Rent Ultimate Board Game Collection for Wii
view large frontback

Ultimate Board Game Collection

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS2
GF Rating
3.2

737 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

FALSE ADVERTISEMENT

posted by dannyd (HIALEAH, FL) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

13 out of 13 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

More than half the games stated on the game description are not available. Do not rent this game. Also, Gamefly please change the game description it is incorrect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What gives? 20 games or 12?

posted by eliswen (MONTGOMERY VILLAGE, MD) Oct 22, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

35 out of 37 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

First off, the copy of the game I received doesn't include Enigma, Snakes and Ladders, Parcheesi, Dice, or Dominoes. It only includes 12 games, not 20. You may notice the box cover here on Gamefly says there are 12 games included--which is true. But go elsewhere online and the box says there are 20 games. And of course, the missing eight games include the ones I just listed. I did a quick Google search looking to understand the discrepancy, but couldn't find out why it exists.
Beyond this, when I play the game I feel like I'm playing an old computer game from the early 90s. They may as well have made this game/combo of games for the original NES. The music is highly annoying, the graphics are bad (even for board game standards) and the movements are awkward. I can't even remember how may times I put the marble in the wrong place while playing Chinese checkers. The background, while seeking to be "hip" or something like that, actually turns out to be annoying and distracting. You can probably adjust it, but I found I lacked the desire to even bother trying. Me and my spouse played the games for about an hour and a half before growing bored.
My advice? If you want to play these games, turn off the TV, go by a combo board game set at Walmart for $20, pop some popcorn, and gather around the table for some real fun. Save your hard-earned game budget for some real video games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stick to the Internet

posted by buddhadan (SANDY, UT) Nov 5, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Before I start into the meat and potato aspect of my review, I must start by stating that I did not do a lot of research before renting this game, so part of the blame in regards to expectations lie directly with me.

That being said...

This game was truly horrible. It basically grabbed a few of the games that you might normally find in a game closet at home or on the internet and placed them, sans any real extras, onto the Wii console.

With the awesome potential of this gaming system, the amazing amount of space provided on a standard disk, and the countless other versions of these games in the world, I was very unhappy with their choices of the games provided and the way in which they were done.

Given the nature of the Nintendo family to provide family oriented fun in a cute and playful environment, I found that this was neither cute or playful and it was most certainly not fun. Any of these games, as they were on the Wii, can be found on numerous free sites on the internet. I can imagine very little playability with this game, even online or with a group of people.

As an example, you have an equivalent of battleship, chess, checkers, chinese checkers, connect 4, and similar types of games to play. All of these lack cute or fun (in my opinion) animations, options for how the game can be played (other than the basics) or any real flash to them.

I recall from my youth, a game that I believe was called Battle Chess. It had awesome animations and some humor to it that made even non chess fans happy and really satisfied those who loved chess due to its power.

I do love the Wii overall, and I'll admit that this is the first game I think that it has flopped on.

In the end, I would recommend that you avoid this game unless you really love the few things it has to offer and have a little extra money to burn. Otherwise, find these games online, play them and have fun with them, and use the Wii for the other games it has to offer.

Thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BAD!!!

posted by qscfthn (NEW MARKET, MD) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am sorry but this game blows! Its very sucky and there are barely any family games(4 player i mean)!!! It needs to be taken off the market. Complete with anoying elivator music, only 3 four player games. Chineese Checkers, connect 4, and battle ship. I would strongly advise you to throw the game away if you already rented it!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad overall

posted by bowlergirl (JOHNSTOWN, PA) Nov 14, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think I figured out the 20 game vs. 12 game issue. The PS2 version that came out in 2006 had 20 games on it including some of the ones people were complaining about not having like Go, Mancala and Concentration.

Some of the controls are kind of bad, I kept dropping things in the wrong places too. But it is something different to play that is simple and easy paced.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

AVOID! Even a board game lover will be let down.

posted by tufftoof (AUSTIN, TX) May 24, 2013

Member since May 2013

Despite the bad reviews of this game, I rented it because I love board games. Especially Backgammon, which is featured on this disc. I played with it for no more than 5 minutes before I wanted to break it in half to spare anyone else the misery of wasting a rental on this pathetic "game." Oh, and the backgammon board is not even laid out correctly--it is backwards. Whoever made this should be ashamed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it isn't fun

posted by wolfminded (HOOPER, UT) Dec 3, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

The game control wasn't fun and there wasn't much in graphics.
The kids had trouble with the chess game picking up the figures. they didn't like it at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ultimate board game collection

posted by DominiqueR (CRESTVIEW, FL) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

i was very disappointed in this game, the only possible way it could have the amount of games mentioned is only if they include all the different puzzle picture, and count each different difficulty level a new game (it's been done before) and not only does it lack games, but they did a poor job emulating them, the graphics aren't very good, and the music reminds me of being in an elevator at a child based amusement park, and the control aren't well mapped (it is difficult to click the game piece and then move it to where you want)any if not all of these games can be found online for free at almost any gaming site, also you can find some of these games in a news paper, if this game was $5 i would probably still be more opt to buy a real chess set

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ultimate Board Games

posted by nurse91 (LEANDER, TX) May 27, 2010

Member since May 2010

This was the worst game I have ever played. The few instructions it gives are not helpful and the games are very boring. I would not ever recommened this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Description is deceiving

posted by califnativ (SAN JOSE, CA) May 5, 2010

Member since May 2010

As others have pointed out, the disc does not include all the games the description claims. I liked the game disc but if I had bought it believing all the games it claims to include were on the disc I would be demanding my money back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not so great

posted by catfish12 (ADRIAN, MI) Dec 25, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

It wasn't family friendly in the fact that my children were really bored with this game as well as my self the graphics where not so great either and it was hard to use with the WII controllers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Why the hate?

posted by tim05753 (EAST MIDDLEBURY, VT) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

I bought this expecting 12 games, as that's what it says on the cover, so I'm not terribly upset that it doesn't have more. I haven't had any problems with the controls. The games are simple and don't have a lot of annoying "features" like animations that game designers throw in to try to make board games more fun (which get old quick). Some of the backgrounds can be distracting, but you can change them. I've had this for almost a year now, and I still play the sodoku for 5 or 6 hours a week.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

blahhhhh ripppppppp offfffffff

posted by ksmitty219 (HAMBURG, NY) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

this game blows! the gamefly advertivement is verrry false. theres several games missing many of the one the reason i rented it!!! refund!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

in a word boring!

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) Sep 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

I found this game to be so boring. Some of the games I never played the board version so I didn't know how to play them. Navy Ship was too easy as I kept beating the computer. I was good at this game when I was a kid. I rather play the actual board game versions than this game. Mahjong was hard to see the tiles to match them up. I prefer the version we have on our lap top than this version. I wouldn't even waste a rental on this one. I played less than 10 minutes before it went back into its envelope due to boredom of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sux!

posted by cursemarkd (SUISUN CITY, CA) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

If you are thinking of getting this game don't. it says it has 20+ games,but it only has 12. and they aren't even good games. that is why i gave it a 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Snoooze!

posted by HeyD88 (MONTROSE, CA) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I love board games and was So excited to give this a try.
BORING - talk about BORED games. even the graphics were annoying

The versions of these games on my iphone are so much better than the ones in this game.

Maybe okay for a few kids to play together but it was snooze city for me just playing on my own!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fair

posted by 1adam12 (ATLANTA, GA) Jun 15, 2009

Member since May 2009

very good mahjong and puzzle competition, otherwise save your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Ultimate Board Game Collection

posted by millersbra (VACAVILLE, CA) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

this was the worst game i have ever played there is not that many board games on there and the one that are suck!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nothing interesting

posted by Drmgiver (Glencoe , MN) Dec 17, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Nothing on the game is remotely interesting at all. They could have had a myriad of good board games, and all of them that they put on were fairly lackluster

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game not as advertised

posted by CBurgess (NEWNAN, GA) Dec 15, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

The games that were on this video game were not many that I was interested in. False advertising made me think that there we more games than was on the actual video game. I will not rent this game again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wake Me When It's Over

posted by saraj63 (FERRUM, VA) Dec 8, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

Boring, compared to the computer versions of these games you will get very, I do mean very bored with the slow action of these games and several of them require 2 players.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

....

posted by qwerty96 (West Deptford, NJ) Nov 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

this is the most boring game it has wasted my time of life over all: gust plan boring!!!!!!:[:|

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Annoying, not enough games, and visually bad

posted by greebo77 (ALLEN, TX) Oct 1, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Mahjong was very hard to see and often hard to click correctly on the tiles. Many of the games in the description are missing, as noted by other reviewers. Backgammon was hard to click on and very annoying graphics. We played for about 10 minutes before giving up and sticking it back in the envelope.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth it

posted by pahzit (BEE SPRING, KY) Sep 20, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

This collection is next to worthless for one-player gaming; good only perhaps for those who don't own a computer and can play much better versions on the PC. As for family playing, the graphics are so lame that it would be much more worthwhile to simply drag out the old-fashioned game-board versions and play them that way. Not at all what I would expect for a video system of this caliber. I've seen better games for atari.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth it.

posted by AmyLynn (WESTLAND, MI) Aug 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I was very disappointed! Most games listed on the description were not on the game, and the games that were on there - not the best. Battleship was the worst! I guess it was worth renting to play once, but not at all worth buying or keeping for awhile! Skip it and go for something better!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse