Rent Ultimate Spider-Man for Xbox
view large frontback

Ultimate Spider-Man

Not Rentable
Also on:GC, PS2, GBA, DS
GF Rating
6.8

2280 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Its The Teenage Spider!

posted by WarDemon (OCALA, FL) Apr 19, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Ultimate Spider-man puts you in the feet of Peter Parker from the Ultimate Series Spider-Man books.

In the game you start of with some training to familiarize yourself with the combat buttons and your web shooting powers.

The Cinematics in this game make it feel as if you were reading a moving comic book, we all know how that feels. Heads turn mouths move, and people talk.

before you can actually complete the story in this game you have to do "City Goals" these are things such as races, Being a hero *where you go and save people* and doing "Combat Tours". So if you want to finish another story mode after the one you just finished.. your going to have to do some more Superhero work. or in Peters Case, Teenage Super Hero. Yes, He's' a kid.

This is a nice game you can free roam anywhere in a selected part of new york. where you can swing from buildings and into alleys where you might find a token. There are three three types of special tokens. Comic Cover Tokens, Landmark tokens, and Secret Tokens. All tokens go to help you unlock something in the Unlocks area.

In the Unlocks section of your start menu, you can select from, Characters, Costumes, Concept art, Comic Book Covers, Landmarks, and an X-men Video game Trailer.

Not only do you play as Peter Parker in this game.. but you play as Venom, who is a very Muscular Pitch Black monster that eats people and jumps from building to building.

When you play as venom very few things are alike to spider man. Because Venom cannot swing with spider webs, and he lacks the Spidey senses.

Well to Find out more about this game you have to rent it and play it.

Happy Webbing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game if you like Spider-man!

posted by Jedted (SOUTH AMBOY, NJ) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As an avid web-head i enjoyed this game a lot. Swinging around the city is fun and combat is very simple and very action oriented(no complicated combo attacks).

However as someone not familiar with the Ultimate Spider-man universe i had a hard time grasping the story. half of the villians i didn't recognize since they're nothing at all like they're Marvel Universe counterparts. Perhaps if i had been familiar with the Ultimate universe books i'd enjoy playing the game more however that's not to say Ultimate Spiderman is a bad game.

If your a comic book geek then you're sure to love this game and should buy either the Xbox or the PC version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ULTIMATE FUN!!!

posted by TulsaCub (TULSA, OK) Jun 23, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For anyone who has read "The Ultimate Spiderman" comics they'll get a real kick out of this game. I'm a huge fan of Spiderman and I'm excited that they give him a lot of things to do in this game. I really hope they make more of the "Ultimate" series. Playing as Venom is a huge bonus.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Venom rules!

posted by Arbiter (BREWSTER, MA) Aug 27, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

One of the only reasons I bought this game was because I wanted to play as best spiderman character Venom. One problem is he is too slow and you have to win the game to get the white spider on his costume. I thought the graphics were great but you also have to beat the game to switch between spiderman and venom freely. I suggest renting it because once you get the hang of chases its easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth some time

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Apr 20, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Ultimate Spider-Man is set in an open-ended New York City similar to that of Spider-Man 2, but some things have changed. The first thing you'll notice is that the graphics are cell-shaded, comic book style, which I think fits the source material better than in previous video game iterations. Second, you'll notice that the story is completely original and will keep your interest. But, sadly, the web mechanics work better and worse than those in Spider-Man 2 (some things work, others don't) and the game play will seem repetitive after a while (do good deeds, chase the villain, beat the villain, rinse, repeat). And the Venom levels aren't much different (do bad things, chase the hero, beat the hero, rinse, repeat). Unfortunately, once the story is over (6 hours or so), the only thing to do is compete in races, which, honestly, are frustratingly hard to medal in. Try getting a bronze in hard races and you'll see. And sadly, the rewards for doing these races are virtually non-existent. Still, for the story and the overall comic book presentation, this is a good pick for a boring weekend or a fan of the source material.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No Good

posted by SnwBrdr (EAGLE, ID) Oct 9, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I've played all the Spiderman games and this game was the one I was least impressed with, I didn't like the way it handles and I'm surprised that the game got a score higher than 5. I liked Spiderman 2 the best of all. And like I said I was not happy with this game one bit. When it came to playing this game the only thing that I liked were the movies in between the actually playing of the game. They made the game look so mucher better than it actually was. I don't know how they even felt good about realeasing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ultimate Spiderman succeeded in disappointing me!

posted by gonzo3333 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 15, 2006

Member since Aug 2003

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When Spiderman 2 came out, I actually enjoyed myself. Just swinging around all the time was really fun. Ultimate Spiderman did a job well done in doing the complete opposite.

The graphics are awesome. I think they are really good. While they are not a 3D-style graphics like Spiderman 2, they are still much nicer. This is without a doubt the best part of the game. They're drawn out in a comic-book style and even the story cinematics are shown as a comic book. It might say "thwap" when you hit an enemy, or that type of stuff.

The gameplay is pretty bad. Like, it's kind of fun, but kind of not. For one, they ruined the swinging from spiderman 2. It's horrible now, it doesn't even look good swinging in the air. Supposedly, you hold down the X button while swinging, and you're supposed to go faster, and if you hold the Y button instead, you go much much faster. When you're climbing a building, instead of jumping up, you jump back, away from the building. Some other stuff about the swinging too, but eh. They took out the upgrades/shop in this game so that's extremely stupid! The missions are always the same. Chase, fight, race, find token, combat tour, chase, fight, race, find token, combat tour, chase, fight, race, find token, combat tour, fight final boss. It took me 1 day to beat this. 5 hours!

The replay value is where my biggest complain is. A game that short, has to have SOME replay value. On Spiderman 2, at least the races were fun, then you have all those crimes to stop from people asking you to help, not to mention the side-quests. But they're actually fun and different, not just 3 different ones. Once you beat the game, you can free-roam with Spiderman or Venom. Not as good as it sounds, since there are no bonus missions or fun things to do while you free-roam and the swinging (or jumping for Venom) really sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very Fun

posted by Jared26 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This spiderman game is fun to play and cool that you get to play as venom. the only problem is that the costumes take forever to get. if you get your hands on it, you should check it out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game but graphics suck

posted by venom2 (LITTLETON, NH) Apr 8, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is a good game but the graphics suck a lot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Entertaining, Addictiive, Improvemnt on its predec

posted by Danius (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 6, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

was very, very disappointed by the previous Spiderman video game release. My disappointment stemmed from its failure to produce on its great potential. The free roaming, “GTA-like” environment, combined with the ability to swing from the skyscrapers and rain down Spidey-vengance on wrong doers was an awesome idea. Unfortunately, the game failed in the dismal, and extremely short story line. I don’t know about the rest of you, but harnessing Spiderman’s superhuman agility and the technique of fast and effective web swinging, was not something that came naturally to me, but was something that I looked forward to learning and mastering. By the time I was confident in my fighting and movement abilities, I completed the main story line. Left with nothing to do but swing aimlessly through the city and beating on random bad-guys, I quickly lost interested and cast the game aside.

Ultimate Spiderman succeeds in improving the lack-luster game play and story line of its predecessor. US introduces an innovative way of requiring the player to complete various tasks around the city independent of the main story line, and ways of making seemingly rudimentary tasks interesting. Completing and doing well in races, which were irrelevant and boring, are now essential to advancing the game as well as giving the player an opportunity to sharpen his/her movement abilities. The story line is improved from a mediocre carbon-copy of a Hollywood movie plot, to an original and very entertaining success. Aside from switching between the sides of good and evil through the concurrent story lines of Spiderman and Venom, the player is met by various other Marvel characters along the way, including an awesome fight at the start of the game between you (as venom) and Wolverine. Admittedly, at the time I am writing this, I have only put about 4 hours of game-time in so I can’t speak for the later story and interactions, but considering I completed Spiderman in about 5 hours, this speaks volumes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Been there...done that

posted by PDJordan (PEORIA, AZ) Apr 23, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you've played Spiderman 2 for Xbox then don't bother with this game. It's the same game right down to...well..everything. Same combos, mostly the same moves, same objectives. The thing that makes me rate this game a 6 is because playing as Venom is just plain awesome. Throwing cars, whipping bad guys with tentacles and feeding on bystanders is great. I thing they should have just made a Venom video game...it would have been much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

waste of time

posted by dumplong (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

this game bit! it had cheesy in game graphics and the story was long and drawn out. i got bored doing the stupid side games just to try to advance the story. i love spider-man but hated this game. two thumbs down!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Where am I?

posted by riopato (New York, NY) Sep 28, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Game play ruined this for me. The camera and controls on this version makes this game unplayable. The controls weren't solid. I felt I had no trust in the controls most of the time and it felt a little too button mashy. It's possible it is due to the fact that I am playing it on my 360, but the controls didn't have the fluidity that the movie versions had and I didn't have the same issue with those versions. Most of the time the camera was just looking the wrong way which added too much of a challenge in chase scenes. Not to mention the race missions where impossible! The directional arrows where just useless when you can't tell what and which way it's pointing.Who made this version? and why did they change what worked in the movie versions?
I gave the game a 2 since I loved the graphical style of the game which reminded me of the decent Mtv version of Spiderman and it was the only reason I kept playing it. Too bad the creators didn't focus on game play the way they worked on the comic book style. I had high hopes for this incarnation but was such a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Repeat.

posted by midget (HAYDEN, ID) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

I didn't like this game a whole lot. The game play seem to be the same thing over and over and over.

After a couple of levels you start to feel as if you're doing the same attacks & chases over and over just with different enemies and characters.

The graphics were good and the controls/game play isn't bad... but I think they could of done more for a virility of things to do while attacking/chasing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pros and Cons of Ultimate Spiderman

posted by polterkat (PACIFICA, CA) Aug 16, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

Okay, when i first got this game, i had high hopes. I read the Ultimate Spiderman series to some extent, and i was happy to see a game based on it.
BUT...
It took me all of one day to beat it, so i was a little sad with that, But the thing that made me upset the most was the fact that it wasn't as fulfilling. I loved the 2nd game because of how much freedom the game gave you. The map was a near-picture-perfect representation of the big apple, while this game wasn't. there wasn't even so much as an Empire State Building. The 2nd game was a large leap up from the 1st game, and i don't think that this game followed. I would have been very happy, if they took the 2nd game, added some stuff, and swapped out the story-line. But this game actually seems to backtrack: Swinging is simplified to the "easy swing" function of the 2nd game, and there are no cool maneuvers.
Combos are significantly simplified as well, making it "X to punch & Y to kick" without much room in between.
Over all, things you could SEE in the 2nd game that differ, is the fact that it required skill. In the 2nd game, you had to have serious skill to travel around NY with style, while this one you just have to have a right pointer-finger.
no freedom and style!

That being said, without the comparison to the 2nd game, this is definitely a cool game. I did in fact like it after i got past the differences, and i would recommend it to someone interested in the genre. The movement is extremely fluent, and the new comic-book-style graphics are pretty awesome.

In my mind, i think that they did some things right, but left some of the right things out for this game. If they combined the graphics and fluency of this game, with the controls and freedom of the 2nd Spiderman game, then i think we have a great game.

I do recommend this to not be overlooked, it is worth a try, and hey, its Gamefly - if you don't like it, just send it back, and in 3 to 5 buisness days, you get another one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Spidey is back, not with avengance, but lame, lame

posted by Pugmug177 (ROCKAWAY PARK, NY) Aug 9, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

Wow, the original Spiderman for PS1 was super cool, had alot of levels and bosses, and cheats. However, the second Spiderman for PS1 was extremely disappointing. I never thought a sequel would be so bad. The movie came out, I watched both, the first Spiderman Movie game came out, never played it. The second Spiderman Movie Game came out. No too many levels, but whoa!! I was amazed. Now, Ultimate Spiderman came out, at first, I was like. "Cool, Venom!" But then, they focused so much on story, and not on game play, I was like. "Oh great, some more Soap Operas" about Eddie Brock. It really disappointed me, the originals were better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Look Up In The Sky It's The Amazing Geekboy

posted by truth2 (HORN LAKE, MS) Aug 4, 2006

Member since May 2006

Yea that's right I said boy. Okay Teengeek but that didn't sound as cool. This game disrepects spidy more than the bugle granted there are some good things but the bad just crushes the good here's the good first. THE GOOD, Okay playing as venom is fun I mean really fun what could be beater than sucking up that anoing kid from Spiderman 2,,and there are some really funny lines from spidey But that's pretty much it. THE BAD, they just used to mush stuff from spiderman 2 and made them less fun, like going around and earning points and how they made it woss. Know you have to just wander around until you find somebody in trouble. O and you know how I siad the only fun thing was playing as venom well you don't get to play with him much becues your playing with that loser spider man all the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Good movie, but bad game

posted by Cellalien (CORVALLIS, OR) Jul 26, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

This game is horrible. The graphics really suck! The game play is bad because all you do is web sling, punch, and that's it. Playing as Venom is pretty cool, but it gets old. The gang members that you fight are REALLY dumb - I was standing right next to them and they didn't do anything! So, all I did was punch one of them and he did nothing. Also, I don't know why the makers decided to put comic book graphics for it. If you want a real game get Splinter Cell Chaos Theory. And remember, stay away from any game based on a superhero!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

One of the better cell shaded games

posted by m0thman (HOLIDAY, FL) Jul 22, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

I didn't have any real big expectations with this game, it is what it is. But as I played it, it turned out to be quite a fun game, at times. I definitely like the openness of New York as you can travel from Queens to Manhattan on your web. I like the way that the game progresses by getting achievements by completing city goals to go to the next chapter. If I have complaints it is the fact that the average enemy that you fight to complete city goals are too easy to defeat and the bosses become progressively more difficult to the point of frustration. What do I do to defeat this guy!? All in all, a good game to rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Decent Super Hero Game!

posted by guyperson (HERCULES, CA) Jul 18, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

Finally a super hero game that doesn't suck! In this installment spider-man returns in comic book style. This time instead of playing the goody 2 shoes spider-man you can be venom and rampage through town killing people, well even when your spider-man you can harass people. This game in the spider-man series you play as spider-man and venom and fight bosses save people and pretend to save people then leave them for death. This is one fun game and you have the freedom to do anything from saving people from falling off a bridge or knock someone off of one. Most people would find this game entertaining and fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This is pretty much what happened

posted by kburke88 (CENTERBURG, OH) Jul 12, 2006

Member since May 2006

I got the game, web-slinged and got bored and sent it back

ps. omg mass effect

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

the ultimate spiderman

posted by lewdog333 (LEESVILLE, LA) Jul 6, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

I didn't like the comic book view they made on the game. even though it had similar play as spiderman 2 which was a better game by far. it just didn't compare to the previous game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Graphics

posted by dmoney (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) May 27, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

this game was pretty good you can pretty much make spidey do whatever you want...excellent control. I do have to be honest i liked the first one better. lots of repetition in this one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »