Rent Unreal Tournament III for PS3
view large frontback

Unreal Tournament III

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.4

5086 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Words cannot describe the greatness of this game!

posted by molockian (NORTH ROYALTON, OH) Jan 24, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

19 out of 22 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

First off DO NOT even bother with this game if your not online. 2nd DO NOT let the bad reviews fool you. If youve played timesplitters and loved it like I did you will no doubt get hooked on this game. The game comes pre-loaded with tons of maps, vehicles, guns, power ups & modes & when I say a ton I mean it this game is armed to the teeth with well... everything! UT3 has the most craziest vehicles ranging from a floating surfboard, a robotic squid thing straight out of the matrix, insane looking tanks, ghost look-a-likes and whole bunch of other vehicles I cant remember(I have no idea what any of the vehicles are called.) Now this is no melee attacks yet..(I hope they come out with that) but the action is normally to fast to get close enough to pull that off. There is also no respawn time hit a button & you back in the game. Needless to say the weaponry is impressive along with the maps and power ups. UT3 has your standard team & reg. deathmatch, vehicle & reg. capture the flag and a few other unique modes of play ive yet to try. You can also make a custom character to play with choosing from 3 different "sqauds" with a couple different characters on each team to choose from and then you can customize your selected character with a decent amount of options(nothing special really.) Now ontop of this great game comes the mods, there are a few built in but the good ones you have to find on a UT3 mod site like UT3mod. Mods/mutators affect gameplay aspects such as instant kills, 3rd person gears of war style veiw, halo like sheild systems & so on. As of the time I wrote this review there are 51 new downloadable maps, 5 new game modes, 10 mutators & 1 new vehicle JUST on the UT3mod site. Every mod thats on the pc version is compatible with the ps3 version. this game just came out and already there are so many add ons out. I cant wait to see the mods in the coming months. If your online rent this game! If you are already a fan of unreal tournament dont think just get it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ignore bad reviews! UT3 = EXCELLENT

posted by SpezGuy (EAST RUTHERFORD, NJ) Dec 21, 2007

Member since May 2007

45 out of 55 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This is the first review I am leaving on GameFly only because I am absolutely compelled to rebut against any and all bad reviews UT3 is getting. The people leaving bad reviews must be the type that cannot be pleased by anything. That being said, if you have enjoyed previous games of the franchise AT ALL, experience UT3 for yourself and I promise you will be pleased.

I have been playing this game campaign and online since good old Unreal Tournament on my PC years ago. The game was great then, and has only evolved into something better since. They have kept every good aspect of the past 3 versions and built on them. The worlds are visually stunning, the vehicles are more fun than any vehicles in any FPS I've played, and the weapons are insane. Some are new, while others are new and improved versions of the originals.

I never understood how people can be OBSESSED with Halo. Its a cool game, don't get me wrong, but after 20 minutes you experience just about as much as your gonna get. If any FPS has endless replay value, it is UT3.

Awesome game.....play it.....trust me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fast Paced Action

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Dec 23, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

34 out of 43 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Normally, I don't play online so I'll just review the campaign portion of the game. First of all, the graphics are amazing, compare this to the Socom series, you can actually spot your enemies from a distance.

The weapons choices were good and the ability to use new vehicles rocks.

The story was pretty weak but the gameplay was really fun, there was not really a need for a story. Even so, it could have been done better.

I was not ready for this game to end but after all it is obvious that the campaign mode is a tutorial for the online play.

Overall, I highly reccommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Your basic fragfest

posted by liquid731 (CULVER CITY, CA) Mar 10, 2008

Member since Aug 2004

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Unreal is a good game. It has has top notch graphics, the game play is smooth, and it allows an almost infinite amount of customization though online mods. How ever this game suffers from the "been there, done that," model that you just can't have for games right now. The single play for this game is actually better than I thought it'd be coming from an UT game as they tried to string together a small story as you practice for online with the bots. The online is actually where UT falters. The lag is pretty bad and it's not as fun as other online PS3 offering like Warhawk, COD4 and Resistance. For the advance gamer, you can download extra maps, mods and others online for free and this will expand the game 10 fold but all in all, there is nothing special about UT3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

HALO KILLER.... THE REAL ONLINE KING!!!!!!!!

posted by Shadow1234 (FRANKLIN PARK, IL) Dec 14, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

19 out of 39 gamers (49%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing. this is just what the PS3 needed. this game is amazing online. I didn't have any lag online every match had a good connection. There was no slowing down it was almost perfect online. This is the greatest FPS on the market. If your looking for a great time playing a game pick this up. This game is massive its straight to the point kill or be killed. there are big robots to get in online and kill each other online. this is just as good as gears of war or better. complete thumbs up PS3 needed this to compete in the online war.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It was well....OK

posted by Another (MANHATTAN, KS) Dec 17, 2007

Member since Jul 2004

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I wanted this game to be better online than COD:4 and it just wasn't for me. The graphics and sound are stunning and I liked the single player, but that wasn't why I bought it. I just thought the multi-player was boring and uninspired. I'll be selling this game back, and playing COD:4 until SOCOM comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not what I expected being a next gen game

posted by skey11 (NORFOLK, VA) Jan 7, 2008

Member since May 2007

11 out of 24 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

I use to like UT before basically off the explosive people and the redeemer. The online is very fast pace and it has no respawn time. Just press a button and you are back firing again. No bluetooth communication which makes it feel like you are playing with bots. The thing that upset me the most was the campaign mode. Its only deathmatch and capture the flag base missions with a boring storyline in the middle. The graphics are awesome but its a rent not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Need keyboard and mouse

posted by jasano (BROOKLYN, NY) May 6, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its a great game. It is definitely the next gen of Unreal Tournament. The only problem is trying to use the sixaxis to control this game. Don't bother. This run and gun classic is so frustrating without a mouse and keyboard. If you have the bluetooth combo, then I would highly recommend it, but otherwise, don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cut scenes pump you up but then...

posted by VoltesV (DUMONT, NJ) Jan 3, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

11 out of 28 gamers (39%) found this review helpful

You would think that the game has a grand theme to it like... wage war against brutal aliens to save humankind or something. But, it turned out to be just another shallow map game... like playing pinball where the weapons are all laid out there for you to get to first, then bunny hop your way to victory.

This is the first time I ever played Unreal and I hated it. It's not for me is all I'm saying. But hey if you're a kid with a wild imagination then by all means play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GREAT FPS

posted by jwiggs (APOLLO, PA) Dec 14, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is really beautiful, and very fast and if you like FPS you need to own it! I had NO trouble with the online works great I just cant stay alive for more than 5 secs on deathmatch mode. Not a 10 for me but a solid 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun for the first 30min - boring after that.

posted by tngilbert (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Dec 28, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

My title pretty much sums it up - great fun for the first 30min - it just gets so repetitive and boring after that.

The graphics are good - but not as good as I was expecting. I think that Unchartered was more impressive - even RFOM's graphics was better.

Disappointed - game from 1997 with better graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Gears of Wha— Unreal Indeed...

posted by Boggy20 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First off, let me just say this game is beautiful! UTIII really capitalizes on the PS3's processing power. You'll have plenty of fun in blasting away at enemies.

The campaign speaks for itself with wonderful storylines and great voice acting. You just simply won't be able to put the controller down.

This is a must-buy for PS3 owners everywhere, with its easy menus and wonderful graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Unreal

posted by doominator (BALTIMORE, MD) Sep 4, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS SO MOTHER ()in AWESOME. I have heard that the best part of the game is the online multiplayer, wasn't able to try it out. But the single player mode is far better than the 2004 PC version, especially in terms of graphics. Unfortuanetely, there arent as many unlockable weapons, but, make up for it by upgrading the ones we already have. Seriously, RENT/THEN BUY THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dissapointing shooter.

posted by mrc131 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Mar 12, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game has interesting weapons. The 'story' mode is just a line of multi player arena battles, very unsatisfying. The multi player is fun for a while but lacks greatly compared to COD4, which has set the bar for online multi player. This game is basically a great physics engine that was stuck into a less than average game. Don't bother with this unless your just a huge fan of the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

more of the same...almost

posted by smarmie (NORMAL, IL) Mar 10, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is fun. Very familiar game play with a few major upgrades. The vehicles are awesome, the game types are fun, the graphics are great, and i didn't really experience any glitches while playing. I was however, disappointed that it looked almost identical to Gears of War. With the main characters looking straight out of the war against the locusts, and the campaign, baddies looking like the locusts on steroids, just made this game feel like a wanna-be Gears of War. I understand it was made by epic, but, the the "unreal" technology they have you would think they could come up with slightly more varied characters. overall, in all fairness, it was good, but almost exactly what i expected.....and i hated the hover boards.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Story mode is a little boring multiplayer is great

posted by BmwFreak (HACKETT, AR) Jan 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is diffenatly the best first person shooter of 2007, the weapons and gunplay is perfect. The story mode was a little bit of a let down. I wanted and story not multiplayer vs. the CPU
Level design is excellent and the online multiplayer is best I've played all last year. Better that CoD 4:Modern Warfare, Excellent Graphics and the ultra fast paced battles run so smooth its Unreal, haaha, I made a pun. Diffenatly worth playing, I just wish you could play split screen Co-Op

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ehhh

posted by freddyp (MIAMI, FL) Dec 24, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

the game is ok the online play is fine exept for the fact u CANT USE MICS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More of the same.

posted by Splashed (DUNSTABLE, MA) Dec 30, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Unreal fans rejoice! this iteration of the Unreal series brings back a familiar sense of blinding speed and hardcore multiplayer action. However, for the rest of the gaming community, this is bad news. Incredible graphics and the PS3's introduction to mouse control (just plug in a USB mous and WHEE!) made unreal one of my most anticipated winter releases. Its just too bad that everything moves so fast you cant appreciate the detailed environments and radical guns, although they are unoriginal. You can probably find similar weapons in other earlier FPS games but they are still fun to use, my favorite was the flak cannon which is kind of like an interstellar shotgun. At the start of each round you might be going over some sort of plan , but the action always seems to revert to a run n' gun style game play.I wonder if Bradygames made an Official Strategy Guide for this game "Step 1: Aim at the guy's face. Step 2: Blast said guy's face off" No logistics involved. Some people are inevitably going to love this, but no matter how hard I try to get into it i start craving more deserving titles like Call of Duty 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good at Times

posted by OkanBS1987 (NEWARK, DE) Feb 21, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is good in terms of deathmatch and team deathmatch. The campaign is just terrible because it makes you do the weird "warfare" option to complete the campaign. The story is boring, but the multiplayer option is really good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Out Of This World

posted by TastyTaco (VENTURA, CA) Dec 24, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

this game beats everything out there. the graphics are incredible. I have a black and white tv and it still looks better than gow and any other game. The story line is wack but that isn't the main focus of the game. Go on line and then put it to the test. don't listen to bad reviews the people that rate this game low are not very good on line and lose all the time. Halo dose not compare to this. BUY THIS GAME NOW!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game and a defenite buy

posted by felix1977 (OCALA, FL) Dec 16, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I keep reading about the graphics not being up to par, funny thing is if you own a tv with PIP(picture in picture) set up side to side with gears of war and both running on hd look just as good, if I had to choose 1 that looked better is UT3, the common problems with the controller not working is as simple as playing with a fully charged sixaxis (most games do the same thing if you have a low charge on the controller) also the gameplay is just as addicting as ut2004, but I kinda miss the meele attacks, other than that I can't stress enough that if you own a PS3 and want to see what you paid for this is it, and to those who suffer of lag all I have to say is quit being cheap and pay up for the best speed rather than just saying I pay for broadband and then complain because you choose the lowest speed offered to save money, deal with the results of low speed broadband.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not a true shooter multiplay only

posted by pfd32713 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Mar 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

this doesnt even classify as a game. if your into online play then thats fine but single player campaign is just multiplayer against computer ai. cutscenes are a joke. a ridiculus cover to make it look like a real game. story means nothing. it is the same repetative levels over and over again with different backgrounds, deathmatch/capture flag/teamdeath match and warefare it just keeps repeating. Id say this is the worst ps3 game ive ever played because it is not a true game. this may be a great multiplayer platform but at least add the foundation of a real gaming experience to back it up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

UNREAL being the operative word

posted by GarynJaci (NEWARK, NJ) Nov 10, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

this game was really UNREAL because it really wasn't a tournament

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Look its GEARS OF WAR no its unreal tournament 3

posted by xPhatBoyx (ROCKWALL, TX) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

gears of war was a pretty good game some might say that gears of war is a halo killer well people who brought you gears of war brought there original starting game unreal tournament.when you go to single player mode you will be laughing pretty hard because the game looks and has the same exact looking charcters (dom and cole train) ive only played the single player mode only five minutes because it feels like a deathmatch not a shooter.multiplayer is diferent though it amazingly addicted online or offline the weapons are pretty cheap kills but thats what makes it funn.its hard to explaine in short take the gears feel to the stupid single player story.play for like five minutes then you think its stupid then have a blast playing multiplayer online or offline its really addicting but fun

just check it out its a good game (but remember ive never played unreal tournament before so im new to the series)

luna

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Very meh.....

posted by Schooliman (MIAMI, FL) Jan 18, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

This game is very meh...
Really I don't see the whole hype. It just a lame multiplayer game, with no brain simulation whatsoever. I felt like a I became dumber playing this game. I believe zombies could only play these
games.
Campaign mode that has got to be a joke, it's the exact same thing as the multiplayer but with bots running around a field. Except with a few pretty movie clips.
I regret renting this game especially being, my turn around time is about a week.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse