Rent Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception for PS3
view large frontback

Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.8

14396 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hmmm, not a fanatic

posted by Asoberprep (WILTON MANORS, FL) Mar 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

About graphics, sound or such. Just give me a good fun game to play. This one was not up to the franchise standers. Seems like a half backed game, that should have crossed their T's and dotted their I's glad I didn't buy this game. At some points it's almost laughable and nowhere near where a game like this should be, this day and age. OH btw. if you rent good old EA games will charge you 10 bucks for online pass..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Story, Baaaaaad Shooting

posted by shunketsu (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Dec 21, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

The gun play is still the worst part about this series. Sure they fixed the aiming, but the cover system is bad and they just plain don't know how to design a shooting level. Every time they want you to shoot the game just plops you into a sealed room and sends waves of the same 4 enemies at you. If you play it on any level higher than easy these rooms can get kind of ridiculous. Also Nathan is supposed to be a treasure hunter anyways, why dose he have to kill more people than Master Chief.

Long story short, Platforming- A, Story- A+, Visuals- A+, Puzzles- B, Gun-play- F

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What happened?

posted by Danomyte (PHOENIX, AZ) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

The character controls on this game are terrible, and there seems to functions missing on my copy. An example is the sneak function is not an option for me. When I approach an enemy undetected the game does not allow me to take him out quietly, I have to engage him in a fist fight while getting blasted by other enemies in the game, or just blast him and alert everyone. Also, the game just doesn't react to my commands as well as the first two did, meaning I am having to re-do most of my efforts before successfully moving forward. The story and graphics are awesome, and I am compelled to see how things end, but I am a little disappointed with the game play so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Uncharted 3

posted by redlibra305 (MIAMI, FL) Dec 18, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

This game, hands down, looks completely awesome, especially for those running it off a 1080p 120mhz Flat screen. The game play is smooth and the cinematics are captivating. However, the action game play was not a good experience. The movement mechanics could be far much better. It's worth to play it so you can see for yourself but in my opinion, I got bored with it pretty fast. In this gaming day and age I expected far better action game play especially from a game that rated so high. I gave it a 5 because I think that's the best balance score it can receive. Game play vs the Graphics. 5 and 5, that's how i rate em'.....oh and of course, the storyline, but for this one, unless your a big Indiana Jones fan or an aspiring archeologist, it won't hold your attention that long. I was pretty fascinated with some of the geographic locations selected and the remodeling of some of the castles and mansions, nothing but eye candy...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

let down!

posted by classicreject (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 6, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 18 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

All I can say is wow; this game had me so excited than, I actually started playing it. First; yes the game looks great! But really that’s not enough, not when the gunplay is awful, to the point that I get mad that I have to shoot people. For the first time in a game id rather walk around then actually shoot the enemy. Also the covering system is just lame. And finally the ending, which I have no idea about because I gave up once you get to the city in the sand the enemies turn into I guess demons? Maybe monsters? I don’t really know what they we're, but it was dumb. I mean come on! How is it all of a sudden the bad guys are super natural, that’s so lame... this game had some REALLY cool moments but too many lame moments too

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What a pile of a$z

posted by ewr2703 (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 11, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Should have been called Uncharted 3, "foolish puzzles, blowup endless and mindless enemies behind big set pieces". Yeah long title but it about sums it up.

I liked the first game, second was not bad either, this was just redundant and ludicruous. SOme of the later levels takes you through rooms of countless enemies, they flank you which is cool, but are mindless otherwise. Clear the room, run to the next, do it some more.

There is even one point in the game, even Drake says, "I am sick and tired of these guys", yeah buddy so am I and this game.

I finished it. The graphics were great, the set pieces were nice. Other then that, get ready to be frustrated as he1l with numerous deaths and frustrating climbing(at times).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Drake is cool but that's about it.

posted by radiofloyd26 (VANCOUVER, WA) Oct 13, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Very disappointing game, I like the character of Drake a lot but as far as game play not too impressive. The ability to only have 2 weapons at a time is very annoying, also too much climbing and jumping around. The story line is very good and different but game play is tiresome and boring. I would move on and not even give it a chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Pretentious, boring, and a little too crazy.

posted by MadMike112 (BEN LOMOND, CA) Jun 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The gameplay is stale, and very drawn out. The puzzles are pretty neat, but a little too wacky at times.

The game looks amazing. Go PS3. Woo. nothing too exciting.

the story is completely and absolutely crazy. Nothing is believable, and it's very lazily written. A major downgrade from uncharted 2. The dialogue is still spot on though.

The game starts off strong with interesting characters, plot devices, and scenarios, but halfway through the game, it's all shooting galleries and stupid twists. Naughty dog didn't try too hard on this one, yet everyone seems to love it. I don't get it. Uncharted 2 was fantastic even though it was a little crazy. The setpieces were amazing, and it really kept you on your toes. this game just seems uninspired. It's a shame. I really tried to like the game. If anyone was going to watch a scene for scene translation from game to movie of this, nobody would take it seriously. It's just throwaway software.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

good game but short lived

posted by ledisdeath (WAYLAND, NY) May 31, 2012

Member since May 2012

9.25 hours beat on normal campaign. come on really.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same O, Same O

posted by LAKERSO10 (YUMA, AZ) Apr 26, 2012

Member since Aug 2009

Well there was realy nothing new about this Uncharted episode. Same Spiderman like wall climbing abilities and treasure hunting gameplay. The graphics were good not great and the story mode could have been longer with more chapters. In conclusion, if you like playing Uncharted 1 and 2, and still not tired of the same story mode with the same characters, then you will like this game. Adios chabronees.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Better movie than a game.

posted by superpwner (ALBANY, OR) Apr 3, 2012

Member since Aug 2006

Uncharted 3 seems to have the same problem a lot of games have these days, a bit of a difficulty scaling problem. The adventure, the puzzles, and all the other stuff is fun... until you get to the actual gunplay. Snipers line up headshots on you while you and your friends are shooting them in the knee, guys on buildings with rocket launchers quite frankly have better accuracy than the snipers.

And that's on easy.

When did beating Demon's Souls in required deaths become a challenge?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I wanted to like this... (((((yawn)))))

posted by Rabbitleggys (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

...but Uncharted 3 is just more of the same pointless wall climbing annoying 'puzzle' solving poor shooting rigmarole bs without the lest improvement in creativity or intelligence. yawn.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

dead island

posted by wwhite737 (ROANOKE, VA) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

during the game ( approx. 2.5 to 3 min.) a notice would show up informing me that my ether-net cable was disconnected. since i was not playing on line this was VERY disconcerting. In my estimation dead island is DEAD!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Let Down

posted by ibSmitty (MARSHALL, MO) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

For me this game was kind of a let down. Kept hearing about how the Uncharted series was awesome, so i tried this one. Have to say honestly, the story is awesome, the graphics are off the charts sick, and the music is fitted perfectly for the story and gaming scenes. Having said that, i didnt finish the game because the gaming control and the enemies you face was insane. Had the difficulty set on easy and still were many times playing you didnt stand a chance moving forward against guys with laser scopes, while others throw grenades making you have to constantly move out of cover only to be shot by snipers while other enemies are in your face and you have to use melee combat while getting shot at by hordes of distant enemies.
Another yet example of a awesome story and good graphics on a game ruined by rush production and poor choices in gaming sequences. Neat game to try but would never spend 59.99$ on it because you spend more time getting ticked off than enjoying the game. Let down for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

weak overall experience

posted by kyle97128 (MCMINNVILLE, OR) Mar 14, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game was weak. Literally every problem or obstacle you encounter has one of 2 solutions, either climbing and jumping very unrealisticly (a 10 foot horizontal backwards wall hang jump)
Or Some kind of ridiculous puzzle. The puzzles didnt really add anything positive to the game, after the first couple puzzles you just want to play the game without being interrupted for 20 minutes in each room looking for the wall hang to jump to or trying to put a staff in a hole in the ground.
The fact that you cant play online without a 60 dollar pass, makes renting this game through gamefly a big waste of time and money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

FAIL

posted by Bazonk (SEATTLE, WA) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Stunning visuals, as always.

Terrible plot, recycled game design and over extended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same old bull

posted by Jona3147 (ASTORIA, NY) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

it sucks plain and simple

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Realy disapointed

posted by renatojd (PALISADES PARK, NJ) Feb 23, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I really liked the whole Drake Series but this one I think they just phoned in. None of the sense of adventure and discovery in the older versions. Just a mix of quasi first person shooter that even on medium setting is ridiculously excessive and repetitive. The fight seans are also reparative and the same big tuff guy keeps popping up so many times. Enough already!!! The graphics are not very good and the cut Sean's go on way to long. The storyline is so predicable and the puzzles are so complex at times then get so simple other times. Really disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great game

posted by G35CoUpE (WILDWOOD, NJ) Nov 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 18 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

Looks awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Its great.. until you play it

posted by gamerguys150 (GRAND ISLAND, NE) Dec 22, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

started off good but you often take 5 hours to get out of a room and if you slip up and it autosaves, your done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

:(

posted by Sharingan1119 (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

i didnt like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Unchartered 3

posted by Big_daddy_1 (ROCKVILLE, MD) May 7, 2012

Member since May 2012

This game is full of glitches!!! I wasted so much time applying the patch updates and reformatting my hard drive to no avail. I was really looking forward to enjoying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Terrible

posted by AyYoPaulie (DAYTONA BEACH, FL) Mar 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Horrible game for what I expected...are the graphics good? No, they are amazing. However, that is the extent to which the game is useful.

Physics engine? Sucks.
Gunplay? Sucks.
Storyline? Really sucks.

Seriously. This game is like the cheesy horror movies where the chick is like "ZOMG dark hallway" and everyone watching is like "ZOMG don't go in there!" The levels usher you through scripted events in a most horrifically predictable fashion: Drake finds clue, bad guy is one step ahead...Drake finds artifact, bad guy steals from Drake...Drake finds ancient crypt, bad guy somehow there before him. I feel like a 10 year old playing this game.

This is supposed to be the flagship series of Playstation? This game makes me want to throw my PS3 off the balcony. Seriously.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

....

posted by jason12345 (JONESBORO, AR) Nov 30, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

woulda been a 9 if it wasnt for the stupid online pass preventing renters from playing multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

worst of the 3

posted by Juggalo17 (SHEPHERDSVILLE, KY) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 17 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

over 3/4 of the games chapters were in the dark so the great graphics didnt mean anything and it didnt get instersting untill chapter 20 and there was only 22 chapters its a rental HUGE waste of my 65 dollers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse