Rent Uncharted: Golden Abyss for PS Vita
view large frontback

Uncharted: Golden Abyss

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.5

929 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Crazy Impressive for a portable game

posted by Ichiban (SAN JOSE, CA) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Apr 2006

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I seen reviews comparing it to the PS3 Epics, which is slightly unfair. Considering (a) this is a launch title on new hardware, and (b) it's on a handheld, it is a wildly impressive game. It loses a couple of marks for overusing touch features (an inevitable launch title scenario), but overall impressive. Much like the PS3 games though, makes sense for a rental, as there is little reason to replay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An Almost Perfect Portable Uncharted Adventure

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Feb 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2008

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you have the PS Vita, good for you. It's a great system well worth your money, because of its fantastic games. The best being Uncharted: Golden Abyss. Uncharted: GA is exactly what you'd expect from a portable Uncharted game. It has action, exploration, puzzles, fantastic graphics (seriously, they're incredible) and good characters. Sadly, Uncharted: GA's storyline is not near as deep or fleshed out as it's PS3 counterparts. It doesn't bring the experience down, but does detract from your connection to what happens next. Luckily though, Nolan North, (the actor for Drake) is here, and he, as always, shines. The secondary characters lack the depth of Elena or Sully, but are interesting enough that they won't bore terribly.
Now, the gameplay is also good, but obviously not as good as the Uncharted games on PS3. In Golden Abyss, the only locale you see is the jungle, but it lacks the variety Drake's Fortune had with its jungle. It's not terrible, but not memorable either. Probably my least favorite part of the game is its shooting mechanics. I've always loved the action in Uncharted, but b/c you can either move the Vita to aim or the joysticks, when I'm using one the other interferes sometimes. Making getting head shots and blind-firing a pain.
As for the touch controls, they all work fine. I prefer to use the traditional controls, but do like using the touch to drag a path for Drake to climb. But the mandatory uses, (cutting things with a machete, helping your partner climb something, finishing melee moves) are a nuisance. And get frustrating at times.

Pros: Graphics, characters, exploration and treasure hunting are better than ever. Some of the touch-controls are cool, and dialogue and acting are great as always.

Cons: Mandatory touch controls, lack of set-pieces, same environments, shooting isn't that great, and the story isn't as fleshed out as it should be.

If you have a Vita, no doubt get this game. Just don't expect it to be the same as on the PS3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Uncharted: Platinum Abyss

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Feb 28, 2012

Member since May 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Seriously... this game is great.

It took a bit of getting used to, it doesn't grab you the same way the others do from the beginning, but, it's also got a longer story to tell, if you can believe that.

It's kind of interesting because the gunplay in this one takes a backseat to problem solving and platforming compared to the console counterparts. And that's actually a good thing. Something about the controls just feel less accurate when shooting, not because the accuracy is bad, just something with the control sensitivity or something I'm not quite sure. But the game is pretty forgiving and you should be able to shoot your way through the game just fine. Hand to hand combat is ok, and stealth is easier this time around.

Platforming with the touch screen is awesome. There's a ton more to do with treasure seeking, picture taking, charcoal rubbing and all sorts of fun that's much better than the console games. All of the touch mechanics really had a breath of fresh air to the game and are implemented so well, it's hard to imagine playing the game any other way.

This is a fantastic game, a great addition to an already outstanding series, a perfect launch title and overall just awesome way to spend time on a handheld.

The graphics are good, voices are good (minus the enemies), gun sounds are pretty bad... music is good.

I highly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome

posted by onetimehorizon (OGDEN, UT) Feb 24, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is good you will forget your self, and it kinda like giting pulled in to the game exploring, Uncharted Golden abyss

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME GRIPPING GAME (NO REPLAY)

posted by Getodachoppa420 (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

when i played this game it was so fun i couldn't stop playing it. The graphics are incredible and the story is great. With tons of classic Nathan Drake one liners. Only problem is there is no replay value at all. I tried to play it again after i beat it and it wasn't happening for me. So its a great game i would never buy it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I give this game a perfect score of 10...

posted by lhardwick6 (GENOA, WV) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Aug 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the ps vita is on the right track with this game being a launch title.the features of this game is what the ds should be like--the graphics are nice in this game very detailed in every way i wont say they look ps3 but then again this isnt on ps3.
the sound/music is pretty good as well
the gameplay what some people are gimmicky is actually quite fun and interesting-showing the abilities of the vita with touch screen features like ducking your enemy with swipe of the screen launching a grenade by touching the grenade and then you see your path you can swipe it and it does it for you automatically as you look around for treasures and look at the games attention to detail
i cant wait for this game to have a sequal as i think the developers will make the game more like the games on the ps3 with the huge action scenes and all the this quest is fun and i would recommend this game for anyone into the uncharted games

now this is gaming with good uses of a touch screen front and back-i didnt mention the back touch screen- you can zoom in your sniper rifle with touch of the back screen and also zoom in with the camera to take various pictures through out the game---

10 stars all the way guys in my book

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's pretty good

posted by cid2042 (Seattle, WA) Mar 9, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is more like Uncharted lite edition. While there is much the same feel of the original game Uncharted Golden Abyss is lacking the Epic feeling the first 3 games had.

Over all the game is still fun to play and worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

epic

posted by psn_rasterwins2 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Epic game, only a little repetitive. i love it and is you like uncharted on ps3, you will love it.
If you are new to uncharted than be patient because the begining is a little boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by idoskate (LOGAN, UT) Mar 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

you can tell sony needed to push this one out asap. it needed a little more time for polish. shading gets funny throughout game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ha.

posted by jaysin (WAKE FOREST, NC) Feb 26, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Gamefly only made me wait 4 days to give me the best game on the list!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring story, horrible combat and forced gimmicks.

posted by MrHyde (BOSSIER CITY, LA) Mar 2, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I love the first two Uncharted on the PS3, but this one is not in their league. Golden Abyss overuses and forces you to take your hands off the Vita to use the awkward touchscreen, and it does it A LOT.

The story is just a bland been there done that story that is nowhere near on par with the PS3 version. It felt like waste of time. The voice acting is fantastic though.

The shooting is the worst thing in the game. It is so horrible that I can't even explain it in words, you'd have to play to understand just how bad the combat is,and since it's near impossible to hit anyone in the gun fights you end up running up to the enemy and meleeing them to death and melee fighting uses the awkward touch screen controls mini-game too.

Basically this is a tech demo for the Vita to show you what it can do, but it's not really worth a rent or a buy unless you want to show off your new tech to your friends and family and impress them with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

unexpected pleasure.

posted by pYKIEGUY53 (PHOENIX, AZ) Dec 17, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

First time playing one of these games. Thought it was a real pleasure. Graphics were great. Pretty close to the PS3 version. Gameplay was great. Difficulty on hard was very balanced. Overall i'd say that if i had played this at launch i would have been surprised. However even now playing it over 2 1/2 years later, i still found it very enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by harvey_jess (ATLANTA, GA) Nov 20, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

Best action adventure game I have played! Played this game and finished in a week. Could not put my vita down. Graphics are amazing and story line was great kept pulling me in. Highly recommend!!! Want to play again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Game Looks Really Nice

posted by VitaPs4Review (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jun 20, 2013

Member since May 2013

So for a handheld game this was the first one I have went through that provided a real gaming experience. The environment was awesome and provided really good visuals.
The game play was good but not great. Some of the shoot outs were really cool and the wall climbing was cool but it was some what repetitive. The part that really got to me was the puzzles. There was little to no effort put into the puzzles which would have made this game so much better. Other than that the game play and game mechanics were really good and paired with the visuals made this game decent.
The story line was basic. It was one of the better story lines I have played so far on the Vita but the bottom line was, it was basic. Your “friend” sales you out and the big bad mobster type guy who acts like your typical dictator. It was just over dramatized for me. This game was not terrible by any means and I would gladly play through it again in the future but I was not blown away by it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent game!

posted by augustisburning (CARROLLTOWN, PA) Apr 7, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

I recently bought a vita to pass some down time at work and as a huge fan of the Uncharted series on PS3, I decided to give this game a try. I was a bit skeptical because I figured the graphics would be a bit watered down and the story would lack the adventurous tone of the console games, but man I was wrong.

The graphics are great for a hand held! They rival the graphics from the first Uncharted and quite possibly the second. Obviously everything is smaller to fit the Vita's oled screen, but everything is very polished.

The game was put out by Bend Studio "Syphon Filter series" and published by Naughty Dog and I am very impressed. The story is compelling and has a lot of action and adventure; something people expect from an Uncharted game. It also has Nathan Drake and good old Sully being as sarcastic as always. One could almost think they were father and son, if they wouldn't have played the other Uncharted games and knew better.

The game introduces a new character named Dante and a fellow fortune hunter/archaeologist, Chase. Both keep you on your feet and soon you find out who your real friends are.

It took me close to 15 hours to beat this; a little over in fact. I was quite amazed at this seeing as how most Vita games can be beat in anywhere from four to six hours. I really hope a Vita sequel is made!

If you love Uncharted, I'd highly recommend this for you. If you even like it half as much as I did, you'll love it! Cheers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best action game on the vita. Period.

posted by steventylerk (ROSWELL, NM) Mar 20, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This is a great Uncharted game and probably the best game on the Vita. It makes excellent use of all of the Vita's features and is incredibly engaging. I played through this game 3 times and enjoyed it everytime. It is a pretty easy platinum trophy and is in my opinion even better than Uncharted: Drake's Fortune. You would be hard pressed to find a more enjoyable experience on the Vita. If you own a Vita and you haven't rented or purchased this game yet then you haven't experienced the best the Vita has to offer. This game is so good it is worth buying a Vita just to play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Addition to the Uncharted Series

posted by Bobaganoosh (PLAQUEMINE, LA) Feb 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

I was blown away by how great this game really is. You wouldn't expect such a great game like this from a Vita title, but it deffinitely holds it's own here in the great Uncharted series. Though it's only singleplayer, I find it great for replay value if you're into trophy huntng and what not. The game actually makes good use of the rear touch pad as well. Gameplay mechanics are smooth and solid, and the story is just as good as it's console games. I highly reccomend this title to anyone looking to continue their Uncharted love!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Exciting

posted by Rocko34 (WEST PORTSMOUTH, OH) Feb 6, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

For a handheld game, this one was pretty exciting. For the first few missions I was getting a little impatient but when the story starts going, it gets pretty good. It kept me on edge almost as well as Uncharted 2. It is the best VITA game I have played so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Uncharted Review By BIGBOYD

posted by BIGBOYD34 (LANSDOWNE, PA) Jan 22, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Pros: cool storys and the controls are new and fun to use. feels like your playing the Ps3 version. plays smooths and looks amazing. game flows with little hick up.

Cons: poeple like me with big hands its hard to use the thumb sticks with out feeling like your gonna break them like tigs. so for this game the grip gloves is need for people with big hands. to make the controls feel more certain and balanced.

8.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best PS Vita games'!

posted by gman11 (HIGHLANDS RANCH, CO) Dec 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I enjoyed this Uncharted game very much, and I think that it is currently one of the best vita games there is out there right now.
The game utilized most of the vita's capabilities like the front and rear touch, and the tilt sensor.
The graphics are amazing and they blew me away by how good they were for just a handheld console. The environments are really cool like being in the jungle, or deep inside a tomb underground.
The gameplay is pretty fun like all Uncharted games, and the story is pretty good as well. Many people have complained about the dialogue between the characters, but I didn't think it was dry or corny at all, maybe at some parts, but overall it was solid.
The gun fights were the only set back for me in this game. It did seem a little dry and it takes some time getting used to aiming very well at enemies, which forced me to change some of the aiming settings which helped a lot. Another con for me was the inability to throw back enemy grenades, which I don't know why they didn't add this ability in this Uncharted like all the others do. Maybe throwing back grenades would have been too easy since you now have a touch screen?
Overall I liked the game very much, and I will probably play through it a second time, possibly a third if I really want more trophies out of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Uncharted Golden Abyss

posted by Bigballa24 (POMONA, CA) Dec 16, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

Great game! game was longer than expected. If your a uncharted fan, this is a must rent or buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Completely underrated!!

posted by Bloodfire401 (EAST PROVIDENCE, RI) Dec 1, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

This game is fantastic! The graphics are insane for a handheld and are comparable to console versions at times.. The gameplay is amazingly fun and the controls are tight and done well. And the story is pretty good dull at times but still solid. When I got the game I wasn't overly excited because most game review sites underrated this game, so I was overwhelmed by the awesomeness this game possessed. This is a must buy! No vita owner should be without this title it is far and away the best game for the vita..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is the best one for psvita

posted by vmj904 (EMERSON, AR) Nov 24, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

this game is the best one for psvita!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Far better than you think

posted by NickBauer (FLORENCE, OR) Nov 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

This is by far the best game on the Vita. It truly feels like an Uncharted game with the original voice actors and excellent graphics. The gameplay is extremely satisfying and as usual, the storyline is phenomenal. I would recommend this to anyone with a Vita and those without as this game is worth getting a Vita for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Uncharted's different take

posted by Capice2003 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

In of Uncharted you have a machete you have different weapons but you also got a different aspects as far as treasure hunting his concerned. The game has very high replay value based on this with the inclusion of the black market. The only thing that is missing cross play compatibility. With the slew of new weapons and new characters as well as some that you know missing in the series as a whole it brings a new slate where your'e engaged in the South American jungle. This version does not directly link to Uncharted 3 but it does give new ways to engage the player with the Vita's touch illumination and motion controls. Definitely a great to round up trophies in. I hope to see you treasure hunters on the black market!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse