Rent UFC 2009 Undisputed for Xbox 360
view large frontback

UFC 2009 Undisputed

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.6

12106 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I really liked it

posted by joeyfiu1 (Doral, FL) Oct 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

23 out of 25 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

when i first picked it up i wasnt expecting much but its really fun to play! The controls take a little while to learn but once you know most of them your in for an game thats har to put down. The graphics are great and the gameplay is better. Ive played it a couple times with friends and its immpossible not to get into it. I dont know anything about ufc and still really enjoyed it. rent this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good for people into MMA

posted by Kaotic (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Nov 7, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its a fun game to play with friends online and offline especially if you train or enjoy watching MMA. It takes a little bit to get used to the style used in this game but after that it can get really fun. However this is only a rent game, you might get bored after a month of playing it every day. Maybe not though! theres always the online play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

UFC

posted by joshkotewa (MANKATO, MN) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a huge fan of fighting games and couldn't get enough of Fight Night and never thought there would be a better fighting game. UFC proved me wrong. This is one of the best ever. Its a little hard to get used to some of the wrestling controls but nothing is more satisfying than when you figure it out and submit your opponent. The training in between the fights gets a little long and can sometimes be enduring when you have a long time between fights. Other than that the game is unreal. It takes about 15 hours to complete a career and my guy finished 27-10. It was very very satisfying! I give this game a 9 outta 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a button masher

posted by Druncle (HUNTSVILLE, TX) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Good game if you have the time to learn all of the moves. This is not a button mashing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great fighting game

posted by xboxgamer1 (JUNEAU, AK) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As a UFC fan I wanted a great game. Did it live up to the hype?
The answer is yes. It has a deep and detailed charecter creater and the career mode is very fun.

THE GOOD
Great career mode
deep charecter creator
perfect controls
THE BAD
Weird AI will make fighters do weird things
Laggy Xbox Live matches

Overall a must rent or a must buy if you are a fan of UFC or fighting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Darkside18 (MIDDLEBURG, FL) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This game defines imagination to a point, submission is a bit tricky to attach sometimes. But over all his game is something you pick up again and again. At first it is very stressful and annoying, but if you play the tutorial you figure out most of the controls. Also the fact you can pause and look up commands make it a fun game. It really gives you the feeling that your fighting, least it did for me. UFC really out did themselves with this release. Their next installment will be awesome I am certain.
Rent it if you like a fight game with some difficulty. If not, I'd pass on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Intense gameplay!

posted by ReviewThis (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) May 20, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

82 out of 104 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

The intense gameplay makes you feel as if you are in the fight. Not that I'm a button masher, but I find myself pounding on the controller. You basically have to in order to get out of submissions, and to accomplish transitions. The tutorial was a great help because the demo was hard to figure out since I am new to the series.

You can tell a lot of time was put into this game, and by Dana's interviews, you knew he wasn't going to let another poor title affect his UFC franchise. They especially have a nice budget this time around.

This is a must BUY not rent because it is the most realistic fighter out there. You will find that your arms will want to fall off because of how intense this game really is. Playing friends at home or online, it doesn't matter.

The only downside, is you can't take a current UFC fighter, and do a career with them. Or at least I haven't figured that part out if there is one. The fact that you can create multiple fighters, and build them up is awesome. You can even retire them if you want, and bring them back if you want.

Oh, and the girls...

ENJOY!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great start for a great sport.

posted by Criggz (ORLANDO, FL) May 18, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

63 out of 80 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

First of all I'd like to say that I made sure I had this at the top of my list upon release date. I've hammered the demo for the game constantly, playing on Beginner to Expert and I must say it doesn't disappoint. The Beginner mode is as it specifies; your opponent will stand there and take a good three to four blows to the face before either blocking or responding. On Expert mode YOU will be taking three or four blows to your ENTIRE body before you know what's going on, plus the a.i. counters effectively and even goes for take downs and clinches. It's a great mix of action throughout the entire match and the fighters' strengths and weaknesses really do pay off. You really feel powerful when using Chuck Liddell during the stand-up portions of your fight and you want to do everything you can to keep it standing. As Shogun you want to either clinch the punch-and-kick happy Liddell and deliver some knees or take him down and work your BJJ. The transitions are split between minor and major, minor obviously not getting you a great position but are a lot harder to counter, and vice-versa with major.

There are a couple complaints that I had, one being how difficult it is to pull off a submission. Difficult meaning I didn't do a single one! Beyond that there are more complaints but I'm sure they were intentional. There doesn't seem to be any in-ring entrances and not many fighting styles (only 3 stand-up, 3 ground) and the inbetween round animations, voices and presentation aren't too great. The replays are a nice touch. Then again I state they were probably intentional because when Undisputed 2010 comes out they will have more things to add, which in turn means more money.

Overall, if you're a fan of MMA, Boxing, Judo, Jiu-Jitsu or whatever, and/or you just enjoy fighting games you cannot go wrong with this title. Awesome start indeed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by 10121212 (SILER CITY, NC) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

this is a awesome fighting game with good graphics chuck liddell is the best player if you ask me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Its Time For WaR

posted by ilytaylor (GREENSBORO, NC) May 18, 2009

Member since May 2009

31 out of 45 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

One of the best fighting games to date, and it has easy to pick up and play controls but at the same time is not the easiest game to master. You have so many ways you can finish your opponent from, knockout, TKO, submission, and decisions. It has over 80 fighters in it as well and u can create your own custom fighter which is a big plus, not to mention when you create your fighter you can also customize his fighting style. Cant wait to get on live and play
Gamertag- ares088 for anyone who wants a good fight i know i do

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it's a good start to build from

posted by onuris6 (MC KEES ROCKS, PA) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this game definitively has room for improvement. the first 10 fights are what i expected when i rented this game, it was fun but challenging and distinctively unique. you get multiple choices on what you do through out your career. but it would be nice to actually chose answers to your own interviews.

on the good side it's the most realistic fighting game out there including fight night 4. you get to customize your entire character to exactly the way you want it. you get to choose different fight styles and as you progress in the game you get to chose other fighters to help you learn new highly useful moves. training and sparing are also pretty easy to understand and learn how to make the most of. the graphics are awesome and the messages you get really draw you deep into the mma lifestyle.

on the downside there is just way to much button mashing required after 10 fights. the tutorial helps but there are about 30 pages worth of information to learn just so you can stop being tapped out. you need to hit multiple buttons just to do any damage.

once youve been tossed to the ground your fight is over period. it is just way to complicated to do anything on the ground other then get hammered to death. you have to do multiple things at a certain time just to get out of one position into another. it really makes you want to throw your controller across the room in frustration.

the main training in the game doesn't really have to much affect on your fight, the only real thing that effects the other fighter are sparring points. even with the little you do get there are about 30 different costly places to spend what you get.

i dont recommend buying the game until you've rented it this game isn't for all fight fans. i do like the way ufc is heading with it's game tho, they are defiantly on the right track for a real dominate game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Worth a rent.....maybe

posted by chris420 (NEW BERN, NC) Jun 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

UFC Undisputed had me exited to get back in the ring and fight it out with my favorite fighter again. Sadly there is not much here to keep you interested for more than a few hours. Dont get me wrong, the fighting mechanics work pretty good but most of the time you have to resort to knocking your opponent out. The submission system is horrible in my opinon, they have you doing submissions by simply clicking the right joystick. There needs to be some kind of button prompt system added to the combat to keep you from getting confused about what buttons need to be hit.

The career isnt very in deep ether. You train your fighter by simply selecting the skills to be raised, thats it, no mini games. The sparring training is the only thing in career that is interactive. Plus once you start fighting real people in the career your wimpy character will get the poo kicked out of him.

Basically if you dont enjoy fighting your friends or with people over xbox live there is not much here to keep you from getting bored with this game fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great and fun game, definitly a buy

posted by dytavis (MIAMI, FL) May 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

25 out of 39 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

my friend bought this game, im signed up to gamefly so i have to wait another 2 days to get it.

like everyone else, i played countless hours of the demo, not only because its fun but so i can have an upper hand for the online play.

Good Things:
this game is so real. from great animations, real life graphics that cant be distinguish by parents(my momma walked in and told me to pick up my cloths from the floor, then she added, all you wanna do is WATCH boxing. but i was playing UFC undisputed folks)..

ground game: the ground game flows really good. youll see eveything from players struggling with each other, from your opponent being dazed not knowing what the heck is going on

visuals: like i said, the graphics are great, cuts, blood being on the bodies from clinching other players who are bleeding from the face, this is as real as it gets.

hand 2 hand: i love throwing combos, left, right, elbow, body kick, head kick, then finishing them off with that hard right hand to the face. you know its over when that mouth piece comes out. lol

presentation: honestly, the commentating is the best part of the game for me. it goes really good with the gameplay. the man could be reminiscing on a earlier chuck liddel fight, then right in the middle of what he is saying, he jumps over to say "and a big hard right from liddel." then he would continuing what he was saying about that earlier fight. alot of hard work into this. replays are good too. celebrations are point on.

Bad things (well not so bad)

wish they had player entrances,

the main menu is a little bleak.

career mode should have more activities like the punching bag.

Hands down, this game is a buy for people who enjoys the sport, if you like the demo then you should go out and buy 2.

but if you want some achievements, then you should...BUY..

Cant wait until i get it in the mail!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent first attempt.

posted by Cwithey (SHINGLETOWN, CA) May 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

18 out of 28 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty amazing overall.

If you ever played the UFC games that came out in the 90's you'd know how far the gaming industry has come in accurately representing the sport.

Easy to pick up and play, difficult to master. Meaning my wife can pick up the control and throw some button mashing knockouts against the CPU on easy and then I can work my clinch game and ground and pound on hard...and we both enjoy the game greatly.

You can tell they spent alot of time making sure this game didn't turn into toe-to-toe hockey fight with both fighters looking like hamburger at the....unless you want it to that is. The striking can be used as a tornado of haymakers or a subtle method for setting up a takedown or clinch.

The most difficult part is by far the ground game. If you say "This game is horrible, I haven't figured out the ground game yet..", then you have not even begun to explore the depth the designers went to when trying to represent the sport.

Charecter models are very good for the whole roster. Create a fighter is pretty bland, however.

Career mode is pretty solid ands could be made fantastic by adding a few small things. First of all it'd be nice to actually use the workout equipment I obtain, maybe some speed bag or bench press mini-games. The out-of-the-ring Cred events are nearly pointless as well. By adding some randomly generated interview questions or a mini game involved with the autograph signings/photo shoots that can result in extra Cred or other small perks would greatly enhance the career mode.

If you are a fan of MMA this game is a definate buy, if you enjoy fighting games it's worth a rent. But it's important to keep in mind that this is a SPORTS game...not just a fighting game. And like every sport there are certain subtle techniques and strategies that a true fan realizes, the importance placed on representing the sport is what made this game a 9.5 in my book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by snater20 (PHOENIX, AZ) Dec 26, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

ok so most pepole where expeting the gerates game ever and that is exacly what you get this game i have owned it secnts it came out and i can hrdly put it down i love this game but some pepole might think it to hard well that is bull i played it on both systems and it is very easy i all most alwas get a K O

ENJOY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Challenging

posted by Izan88 (COULTERVILLE, CA) Dec 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is like being in the cage without the after effects. It's easy to beat the guy up, but to really master the game you have to learn the art of submissions. That's the hard part. Aside from that this game is AWESOME...... A must rent and/or buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Here's the 411 on U.F.C

posted by MrTriMurda (GARFIELD, NJ) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Let's keep it simple,I enjoyed UFC prior as far as watching it,But this game made me really into it,they have all the characters,wish Ken Shamrock was there though that would be awesome for the next one. Controls if your a masher,well plan to get mashed back cause you could be good at playing,even a champ and "BAM"a hit sneaks in on you and your done,Submissions aren't hard like people say,just level up your sub off and defense and your good to go,reversal is like this to be brutal mash the buttons as fast but not hard as possible,more technical just keep spinning the right analog to get a cool reversal.I liked the reg exhibition mode but I wish I could have my fighter fight a different class for challenge purposes like Fight Night has.Build your defense 1st is key,mostly for punches cause a sneak attack will lay you out early,take down defense will be good cause it gets annoying how many times they will take you down before you even get one off, Submission defense of course,and if your fighter is not strong and quick,grapple defense as well cause they will drop you in that clutch fast.I like the fact that you get rewards and the training is good,sometimes annoyingly hard cause some controls when training don't work.graphics are good,except some knockouts you clearly know your man didn't hit the other guy but the final replay will show a connect mysteriously.intermissions can be more original,they pretty much say the same things depending on who's winning versus according to how you actually fight.Don't get gassed cause you won,I beat brock lesner in 10seconds but in another match being cocky he knocked me out so harshly I reset the game(yes I must admit a low point in my embarrassed match,I was doing too good)but I stopped that cause in real life if your a fighter it can happen just as easily so I became one with my losses.Your fighter is retired automatically and not allowed to change classes which sucked when you needed more of a challenge.Brutal still(SO BUY IT)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This Game Is Great Although I Am Not A Fan Of UFC

posted by Robstein56 (MIDLAND, TX) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game thoroughly surprised me, I expected it to be similar to the Fight Night series but i was pleasently surprised. It has a great combat system and very realistic movements, although the grappling system is very choppy and could use some work. It was complicated when on the mat to move to a different position in a grapple, or whenever your in a clinch I tried ten different times to get my oppent in line for a throw but it never seemed to work out. All of that aside it was a very great game.

Facing off against all the stars of the UFC, creating your own character and decking him out in tattoo's and giving him a somewhat diverse style and then sending him into the Octagon is also very fun and it gives you up to 100 characters to create. Customizable hair styles and body types as well as all types of trunks, knee supports and ankle supports, this can become your own creation and you can make it to where its easy for you to play as the character.

Sometimes it can become frustrating in a match when playing as Brock Lesnar, right as the bout begins one shot from the opponent can knock you out, this is what I found to be frustrating, it doesn't matter how long the fight has gone on or how much damage you've taken one punch can knock you out at any time. However it works both ways so theres an upside. The career mode has its own hitches like e-mails every five seconds on things that don't matter and the manager asking you to get off your current pathes to fight some other big-shot because another fighter has gotten injured and he wants you to take his place. Although it had many interactive and upgradable training equipment. its very realistic and it was a great change of pace from wrestling games and Fight Night games as well.

I would recommend anyone playing this game wether thier a fan of the series because they will gain a new respect for the sport and actually have a fun time in any mode they choose to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rent it if you're BIG into fighting games....

posted by BSherman (CINCINNATI, OH) Oct 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

There's not much else going....

The graphics are average, and there's not a ton of depth outside of career mode. Also, prepare to spend a LOT of time saving and loading. I didn't play it long enough to check and see if you can turn the autosave off, but if you can, that should alleviate this issue to a point.

There are a lot things you can do with your fighter in the octagon; it takes time and patience to learn, but once you finally get it down, you can have a fair bit of fun with this game. However, that's about it. The career mode is sort of monotonous and boring when you're not actually fighting. You have to make decisions about when, how, and how hard to train, which is fun to a point, but at the end of the day, all it really amounts to is menu navigation and the occasional short sparring match against the CPU.

I only played the multiplayer once, but there seemed to be plenty of people on, and it was pretty competitive.

If you're a big fan either fighting games or the UFC, you'll definitely want to give this a rent, but if you're not that big into either, you might wanna pass if you have ANYTHING else you want to try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

INSANE!!!

posted by spydersinh (TOLEDO, OH) May 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

11 out of 19 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

The best fighting of the year. Character likeness and fighting style is outstanding. Every fight is different, intense and unpredictable. Whether you like to stand up and strike or take it to the ground, anything can happen at any moment. Most fun I've had from a game in a long time and it's going to be a long time before I want to put the controller down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

mounting frustration

posted by thisshots (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Jun 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

The game is fun for the first 10 or 11 fights. After those first fun fights, the game turns into a technical gound and pound battle. I felt like I needed to practice for hours just to learn the exact button movement to keep a guy from tackling me and beating me into the ground. Even when I learned the correct button movements my fighter lost so much stamina that I would lose the fight away. I understand that most people find the game fun, and will argue that I just needed to learn how to "fight" better. This may be true, but if you are looking for a good fighting game that is easy to learn and hard to master this isn't it. It isn't easy, and you will have to spend a lot of time practicing, just so you can have a sucessful time in career mode.

Side note: I found the achievements very lacking in this game. This shouldn't be a reason not to try the game. Just letting you know so you are not disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Awesome but flawed.

posted by nickap47 (BELLEVUE, WA) Apr 2, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty epic, it shows how brutal the UFC can be. I wasn't a fan of the UFC before i rented this, I only got it to pass some time, but its a fun game if you have a ton of patience.
First off, the aggressiveness of the game is really fun but it also becomes one of the most aggravating games I have ever played very fast.
There are so many moves that I couldn't remember most of them and i had to repeat the tutorial at least 4 times. It's severely confusing learning all the moves, and if you can't remember at least 90% of them, by your 10th fight you will be getting stomped by the CPU.

Also, this game has hands down the most loading screens and auto saves I have seen in any game of the last 6 years. just to get into the career mode and fight someone on average takes about 7 minutes.

All in all this is a good game to rent if your GameQ is a little dried up, but other than that, I wouldn't recommend playing this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Perfect Not a Keeper but Decent

posted by JacktheDog (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) May 22, 2009

Member since May 2009

13 out of 24 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

I will simplify my review style by just doing the pros and cons:

Pros:
1. Graphics are stunning - the sweat visible on the fighters is well done.
2. The Tutorial system and fighter creator system is also well thought out; although, with the fighter creator - you can adjust just about every feature on the face and head (including ear damage degrees), but you can't do the same for the body.
3. It is probably the best fighting game out there right now, and if you are into that genre - this game is for you.

Cons:

1. This game does not completely capture UFC battles, as the action will be slower and less intense than what you will see on TV; I mention this because everyone always wants to compare a game to what occurs in real life and how close the developers came to mimicing reality. They came close, but not close enough.
2. It is almost as if the CPU players are programmed to beat you - flash knockouts occur so frequently that it ruined my enjoyment of the game. Just before I was about to beat an opponent, he threw a jab that knocked me out completely - nope, sorry, that was not fair. This is not real UFC people, this is a game and it is supposed to be fun; after you get flashed knocked out many times, you will understand that it was not really fun.
3. The training calendar schedule component of career mode does not really add anything to the game; it gets redundant to have to manage your fighter. While I understand why it is in there, it is not really necessary and wastes time in my opinion from what people really want to do, which is get back in the ring and fight.
4. The on-line mode needs some form of experience punishment system for when people, who are about to lose, turn off their xbox360 so avoid the loss and negative effect on their stats. There are ways that can be done, but it was not done here.

I will wait for the UFC 2010, and hopefully, they will have made a game that is a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bringing the pain

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) May 21, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Knuckles to your face can leave quite a mark apparently. Watch these fighters have their faces tenderized very quickly by elbows, fists, and an occasional swift kick to the jaw. I love the textures in this game, especially compared to the very cartoony looking WWE skin textures. Even the create a fighter characters look pretty realistic. The only people that don't look good to me are the stand-by characters of the ring announcer and the ring girl. The ring-girl does bounce as expected, but her face is a little cartoony. Who's looking at her face, anyway though?

The controls are both complex and easy at the same time. Here's what I mean: you can get a lot done just by learning a few button combinations, but to really get deep into the control options, you need to practice a lot and have a good memory. I have learned to take down opponents and switch positions once down, but there are so many subtle things you can do depending on your fighting style. It will probabaly take me a few more days to get into the finer points of beating the tar out of someone.

Easy game difficulty is a little too easy. It's for people who have never played anything on a console before. The next level up is quite a bit trickier, maybe too much of a jump from Easy, but not too bad once you have learned enough of the controls. On this level, just knowing a few basic moves might not be enough to win.

I will have to keep this at home for a long, long time and possibly buy it. So far, it is one of the most satisfying fighting games I've played since Fight Night Round 3 first came out. I expect this game to hold me over until FN Round 4 hits the shelves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best yet.

posted by sichead (CLAYTON, DE) May 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome. Though its not perfect, it is their first go around. I hope it just gets better. To me this is the best fighting game ever. If you can show be one with as much depth then I'll change that statement. I didn't expect it to be as good as it is. Once you get the moves down everything goes real smoothly. Looking forward to the next one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse