Rent Ultimate Duck Hunting for Wii
view large frontback

Ultimate Duck Hunting

Not Rentable
GF Rating
2.6

797 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Duck While You Can!

posted by Mulley007 (MEDFORD, NY) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

23 out of 25 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Ultimate Duck Hunting. The day has finally come when Nintendo releases the all-new long awaited Duck Hunt. Well, I'd rather play the original NES version with the original Zapper. It is more fast-paced and fun. What is the deal with training the dog? Nobody cares! First of all, what a pain in the rear to do that....the controls seem very faulty, and the gun the game is sloppy, weak and lame. This game is terrible! I had to send it back right away before my friends made fun of me. Please, don't even try this...duck while you can!
Game-off!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Once upon a time...

posted by Bklyn11236 (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 16, 2007

Member since May 2007

21 out of 24 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Once upon a time, I was young and innocent. The world of gaming seemed fun and outrageously fantastic. And then this thing came in the mail.

My friends, I urge you with all the conviction of my gaming soul. Seek refuge in the unknown and do not...do NOT... get this game. My heart is broken and I weep for duck hunt. NES was awesome and the Wii version has made me weep with tears of sorrow and regret. Why the heck did I add this ti my Q. It is too late for me. But not you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ultimate Waste of Time

posted by NoCookie4u (BRISTOW, VA) Dec 8, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I remember the good old days of playing duck hunt on my NES. Obviously, I made the mistake of thinking this 3rd party title would be a more realistic, one-up on that classic. They should have called this game "watch the ducks fly by, and yell futilely at a deaf dog."
Perhaps they should have rethought the idea of making the command dog button the same as the shoot button. honestly you're better off shooting at real ducks or enjoying playing link's crossbow training and Wii Play.

graphics: Original playstation at best.
sound: Average.
controls: Worst I've seen on a Wii title yet.
gameplay: sit still, watch ducks fly by, yell at deaf dog. watch grass grow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ultimate Duck Hunting

posted by schoon987 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Dec 20, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I am a serious duck Hunter and this is downright awful DO NOT waste your time or money

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ultimate Duck Hunting (Wii)

posted by betz1980 (WELLSVILLE, OH) Jan 28, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This just might be the worst game I've ever played for any system. The original duck hunt game for the NES was better. The graphics were very dissaponting, especially for a game that is so slow paced. I've never been out on an actual duck hunt, but I have to belive that this game does not capture that feeling. Wii Play's shooting game would make a for more entertaing duck hunt than Ultimate Duck Hunt does. Don't even waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

i wish i listened to the users review!

posted by allison86 (KENT, WA) Sep 18, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

this game is bad i only had it for 2 days then i sent it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont wast your time

posted by djdew (CARLISLE, PA) Jun 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

the game takes for ever to play i tryed it for a hr couldnt figure it out at all sent it rite back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BAD GAME.. STAY AWAY! Its awful.

posted by freshcut (HERMITAGE, TN) Jan 7, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This game is awful. This is one of the worst wii games I have ever tried to play. It is unplayable... boo... shame on detn8 games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE! DO NOT RENT!

posted by nelsonx (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 6, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

this game was absolutely terrible. i was hoping for something similar to the original "duck hunt" for the nintendo console. instead, i got a game that involves placing decoy ducks, using duck calls, a dog that seems to serve no purpose, and very minimal duck shooting. on top of both frustrating and boring gameplay, the graphics are just plain awful. don't waste your time. this game is not worth the disc it's written on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth The Time it takes to Load

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Jul 13, 2010

Member since Mar 2004

This Game Is not worth The Time it Takes to Load it into the Game
Bad Points = Everything
Good Points= There Arent any Good Points
The Controls Dont Work 99.9999% of The Time So You Can't Really Play The Game Sending This one back ASAP

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

duck hunt simulation

posted by varticus (DEPOE BAY, OR) Mar 11, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

well i had hoped to start playing and just blast the heck out of some ducks but instead i recieved a lesson in the fine art of actual duck hunting. It was all to complicated for a man who only has eaten duck maybe twice in his whole life. Point is if you wanna blast the heck out of some ducks dont pick this game if you love duck hunting and its out of season then play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ultamate duck hunting reveiw

posted by Devin97 (WALDORF, MD) Feb 14, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

this game sucks! It got stuck in the Wii and did not work corectly.

1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

complete waste of time

posted by pstone (NASHVILLE, TN) Dec 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

This is one of the worst games I've ever played. Period. I was excited to play the Wii version of the classic, but this game quickly disappointed.

Where to begin?

Um... the laziness of the programming for the controls was my first hint... you take the time to build a "shotgun" style holder for the game, with the remote in the front (barrel) side of the weapon, nunchuck properly placed in the stock so there's a trigger... but the button used for shooting is the B button - and the end of the barrel? Why? Not the C button in the trigger position, but the B button?!!?

It only gets worse from there.

Why is the barrel of the virtual weapon visible - always pointing at the center of the screen?

I'm done... otherwise I'll start to cuss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Instructions?

posted by AKladiebug (CENTENNIAL, CO) Dec 1, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I rented this for my husband & I to play once the kids went to bed. Once we got the game neither one of us could figure it out. There was NO instructions on how to play. We waisted about an hour trying to figure the game out, then we gave up and returned it the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game SUCKS!!!

posted by zac879 (DECLO, ID) Nov 23, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

This game is by far one of the worst games i've ever played and its the last time i'll be playing it!!!! the fact that you can shoot a duck from 300 yards away is stupid the dog acts like my 1 week old puppy no matter how good you train him i HATE this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

one of the worst games ever

posted by RUNDAS (SAN DIEGO, CA) Aug 15, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

this game is stupid in every meanining of the word the graphics look like their from the sega saturn the sound makes the atari 2600 look high tech the gameplay is horrible to use a similar thing Roger Ebert did for his review of the movie North "I hated this game hated hated hated hated hated this game hated every simpering stupid vacant gamer-insulting moment of it hated the sensibility that thought anyone would like it hated the implied insult to the gamer by its belief that anyone would be entertained by it yea i know thats harsh but if mister Ebert played this game he would have said the same thing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible game

posted by jpm1980 (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Jun 19, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

This was one of the worst games I have ever played, absolutely the worst Wii game I have ever played. Anything has to be better than this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by mu6510 (PLEASANT VALLEY, MO) Mar 27, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

I was ultra excited about this game. You get two types of calls, wail and hale. Not realistic, the decoys you cant too close, not realistic. The dog, the dog was so bad I tried shooting him. I wouldn't waste my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ultimate Duck Hunting

posted by UNOMEE (WILLOUGHBY HILLS, OH) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

NOT THAT BAD OF A GAME IF YOUR A DUCK HUNTER I WOULD SAY TRY IT ITS WORTH IT..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hunting OK

posted by heytc2 (Lakebay, WA) Jan 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

The hunting portion of this game is ok, but controling the dog and having him fetch takes to much time and to much control. The shooting is ok and the graphics are good, get ride of fetching the dog.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Realistic Hunting Adventure

posted by mkstrip (Lubbock, TX) Dec 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

Its not that bad! If you like duck hunting, then you'll like this game. The main down falls are you only have 6 maps to hunt and after shooting 6 ducks its on to retrieving the ducks. Which can take some time until you build your dog's stats up! Other than that its ok.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I want my 5 minutes back

posted by Meet2x4 (ROSEVILLE, CA) Aug 8, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Not a single thing about this game is appealing...except the cover. Graphics = terrible. Controls = sloppy. Entertainment = none. I'm an outdoorsman and love to hunt and fish, but I'm also an avid gamer so I figured I'd give this a shot. Sound FX drove me insane after about 2 minutes. And if you've got some sort of "gun" crade for your Wii-mote then FORGET IT. They made it to where your 2 main call buttons are at the very top of the remote. I'd like to give this game a rating of 0 if possible so a 1 will have to suffice. All that waiting for this game isn't worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ultimate Duck Hunting

posted by gambino258 (NASHVILLE, TN) Jun 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I can not give a good description of the game because the copy sent to me did not work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Do not buy or rent!!!

posted by louie77 (WETMORE, CO) May 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

As a avid hunter, I had I hopes. This game is terrible. The original duck hunter is better than this game. Graphics are horrible, the controls don't work well and the game has no point. I would not pay a dollar for this game because I would never play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ultimate Duck Hunting

posted by kwithers (SINTON, TX) Apr 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

I liked this game, although not enough to buy it. The quick hunt is just that, quick. If you want to rack up any points you've got to shoot lots of ducks before you ever start sending the dog out to pick them up. I think it would likely be more fun in career mode.

The hardest part about this game is controlling the dog. The motions needed to move the dog must be done very small, and accurately, otherwise the dog doesn't do what you want it to. I shot a duck at great distance and with a bit of messing around even managed to get the dog to pick it up even though I could not see the duck in my binoculars. One improvement that could be easily incorporated is that after the dog picks up the duck, that when you command "here" he just comes on in rather than sitting down after some set time and then needing to repeat the command "here" numerous times when the dog is a long way off.

Mainly this game takes some practice. The biggest downsides are that there is no "training" to let you learn how to play the game. It was only because I essentially stumbled into career mode and found "Train your Dog" that I was able to get the dog to do anything at all.

There is also perhaps a bit too much waiting for the ducks to come over despite lots and lots of calling. Getting to know when to "hail" and when to "hen" would likely reduce the wait time somewhat. It is also hard to get the green target on the ducks quickly enough and the barrel of the shotgun has to be pointing toward the ducks regardless of whether the green target is on the duck when you shoot.

Overall, this game is probably not for someone that is a real duck hunter, however, if you like shooting and are willing to spend some time practicing, I think this could be a worthwhile game. For me, being able to send the dog was what made this funner than the average shooting game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse