Rent Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PS Vita
GF Rating
7.2

1166 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the most hype fighting games of all times

posted by JSRG (MERRITT ISLAND, FL) Oct 14, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me say after a full year of having this game, I can say this has some of the best fighting I have ever played. I am big into the FGC and this is my favorite game to play/watch. The action is always fast paced, I describe this game as trying to control chaos. This game has so few buttons, yet the amount of complexity in this game is amazing. Look do yourself a favor and but this game. If you want to get into fighting games, the FGC, whatever, this is your game to play =) I approve.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best marvel vs capcom game

posted by geo22 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ive been playing this game ever since it came out. This game was so fun when u lose you just want to play over and over again.!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bringing back the old days,only in 3D!

posted by Xentry (HYATTSVILLE, MD) Jul 27, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Alright i don't recommend this if you're just gonna jump right into online because you'll find you're self buying a new controller (A.K.A Throwing you're controller half way across the room Out of Anger) I certainly did anyways this game is just astounding and perfect,the thing that bothers me is when playing online i always find myself playing against players who are always rookies and they end up beating me,one time my Xbox cord got pulled out by accident and i got a Match penalty for quitting prematurely that's really not fair if you have a cat that like to play near you're cords Regardless of what they are and what they Do -_-
(Annoyed face #1)
But ive seen worse games (Thats right im looking at you Dragon ball Z Ultimate tenkaichi) And i ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS find people playing as either Wesker,Dante,Phoenix,Phoenix Wright,Virgil i mainly see THOSE stream of characters its REALLY annoying to see..THAT ENDLESS CYCLE OF THOSE SAME CHARACTERS over and over -_-
(Annoyed face #2)
But the redeeming quality is that Heroes and Heralds mode features a alternate costume that can ONLY be available While playing as a Herald Ill be honest with you Im a Galactus fan including a silver Surfer fan mainly because the silver is just awesome and ive also seen Silver Surfers comics there pretty Rad, But this is a review about UMVC3 not about fanboyism anyways the first time i played it was INCREDIBLE i honestly played that until i got tired of it (The day i got tired of it was a week after i got it i played nothing but that when i got it) So over all
Pros:
VERY addictive
Newly added Characters
Updated characters
Amazing Gameplay
Cons:
Most likely to see people use Unique Characters
EXTREMELY angering if you're just gonna just right into it without training
The only HUGE complaint is... Wheres Ken from street fight-
(Capcom has censored the rest of this message)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this is ccccccccccccccccoooooooooooooooooollllllll

posted by fonzlli5000 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

i love this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

umvc3

posted by gamerbee (BEDFORD, OH) Nov 22, 2011

Member since May 2011

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i think this is much better than its predecessor. wesker is still top tier =( and nemisis has the health of like 2 hulks combined=( other than that i love the game and there is finally spectator mode whats not to love

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

UMvC3 Review

posted by falcanwave (LOVELAND, CO) Jan 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Eight months later and the fighting game community finds them selves with a new version of Mvc3. So why should you care about this game. With new balancing 12 new characters that include both fan favorites like strider and Nemesis and characters that are new, innovative, and overall still awesome like Rocket Raccoon Nova and Firebrand. Overall with new tweaks to the game like air x-factor and TAC and THC/DHC glitch being removed this makes for a very good game. Game play is still solid and fun, online can be laggy at times though but you are now able to find matches a lot easier. The lack of content though is slightly fixed with the free dlc mode Heroes and heralds but there should still be a replay channel. Overall if you like UMvC3 there is a lot here that you will like if you are expecting a complete change in gameplay though do not expect it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very short of anything ultimate

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Dec 2, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

12 out of 26 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

I guess the first word that comes to my mind is confusion. In order to make more money, Capcom has simply added a few new characters and the word 'ultimate' to MVC3 and repackaged it all over again. I can't recall when a dev has done that in the past... This is the EXACT SAME game as MVC3, but with a FEW?? new characters to play with. They may have tweaked the moves and claimed to adjust the balance, but when it comes to online play it doesn’t make any difference. I would've liked to see Capcom offer this as DLC; it makes no sense to do this other than to improve their bottom line.

All new guys except Hawkeye were simply hot garbage in my opinion. Guys like Nemesis, Firebrand, Rocket Raccoon, and Phoenix Wright were a joke. Their abilities are useless and don’t stand a chance against the cheapest online fighters in the world. I feel bad for people who bought MVC3, not realizing the game would be ‘out of date’ months later.

The difficulty in arcade mode against the CPU is now diabolically impossible on high difficulty, and the 3 second character endings are all the same, and online fighting is too cheap to even explain, but I'll try anyways!

My biggest problem is the lack of balance in the commands of certain characters. If you try to jump into online play, you’ll likely throw the controller against the wall in less than 3 fights. There are only 2 types of players online: Those who have simply mastered the arcade fighting genre and will brutally massacre you in no time at all with unblockable combos and cheap tricks OR those who sit in the corner and do nothing but button mash ranged attacks over and over and over. They will keep jumping in the corner and do nothing but the same shooting move over and over again. It’s no fun at all. Even if that’s me doing the button mashing I wouldn’t possibly have any fun.

Basically think of this as DLC for Marvel vs Capcom 3 and nothing more, nothing more at all whatsoever. Capcom did nobody a favor h

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by theycallmeIRISH (WICHITA, KS) Sep 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The control scheme is way too complicated for the average gamer to just pick up and play. Characters are too limited. And there is no mode to teach you how to play the game, it leaves you to just fend for yourself. Definitely disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cool

posted by Ccase4 (FLEMING ISLAND, FL) Nov 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

9 out of 20 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

i love marvel vs capcom 3 so if u like fighting games marvel games or/and capcom get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Good Rental At Best

posted by Animekid1 (MIDDLETOWN, NY) Aug 31, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've played many fighters over the years and while this is a decent addition to the Capcom franchise of fighters, I'm afraid that other than the game's overall presentation it's not up to the standards of say a Tekken 5 or 6 or any of the Mortal Combat editions. A good rental, but not a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

UMvC3

posted by jayciff (CORVALLIS, MT) Aug 26, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After already playing a bit of MvC3 i realized that this is simply a clone with a few more characters put in, If I had never played MvC3 before playing this I would have enjoyed it more but this game is severly limited from a smaller roster than MvC2 and the fact that it has a very limited ammount of game modes, All in all its a 6/10 if you haven't played MvC3 and about a 3 if you have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wrong game

posted by wingzero7X (TEMECULA, CA) May 21, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

They sent me the normal one, not the ultimate version as advertised...I am not pleased

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

My god what a dissapointment.

posted by Mr_KnowItAll (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Dec 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

This game has it's positive changes, but then again the creator are once again trying to anger players off. most features shouldv'e been kept the same such as roster design, ending of a battle design, and if your going to change some character story ending you might as well change them all. for example "Ryu's" ending is nothing similar to the original MVC 3. Game play, I can beat MVC3 in the hardest difficulty without losing a match easily. Now for this game, it's like going from very hard to straight-up no vulnerability, ridiculous CPU. CPU know every button your going to press and right away will beat you senseless, which is something no player in this world can do. CAPCOM you where givin a second chance to make something better then the latest Mortal Kombat game and you FAILED HORRIBLY. I didn't think (for me) it be possible to actually want to keep playing the original MVC3 after a sequal release but that's whats happening. Tatsunoko VS CAPCOM is still better then this game, and maybe MVC2 does too, even though every music in MVC2 are very wrong((I really wish I can really explain the Music to MVC2 Using profinity). Thank god I didn't Ultimate MVC3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

better than many, but still not that good

posted by ajrgamefly (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 11, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

While i don't usually enjoy these games, this one was very... ok, and it did get my attention for a bit, but it still felt dull, i didn't feel that want to keep playing that so many other games make me want, but its still better than most other games like this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest Fighting Game Ever!

posted by BrOd0k (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 5, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This is my favorite fighting game of all time. Well balanced and plenty of variety with 50 characters. Much better than MVC3 and the animations are very fluid and well-crafted. Music is excellent also.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Unlimate Capcom VS Marvel 3

posted by KiDTheGAmer (LEWISTON WOODVILLE, NC) Feb 1, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I Dont Got It Yet But It SHipped Now On 2/1/13 Right After I Rented Yesterday On 1/31/13 What Fast Shipping Gamefly Has I Cant Wait To get Home and Play It Luve You Game Fly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Transformers:foc

posted by Mech011 (HELENA, MT) Jan 27, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

it is liked well with cookies

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont work

posted by nightmare502 (MULDRAUGH, KY) Jan 18, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

i been tryin to play this game and notin

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

How?

posted by desolate23 (LAWTON, OK) Dec 18, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Capcom plays its audiences and fight fans for a loop where Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 just doesn't live up to it. 60$ isn't worth it, 40$ isn't worth it, maybe 30$ but definetly 20$. It's not really what I expected with the Marvel lisence to approve this game. There's really no storyline because it too easy and predictibla, game lobbies are really difficult to get into, and even if you do the game will lag you out most of the time. And the DLC's are nothing to brag about either. And to get all new charecters you have to buy a seperate game again worth 60$, not really worth the effor in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad multiplayer

posted by hiatsu2k8 (KEY WEST, FL) Oct 20, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

The offline modes are cool, but the multiplayer mechanics are bad. It's too easy to get once into an air combo and then be dead by the time you hit the ground. Don't rent unless you have no life and can spend 12 hours a day to practice to be cheap in multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great !!! with friends

posted by Mastersnake (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

The game is great as long as you play with friends because all people will do online is put you in a never ending combo and all you can do is sit there and take it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

X-factor runs the game

posted by CaliberChamp (COOPER CITY, FL) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3 is a traditional fighting game with a lot of broken mechanics added into it. X factor especially.The game also has alot of unneccesary motions, like for example, why do reverse fireball motion to fly when you can just do back + S for a more reactional fly. The fun part of the game is the fast paced action and the over the top combos that can usually KO your character off of one hit, then add X-factor into the mix, and a comeback can be highly possible. Still, lots of people in the Fighting game community support this game and because of that alone it may be worth getting. But dont think this game will get continual updates like other fighting games. Capcom can't really do continual updates because its a licensed game from both Capcom and Marvel. It's a pretty good fighting game all in all but does have its share of disapointments. 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

MVC 3

posted by RPG1991 (BALLWIN, MO) Jul 1, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Good game i Liked it. Could've used alot more features though.

Ill wait till the price drops a bit be4 i buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This Game Hates Noobs

posted by Thestral (BELLEVILLE, NJ) Jun 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I've always been a player that could intuitively button mash my way through most fighting games with little time devoted to memorizing moves. Not so with this game. The moves and combos are fairly complicated and not button masher friendly at all. Top that off with the online play which invariably pits you against and opponent who spams seemingly infinite, unstoppable combos and its just a frustrating experience.

This is a great game for parties or groups of button mashing folks to play but the online play seems to be strictly pros only meaning this game isn't a buy for me but was an entertaining enough rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

needs more characters

posted by fry_bread_eater (HINCKLEY, MN) Jun 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I had fun playing this game, but it did not keep me entertained long. I enjoy a good button-masher as well as learning combos and special moves. The backgrounds were cool, but I feel it just needs more. With the comic book movies blowing up, I think the games should be just as great. All in all, I would re-rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse