Rent Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception for PS3
view large frontback

Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.8

14473 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not worth it.

posted by rinlynn (MONROE, LA) Aug 5, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

I was sorely disappointed in this game. The first two installments were GREAT, and I was so eager to play this one; but I was about ready to throw my controller at my TV very soon after starting.

Be prepared to die, on EASY, a LOT. It was obnoxious at how hard that setting was (and I played the other two on Normal and didn't have this much trouble). Some of these situations are impossible and it's ridiculous at how hard it was on such an easy setting.

This entire game was nothing but jump here, then jump there, then RUN RUN RUN RUN RUN. 90% of the game is getting to the hidden city. Then the last 10% is the city and the game ends. No creepy creatures, no crazy plot twist, nothing. This was the worst cop-out plot ever. I was disappointed so much with the storyline and gameplay. Definitely glad I tried it on GameFly before wasting my money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Short

posted by Jossue88 (ODENTON, MD) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

The game graphics and story was great.....but it was a VERY short game. When I focus on something I can usually get thru a game in about a week. THIS TOOK 1-1/2 days. I was complete with all the goals and extras in that time frame. An entire level/chapter was focused on walking in the sand! What a waste. Uncharted franchise is dead to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

: /

posted by Juakin83 (BOSTON, MA) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

No bad being honest no what I expected

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

campaign review

posted by reidolson (ROCHESTER, MN) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

The first thing I noticed about the single player campaign was its stunning visuals, both in environment and character modeling -- the exception being the baddies in the first half of the game (their monkey suits are ridiculous). As far as gameplay goes, if you don't like seeing your character literally fly up impossible rock walls and improvised ladders galore, then this game probably isn't for you. However, the hand-to-hand combat and gunplay were solid enough to keep me playing the ~10 hour campaign. As for the story, well, it's in the Uncharted series so everything is about as over the top as can be and rathe repetitive. You will find yourself thinking hey didn't I just get trapped in some giant underground thing after solving a relatively easy puzzle while shooting some baddies 2 chapters ago? Well, that's because you did. Mix in a couple of dialogues about whether or not Drake's unknown mission is worth it or not and a few random chase sequences and you've just about completed the game. The middle of the game was a distinct highlight and a respite from the repetitive nature of the storied gameplay. Chapters 11-13 were exciting and unanticipated.

All in all, its a solid game but don't expect to get much out of it if you aren't interested in multiplayer. Definitely would not purchase this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good game!

posted by Jreck87 (CORNING, NY) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

pros: overall good game but like anygame could be better, fun to play, awesome graphics, i would recomend it to anyone.

cons: it doesnt tell u what ur objective is and doesnt give you any idea where to go and what to do next, its hard to aim and shoot, when ur grabbed onto a ledge or something u cant turn the camera angle, and when ur running from stuff the camera angle is weird and ur making the character run like towards you and you cant change the camera angle so tht makes it hard and its annoying. also, sometimes u cant grab onto stuff for unless ur at an exact position before you jump onto or over to whatever ur doin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too many Rails and Rip offs

posted by joshparylak (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Jul 23, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

The first two entries in the Uncharted series are among my favorite video games on any console. Uncharted 2 has the distinction of being my favorite PS3 title. Uncharted 3, however came as something of a let down. The game feels focused on creating a cinematic experience which, while a good thing in theory, has the effect of making you feel confined to rails. For large portions of the game, I felt like my input wasn't even necessary. For the amount of control I had, a cutscene would've functioned just as well.

It's no secret that the Uncharted series has a lot in common with the Indiana Jones series. This game takes it a step two far however. While the story is original, several plot points, such as rubbings found on two separate tombs of crusader knights pointing the way to a location in a desert and a canyon ambush of the bad guys desert convoy to rescue the party's oldest member, are lifted right out of The Last Crusade. It's well past homage.

Finally, the game's macguffin is poorly developed. It never feels worth going after, and even after it's revealed what it really is, it's never revealed what it -really- is. The game's villains receive little backstory or development of their own, despite being connected to Nate's origin story. The whole climax of the game is over before it really even seems to have started.

On it's own, I would likely have rated Uncharted 3 with an 8 or more. But as an entry in what is perhaps the Playstation 3's flagship series, it falls disappointingly short of the mark.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Unplayable

posted by nicholiathan (TULSA, OK) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game locks up too frequently to be playable. After playing for 6 to 15 minuets the game freezes and I have to reset my PS3. A quick search turns up numerous players with the same issue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Completely disappointing

posted by mzambrzuski (NORMAN, OK) Jul 6, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I had heard such great things about the Uncharted series; it would be hard to disappoint me more than I was when I started playing this game. Completely unrealistic movement and so entirely frustrating, especially when running/jumping and shooting. You'd think they could make the shooting more responsive, like in FPS games. Yes, I know this isn't an FPS, but AT LEAST make the shooting more user-friendly, fun, and engaging. The storyline is top-notch, 9.5/10 for sure. The visuals are pretty great as well, probably an 8.5/10. The terrible movement and shooting makes this a 6/10 overall for me, since that's what you're doing most of the time. Stealth isn't really an option in a lot of scnearios, it really is a run-and-gun type game with puzzles (which are fun).

Very disappointing for me, might be a good game if movement/shooting doesn't matter to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Letdown

posted by YankeeDoc (BAY SHORE, NY) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Ridiculously clunky controls and poor targetting, got in the way of the equally ridiculous story. Not nearly as entertaining or visually striking as Uncharted 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

uncharted 3

posted by quellbrad (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 15, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

i went mbl the show 12

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

No Online Pass

posted by slackage (LICKING, MO) Mar 15, 2012

Member since May 2011

As you may or may not know, GameFly does not give you the online pass if you are just renting the game. If you buy the game from Gamefly, they will send you everything from the case to the online pass that you will need if you want to play the multiplayer. It's just one of many games that does this, mainly because the game makers get little to nothing on used and rented games. If you want to play the multiplayer on a used or rented game, you must pay $10 to unlock it.

With that out of the way, the game itself is not that satisfying, even with the update to fix the aiming on the game to match it like Uncharted 2, something was a little off.
The storyline is also a downfall too. The game feels like it was rushed. But i do think it is still better than any Tomb Raider game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ehh

posted by AKAdemics47 (JAMAICA, NY) Mar 8, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

more of the same, all the concepts whic made uncharted2 so great are back again. not a bad thing, however it just feels tooo similar. the good graphics, the long chase scenes, the interesting puzzles, the beautiful cinematic cutscenes, and the seamless gameplay are all back. the story is way weaker than last time, i care nothing for the new antagonist, the fighting/combat gets too repetitive, the impossible platforming gets old and unbelievable very quickly, the climactic discovery of a brand new world with other worldly creatures called fire demons seems silly, there is no real boss fight, and every story element from U2 are back in a way where it feels like i know exactly what to expect... and that diminishes the tension and excitement this time around. the only thing that seems new or improved are the facial fetures and textures of the graphics. i was so looking forward to playing this game, but after i beat it, i felt as if i shouldve stopped at U2 and kept the great after taste. U3 was disappointing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hmmmmmmmmm...........

posted by eturnl2009 (HARRISON, AR) Jan 14, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This game was overhyped and overrated. It was fun, but the previous 2 games had times where u thought u would die and it was cool. This game everytime you jumped you almost fell. Seemed repetative at times. The story was ok, the game was ok. Camera angels sucked like all the other uncharted games. Overall a fun rent, but under no condition is it a must buy game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fun but gets old fast

posted by usafman81 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 23, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

This game reminds me a lot of the early Tomb Raider series. After the first 30 mins or so you pretty much have seen anything new there is. All the puzzles are exactly the same just in a different level or area.

Something about this game gives many people I know headaches while they play it too. It seems like the designers did a very poor job with the contrast lighting between the background, foreground, and player/non-player characters. It makes it hard to distinguish between things at times.

Other than that, it was a fun game for the whole total play time of 8 hours, including 2 full play throughs, it took to get 100% trophies on PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Talk about overhyped....

posted by steppin (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2009

The only thing this game excels at is graphics. Sure, it's pretty to look at, but that's about it. Gameplay is annoying. Namely, try to run in a straight line without bumping into walls. And this is a cutscene bonanza. 1 minute of gameplay/ 1 minute of cutscene. I'm sorry, but this is more of a movie than a video game.
I seriously tried to enjoy this game, but it doesn't deserve to be rated a 9. This is a 7 game, max.
If you enjoy linear games where your character doesn't really develop any skills and gameplay is rote, this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Campaign but Online Pass Required

posted by Agglock (FRISCO, TX) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

I played UC1, 2 and now 3 and enjoyed them all. The UC3 single player campaign did not disappoint. I give that portion of the game a 9. However, a company should expect to get dinged by Gamefly users for charging extra to play online. IMO, no game with an online fee should get a high user rating as a rental on Gamefly. Especially one that does not even give you a trial period to see if you like it. And yes, I realize there was a beta. A beta is not always a good indication of the full multiplayer experience. That is why I give it a 6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not overly excited about this game!!!

posted by BigTwin (Ridgewood, NY) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

I liked Uncharted 2 and found it interesting, but I dont feel theres anything new in Uncharted 3. The story will be very linear, again and the game just feels like the same ol' thing. I found myself getting bored of shooting and climbing and sloving stupid puzzles. The controls are kind of aweful and the shooting is just annoying, I find it easier to actually run around and beat up the enemies than it is to aim and shoot them, maybe thats because I play on hard. Regardless this game is nothing new and I can't find the patence to finish it all the way through.... Secondly, this game is known for its campaign so why even bother putting a code on multiplayer?? Thats just frustrating.

The graphics are amazing and the story and plot are cool. The scenary is beautiful and the game really feels like a movie. I think thats where this game fails, its too uninvolving, I literally feel like I'm doing so little and there was too much attention on flash and eyecandy. The gameplay is nothing amazing and I feel like there are too many good games out right now to be waiting time on a long movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ehhhh

posted by gamer457 (IRVINE, CA) Nov 5, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 20 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I didn't play all of Uncharted 1 but 2 was awesome. I thought 3 would be better but it wasn't that good. The campaign was boring nothing new

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok but not for me

posted by baggman12002 (PUYALLUP, WA) Feb 3, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Great graphics, but just could not get into the game found it to be boreing, just not my game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NOT HAPPY....

posted by Voogun (ANTIOCH, CA) Dec 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

The Disk that was sent to me must of been damaged...i can`t play past mission #2...i`m sending it back... ;(...
BUT from what i was able to play the game ROCKED!!! a MUST HAVE!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Kinda bad yet hard

posted by HamsterMan (SCOTTSBLUFF, NE) Sep 14, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Not very fun not really a rent worth it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Interesting...

posted by Achilles2324 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jul 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

The graphics in this game are pretty good and the human movement is very interactive with objects, this meaning when he goes by walls, he puts his hand on them and more. I don't like the shooting because the people you are shooting at don't flinch and they take so many shots to kill. The aiming must be precise as well. The landscape is well done but some of the puzzles are ridiculous!!! i will not go into detail, but be prepared to look the solutions. Some of the areas also made me have to go in circles just to eventually find the point I need to go. This game is ok but not one I would keep!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

uncharted 3

posted by phillybell (CLIFTON, CO) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

its a little week butts fair

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

WAY TOO MUCH READING and ELEMENTARY, My Dear...

posted by tractrdave (NEW PHILADELPHIA, OH) Jun 16, 2012

Member since Oct 2009

WAY TOO MUCH reading to do, between fightin' n shootin'... And it reminds me ALOT of the "TOMB RAIDER" games...QUITE ELEMENTARY, My Dear...ELEMENTARY...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Interactive movie

posted by MikeXIII (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2008

graphics-10
story-9
gameplay-5
fun-4

I'm new to the uncharted series, that being said the story was pretty easy to pick up and follow. But that was the best thing about the game, the gameplay wasn't the focus of the game at all, all i did was monkey up walls to unlock the next cutscene, they were great mind you but also made up the majority of my gameplay time. There were a few "shoot out parts" but that felt like I was playing a ps2 game and were very basic, and there were a few "RUN from the wall of death" scenarios, but that was about it. The game is visually stunning, but had several drawn out walking/ talking segments that should have been skipped over by a 30 sec cutscene

All in all the story was the only highlight, and the gameplay wasn't that much fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse