This gets boring very fast.
Graphics: The graphies are horrible. I would expect more from a PS2 game.
Trophies: The trophies are easy. The platinum took me about 5 hours, with only one playthrough.
Do not play this game unless you are going for trophies. A similar game that would be much better would be one of the Lego games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great for Kids

posted by Arcaine (NAVARRE, FL) Jul 21, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great game for kids. Simple yet challenging puzzles for my 8 year old girl and 5 year old boy and the Multi-player flying game was fun for the whole family.

I could see the game being very boring for an adult because a lot of the puzzles are repeated over and over but kids don't see the repetition as much as I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun game for the family

posted by gr1nner (HANOVER PARK, IL) Jun 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a pretty good familiy fun game. I played it all the way through with my 5 year old son and it was very tame. Which was fine by me.

We only played in multiplayer so that is the perspective of this review. The play is very similar to the LEGO series minus the shooting. There are three artifacts and one momento to find in each puzzle level. Similar to the LEGO games a player can drop in or drop out at anytime. There area couple of flying levels but mostly it is climbing/walkin and figuring out how to get across stuff.

The only real problem I saw with the game is we finished it in about 10 hours of play time and havent picked it backup since. Worth a rental if you want a family friendly game to play with your young child.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

REALLY FUN GAME!!!

posted by Sympathie (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 15, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS REALLY FUN AND TROPHIES ARE EASY TO GET.IM GLAD I RENTED IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disapointed

posted by BrianW82 (BEDFORD, TX) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

I didn't know this was a movie game when I borrowed it. I also did not know it was a Disney game. Probably why I was disappointed by the game.

The Graphics are nice, but nothing special. The game play is just one big Puzzle. You do have some plane shooting, but most of the game reminded me of original PlayStation 1 era games. Jump here to get over the hill, hit this to get points and so on.. Nothing inventive or really new about it. Just a throwback to generations past. If you have kids 8 and younger it might be a good game for them, but I personally was bored to tears with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

up

posted by onmars (NASHVILLE, TN) Jun 1, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

up was a very good game i already beat it took me one day and that all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

review of best game yet up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by diaper5435 (AVON, CT) May 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

this game is an adventure when this boy and his neibor float up into the air and meet kevin the bird and the dog that talks.the First part of the game you have to fly in aplane and shoot down at least 4 planes to move onto the much easier part of the game.the two of them must squish all of the bugs and wack all the butterflies.you also have to collect all of the artifacts also the x button helps you jump on vines and collect the items that are high.The o button helps you hit and collect the bugs.As you complete each fun levels you beat a villan and collect the artifacts.You can also choose a level to go to and a game that you have not playedyet in the game like the multiplayer air plane game when you shoot down all the apponents you are playing against and also get things to make your plane better and things to through out at one of the planes.This game I think would be voted number one and I hope you buy it or rent it cause its the bomb!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Too easy even for a beginner

posted by Patrick_Regan (SAN JOSE, CA) Jan 25, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

This game might only be enjoyed by an 8 year old. Honestly this game is boring, poorly developed, glitchy, and gets events in the movie confused. A few quips by characters here and there are funny but overall its an under polished boring walk through this game. Not recommended for anyone but trophy hunters and eight year olds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Easy trophies but terrible game overall.

posted by snakes2012 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Dec 25, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

I only rented this casue i wanted the easy trophies. You can easily paltinum this in about 6-8 gameplay time easy. You will need a second controller to get one of the trophies though. Look online for game guides and it will tell you how to get that one without having a 2nd player physically present.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nice and Easy Platinum

posted by phoenixfirexine (DEERFIELD BEACH, FL) Jul 3, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

If you like Disney's Up the movie this game doesn't seem like that much of a hassle as other games you would have to work for Platinum. If you are looking for a game to play with your younger child or sibling this is aslo a solid choice. Emphasys on fun little teamwork and being able to hit each other without causing damage is always amusing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good for kids

posted by dtkusa (QUEEN CREEK, AZ) Jun 11, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Me and my 4 year old daughter played for a couple hours a day over a span of 3 day's. The thing that I liked was we could play two player at the same time which inabled me to help her to navigate better and I was also impressed that a 4 year old seemed to do pretty well. The graphics are not the greatest but she liked it and that's all that matters. That's why I like to rent, When your done just return. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The worst!

posted by Shatgan (SAN YSIDRO, CA) May 16, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I rented this one only for the platinum, and I read a few reviews about this game being bad, and I was like, come on, it can't be that bad, can it? Well, let me tell you guys this game felt eternal, took me about 4 hours to get the platinum, in 5 days lol, I just couldn't bare play it more than half an hour, this game was literally putting me to sleep. Everything was reeally boring, I'm glad I will never have to play this game again! As soon as the platinum trophy pooped out, I quit the game, put the game on the return folder and went outsite and put it in the mail box. This is about the worst game I've played, I ain't kidding.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Trophy Hunters Read!

posted by Mastermind_NOT (TAMPA, FL) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Really easy Plat. if you want to extend your collection thanks to ps3trophies,org I knocked this one down in 2 sittings!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

how much it sucks

posted by shishishishishi (ALBA, TX) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

never buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

ehhhh

posted by xxhollywood51xx (LANCASTER, PA) Jul 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

just another movie game that's mediocre at best. i got this game for an easy plat, but i think a bullet to the kneecap would have been a lot less painful than playin this jaunt.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

it's what you'd expect from a disney game

posted by VSwho (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Up is a typical disney tie-in game. it's simple to the point and fun for a little while with a dose of childish cuteness thrown in.

the story doesn't necessarily follow the movie and rather just has some related sequences that were thrown in almost random order. the game STARTS on level 1 with you controlling Doug flying a plane shooting other dogs out the sky then goes to you walking around for a few levels fighting giant snakes and crocodiles with a few snippets from the movie thrown in.

if you have a girlfriend that's not gamer savvy or a younger cousin/brother/sister or even your kids this game is perfect because it's simple enough for the two of you to play together while having some fun. simple game...nothing amazing...if you liked the movie you'll probably like the game a little or at least get a kick out of it. the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best Childish Game

posted by AnimeKing001 (SOUTH OZONE PARK, NY) Apr 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I loved the movie Up and now I love the game. It's a simple adventure game that follows the movie that keeps it's jokes intact. Offers great fun for you and another person to enjoy but offers AWESOMENESS to children as they will fall in love with this game.

Easy platinum, worth renting for just the heck of it, or buy it for your little sibling or cousin. Really good game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun, easy, and very short kids game

posted by sk8life37 (CASTRO VALLEY, CA) Jan 24, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

The co-op made this game very fun for a parent/child combo. The only downfall is this game is very glitchy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not bad...

posted by Mavrikk (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jan 21, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

A very short but sweet game, if you want an EASY Platinum give this one a rent. I liked this movie so it was a bit of a bonus.

This isn't a mind bending game by any means, puzzles are extremely easy (if you can call them puzzles) overall I give it a 5...maybe 5 1/2. Graphics are good, controls are fine. Story same as the movie. There is a multiplayer, dogfighting and such, planes to unlock for it during the game.

This game took me about 5 hours to 100% and get my Platinum!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Up Review

posted by LeBlanc391 (READING, MA) Nov 28, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

After playing toy story 3 and loving it, i figured id try Up... The graphics sucked, it was pretty boring and too easy. it was so boring that i didn't even want to bother getting all of the trophies for it. the best part about this game was that it only took 3 hours to beat. Looking back now after playing it, i realize that all i did in that game was walk. push aside some rocks, continued watching... held my cane out to watch dogs run at it. continued to walk. then flew a plane to end the game... im surprised i didnt fall asleep.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse