Rent UFC Undisputed 3 for PS3
view large frontback

UFC Undisputed 3

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.8

1700 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

UFC Undefeated

posted by StarRaven (LAKE WORTH, FL) Feb 16, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

19 out of 19 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THQ and UFC remain king of MMA video games, 3 times in a row.
Career Mode is faster, easier to get through. The minigames, although, intelligent, are actually pretty tough. There aren't as many Camps this year, and that's too bad. Learning specific moves remains a chore though. No more Media Appearances etc. But sponsers demand more attention this time.
Exhibition is where it's at. The fighters feel a bit more lifelike and reflect their real life counterparts pretty well.
PRIDE mode... need I say more? This was an incredible addition to the game.
162 fighters, best roster, ever, hands down.

CAF... this is where the game hurts. You can upload fighters and share them with other gamers, create your own logos, tats, banners, etc. This is awesome.
You cannot however copy characters, reupload a CAF once you've remixed it. And this biggest problem of all is that CAFS are INSANELY weak. Terrible in fact. The only solution to that is to take them through career, but, how many times are you going to want to do that? And, as I said before, it's more difficult to mold them how you want in career. The alternative is pay 3$ per CAF for extra points. Rip off? Greedy? Oh yeah. This is horrifyingly rude to the fans. Inexcusable.
The music is bad too.

Online is better than last year.

This is the best MMA game out, it's improved 10-fold over the last game in the series. I want to give it a perfect 10, because it IS that good. But CAF really kills it for me.
Hopefully, this game will have a lot of support post-launch and some of these issues can be addressed.

I highly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great

posted by zigwiglig (PLAINFIELD, IL) Feb 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Way better then last years game. This game has so many more options and choices for your story mode career it is insane. The Pride integration is pretty nifty and is a nice turn of events. graphics are awesome like always and the controls have seem to grow better with the new iterations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

loading........

posted by ledisdeath (WAYLAND, NY) Sep 10, 2012

Member since May 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the loading for five minutes between every screen change ruined this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

UFC Undisputed: THQ and Yuke's Go For Round 3

posted by Mayflower96 (LEACHVILLE, AR) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In UFC 2009: Undisputed, the focus was on solid fighting mechanics. In UFC Undisputed 2010, the focus was on creating more in-depth modes such as Career Mode. In this game, THQ and Yuke's focus on user-friendliness. The fighting is still as solid and jaw shattering as ever, but some things have been revamped to make the game more friendly to the novice players. For example, attempting a submission now starts a mini-game that involves the person pursuing trying to overlap the person escaping using colored bars to represent each fighter. Also, transitions are split into two different methods which you can change in the options, depending on if you want to play with the original method of transitions or a simplified version that allows you to transition with the flick of the right analog stick. Creating a fighter and playing in career mode is my favorite thing to do in this game, since you can customize your fighter to be unique in his fighting style, although most created fighters still look similar if you don't put too much time into it. Players can also create their own entrances, touch glove animations, banners, and even create their own tattoos. You can now perform several training and sparring sessions to upgrade your fighter, such as stand-up sparring and tire flipping. On top of that, you can also visit many world famous training camps and learn new moves with other well known fighters. You can also play through another type of career mode with your favorite fighter, and essentially rewrite their career history as you see fit. There are other game modes such as tournaments and Ultimate Fights mode, which are all fun. The game has a lot to offer, and although everything here has gotten better, there is still plenty of room for improvement. Fighters could use more facial customization features, the commentary is a mixed bag, and tutorial mode should explain some of the terminology to novices as well. Still though, this is as real as it gets.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

UFC Disapointment

posted by Nextlevel (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Gameplay improvements and presentation are great. A very fun game when in the octogon. But there are too many loading screens. You will spend more time loading than actually playing. Would be a great game otherwise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

weak sums it up

posted by cmlake (CARLISLE, PA) Jan 24, 2013

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game seemed like a lot of fun after it had finally installed, however the first time we got to pick fighters (versus) the game froze and we restarted the console, this time it fires right up and finally we're playing, only to lock up again after the fight when go to reselect characters for a rematch. Long story short, after doing internet research it turns out many others were having similar issues, and I have a brand new playstation so it wasn't that. I would have rated it horrible, if it weren't for the fact, that I did find the fighting enjoyable, but the fact that it was sort of unplayable caused me to ship it back in a few short hours from the time i opened the gamefly envelope.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

UFC

posted by Znighthawk (ATLANTA, GA) Dec 20, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It keeps freezing every fight

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Freezes during load

posted by eddien30 (NEW BRITAIN, CT) Sep 7, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Good game, but it keeps freezing on my system in every mode

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ufc 3

posted by phoe_nj (ALHAMBRA, CA) Aug 24, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i would not recommend this, the gameplay was the only reason i did not give this a 1, rather clunky and limited for the pick up and play. also the online pass gig is and extreme downfall, i really wish these companys would stop trying to milk extra money. if the game is good enough people will buy and purchase the downloadable content. without the ablility to play online its not worth renting, psn demo download if best

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

They broke their game, had a good run.

posted by gzac95 (BIG SPRING, TX) Jul 15, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game initially is fun. but the fight every 2 weeks or actions gets very old and makes the game seem like a grind. You would think this would be more fun but it just makes it take forever to train your fighter up. Another awful thing implemented is when you train certain skills others will degrade. This is ridiculous and makes it unfeasible to make a well rounded fighter especially in higher difficulty. The graphics are good but so much could have been improved overall they made the UFC series worse. The fights every 2 weeks force a slow grind and make it boring I found myself simulating the fights just so I could train faster. Another awful aspect of this game is when you start career mode there is a tutorial that is unskibable and for veterans or even less inexperienced players with a history playing these games just prolongs getting into the grind and gets in the way. Finally a good thing about this years release is the improved ground game. The submission system once understood is an improvement as well as the usefulness of ground work. Another aspect of the game that I feel is lacking was the content such as in fight commentating. This is becoming another Madden with the game reskined and minor things added. The online play at this point I found unplayable. I've played every UFC title that's been released yet I didn't stand a chance against the other online players. Many take advantage of lag and other things such as booser packs. I would avoid online unless with friends. Overall the game is good looking plays smoothly and can be fun but in my opinion the career mode is an RPG like grind but less fun and the online ranked matches are pointless. If you're a UFC fan I'd suggest playing it but not a game I'd buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Online ruined the game for me

posted by Dos_Pesos (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jun 8, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love UFC games, I have them all but this one was the worst for me. Career Mode was easy on the hardest difficulty, and it wasn't even fun. The part that killed me was how bad Online Servers and patching were. There's a glitch in UFC Gym where u can't escape Side control and will get KO'ed with knees. No patch has been released for it either. THQ did a poor job creating this game's online. Thankfully they had to sell it to EA, EA might not be amazing in making games but their online servers actually work and don't have glitches that make the game unplayable

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent

posted by Cjslick (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Feb 14, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

.... Just excellent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome

posted by rey06023 (ELIZABETH, NJ) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

Great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Really?

posted by Lisiado (HURRICANE, WV) Aug 19, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

Now I have played all of these so far and EA's MMA. I enjoyed the controls and training of EA's MMA much better but the roster wasnt as grand because it was strikeforce before UFC bought them. Lets face it Bass Routen (spelling?) is hilarious on the game of EA's MMA. I felt the graphics were better amd the submission system made more sense!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wicked

posted by kingkaze1990 (DENVER, CO) Jun 4, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Amazing game, great suspense... Nothing like knocking out your little brother on UFC, reminding him who's boss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME IS SO AWESOME

posted by NINJAHASSASSIN (KANNAPOLIS, NC) May 23, 2013

Member since May 2013

i swear to god the first time you put this game in your ps3 it will be awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A martial artists dream

posted by jbp7 (FAIRFAX, VA) Feb 27, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I grew up on street fighter and over the top martial arts media. But once I actually started fighting, I realized that all of the was kind of fake. Then came the UFC and I saw what fighting really looked like. No wonder I was going to karate class and getting beat up as a kid. I didn't realize the timing, coordination, footwork, and technique that went into an actual fight. Then, like 20 years later, I got into MMA. All this is to say that once I got a copy of UFC Undisputed 3, I was in complete awe. I haven't been able to put this game down. I have one or two ways that this game could be more like a "real fight"; but the strikes, takedowns, transitions, clinch, everything is the closest to real life I've ever seen. Everything down to the accidental collisions you can have when you throw a kick or when your leg is caught and you can take the other down. Believe it or not, playing this game has actually helped me in real life. I bought this game after a week or so and I will continue to play this game for a looong time. I give this game a 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game but too much loading.

posted by siuteke (MUNDELEIN, IL) Feb 24, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Great game. Easy to notice all the attention to detail. Awfully slow loading times at every screen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

UFC 3

posted by dayday729 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Feb 2, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This game was not as good as had it last time it has really dropped from two years

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

UFC 3 PS3 review

posted by Raven305bal (PERKINS, OK) Jan 5, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This game is cool and fun, but for the main mode of the game when you start from scratch is just like any other fighting game for me. Its fun and you get a great record like 13-1, all by TKO's, but then you just start to stick and lose the next 5 out of 6. This is because while your player is not that good, you the player is good enough to beat everyone. So they rank your bad player up high so then you start fighting the best of the best and then you get killed. Needs a more progressive advancement or difficulty scale.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fighting is fun, training is not.

posted by Juggalotuz (WASHINGTON COURT HOUSE, OH) Dec 25, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

the menu layout is kind of strange and awkward at times. after 48 fights you have to retire, the training games are a bit boring and some of them seem impossible the first 100 times you try them. all in all its a good game the fighting is much more realistic than previous games of this sort. everything outside of the ring is kind of ...blah

the whole "balance your training" idea was neat when it was first done for these sort of games but it is kind of ridiculous when my IN RING time is around 1/3 of training time, add a few more out of ring hours for scheduling the fights and buying sponsors and logos from them (they are SPONSORS!!!! why do i have to buy their logo?) and new training/skill caps

my advice in career mode is master 3 of the training games and just auto the rest. eventually you get to that point where even though 2 of your skills are supposed to raise and one lowered, you will gain 1 point in one skill and lose 1-4 in a couple of others instead.

if you just want this game to beat up your brother/friend/significant other it is worth buying. if you plan on playing it solo then this is a rent and return for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wast of time and money

posted by brandon360 (BOURBONNAIS, IL) Dec 13, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

i started plaing it WOSTED UFC game i played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

UFC3

posted by Frisbys_Smashn (CLEBURNE, TX) Dec 11, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

What can i say i go hard knockn heads back like an explosion. This games clean but it gets boring n nigas be cheatn online

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

6 :)

posted by ValiantGamer (SPOTSWOOD, NJ) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

I thought I was gonna like this game but I dont.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fun game

posted by geekygurl (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 27, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

i didnt think i was going to like this game but it was really fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse