Rent Uncharted 2: Among Thieves for PS3
view large frontback

Uncharted 2: Among Thieves

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
9.0

33635 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Uncharted 2: Among Thieves

posted by Fantomex (SAN JOSE, CA) Oct 14, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

165 out of 194 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

So, having already downloaded the Uncharted 2: Among Thieves Multi-player Beta, I was, needless to say, very excited for the games release. Excited enough that I dragged my lazy butt out of the house Monday night for the midnight release. Fifteen minutes after midnight and I had my game in the PS3 and was on my way. My expectations were met ten-fold... and then ten-fold over again. This game is so good that I honestly don't know where to begin. The single-player campaign brings a new shining light to a genre of media that has been pretty bleak since the Indiana Jones movies and early Tomb Raider games. It's a story that's been told a million times (or, at least four times by George Lucas and Harrison Ford), but it's told so well that you can't help but love it anyway. The voice acting, as well, is really great stuff. The characters are more believable than most characters in award-winning films, these days. The game-play is spot on, as well. Climbing and navigating levels is intuitive and easy to jump into, and the gun-fighting is just as accessible. And, I have to say this, I want to thank Naughty Dog a million times for their grenade-tossing mechanics! Can I borrow those mechanics for my Gears Of War 2 game-play? Having that said, the multi-player aspect of the game is well thought-out and fun. It's not some tacked-on, last minute, please-keep-playing-our-game after-thought. It's has several awesome modes of game-play ranging from Deathmatch to CTF, and a really fun co-op mini-campaign mode, where you travel through, slightly altered, levels from the single-player campaign with two friends online. The game looks and plays better than anything I've played in a very, very long time. Having beaten the single-player, just recently, I can say in all honest that I walked away thinking That is what a video game SHOULD BE. If you own a PS3, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is easily the most sound $60 investment for your PS3 that you can buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game ever

posted by ItsKevin (NANUET, NY) Dec 28, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ugh! this game is awesome ! the only problem that kept bothering me was the camera. . . I couldn't fix it but other then that it was really the best freaking game ever = )

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Uncharted, not anymore. I'd say it's Charted now.

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Oct 13, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

169 out of 221 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Okay, game just came out today, and I got my copy this morning, all I can say, is that this game isn't good, it. Is. Perfection. This game excels where so many other games don't. The 1st Uncharted combined Gears of War style action, and Tomb Raider environment traversal. Now, not only does this game perfectly bond the two above features, it also fixes each of those two games Flaws. In Tomb raider, the game is bogged down by two many difficultly challenges and not enough action. While Gears of War gives good action, bot not a good story. Uncharted added both games pros, and left out there cons. I'm not gonna bother telling you much about this game here, so I'll keep it short.
Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is magnificent. End of story. No more you need to know.

Pros: Amazing graphics and game-play. Incredibly deep and intriguing characters, both new and old. Enough humor throughout to help even out the intensity, and an amazing gun selection. The character relations are so deep and intense, this game defiantly pushes the Teen rating to a limit. Storyline is perfect and action is so evenly placed with puzzles and traversal that each chapter is a joy to play. Multiplayer is a plus.

Cons: Some environment things shine making them look like treasures.

Besides my one con, (which is really just a nit-picking thing) this game is perfection in an awesome case. So what are you waiting for, stop reading this review and go out and but it, even if you haven'y played the 1st one!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic!!!

posted by lithdragun (FORT STEWART, GA) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

77 out of 101 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

This is the first time that I have played Uncharted. It is an amazing game from the graphics to the game play. Really enjoy the openness to the worlds and the chance that you have to explore them. Will definitely be buying this game. Has an awesome replay value. The only one issue that I have with the game is the camera. At times it can be very difficult when you have something chasing you and you can't focus on something in front of Drake. But other than that there is nothing wrong with this game. OUTSTANDING!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MOST AMAZING game I have played!!!

posted by NTNSE37 (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 16, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

17 out of 23 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

This is the first time I have given a game a perfect 10, and I think it was a well deserved one! No wonder why uncharted 2 got game of the year, it was everything I look for in a game. The story line, weapons, enemies, and visuals were well thought out and brought out realistically! Drake was even more gutsy in this installment of Uncharted and the humor never fails in this franchise. Naughty Dog has something going with this name and I hope they can make it lasts with more stories.

The controls are very fluid and smooth, once you get the hang of them. The camera angles are almost always in the right spot and the voice overs kept me thoroughly involved. I really like games with mysterious story backgrounds and tales of mystic treasures. Especially when you can battle enemies with various weapons or use hand-to-hand combat. I didn't use much of the melee attacks in the first Uncharted, but I became skilled with silent attacks in this one! All in all a very great buy/play, I just pray they make more installments. Have fun playing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game of the Year material!

posted by FonFahbre (SALEM, OR) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

18 out of 25 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

After going through the first game when it was first released back in 07, I was astonished by the level of quality and game play Uncharted: Drakes Fortune delivered. It was by far the best adventure game I have ever played this generation and I was awaiting with anticipation for a sequel.

Uncharted 2 exceeded all of my expectations. The level of quality, game play, story, sound, everything was refined to perfection and bundled in this one game. After playing through Killzone 2 and Metal Gear Solid 4, I was with the assumption that the limits of the PS3 had finally been reached. I was wrong. This game just took it into a whole different dimension, a taste of what next generation of gaming will be like.

The game immediately takes you into a cinematic level where you must do everything in your power to survive; I swear I've never jumped out of my seat when I was engaged in a blood pumping experience, it was thrilling and enjoyable but also funny with Drake's priceless humor. The game sucks you deep into its world with a beautifully executed story line and character development but also intense action and game play that will keep your adrenaline pumping.

If Uncharted 2 gave me this much of a thrill going through, then I can't imagine what Uncharted 3 will bring us. Anyone who owns a Playstation 3 or is thinking of purchasing one should definitely buy this game!. I highly recommend it!.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nathan Drake's adventure continues...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Oct 16, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

Uncharted, is once again probably the best visual stunning games you will see on the Playstation3. Continuing into another adventure with a excellent storyboard as like the first, "Uncharted: Drake's Fortune".
For those who are new to the title, Uncharted2 is a traversing style gameplay(climbing around obstacles), with a Metal Gear Solid online multiplayer experience, and this game is what Resident evil5 should have been with the control elements of the character.

You play as Nathan Drake, a adventurer, a modern Indiana Jones, or better displayed as a Historical artifact thief going to places where he is usually trespassing. In this adventure, Drake is found by a old buddy, given a job that is to good to be true. Appearing as a easy job, Drake accepts it only to find himself mixed up into a adventure that risks his life once again.

Naughty Dog knows the Playstation 3's capabilities. Always creating lush foliage, vibrant in excellent depth, that makes you feel like your really exploring a remote isolated area. This time you explore marsh lands, urban districts, and other well detailed areas. They kept most of the controls the same, but now you can throw a grenade while aiming at the same time. The AI is still very hostile, but the soldiers you run into are more aware of their surroundings unlike the less tactical foes you encounter.

I wasn't too excited with the multiplayer; third person tactical games never really entertained me but being able to climb around is still really cool. All the multiplayer is team based Co-op as like the recent Socom game; which I also didn't like because Free For All/Deathmatch is what I have always favored in most online games. The online levels also are not very big, which makes the sniper rifle very pointless in the game, unless you have a team that is working together.

Other then that, the game is very well rounded. Great story, great graphics, great game elements. To eliminate the waxy textures, try adjusting the brightness.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Every PS3 Owner MUST Own Uncharted 2.

posted by EagleEyez (ROSWELL, NM) Oct 31, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

14 out of 20 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

If anyone reading this is looking toward buying one game right now, it has to be this one. The single player in itself is worth 60$, but the multiplayer just makes it one of the best games ever, if not THE best. The story mode is very well thought out and surprisingly never gets boring or repetitive, unlike most other games out there and should take around 10-12 hours to complete. It literally feels like you're submersed in a never-ending action/adventure movie as you play through the single player, with tons of surprises. The multiplayer will keep you busy until Uncharted 3 comes out, not even kidding. It offers 2 co-op modes (an objective-based mode and a gears of war-esque survival mode) along with a wide variety of competitive modes. One thing i really love about this game though is the environments..Everything is just visually breathtaking. It's seriously not even a rental, just buy it. There's no way you wont enjoy this game thoroughly.
I usually don't post reviews but I felt as though this game deserved it. I'll break it down the best I can:

GRAPHICS -- 10/10
This is easily one of the best looking games you'll see these days. It will blow your mind.

SOUND -- 10/10
The voice acting is the best i've ever heard. it's so believable and really immerses you in the storyline. The sounds of the guns and everything is top-notch too.

GAMEPLAY -- 9.5/10
The gameplay is amazing, however my only complaint is that it doesnt have split-screen so i can play with my friends..haha

REPLAY VALUE -- 9.0/10
Like i said above, you'll be spinning this thing in your PS3 for months if not years thanks to the amazing multiplayer it has to offer. The only reason i don't give this a 10 is because nothing in the world will keep you busy forever.

My PSN is xX-EagleEyez-Xx
Hit me up and we'll play any time.
Peace.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Diamond standard

posted by Whiskey (DIAMOND BAR, CA) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

14 out of 20 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

If only all games were this polished.

I won't duplicate what everyone has said, but you really have to sit down and play through this game from start to finish to truly appreciate what a memorable single player experience this is... little bits of gameplay here and there don't do it justice. The story progression, build-up and climax is artful. I've played a multitude of games over the past 20+ years, and only a few have been truly memorable. This is one of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nearing Perfection

posted by JustPlay (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

45 minutes into the single player story, I realized I had been sitting on the edge of my seat with a smile on my face from the first frame.

The story is completely engaging (more-so if you are familiar with the original) and the writing is superb. The timing of cut scenes and backstory are excellent, and never did I feel like a section dragged, or that I wished it would have been longer. Interspersed in these well acted (with very well animated facial expressions) scenes is some of the best action adventure gaming I have played. And the movable environments are hands down the best in any game on any platform. I felt like I was in a movie.

The gunplay feels natural, with the right amount of kick and accuracy in the weapons, and the choice of weapons is impressive, yet grounded in reality. The enemies are smart and properly aggressive. The level designs have multiple pathways to accommodate many different player styles, from hand-to-hand sneak attacks, to all out gun battles, to run and gun and hide. If I died, I would always try out a different approach and felt this was extremely refreshing and would add much to multiple replays.

The graphics are stunningly beautiful (chapter 16 was jaw dropping). You don't have a map or compass, but you never need one. Pathways behind you get blocked, or other characters will tell you where to go, but all done with a naturalness that has been missing in so many games of the Tomb Raider ilk. There is also a good hint system should you get stuck on a puzzle.

It is difficult to come up with cons to this game. Sometimes there are white lines between objects, which was noticeable in the first game but greatly improved here. Sometimes you are without the weapons you would like because the respawn removes some older dropped weapons, but no battle will leave you wanting. And if you like trophies, there is little difficulty in achieving them all (a con for me as I would have liked more of a challenge).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just wish it had some replay value.

posted by Covington (QUEENS VILLAGE, NY) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

As everyone has been saying...this game is more like a blockbuster film than it is a video game. Which in my opinion is both a gift and a curse. There is no doubt that there were plentny of scenes that will have you not only on the edge of your seat, but also gasping in disbelief and laughing so hard you actually wish Drake were a real character. Yet once the movie...i mean game is over, like a movie it doesnt leave you wanting to see or play again. All and all...an outstanding work of Art. A new bar has been set for the action game and if they make a movie out of this series I can gurantee one thing... it will suck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Astonishing!!!

posted by testi420 (MODESTO, CA) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is like nothing you have seen before. It has extreme scenarios, storyline is AMAZING, graphics are jaw-dropping, and the actual gameplay is better than many other "epic" games... Para mis amigos que leen en español, este es el mejor juego que pueden encontrar ahorita, disfrutenlo... Enjoy!!! DRAKE RULES!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome simply awesome

posted by J03budd3n (NEW YORK, NY) May 10, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Let me tell you, as one of the first games I've played on my PS3 it blew me away. Great story, game play and graphics, I didn't want to put it down. If you haven't rented this yet do so right now you won't be disappointed. This is the game Tomb Raider should have evolved into.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game of the Year!

posted by SLAYER24 (SAPULPA, OK) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I just finished this game last night and have to say that it was the best game I have played for a long time. I would have rated it just under a 10 because of the controls from time to time. There are times you can not make the character grab onto to something he is supposed to. It is not a big problem at all but about the only one I could find. The graphics are amazing and the storyline really keeps you playing. I would recommend this game to anyone! I am hopeful that they make a third in the series. It is a story that they could easily come up with more and more. This game is just below the God of War series and just above the Assassins Creed in my opinion. Now I just have to wait until March to see if the third God of War lives up the the past two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Epic!!!

posted by TrueGuile (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Nov 1, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It is finally here. Uncharted 2: Among Thieves!
You play as your favorite every-man Nathan Drake. You start the game in the middle of the story, bleeding. Blood at the first of the game? Yes sir! U2:AT follows the same premise of the first Uncharted. There is lost treasure out there, and you need to find it before the other treasure hunters do. This time you are searching out the lost fleet of the famed Marco Polo. Let me say the story does not let you down. There are the familiar faces from the first Uncharted as well as some new (and sexy) characters to love.
The mechanics of the actual combat have been improved as well as the graphics. Multiplayer has been added with co-op and competitive modes.
I give Uncharted 2: Among Thieves a 9 out of 10 only because I would like to see more than just 10 - 15 hours of gameplay from a game that could easily be the first PS3 game to use the blu-ray to run at least 30 hours of gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Would be a masterpiece but....

posted by punkydude (SWEET VALLEY, PA) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Oct 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

after completeing the game, playing again to take in more of the exquisit visuals and finding missed treasures. Its only fault will be that its to linear to keep replaying.
Other than that Naughty Dog has been a very good dog!!!!!!!
If I could I'd give it a 9.7. 3/10 deduction only for linear play.
Great humor, voice acting, facial expressions etc truly does make this feel as if you are playing as a real movie character. I hope that there is a 3 peat to this or Naughty Dog can provide the same development in another title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Move over Indy and Lara

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Oct 16, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

12 out of 20 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Indiana Jones can hang up his hat and whip. Lara Croft can retire to her mansion. Action adventure has a new treasure hunting king, and his name is Nathan Drake. "Uncharted: Drake's Fortune" was a masterpiece, with it's great story, incredible visuals, tight controls, and awesome voice acting. Now its sequel "Uncharted 2: Among Thieves" has arrived, and it is everything an excellent sequel should be. The story is bigger, the controls even tighter, and the visuals even more jaw dropping. And the stellar voice acting is back, bringing along a few new characters for Nate to deal with in his adventures. With all the coverage this game has gotten, there's really not much more to say. The game is awesome, and it's one to point to as a reason to get out and buy a PS3. It's that good. Absolutely incredible! I can't wait for the next installment!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Uncharted 2: Among Thieves

posted by denis1985 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Oct 14, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

16 out of 27 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

the game is fenomenal the level of cinematic detail is amazing Signs bend under Drake's weight, balconies dip when he vaults onto them, and the general level of destruction and dilapidation is clearly evident as Drake platforms around the city.
The core of the combat remains the same, which is cover-based gunplay that rewards patience and quick timing.Altogether, if you were a fan of the original game, there's a lot to be excited about here so definitely rent it i would be amazed if its not gona be game of the year.its that good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

near perfect

posted by Vyyk78 (NASHVILLE, TN) Feb 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Honestly, I am not sure what I would change with this game to make it a ten. Maybe a 2 person co-op option to play this game (without going online). Maybe a bit longer playthrough? In all honesty, this game was an absolute blast to play through. This is what games should be. Superb voice acting, a movie-feel to the story line, pacing, dialogue, writing, etc.

I have now ordered the first uncharted to get more details on Drake and the story of this world. I was truley blown away by this game, as it held not only my attention, but my wife kept asking about the storyline until I restarted it so she could watch me play it the whole way through, something she has never done.

All of the hype this game received was very well deserved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PERFECT

posted by tonymonges (PLAINSBORO, NJ) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game iz crazy and 4 all 3 of the people that alwayz read my reviewz U know I only say gamez R crazy when they R perfect. Peace

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

No reason not to buy this

posted by BThumb (SPRING HILL, FL) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Jun 2004

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is fantastic! Beautiful graphics, excellent sound, terrific gameplay and has plenty of legs with it's online offerings. This is the best reason to own a PS3! I'm usually a 360 gamer mostly because of Xbox Live. But Naughty Dog did it right, the matchmaking and online options along with re-hosting should make this a prime example of how to use the PSN properly. What are you waiting for? Go buy this NOW! Nuff said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ALMOST the Best Game I've Ever Played

posted by Homeness (PROVO, UT) Feb 17, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Beautiful graphics, an amazing soundtrack, an awesome game idea, and improvements on everything that annoyed me about the first installment (which I also loved by the way). This game would be the best game I have ever played if it didn't lack one thing: split-screen, local, good old fashioned multi-player. Even better if you could do split-screen online. But you can't. And this frustrates me to no end...Some of us still have REAL friendships with REAL people, and when we get together, we want to play together. GET IT STRAIGHT DEVELOPERS AND START MAKING MORE GOOD OLD FASHIONED SPLIT SCREEN GAMES.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Uncharted 2= Best game ever.

posted by EvanCD (BERTHOUD, CO) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Uncharted 2 beats modern warefare to the ground for me, and if someone thinks otherwise, stick thier head in a bucket of ice water in -70 degrees weather. I'm not a sony fanboy, but I prefer this over other game of the year award contenders. This game has AWESOME gameplay, and INCREDIBLE graphics. Yes, it deserves those capitilizations. And if your love is for replayability, you have a place here too. This game has about 100 treasures to collect, some of them right in your face, some of them hidden EXTREMELY well (hint: while your with Tenzin, running across the sinking platforms, look up and shoot to nab one. Have a good eye though, it's up high!). But there is also the hidden treasure to collect, too (hint: that's in a level with less than 8 treasures in it!). Plus, lastly you can replay the game on different difficulties to get other trophies (only thing, I was playing the game on crushing to get platinum, when the new patch was released! Will I get my 1st platinum now? Please respond!) I LOVE the multiplayer, and I play it much more than MAG's (check out my review on that, soon.). I hope this review helped people, and possibly comment if you will. Goodnight!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Short & Sweet Review

posted by slifox (ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Let's cut the long text: This game rocks.

Pros: Graphics are the BEST I've seen in any game period.
Story is addicting and interesting, gameplay is fluid & fun
Cons: There are no cons

Last Word: I decided to "keep" this game, amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best PS3 game so far

posted by flex317 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Oct 14, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

I have played the first 5 chapters. I'm currently on the Urban warfare stage. I cannot express how amazing this game is!! The is a must buy game!! If you like Indiana Jones movies or just really into treasure hunting and puzzles. This is the game for you!! I don't even care they added multiplayer, this game is just too good on it's own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse