Rent UFC 2009 Undisputed for PS3
view large frontback

UFC 2009 Undisputed

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.5

5867 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NO WAY

posted by dadondadda (EVERETT, PA) May 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

22 out of 28 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

This has to be the best realistic fighter game i've ever played. The career mode is superb, sure the create a fighter could have more options, but show me a game that does. The career mode is the most fun i've ever had by bringing your guy up through the ranks, then once you finally make it onto the main card of the actual PPVs it gets tough. I went 6-0 with 6 TKOs. Then i lost my next 2, won another 2 and then Dan Henderson put me outta my misery with one punch. You never really know if you are gonna pull the victory out or if you will fall to your opponent. This game is a must have for any UFC fan or a fan of realistic fighters. No button mashing here, you need to know what your doing to stay alive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by PeterHandi (NORTH WEYMOUTH, MA) Jun 28, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I actually do MMA and i only got this cause i thought "what the f i love this sport and i love ufc i might as well get it" and i fell in love and its really cool with the fact that its so rrealistic when it comes to everything. whether is striking or throws or even just the jiu jitsu part and tyhe ground game, this game has real moves and real transitions. i give this a 200 because its awesome and it is worth so much more than gamefly says aha

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Frustratingly fun!

posted by WISteel (TURTLE LAKE, WI) May 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Where do I begin? This game can be broken into two parts. Online, and Offline. Let's start with offline. You have a career mode, that isn't bad, but could have easily been better. Spending your "weeks" before fights is time consuming, and hardly exciting. You spar, traing, rest, and do photo shoots. None of which makes you feel like you are accomplishing anything. The actual fights are generally one sided, and the flash KO's can become annoying, also the computer controlled fighters never seem to want to submit. Overall it isn't too bad though, because it prepares you for online play.

Onto the frustrating fun! Going online....You play a ranked match, and can get thrown into matches with people well beyond your level. My 1st fight as a level 1 0-0 fighter wa against a rather unfriendly level 15 fighter that appeared to have a sticky controller. The fight started and suddenly I have Brock Lesner running across the ring and throwing more L1 punches at me in 1 round than all the rocky films ever. I spent my 1st round online running, and blocking. Round 2 more swinging for the fences, and more counter attempts by me. late in the 2nd one of the over 100 haymakers thrown my way finally connected, and I was outy cold. My opponent was nice enough to send me a message telling me how bad I sucked. I then declined his friend invite.
2nd fight I found myself against a level 5 fighter, and with a little luck, and a lot of swearing I managed to get him to submit to an armbar. The one thing I took away from the 1st two fights I had was a painful face from laughing so hard.

Overall GREAT GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best fighting game

posted by seanjohn (DENVILLE, NJ) May 23, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

14 out of 20 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

UFC is one of the best things in the world and i was counting the days down till this game came out. And when i got it it was so fun and full of a great roster. the crere mode is good but u can only fight your wight and you cant go on past 8 years. but it is fun bulding up your person and getting your title belt. Overall it is the most relistic and best fighting game out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

knockout

posted by eazyE123 (REDDING, CA) May 18, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

18 out of 26 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

this game is always fun. i played the demo for a few weeks straight and it only had two people you can choose from. the graphics are amazing and the game will keep you screaming at the screen all day. hard knockouts, cool submissions, and hundreds of capabilities, make this game a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

CHALLENGLY ADDICTIVE!!

posted by Jones1 (LEXINGTON, NC) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is my favorite game for the ps3 avalible right now although sometimes very frustrating an difficult i find myself always playing it. could use more details in the career mode but all these fighting games could in my opinion i give this game a a solid 8...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

solid for 1st generation of the game

posted by williemcge (PORTLAND, OR) May 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this game has some great aspects but in playing it you will see some little aspects that show the game's 1st generation issues. i didn't notice this in playing the demo, but with the full game i've noticed some frame-rate issues (in the exhibition/career modes), resulting in a little laggy play from time to time (sometimes resulting in getting KO'd or taken down while you attempt to compensate). the career mode is pretty basic, create a fighter with a handful of different options (fighting styles, looks, clothing, etc) but is not very in-depth. The controls are a little fumbly as well, mainly in the takedown/grapple/transitions/submission areas, with the right stick controls being difficult to use/time.
Career mode starts easy, but you will quickly find yourself fighting name fighters, and eventually getting in there with guys that have much better ratings than your guy.

Overall this is a fun game, great for a couple friends who want to throw virtual leather and see some exciting knockouts, but it is definitely a 1st generation game and has areas to improve.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Must Have Game For MMA Fans

posted by suarEZ (CLAYTON, NJ) May 20, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Played this game for four solid hours the first day I received it in the mail.

Graphics are excellent and game play is much smoother than originally anticipated. Haven't yet tried the online feature but the career mode is more than enough to keep you occupied for hours on end.

Character creation is in depth and the varying fighting styles allow you to customize your fighter any way you see fit.

All in all, a great all around game that is good for solo or multi-player use.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Overall...Not to bad

posted by Dogman1 (SPOTSYLVANIA, VA) Jun 1, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I currently am training as an MMA fighter and every fight im in or watch i say man it would be cool if they had a game of this then i heard of this and got it the first day it was out. Any way I rank this an 8 because the game isnt too hard nor is it too easy. I love how u can attend camp and improve your skills and be recognized in a certain fighting style. As I got my striking up high i started working on grappling and submissions. I got it very high but i still was unable to submit. The punches and kicks are awesome once you learn the ropes. On the other hand the ground fighting is VERY hard to master. Another flaw is I HATE the fact that it makes you retire after 7 years. overall pretty cool especially when your knockin dudes heads off (not literally). If u love MMA and/or the UFC this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome first attempt.

posted by scarfaic (NORRISTOWN, PA) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This first attempt by THQ/Yukes was a very good one. They pretty much got the controls for transistions and submissions down perfectly. At first I didnt like the game because the controls seemed pretty foreign to me. Everything is mostly done with the right analog stick. Complicated, but unique. As soon as I learned the controls I instantly loved it.

Exhibtion mode is the best mode. The very smart AI is a great challenge on any day. Online mode is filled with people who can't play the game right, run on horrible connections and people who abuse the ground and pound. Its really annoying and very hard to find someone good and fun to play against. Career mode is very long and somewhat boring after the first few hours and can be really hard to win matches after the first 5.

Create a fighter is limited. The tattoo system is useless, as well as the alphabet designs. You can change every feature on you'r created fighter but their forehead which looks very big on everybody. Yukes also failed, much like they do in their other series, Smackdown Vs Raw, to make created fighters look like in-game fighters like Chuck Lidell. You can easily tell that they are created right off the bat.

The graphics are stunning. Of course the graphics looks better presented on the 360 because PS3 dev's are too lazy to put the game in a full 1020 resolution, but the graphics look great none-the-less. Every fighter resembles their real life counter parts almost exactly.

Overall, this is a nice game. Don't get it for online mode as you will be frusterated by the players who do play online and certainly dont get it to check out the create a fighter feature or career mode. Get it to whoop some butt in exhibition mode with your favorite UFC fighter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is the business

posted by racerboy (SCHOFIELD BARRACKS, HI) Jun 20, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love it graphics arent the best but gameply is phenominal the online ranking system is aldo really good. no matter what your record is the system matches you with like oppents and makes for good matches. I cant praise this game enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

UFC is an awesome game!

posted by MMAFighter (LYNWOOD, CA) May 20, 2009

Member since May 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i actually give this game a 10/10 because of how fun it is and how great it looks! If your a UFC fan like me then you are gonna love this game! The online is great but the only problem is that it lags a lot. So the online isn't perfect but the career, create a fighter, classic matches and exhibition is phenomenal. I suggest to buy it because its a lot of fun i doubt you will get tired of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ufc 2009

posted by james13 (EDENTON, NC) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is a very good game but there are some things it could have improved on. Such as the ground game is a little complicated for some. I remember me being put to the ground by people like Frank Mir, or Brock Lesnar and I could'nt do a thing about it. True sometimes I could get out of Mir's submission just for him to put me back in another one. While Brock would wrestle me to the ground and use his huge fists to beat me and it was almost impossible to counter or even block it. While the ground game may have some flaws it is pretty easy to avoid it. The standing game is very good and I personally love it. It is very much like they do in the UFC. Although knockouts are cool and exciting they happen to many times in this game and that may get annynoying to some. The career mode is pretty cool you start off at the bottom of the division that you choose and work your way up to a title shot. Once you get the title you get to go to other divisions to get the title in that weight class. As far the create a fighter goes it get pretty up to scale. You get to choose your jaw line, Skin color, and you even get to custimize your fighters trunks which I really enjoy doing. There is one more thing about this thing that increases this game's playability and that is classic fights. There are 12 different fights you can preform such as Rampage Jackson vs. Chuck Liddell. Well overall this game get a 8.75 out of 10. But there are so many fighters in this game that this game could keep your attention for at least 6-8 months so hope you have a great time playing this game I know I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

UFC 2009 Undisputed

posted by Loader (CHULA VISTA, CA) May 23, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Overall, the game is very good. Being a recreational MMA fighter myself, I found the game accurate. The graphics were spot on and the action was consistant.
The career mode is enjoyable but once at the top it is predictable and trite but again fun. The voice overs are cool and the variety of fighting styles worked well together.
MMA fan or not, fighter or not this is a solid title and hopefully THQ will work out the bugs and listen to the players to make the next one better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have been great but, came up short.

posted by RamonG (HOMESTEAD, FL) Jun 24, 2009

Member since May 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I was very excited to be able to play UFC Undisputed. I love watching MMA sports in General (There IS an entire world of MMA outside of UFC) and I definitely wanted a piece of this game.

Well regardless of my interest in MMA sports, I think this game just marred my experience and to be cautious of future MMA titles. Now my first issue with the game is a minor one of course but, I want to give my total review and not fractions. I think the menu is very sluggish and unintuitive. When I go into my career I do not want to go through three screens before I actually step into the mode, a little much IMO.

Overall the game performs quite sluggish, this isn't a huge open world with explosions going off. Its a closed quarters fighting game. It should perform very quickly and menu navigation should be instantaneous. Also this game can be very frustrating, because it forces you to be a ground game fighter regardless of what you want. It is very unbalance and bias towards stand up fighters that use technique and not throwing haymakers.

THQ needs to balance this game, with their past games I have always noticed their lack of polish and over the top controls or features that could have been left out. The training for instance could have been a lot more fun..that really all that needs to be said about that.

This game could have been so much more. Fix the training, fix the menu speed and improve the layout, fix responsiveness, referees stopping the fight with no contact on either side, and most importantly balance the game. You need ground game but, your character shouldn't HAVE to be a dedicated ground fighter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

You need a 6 hour tutorial

posted by TheBlackJU (CHELAN, WA) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Great game! however to get the controls down you need to take a weekend course. Dont expect to pick up the controller and start playing, well you can but your not going to win, and you will not have a chance online. Punching and kicking easy. Ground movement and submissions will make you throw your controller at the TV.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Why i gave it a 10

posted by Madman158 (MEBANE, NC) May 20, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

1. If you compare this to the other JUNK they call a UFC game. This game is a knock out.

2. As another said you can win or lose at any time. I have won a match in just one good timed hit but i have also been whooping up on them and get killed by one good kick.

3. You have full control over your guy at all time. I will say the learning curve is 30 mins to a hour depends how fast you pick up on things.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ufc

posted by messina (DIAMONDHEAD, MS) May 26, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

one of the best games out for the ps3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

UFC=The Best Fighter Game

posted by zchroberts (ALLENTOWN, PA) May 24, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

UFC Undisputed is the best fighter game for the playstsation 3 you have the best graphics and the blood doesnt just go away like in the WWE games this gae is a 9/10 without a doubt! Rent It Or Buy It!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

UFC 2009 - SOLID 1ST GO AROUND

posted by odeezzy (HAYWARD, CA) May 23, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

GOOD BUT NOT GREAT... ONLY CAN GET BETTER...A LOT OF BUTTONS BUT ONCE YOU GET IT DOWN PRETTY FUN....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A KNOCKOUT!!!!!!

posted by Kane300 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) May 24, 2009

Member since May 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Game is awesome. It is so realistic. It really displays how the tide of a match can turn at any point. I was playing online and no doubtly dominating my opponent. Then out of nowhere i got caught in a takedown then a transistion to a submission hold and game over. You can never get cocky in this game as you will surely regret it. You must pound away every second and not let up as this will give the other guy time. Also i was playing online and i got knocked out with one kick in the first 30 seconds. Game is nice in the realism. One of the best games out there. I'm a big fan of smackdown vs raw and the fight night series and this combines both of them into 1. I love it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game! amazing!

posted by Gfly101 (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i love this game online exhibition and carrer

best game ever made for rite now

its full of details and its okay grapics i guess.....

if u hit the button the guy falls down i love the submissions but takes a while to get ahold of the ground and pound....

add me online whatyagonnado....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

For The Fans

posted by DJTAT75 (NEW YORK, NY) May 21, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a great game not only in frghting but in gameplan as a ufc fighter. You cant be a one trick pony oin this game. Reversals are often as stunning as the takedowns themselvs. It is also cool that they have fighters that are no longer in ufc like tito ortiz Areedvi asolevski. Esslay one of the best games of the year. See you online fellas get your game up!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than expected

posted by KillaKAM40 (TEMPLE HILLS, MD) May 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I won't say that I'm a huge UFC fan nor do I know most of the fighters but i am a die hard gamer and this may be a candidate for game of the year. The graphics really showcase what the PS3 can do. The in-fight commentary is spot on but the best part is the unpredictability of the fights. I played this game with my six year old son and he BEAT me with a SUBMISSION! I couldn't believe it and the family went wild. I haven't had so much fun playing a fighting game. The career mode could use some work and the customization nav could be far more streamlined but once you get in the ring, you don't care about that stuff anymore. RENT, BUY, whatever you gotta do to get this game because it's well worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WHATS NOT TO LIKE IF YOU LIKE UFC

posted by warreng210 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) May 20, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

OMG THIS GAME IS AMAZING I DONT KNOW WHERE TO START THE GRAPHICS GAMEPLAY EVERYTHING IS JUST GREAT THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST FIGHTING GAMES IVE EVER PLAYED ON ANY SYSTEM I MEAN THIS GAME GOT ME OFF CALL OF DUTY FOR A LITTLE WHILE LOL IF YOU LIKE UFC THIS IS A MUST BUY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse