Rent Ultimate Shooting Collection for Wii
view large frontback

Ultimate Shooting Collection

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.0

181 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wicked awesome games for a specific audience

posted by PanicBlitz (SEATTLE, WA) May 21, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This disc is a collection of three very similar, very specifically-genred games, namely Japanese Bullet-Curtain Shoot-'em-ups. These games most certainly aren't for everyone...they're vertical overhead scrolling shooters, a genre that has pretty much gone to the wayside, based on now-ancient gems such as Xevious, 1942/3/X and the Raiden series. They're also similar to probably the most popular such game in modern times, Ikaruga. These are highly stylized in a late 90's/early 00's Japanese information-overload type of graphics (which is why 2 of the games aren't full-screen...they were intended for special arcade machines with extra-long screens.)

The entire goal is to bombard your senses while forcing you to concentrate on what's important, i.e. the thousands upon thousands of projectiles flying your way with intent to destroy you. This is, for many gamers, insanely frustrating and easy to be turned off to after five minutes of playing. But if you give it a chance and get the hang of it, it's incredibly fun and satisfying. Also, if you're a fan of good soundtracks, the highly Drum 'n' Bass influenced music in these games is amazing.

So, if you've ever been interested in classic-style shooters before, and have some patience, give these games a try and you might find they're something worth sticking with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not So Ultimate

posted by JimmyDean (ALBERT LEA, MN) Nov 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Despite reading many unfavorable reviews, I decided to give this game a shot. Mainly, most poor reviews were outrage over the menu, which isn't fancy, their inability to figure out how to switch between games and that these are straight ports.

I really couldn't care less about a lackluster menu that I look at for all of five seconds. I simply didn't care and if you do care greatly about fancy menus, you probably shouldn't rent this. However, you probably shouldn't rent this game anyway. The collection consists of three shooters which, to me, 2 of the 3 were simply dull and uninspired.

All three games are made by the same company and they basically all play the same. You have an option to use a sword that swipes bullets out of harm's way or a gun to push back the would-be invaders. The thing is, in Karous and Radio Allergy, your sword might as well be a toothpick... there's hardly anything there to make any sort of impact whatsoever. Both titles are relatively the same and both are relatively dull, mindless shooters with no real tactical prowess needed. Lots of enemies come at you and you shoot. Done and done.

Chaos Field is really the only title that stood out as being worth playing. Your sword is a decently sized weapon that helps greatly in reducing clusters of impending doom and is actually a tactical advantage in a lot of situations. You have the choice between three different characters with varying weapons and maneuverability to accommodate your playstyle, which was also a nice feature. Finally, I enjoyed that instead of hordes of incoming ships, you basically are pitted against massive bosses nonstop... which I found to be engaging, intense game play.

Chaos Field is actually quite a bit of fun, but unfortunately doesn't bring enough life, fun or excitement to procure a recommendation for the set. I really wish they had included two shooters that weren't simply lifeless predecessors to Chaos Field. Variety is a good thing when you're going for "Ultimate".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Okay Game

posted by Nortexwind (WICHITA FALLS, TX) Feb 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 17 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

My 10 year old who is an avid gamer, computer, PS2, PS3, WII, etc, gave me feedback while we were placing this back in the mailbox to return the game to GAMEFLY. Qoute, his words not mine. The game is lame for a 10 year old who is a gamer. Might be good for a 6-8 year older who enjoys Galaga, but for him, he would rather play his sisters SIMS games before depressing the A button for this game. He said, no, when I offered to buy it...so that pretty sums it up from this gamer. Please note, Dad never got a chance to play it and I am sure it would have been fine for Dad and his mental capacity....lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Bother

posted by redsox (DANIELSON, CT) Feb 15, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

This game isn't even full screen! The graphics are absolutely terrible and is very boring to play. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring!!!!!!

posted by bere0814 (YERINGTON, NV) May 26, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This games is so boring. The worst game I have ever rented in Gamfly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring game

posted by jjbfine32 (TRANSFER, PA) Aug 14, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Very boring. I understand some might feel games like these are classic but not me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not even really for the shmup enthusiast.

posted by megumegu (Lakewood, WA) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2003

This title is basically a port of 3 old shmups (shoot 'em ups). One of them is already on the Gamecube (Chaos Field), and the other 2 (Karous and Radigy) pretty much play the same. The quality of the 2 latter games is not much better than a flash game in a browser. Though you can get better freeware shmups online, easily. In fact, if you even know what a shmup is and care enough to give a pause to think about this game, you probably already own Chaos Field on the Gamecube, as well as many other better shmups for other systems. You might even have Castle Shikigami 3 on the Wii. This release was less than phoned in. It doesn't even hit the target demographic that might be interested it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

1980's graphics

posted by EvilD68 (BUFFALO, NY) Feb 20, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Wow, what an aweful game, horrible graphics, horrible sound, horrible game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE

posted by Belly1 (BETTENDORF, IA) Feb 19, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This is by far the worst game i have ever played. It was not worth the 3 days I waited for it to arrive!!! If you are thinking about checking this game out DON'T!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a Joke

posted by camping (MILPITAS, CA) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game is a Joke, I wouldn't take it for free.. Don't waste the time to get it mailed to you, looks like it took the programmer 1 hr to make this game, enough said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by Starcrush (JUPITER, FL) Feb 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

Not even a hardcore fan of arcade shooters will find anything great about these three games. The game is so horrible, in my opinion, that I actually sat down and took the time to write this review.

At first this game sounded neat yes? A shooter, 3 of them in one. But no, this is very deceiving.

You get 3 shooter games, but the catch is they are almost exactly the same. You will find yourself dodging lots of little dots of light, most of which you have a difficult time discerning good dots from bad dots, so finding a powerup is a game of chance.

If you do not have a epileptic seizure by the end of level 1 you may be lucky enough to get into level 2, if you have enough lives left by then. Chances are you will be destroyed and then have to start ALL over again in this techno nightmare.

All in all, in my opinion, this game is absolutely HORRIBLE. I returned it to my mail box within the first 1 hour. I then started playing Gradius III on my virtual consule.

Yeah, the Shooter Collection in my opinion is a disgrace to all scrolling shooters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Stay away from this "Collection"

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Feb 3, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

Ultimate Shooting Collection has three - count them - three old school top down shooters. (That's one more than two!)
If you like Raiden and other types of this genre, then you'll love the bland visuals and the almost impossible to dodge enemy fire.
Wait. Those are things you aren't supposed to love about a game. My bad.
The levels of this game aren't very engaging and I got bored after playing six or seven of them.
The boredom turned to frustration when the game makers limited the number of credits I have to play with to three(3). So, I have to play out the first few levels dozens of times over.
If I bought the game, then I should be able to set the credits to what I want it to be - even infinite credits.
Adding to the misery is the fact there's nothing different about these three games. They play out the same way, have the same power ups and shields, and the aforementioned enemy fire that's really hard to dodge.
Ultimate Shooter Collection also lacks artwork or sounds to unlock or challenges to undertake here. There's just three very basic, ugly shooters.
Ultimate Shooter Collection should just stay in the past, and the Wii has to stop going digging up old games and instead make fresh, innovative new games. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »