Rent UFC Trainer for PS3
view large frontback

UFC Trainer

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.9

119 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

leg strap ?

posted by chunckizzle (RIVERSIDE, CA) Jun 30, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

well to begin the game requires a leg strap when using the playstation move. getting it through gamefly doesnt get you that which is some what needed. i just put it in my short pocket it worked ok. the game is very engaging and motivating. the virtual trainers dont look too robotic like other workout games which get boring. it also includes videos of actual trainers giving you motivating stories and tips. all in all it is a very good game i will most likely keep it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i can't even use it

posted by ninjalp2003 (MOORESTOWN, NJ) Jun 3, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i have the move, it just dosen't work right

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

eh

posted by Zona9798 (TEMPE, AZ) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This game is just another exercise game and not a very good one at that. Stretches are too long (2 sets of 20 seconds) with no way to skip. Exercises that should require weights instead require you to hold a move controller. So if your looking to do any weight training this is not for you. I started doing one exercise too fast because every exercise says too do as many as possible and the game couldn't track it so it said I missed the hits.

Graphics are average. No need for them to be any better though so not really a knock. You're not told how long the workouts will be. A timer just starts and you go. Exercises are done in endurance sets which means do as many as you can within a time period like a minute.

This seems like it would be great if you didn't need the move controller (it's probably a lot better on the kinect) and you had a punching bag and weights and everything UFC fighters have to train with. Really on the PS3 it's a way for people to get in shape and lose weight but it's not going to help you do the moves correctly or help you with weight lifting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Complete

posted by LMcM4512 (CHARLOTTE, NC) May 22, 2012

Member since May 2012

The game is great! The downfall is.......If you don't have the leg strap you can't get the full benefit of the game. So instead of keeping the game I sent it back and purchased it with the leg strap......Sorry gamefly, not my fault!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by Avataraang8 (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

this is a great game but you need more free spec than most other ps move games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

better to buy then rent

posted by stylinchick (CYPRESS, TX) Jan 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

The game needs a leg strap to determine if you are doing all the exerises properly. If you don't have it the game is useless. It's better to buy the game new and it come with the leg straps then to rent it and have to buy the straps for a game you will be returning. The workouts that I could do without the straps were cool but all in all it was a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing, But Not Without Merit

posted by Nallo (MCADOO, PA) Nov 6, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Those lookingto get into shape, this one's for you... sorta.

The good: it's tailored to you.

It will initially take your height, weight, gender and fitness level to figure out what kind of workout best suits you. And I must say, it will get you sweating, no matter what your level. (Professional UFC fighters excluded) The game also has a few interesting features, such as calculating your BMI, tracking your progress on all sorts of graphs, and even making use of the camera so you can take before and after pictures... well, I suppose. Personally, I just took a picture of me enjoying a twinkie. Ah, irony.

It also has a wide variety of excersizes, explains them well, and gives you many ways to do them. You can pick the ones your prefer, one by one, or you can have the game pick them for you. It will even set up a calander so you have a schedule to stick with. You can tell alot of thought went into this game. (And might I say, the graphics on the PS3 don't look too shabby)

Now for the bad.

It seemed that, no matter what I did, the Move camera could not keep track of my movements. On some excersizes it counted too few reps, on some, too many. Seeing as how enough glitches like this could really screw up the calorie count, that killed it for me. Call me a perfecitonist, but I wanna know that I earned 546 Kcal, not "sorta around" 546 Kcal. Of course, you could just follow along as if it were a DVD, but then why bother renting the game? Just buy a DVD.

Also, if not absolutely neccessary, turn off the sound. Your trainer will be saying the same 16 phrases all day, every day, over and over toa-typical gym music that is ignorable at best. They don't even respond to your performance. They just blather.

All in all, I guess I can say that this does provide a pretty decent workout, but as a game, it fails. The motion tracking is glitchy (forbid that you only have 1 controller), the sound grates, and the graphics, while pretty, don't really add much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

good idea, bad execution

posted by Liviadus (LEMOORE, CA) Aug 13, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I went into trying this game with an open mind. The punches worked but when doing lunges and squats it wouldn't register the movement. I play EA sports Active and them having the motion sensing straps is a much better idea. You would think that when coming up with a new game they would see what makes other games so successful and try to compete not come out with a half schemed idea and try to rip off the customer. This game would be good if it was just boxing. Don't waste your time or energy on this game. Maybe it's better on the kinect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »