Rent Untold Legends: Dark Kingdom for PS3
view large frontback

Untold Legends: Dark Kingdom

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.4

2484 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good game.

posted by Noxious (WILLOUGHBY, OH) Apr 24, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

27 out of 33 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This was the first game I bought for my PS3 and I actually like it a lot.

Pros: The battling is awesome. I love button smashing games because pulling combos that exceed the buttons you press is just amazing. You're pulling combos after the enemy has already died and it's rather humorous. It's a good way to see what combos look like if you haven't practiced them already.

The graphics are really decent. It's so much nicer playing it on an HD tv. It even looks really nice on a 1080i tv.

The music is awesome. I think the soundtrack is great.

I also love the weapons customizations. I like how they took FFX's weapon creation design and applied that concept to create something unique that fits the game.

The enemies are pretty abundant and it's kept me entertained for hours.

The cons: The voice acting is a little lame, but all in all it's not that bad. I also think that the character's faces are kind of funky looking, but that's to be expected with some games.

The worst things in the game are the glitchiness and the camera angles.

Occasionally during the battles it jumps around and you're just like, what was that? But it's not that common so it's not something that makes the game unplayable.

The camera angles are something else though. You have no control of the angles except to move it left or right. It's really annoying when you're using all of your fingers to fight and you get stuck with trees in your face. That's when it's nice to have a second player change it for you.

If you can get past those two things, I think most players will enjoy the game. Despite the fact that I hate the angles, I'm addicted to the game. It's prolly not something that I would play again, so I'll probably sell it on Ebay, but I think this is one of those games that it's worth to pay the fourty bucks for it to play it all the way through.

Also, if you wanted to play online you can. I haven't yet, so I can't review that. Perhaps that will come later.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

When great PS3 titles fall short of the mark...

posted by jrhager84 (CALDWELL, ID) Jan 30, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

28 out of 38 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

This one really hurt me. It has an upside, and a downside.

Upside:

Graphics are INTENSE. The particle/visual effects in-game are amazing, how your weapon blurs the background when you swing, and the detailed particle bursts when things explode (exploding barrels <3) Watching your character rotate while in your inventory is simply breathtaking. Very high texture models, fairly smooth framerate(which will be delved into on the 'downside' section) and simple menu design. I also love the physics engine in the game. Dead baddies ragdolling everywhere is a wonderful sight to behold....but...

Downside:

When they do ragdoll, most glitch into the ground, or miraculously "appear" somewhere else, as if they don't know where to fall. Some enemies just stand fixed to the ground, merely waiting to get slaughtered, not even to bat an eye (or club) [see Gothic III for severe enemy retardation] These problems are only compounded with a VERY inconsistent framerate when more than 5 or 6 baddies are on-screen at once. This makes for a TERRIBLE gaming experience. Also, the plot/voice acting (or lack thereof) really makes it hard to engross yourself in the gaming experience. Almost ZERO character interaction means loooooooooooong levels fighting the same 3-4 enemy types until you finally beat a "boss" (which can hardly be called a boss because they're marginally harder to beat than any average bad guy) and then you listen to a paragraph or two of horrid voice acting, then BAM! Right back into the mindless enemy-bashing mayhem. It gets rather ho-hum after 2-3hrs of solid play, but still has enough charm for me to pick it up every now and again. If you liked Champions of Norrath, you'll appreciate where this game was trying to go. Gauntlet fans will feel right at home with this one [shudders]

Online play:

Boring, chatless game means you never really feel "connected" to your users, so it's just like any other NPC battling alongside you.

Good rent game, HORRIBLE buy game. Yay Gamefl

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

UNTOLD LEGENDS continues . . .

posted by Gamer251 (BARRINGTON, RI) Dec 13, 2006

Member since Jun 2004

15 out of 20 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I don't agree with the other user reviews.

If you have a high definition tv the graphics are awesome! On a regular tv the graphics were not awesome at all. In fact that was the reason I bought a HD TV because I was tired of games where I couldn't read the type or the graphics weren't so great because it was made for HD.

I usually avoid hack 'n slash games but there was something about this one that kept me playing it.

I played as the "warrior" on the "courageous" setting and I beat the game. I never once felt bored.

I loved the "Black Hole" ability and the "thunder" ability. The black hole was really awesome when I was surrounded with non stop enemies and it sucked in any nearby enemies as well. When the black hole didn't work on a particular enemy, the thunder usually did, and the only other ability I needed to use was the long range one when the other two didn't work on a particular enemy.

All in all I thought the game was pretty cool. I did level up to level 45 which made fighting the enemies a whole lot easier. I especially liked the levels where I had the chance to save people and they in turn helped out in a later level.

If you liked Untold Legends: Brotherhood of the Blade, you will like this one. My only complaint is the levels that were really dark and I had a hard time seeing, especially the one where I had to move 4 columns onto 4 plates and I couldn't see the plates. But the plates were shown on the map which did help.

I loved that there were plenty of "shrines" (saves) available and that I could buy health/mana at these shrines which I needed to do quite a lot at the beginning, but once I levelled up good, was only necessary once or twice.

My advice, rent the game and judge for yourself, I always do. Gamefly has given me the chance to try out any game I ever thought might be good and saved me tons of money!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Neat at first...

posted by Sumdar (EAST BERLIN, PA) Feb 10, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

At first this game seems really cool. The graphics are pretty cool and the story is interesting. Actually everything is cool at first, but the more you keep playing things don't seem to get much better. Most of the equipment you pick up from enemies is almost always sucky. One player is fun yet repetitive. Two player would seem to extend the fun if it weren't for the camera. Things keep getting in front the camera obstructing your view of the action, such as the leaves on the trees and any other over hanging items. When you play through the game your character seems to have the other two characters go in opposite directions than yourself so you almost never (except in one exception) never fight with the other two. In the cut scenes your character will add his own specially made comments depending on your choice of character. Though you may think it would be worth playing through with each character to find out the differences in their dialog, it usually doesn't change too much. If you do play this game and play two player I suggest having one person play as the scout because most of her combos help the other player through short term buff like effects. When I played through with the Warrior I found almost all of his special attacks about useless. While the Wizard, as it should be, is practically useless in melee attacks. While his magic attacks hit harder and more enemies than the other characters, especially implode and telekinesis. All in all though a good game yet not worth full price. If a sequel happens I would hope for a lot more content: More characters, More special abilities, More replay ability, and camera adjusting. Rent b4 u buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Untold Legends: DarK Kingdom

posted by Junahswife (FLEMING ISLAND, FL) Mar 28, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I Loved it. Action on every screen. 45 levels. Fast paced. Always a challenge. I would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

solid hack and slash

posted by jvgocavs (winston salem, NC) May 27, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

hack, slash, magic, hack, slash, level up, hack, slash, heal, save, repeat.

That about sums it up, nothing revolutionary, an enjoyable title for what it is, action heavy combat in a medieval fantasy setting, well executed, with solid next gen graphics (for a launch title, HD is a must, will look dark on a standard set). Dark Kingdom is too short to get repetitive (beat it in about 9 hours), does have a tendency to degenerate into a button masher (although the combos are nice if you use them). The story is a shallow and predictable excuse for a pretty cut scene or two between more head bashing. Musical score is fitting, sound effects are clear and appropriate, the limited voice acting is decent if uninspired.

3 character types, decent variety of loot, fun single player (camera sucks for multi player). If you enjoy games like baldures gate (console version) and Everquest this is a solid if unoriginal offering, great rental and solid bargain bin purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dark HoHum

posted by Gnomercy (POTOMAC, MD) Nov 23, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Now that you have a PS3, you are probably ready to see some mind blowing graphics and fantastic game play. While the graphics are indeed nice, the game play becomes a bit boring after a couple of hours. Wave after wave of mobs assult you and after a while things get stale. In many ways the title felt like a supped up version of Gauntlet.

The cinamatics are average. I have seen better on a PS2. The voice dialogue is horrible.

While many of the combos and special moves are interesting, I doubt it will hold the attention span of many.

Given this is a launch title, it is not what I expected.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It is only good when u do co-op

posted by cronom (CENTENNIAL, CO) Jul 13, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty darn good. But it is too mush like other rpg's like champions or baldur's gate. Since I played those other games before this game was boring to me. But if you are someone who always has someone to play with I recommend this game especially if you have never done a co-op rpg before.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

GPA = 2.5

posted by CrazeOKC (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Oct 25, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Graphics - C
Control - B
Animation - B
Cut Scenes - B
Fun Factor - B
Game Depth - F

Game Point Average 2.5

Pros - Fun game for smashing and crashing addicts

Cons - Game is to short and easy to beat, forcing me to give an F for game depth. Underdeveloped story line, just when you start getting into it, Game Over, you've just beaten the game.

Overall - Worth playing to take out frustrations on hoards of enemy's.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

button mashing

posted by GamPhrk (ELIZABETH, NJ) Jan 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Typical button mashing game, no skill involved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Keyword Repetitive in Single Player

posted by remohs (LAFAYETTE, LA) Dec 5, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Single player game is barely entertaining, reptitive and uninspired. The game failed miserably at keeping my attention with each 'challenge' consisting of the same dull combination kills.

Perhaps this game is more entertaining with friends or more interesting at higher levels, I can't say as I hung it up after an hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Would have made an o-some 1 level demo!

posted by Vanquisher (SEATTLE, WA) Dec 1, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

Unfortunately, that’s about all its good for. Like the previous reviewer this game left me completely hungry for more action. The adventure aspect and user interface are fairly dull. If anyone has ever played a game like World of Warcraft this game’s only similarity is that your character has a heartbeat.

However, if you are looking for a game you can play blindfolded while doing a handstand, this game is money well spent. I actually got through most levels by just pushing forward on the controller and button-mashing the “X” button (even though other buttons yield more damaging combos).

The only reason I give it a 4 rating is because it was the first game I rented which was way better than watching Talladega Nights over and over again :P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

could be worse?

posted by shipwreck9 (VIENNA, VA) Dec 3, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

not up to par with any other games out today, let alone a ps3 game. although it was said before it seems like a recreated gauntlet legends. i played for an all of 30 min and had to put the controler down because it felt very repetitive. go for any other game but this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Untold Legends: Dark Kingdom

posted by ARK1993 (HERMON, ME) Jul 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have always been a fan of the action role-playing genre. For the most part this genre has games that far exceed my expectations as a good game. Some titles that were good games in this genre were the Diablo games, Champions of Norrath 1 & 2, Bauldur's Gate 1 & 2 and many more. Unfortunately this game does not live up to the par that I had expected SOE (Sony Online Entertainment) to set. Even when their first two installments into the Untold Legends franchise were good. But I guess you would want me to tell you why this game is quite horrible. Well let's first start with the title screen.

When you start off they have the cutscene which looks good then they let you pick your character. First off you only have three character's to choose from? That was maybe an option in the late 1990s but now they should at least give you a choice of seven characters that you can customize to fit your specs. So you start the game off by fighting this horde of barbarians which is pretty straight forward, hack and slash your way through until you reach the barbarian king. And along the way you pick up armor and runes for your one and only weapon throughout the game.

So after you kill the king (barbarian king) you decide to go back to Dureth where you find that the kingdom is in ruins and the King went section 8 on everybody. So you go to the sky fortress where the king is and then he goes section 8 on you. So you escape and then your mission is to stop the king. So the rest of the game is pretty straight forward hack and slash. Then you finally get to the last level which is the sky fortress. Again its hack and slash. Then you get to the king. Again hack and slash. Then you win. He says how sorry he is and how he must work to rebuild the kingdom. Then you let him go. WHAT! Your character spent the whole game running through sewers, haunted forests and dungeons, just to hear "I'm sorry." This game sucks. It was like it was put together in a few months. Bottom line its bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The PS3 needs a good RPG, this one almost made it.

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Feb 14, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The PS3 needs a great RPG, this one is not it, but it is near.
I heard bad reviews about this game everywhere but I gave it a try and was surprised. This is a decent game, highly flawed, but enjoyable enough to keep you interested.
The story is the thing that caught my eye, a group of elite team of knights called the Dragon Shade return to their kingdom to see that there great king has been corrupted and feeds off of the pain and suffering of others. Knowing that they must protect the kingdom by destroying there king, they begin a quest to defeat him. So there quest begins to stop the wretched king. The story is quite good and is very interesting and it should interest you. The graphics are rather good and the blood is a cool touch. The gameplay is good including the fighting. You take on dozens of baddies as either a warrior who carries a giant hammer, a female scout who is hot and carries two long swords, or the mage who uses magic and his staff. I recommend the warrior or scout because te mage is slow and his entire attacks evolve around magic.
The Over view camera is not good and the game should've used split screen for multi-player and a behind view for single. The level design isn't that great. You basically wander around and kill everything until a door opens and then you move on, and the new armor you find doesn't change your look until you find special enchanted armor. Character creation stinks, You choose your class and then the color of there clothes and that's it.

Pros: Decent gameplay, good graphics, cool upgrades and attacks. Awesome and intriguing storyline and the three classes are good. Multi-player is good for parties.

Cons: Over view camera stinks, level design could've been refined, new armor doesn't change your appearance, and character creation stinks.

I recommend renting this game for a party and you might find that you like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Could have been good......10 years ago!

posted by mikehawk73 (SEATTLE, WA) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

bad graphics, bad gameplay.....just plain bad. Don't bother renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rate it any less I would...

posted by GonadXIII (DOWNERS GROVE, IL) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The only thing this game has going for it is the story. Three stereo typical characters: fighter, mage and a scout (more like a thief) come home from killing barbarians to find the king has gone evil. Blah blah blah. I wanted to believe this could be a Boulders Gate. It's not, it's actually a sad mix of said Boulders Gate, Conan (on PS3) and... I don't know, a toilet of vomit. Do yourself a favor and don't make the mistake I did. Rent something with a higher Rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dark Kingdom

posted by tlbloor (MARYSVILLE, WA) Oct 4, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was alot like Baldur's Gate, which my husband and I loved playing as a team, but it was much weaker and ultimately we didn't even care to finish the game- it got too boring. The fact that the weapons you happen to find rarely are good and that we never found a place to sell them to actually have any value in picking them up was also a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dont listen to this ppl

posted by Priex1 (ANDERSON, SC) Dec 13, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

The ppl that are giving low ratings for this game are completely worng, it may be a bit repetitive but you still have a bunch of things to unlock for the characters and you can play on-line, another thing is if you dont have a hd tv dont expect to get good graphics beacause half of the ppl that complain about graphics probably dont own a hd-tv. One guy was comparing this game to World of Warcraft, that is the most boring and repetitive game ever, this is a lot better =)....
this is a good game its something i recomend if you like games suck as WoW, CoH/CoV, etc.. you will enjoy playing this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

dark kingdom

posted by benny1 (PERRIS, CA) Feb 2, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

got a try this game out if you have a hd tv the graphic in this game is so cool the best game ive seen in years

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dark Kingdom

posted by HarleyQnJoker (DELTONA, FL) Dec 17, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I FINALLY sat down and played, I got bored in like 5 minutes into the game. Greatly disappointed. And I had so much high hopes, was so let down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

just ok

posted by durango95 (DECATUR, AL) Dec 2, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

this game reminded me of dungeons and dragons for the n64 but wasnt two player (just on line)had some reminders of god of war collecting orbs and such ..basic moves..was just ok ..played half way on first board send it back ..very kidish game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hack, Slash, Button Mash!!!

posted by thelambchops (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Oct 14, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game is truly an awesomely fun hack and slash title. Yeah there isn't much you can do with weapons or buying/selling but come on if you want to just beat up on adversaries and don't care about loot drops or weapon customization this is a fantastic game. Graphics are good if not great. Gameplay is simple to pick up and addictive. 2 Player Co-op is fun. it's an all around great old school hack and slash style RPG. Yeah so its not baulders gate or Champions of Norrath but its a start.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Are guys serious?

posted by Dre077 (AINSWORTH, NE) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2008

I think who ever designed this game should of spent more time on the game than they did the trailer. In menus mode the graphics are decent I will give you that but in game graphics were found wanting. Weapons were lame armor was lame and the story was minimal. Dragon Age was a good game. Reckoning was a good game. This game is something my eight year old brother might play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wouldn't Play It Alone

posted by Skippa (SANTA BARBARA, CA) Oct 29, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

The game feels old at its core, guess thats what you should expect from a game from 2006. However, I found the Co-op mode makes it quite entertaining, if not a bit repetitive. The game includes a lot of innovative features, to keep you charging through dungeons without having to return to town. The currency in the game, "essence", can be used to craft items, heal yourself, or restore mana; and it is automatically picked up. Talk about easy. As you gain levels you will unlock abilities, and powerful combo moves. The combo system is very well done, and is highly rewarding. If you can get over the repetition via the rewards system or you just plain like hack n' slash RPG's then grab a buddy and a controller and slide this guy in your PS3. I wouldn't make it alone though.

P.S. Camera is a nightmare. Sorry

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse