Rent Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS Vita, Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.3

780 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ultimate Marvel-ous vs. Capcom 3

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Dec 22, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome.

I'm always one to hate on fighting games, especially Capcom's because they always charge a ton of money for DLC that's already included in the game and they always release an "ultimate edition" with all the DLC later anway... and then make more DLC, etc.

But, something about this game is just fun and addicting. I really enjoyed it the first time around and was really only looking forward to this to obviously play as the new characters in such, but, I find myself going after the same trophies and collecting the same extras I did the first time. It's just so much fun.

I really think it has to do with the graphics being so gorgeous, and the gameplay being so smooth and responsive.

The best part about this game is getting it through gamefly. When I got the first MC3, I remember almost Platinuming it the first day because I couldn't stop playing, thinking about people on my friends list who spent 80$ on the Collector's Edition and how sad that ones, especially since I knew Ultimate would eventually be here.
Well here it is, and once again I get to play this awesome game with all the bells and whistles without having to spend the cash. So awesome.

This is obviously the best edition of the game so, it's awesome, highly recommended.

Bad side, Jill Valentine and Shemagorath are still DLC =/

Heroes vs. Heralds is awesome!!!! (wish there were trophies for that)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Awesome Game...IF

posted by agooddaytodie (QUINCY, MA) Nov 28, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

you can spend every waking moment learning the ridiculous amount of moves and rules to the crushing level fighting games have gotten to. Don't get me wrong...once you get it down it works, it's awesome and alot of fun, but I do sometimes long for the days when you could pick up a fighting game on the normal setting and you might get up to the 2nd to last boss if you are competent at gaming...not get your a## handed to you 5 fights in on the normal setting. Other than that, beautiful characters and I could see playing for hours if I could bother taking the time with the movesets. I am not going to ever be bothered with learning the amount of frames a move takes cause quite frankly...I have other games to demolish and other things to do with my life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

UMVC3

posted by Persona_ (WATERBURY, CT) Jan 19, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

i thoiught the game was better then its predesesters. the graphics were better, the sound was the same, the addition of characters were cool but what i would honestly like to see is the developers to create a MVC4 where they put all of the cool characters into the game. characters like "Phoenix Wright" have no business in a fighting game such as this. their are so many more cap com characters out there i cant understand why not use them??

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) Apr 18, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Pros: Good graphics, 12 interesting new locations, awesome super combos, get to play as Galactus
Cons: Basically the same gameplay as MvC3 except for an utterly bewildering "Heroes vs Heralds" mode involving card collecting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

another great marvel vs. capcom

posted by durango95 (DECATUR, AL) Jun 30, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

if you have played the others and liked them you will like this one too. its allways fun beating out your friends ..lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nice graphics competetive and fun

posted by gfuser100 (BRONX, NY) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

this game depends on how strategic you are or how adept you are at combos and setups. then you will enjoy it. many characters and playstyles to choose from. from power to speed. even cheesy. its a game that can give you hours and hours of fun.

it can be frustrating in the beginning with so many players knowing combos. however once you know combos to create your own strategies, it becomes more fun. look online for video tutorials.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It Was A 7, But Then I Found Galactus Mode

posted by ilawson94 (EAST BETHANY, NY) Dec 7, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I have been playing a bunch of fighting games lately and while several I might deem as ultimately better than this game. This one goes on my favorites for to reasons. The first is that it is an absolute delight visually. The environments are fun, the characters are fun, the design being so it looks like a living comic book is an overwhelming success. The roster of fighters is solid (even though I had no idea who most of the Capcom characters were), but I did wish they had a few more major faces of the Marvel Universe.
All said though the number of characters and the fact that you could have 3 at a time is a really fun concept. Just today however, I unlocked and played Galactus Mode which is essentially the God Mode of the game. Make no mistake, you can lose in this mode, but it is extremely difficult to do so. Added an amusing new dimension of play to an otherwise solid game.
Overall, I recommend this game for the pure non-sensical and manic nature of it all, but I might recommend other fighter games if you want a game that requires a bit more skill and challenge to suceed at.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Service:)

posted by stefanie213 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 30, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Quick And Ready Is What I Like Game Got Here Quick,Was Suprise When The Game Got Here Thanks GameFly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent game

posted by htmn2054 (RED HILL, PA) Oct 30, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

This game was fun to play, but I feel that I would need a lot more time to master the button combos. You can button-mash for a few levels but then you hit a wall and the computer destroys you. Also, I had no idea what to do with the decks of cards, so that probably hurt me as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game!

posted by burstshot23 (PERRY, MI) Oct 2, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

First off, for the record, I am not big on fighting games. But there are a few exceptions. This game is one of them. I had a blast playing it, especially as my favorite character Zero from the MMX series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great sequel

posted by Jetknight (CLEVELAND, OH) Oct 1, 2012

Member since Nov 2008

I was one of the fans waiting desperate for the sequel to Marvel vs Capcom 2 which i own on Dreamcast and ps3/psn. I have to say that im impressed with this new installment and it was worth the wait. The graphics are very modern and yet somewhat dark. The gameplay its great even though it lacks on the special extra features the dreamcast marvel vs capcom 2 had. Now the sound and the characters voices are a little hard to swallow since i was used to the canadian 90s voice cast but listening to power rangers timeforce actor Daniel Southwort as Vergil make me feel like im playing as the Quanton Ranger instead of vergil. Also the return of the two announcers from Marvel vs capcom 1 and 2 sounds really cool. Its a fun sequeal and i recommend it to all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun but beat it fast

posted by Renny83 (WHEAT RIDGE, CO) Sep 21, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

so Im not sure if it is because I am good at fighters or what but I beat this game with every fighter (wolveriene being my fave) in one and a half days reason it took so long is because i have a job i work nights it was fun and I enjoyed it ...how ever I will always like mortal kombat better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom

posted by Aaron512 (KILAUEA, HI) Jul 31, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

This was a really fun game but beating Galactus on the easy stage was impossible...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I SUCK

posted by mwgstyle (CHILLICOTHE, MO) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

when it comes to fighting games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

On my top 3 fighting games:second best

posted by lucareview (BUFFALO, NY) May 28, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

concept:play a third game of a long-running series with more fun than ever.
graphics:charicter models are bad, but the environments are colorful.
sound: Deadpool has the funniest lines ever and I liked the sound of the shouts.
play-ability:Though there are not tutorials, the controls are still easy to learn in about 5 minutes.
entertainment: If you like fighting games and teaming up with other characters, you might like this as much as mortal kombat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

FUN AND BETTER VERSION

posted by mrjones1982 (WEST HARTFORD, CT) Apr 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

MUCH BETTER VERSION OF THIS GAME GAMEPLAY IS FASTER AND SMOOTHER. NEW CHARACTER FIT RIGHT INTO THE GAMEPLAY. I HATE TO SOUND GREED BUT I WISH THERE WERE MORE ADDITION OF CHARACTER LIKE MARVEL VS CAPCOM 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »