Rent Unreal Tournament III for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Unreal Tournament III

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.4

7022 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best online shooter for 360 to date.

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Jul 10, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

74 out of 90 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I guess I won't be getting much sleep for a while. This is one addictive shooter. Graphics are amazing and the single player vs. bots is great for training up until you are ready for some online carnage. But that shouldn't take long because the controls are smooth and easy to remember. You really just need to master the rules of each of the different play modes. The story for the single player mode is ok, but it's really just there to get you ready for what this game is all about: dominating the online shooter genre.

All the necessary game modes for great online action are here. Capture the flag has always been my favorite, but the matches where you have to protect your nodes while destroying your enemy's nodes are quite nice. Of course, simple deathmatch is probably the foundation of any online shooter and in Unreal, it is fast paced with great level designs. The available weapons are great as always with Unreal. There's nothing like leaping off a perch to land in front of an enemy and splattering them into giblets all over the wall.

I have enjoyed playing some of the other shooters on the 360 like Halo 3, Gears of War, and The Orange Box. Unreal seems to have the best parts of each of these. It plays faster than Gears and Halo 3, but it's got better firepower and graphics than Orange Box. Graphics are better than Halo 3 for sure (not that H3 wasn't cool looking too). Only Gears of War has graphics that come very close to Unreal and that's because it's the same game engine and production company. But the art is cleaner here since the world isn't totally demolished like Gears.

I haven't played the PC or PS3 versions of this game (and probably never will) so I can't compare this version to those. I am only reviewing what I see here on the 360, and what I see, I like a lot. It's going to take something very special to come along and beat the total package that this game provides for an online fragfest.

Right now, I think it's the best one out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unreal Tournament 3: Now with Co-op!

posted by aenderw (GREENSBORO, NC) Jul 9, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

35 out of 43 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I owned this game for the PS3 for a while and absolutely loved it. When I heard that the 360 included splitscreen co-op, I was sold. Downloadable content is great and all, but only when it's supported by the party that made it. User created content is often buggy anyway, so it really doesn't add that much to the whole experience.

The Xbox's exclusive content includes the aforementioned co-op, two new character models, and I believe a couple more maps (those that were released on the PSN some months ago.)

Graphically, the game is AWESOME! The Unreal engine is what a large number of current top selling titles use (Gears, anyone?) and Unreal is obviously the culprit behind it. There is a bit of pop-in, as is notorious with the Unreal engine, but the game runs smoothly even in co-op. I love the way this game looks.

It features Deathmatch, Team Deathmatch, Capture the Flag, Vehicle Capture the Flag, and Warfare modes as multiplayer options. There are nine mutators with which you can make the combat even more flurried and intense. The single player campaign is nothing more than a mash-up of the multiplayer options with bots. It's not a GREAT experience, but it's better than what UT games have offered in the past.

My favorite part of the game is the co-op, if you couldn't tell... It allows for a friend to sign on as a guest under your LIVE account, or even sign on under their own gamertag to earn achievements while online. This was the selling point for me.

Unreal Tournament 3 is an adrenaline fueled frag fest that needs to be experienced by all fans of the first-person shooter. If you've never played an Unreal game before, you're in for a treat. To everyone else, it's similar to past efforts with enough changes to merit your attention.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is unreal

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Apr 24, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Played in 2010, and I thought this game was still awesome. I had a ton of fun playing the campaign in co-op online. I was surprised to see other people still play co-op and multiplayer. Not a lot..but still.

The game is setup unlike a lot of others. The campaign is actually just a bunch of multiplayer maps that you play with your team, and have to win a variety of warfare, capture the flag, and deathmatch matches. You don't play through actual long level environments like a Halo, or Gears of War.

This game IS Gears of War, except with much faster and quicker gameplay, jumping, better guns, and more levels. It's very fast paced, as your guy moves really fast. You can also double jump, and hit a variety of air boosters to fly you in the air throughout the levels.

You can also drive tons of vehicles like Halo, both alien and human types that fly and others like tanks. Also, anytime you play a large map on Warfare, you have this Hoverboard thing you can use, like your Michael J Fox in Back to the Future. It's wicked!! You can fly on this thing, carry flags, orbs, and even do sick tricks like tail grabs and flips. It might sound dumb, but it's not. So if you don't like operating vehicles, you can hoverboard it and also grapple to vehicles to keep up.

This game is sick straight up. A ton of the good shooters today like Gears of War, all use the Unreal System. This game is setup for another sequel, so we'll see. Rent for sure, if not even buy if you can get it for under $10. Put 50 hours into it no problem.

Milt Drucker - xbox gamertag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My Top Favorite Game & Shooter, Period

posted by marshall84 (ASHEVILLE, NC) Jul 14, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2008

21 out of 30 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I just got this game and wow, just incredible. My most favored runner up game next to Call of Duty Modern Warfare. I think that’s more than fair to say! The graphics are the most detailed the levels of precision & depth to the game! I just picked my jaw off the floor drenched & my senses immersed from such an intelligent game to hit the booming market of hardcore gamers & shooter fans alike.

Better yet, I think almost anyone who enjoys an addictive game play, who won’t want to put down there controller, can enough say that Unreal & Unreal Technologies brings to the highest respect & loyalty to us as the consuming gamers to test drive & keep on cruise control & then ignite the scene with huge environments, massive multiplayer capabilities, an all around, beyond well made piece of software that needs to be reckoned with!

The multiplayer has to be my most favorite feature, PERIOD! There is next to nothing that you cannot do. I will advise for those who have Xbox Live, you will need to invest in Point Cards & have some cash stashed away, because the maps will run about 600 points per map that you may or may not have.

The easy of use, the guns, ahhhhh the guns, must love the rocket launcher, must not...blow up...teammate...for the fun...of it...so much fun.. You’ll see! It’s one of the Top 2 games of addiction, next to also cupcakes by Hostess, Little Debbie Oatmeal Crème Pies, & the invention of sliced bread. I stress this, because it’s all true in my view.

It’s well worth it. For those who haven’t ever been baptized into the holy essence of Unreal, this is now the time to go out, & purchase one of the absolute, hands down, most breath-taking games to date. I’ll recommend this game as a rental, you have to rent it & furthermore, once you play it, you’ll see why I come to appreciate & take highest passion when it comes to games. For all gamers out there, this is a winning golden ticket of a valuable gamer to ever hit the 360! Enjoy my fellow gamers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really Fun!

posted by Mosizzy (COLLEGEVILLE, PA) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I picked this game up on release date, and it was very well worth it. The campaign consists of you and your AI teammates fighting against other bots in game types such as team death-match, capture the flag, and an assault type game where you have to link your teams nodes to the enemies prime core in order to attack their main core. It sounds confusing but it very easy to learn once you start playing. This game is very fast-paced, which makes it fun. The aiming system is pretty difficult do to the fact that everyone is flying around your screen, but if you get the hang of it you will be in good shape for online. Campaign is fun, but if your playing on normal difficulty your AI team-mates sometimes get glitched at spawn and provide you with no back-up. Other than this I would say that online is very fun, with a wide variety of maps and weapons. I highly recommend this game to all types of gamers, even if your not a big fan of shooters. This game involves innovative strategy and is very rewarding after you defeat your opposition, even if it very frustrating at times. 9/10 only due to the glitchy AI.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better with friends... annoying without

posted by MeatLander (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) May 4, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is based around the idea of multiplayer online matches. There is a singleplayer campaigne mode, but the individual missions are little more then online matches played against computer opponents.

It's not a bad game, but it's not a good game either. Personally, I'm a big fan of the story in video games. This game... is kind of lacking in that aspect. They do a decent job of trying to work in the idea of playing capture the flag as a real war-time strategy but not well enough to keep you interested. I'm a few stages from beating it and I have no real idea what's going on. Humans fight aliens... that's all I can really gather (I guess I should have played the other Unreal games first?).

It's a fun game when you play with friends... but alone, it gets stale and frustrating quickly. The computer AI is the Computer AI regardless of what team it's on... so in Singleplayer you are the only real advantage your team has. Which sounds fine until you realize that these are games/maps that require team effort. It's hard to get the computer to cooperate with your plan and trusting the computer alone often ends in distaster.

For instance, my team had a hard time protecting key nodes in "warfare" mode without my help. They also struggled to take new nodes without me... I can't be two places at once.

Another flaw, you can't choose game types in the campaigne... I don't like Capture the Flag but I have no choice but to play a bunch of capture the flag rounds.

There's a few loading delays that get old... and it's hard to see how far you are into the game making it seem like the game will never end. But, the maps are well designed and the game does a good job of keeping old ideas fresh.

You can play campaign in coop and you can adjust the dificulty and still earn the achivements. That's worth something. Also, I haven't had too much trouble finding people online... which is good considering how old the game is.

It's better with friends. Alone, not so

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Revolutionary game just like Halo 2

posted by DrumHero (WYOMING, RI) Jul 10, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

If you are looking for a game with a great campaign stop right there. The campaign plays alot like the Dynasty Warriors games. Alot of action not much background information. In my opinion this game should not be compared to Gears of War as they are two completely different types of games, in Unreal Tournament 3 you are sent to the front lines and have missions you must accomplish. The game play is extremely fast and takes a little getting used to. I would not consider it a run n' gun though. It does require strategy. The best way to describe the game play would be to play Halo 3 Custom games on the Pit with the speed max and sensitivity at 10. This is a great game it is a classic and I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

What if Halo 3 and Gears had a love child?

posted by abk1987 (CHEVY CHASE, MD) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Tell you the truth I've been addicted to shooters since Golden Eye and in the past few years I've seen alot of innovative gaming come to pass; however, this really doesn't cut it for me. I mean don't get me wrong this is a fun game...for a while but in the end it gets highly repetitive. The controls make you feel like a 5 year old sugar junkie with palsy. It doesn't have that innovative edge I was hoping for. The online carnage is impressive but the single player story feels lazy. I know its an UT game but does it really have to be split up into separate arena stages? Couldn't they have maybe caused the action to have something to do with the story line?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Unreal Tournament 3

posted by DavidF (PANAMA CITY, FL) Jul 10, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What can I say, This game is amazing!!. This is one awesome gory fps. the graphics in this game are just as good as gears maybe even a tad better. This is definetly a buy but go ahead and rent to see if you like. but there is huge variety of weapons and over 25 multiplayer maps. this is one of the best games ever and the multiplayer is insanely fun even if u dont have xbox live. this is one good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Has it's moments

posted by HippyVock (FITCHBURG, WI) Jul 22, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

My major complaints revolve around the controller set-up and the inconsistency of the boards and A.I. in them. The single player campaign allows you to play with up to four friends, but it is really just a formal string of death match boards that prepare you for multiplayer as any human will quickly tire of the incredibly bi-polar A.I. that can't decide whether to execute the mission flawlessly (often without you on the easier modes) or hop in a vehicle and drive over and over again into a wall while the enemy A.I. becomes absolutely ruthless and effecient bordering on "cheating" on anything above normal. The control set-up is remarkably bad for a FPS, even containing a feign death button that actively hates your existence. It is definitely a PC port that they did not seem to care to fit to an Xbox controller quite right. More appropriately, the testers are probably so good, minor control issues may not come up and never even get addressed.

It's important to remember, however, that a 6 is above average. That is a good description of this game. It's faster paced than CoD4 and the weapons are crazier than most shooters and create lots of cool looking deaths from body chunks flying thru the air to skeletons lying on the ground. The Unreal engine creates very good looking enviornments and characters, but the experience of running around boards too big for only 8 players and boards too small for 6 just doesn't quite live up to the looks. At least there is no crazy melee staff from an earlier incarnation. This time they kept it a shooter and a fast one it is. I'm glad I rented it as it doesn't have the lasting value others have, but is fun for a day or two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Like playing a Muli-player Halo game w/o the fun..

posted by joshman12 (FORT DRUM, NY) Aug 19, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

When I originally heard about the game (its a shooter made by the Gears of War peeps) I couldn't wait to get it off GameFly. I sat and thought about the fun times I've had playing Gears of War and imagine what this game could be like. (That was the most fun I've had with this game!) After getting it in the mail, I got back to the house slammed the game in my Box, and sat back and waited for the maddness. It never came. What I got seemed like a demo. I choose Campaign and got right into what appeared to be a multi-player shooter. There was a story line, but who cared. Every level has the same basic objective. Shoot the enemy until you win. If you die, you come back and keep shooting. You are divided up into red and blue teams and the one with the most kills wins. SERIOUSLY?!? This is a game sold for $50? Thank God for GameFly, because if I had purchased it, I would have flipped out! Don't even rent it. Play 007 for your PS2. Its still a better game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

this game kinda sucks

posted by pauly37 (SULPHUR, OK) Jul 13, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

7 out of 23 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

ok , first off, if you have xbox live , then add 1 or 2 more points onto the 6 i gave it. this game was def made with online their priority.but being one of the sad few that does`nt have live, this game sucks. single player sucks, its just not that much fun. did`nt have live for cod4 , but that was such a fun game to play on single player, so it can be done.i guess i`m gonna have to get live eventually, cause i can see this habit is only gonna get worse.
aside from the single player issues, the graphics really aren`t all that good, their average at best, seen alot better on the 360.
overall if you have xbox live your gonna love this game , everything can be played online including the campaign. if you don`t have live, your gonna be bored after a few hrs, wishing you did have it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent port, lacks to much.

posted by NotL33t (HUNTINGTOWN, MD) Jul 9, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

11 out of 39 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

This game was a decent port considering the lack of space the Xbox 360 allows a game to use. On the PC and PS3 this game comes packed with 40 maps, customizable characters, and a map editor for both of them (yes you have to do the map editing for the PS3 version on your PC). Now the Xbox 360 version comes out and only has 16 maps, no character customization, and no map editor. The graphics are under par as well. There not even up to GOW standards. Given this has 16 players and bigger maps that is expected but not to this extent. These graphics look like Xbox 360 launch titles honestly. The achievements are a mix of to simple and ridiculously hard. For anybody who played the PC version you know how impossible it is to get 15 kills in a game with the Jack Hammer gun, it's barely possible to get one. So this game is surely a rent, maybe a buy if you don't have a PC that can run it. I have the PC version so it's nothing more than a rent for me...

~ SolvingJunk (XBL Gamertag)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Unreal Multiplayer

posted by Yogurt109 (MILLERSBURG, OH) Jul 20, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This was my first foray into the Unreal franchise and i walked away a little disappponted. The multiplayer style the single player is set up in was good even better if you like multiplayer but hate dealing with the worthless idiots you always get stuck playing with.

If you dont like multiplayer games though stay away...very far away from this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ehh.....

posted by ecliptical (GRESHAM, OR) Aug 19, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The game definitely did NOT live up to the hype it had surrounding it which is unfortunate. I looked forward to the game and was let down by the lag during online play and the poor AI during campaign.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FPS the way it started it all!

posted by Iplaegaems (SHREVEPORT, LA) Jul 10, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is old school FPS at it's best. Those who need "cover" need not apply. This game is for those of us who like our FPS the way it used to be: fast moving, twitch combat, high body counts and gruesome kills.

Having played other FPS on PCs I can say that the experience translates well to the 360. No, a controller is not as good as mouse/keyboard for this kind of game but it's good enough if you do not have the option of playing on a PC. Besides, everyone you play will also be using a controller therefore you will not be at a disadvantage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A minor Dissapointment

posted by Fistof40k (FONTANA, CA) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was a disappointment online and campaign. The graphics are awesome but the game play itself gets a bit repetitive but its worth a a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste

posted by Euphoria (Byron Center, MI) Sep 26, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

This may be one of the worst games ever made. The story makes little sense and you will spend all your time mindlessly trying to compete objectives. To add to it the mutiplayer is horible. What little games you do find will be filled with the obsessed people who kill destroy you and you will have no chance. Unless you want to devote time to mastering this game you will have no fun might as well go play viva pinata and take out your anger cauesed by this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME IS AMAZING

posted by ChayzuN (WEST HILLS, CA) Jul 9, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

4 out of 19 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

Ok so pretty much, this is the best unreal tournament game yet, and it is just incredible and anyone who likes fast-paced online shooters should definitely get this because Unreal Tournament 3 masters that, and it sets the bar for future online shooters to come

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Over and over and over again

posted by MikyDee (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 6, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Unreal technology continues to push the boundaries of monotony and mediocrity in gaming. Save yourself an evening of the deja vu that is Unreal tournament 3 and rent ANY other FPS in its place. Seriously a complete waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Eye Popping Bad

posted by ElGrumpo (BALTIMORE, MD) Jul 23, 2008

Member since Feb 2005

8 out of 45 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

This is a terrible game period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

one of the worst games i have ever played

posted by nurgle7 (MEDFIELD, MA) Nov 8, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

what kind of game has match games for a campaign. thats just messed up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak

posted by Furman (NORTH PLATTE, NE) Aug 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

This would be a great game for people that like multi-player games but who have no friends with which to play them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game Sucks!

posted by Juggalo78 (BOISE, ID) Aug 21, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

Wow, what a horrible game this turned out to be. The graphics alone made me think I was playing a PSOne game and not a next-gen console. The online game play was bad. The things you can do in this game are very limited. The online gameplay sucked as well. Overall, this game doesn't deserve a one rating. It desrves a negative rating, because this game was a joke. Whoever made this game needs to go back to the drawing board.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by BoMichael (Lancaster, CA) Oct 9, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

this game is the most horrible game i have ever played, o my god this how could they make a game so bad, never ever make another like this unless it is any better, geeze

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse