Rent UEFA Euro 2008 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

UEFA Euro 2008

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PSP Games, PS3
GF Rating
7.0

381 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

A good soccer game

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) May 27, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

UEFA EURO 2008 is a nice soccer game. Its a bit better than FIFA World Cup 2006. I think the controls are a bit weird. A thing that makes it good is the scoring system thing which makes you represent the country you pick. Xbox Live is so so. Everything is average I think but its good enough for a 7. I would not suggest you buy this game but you should put it in your gameq.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Frustrating

posted by zbetzen (FORT COLLINS, CO) Oct 8, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

If you've spent your entire life playing sports games then you may find this one a good game if mildly irritating. If you are like the rest of us there is only one word to describe this game, "Frustrating"

I had a heck of a time figuring out how to actually play this game. Because it came from gamefly there was no manual, and because it's an EA game that isn't madden there is no tutorial. If you are like most gamers you will probably end up checking the controller set up to figure out all of the buttons. Unfortunately their descriptions of what does what are not at all helpful. Also they mapped the B button to three different actions. One of them is "shoot the ball into the goal" while the other two seem to be "wing the ball high into the air in a random direction"

Right trigger is your standard "run fast" button, I am guessing it is linked to some sort of stamina gauge that if you use it too long your player will have an asthma attack and keel over. However the game will decide to switch players on you so much that this is never really an issue.

On defense every A B Y and the bumpers are mapped to "milling about" while X is mapped to "Kick 'em in the shins and get a yellow card."

On offense the A button is "pass", while the Y button is "pass to the other team". X is "boot the ball out of bounds" and B is your three action mystery button which may or may not get the ball in their goal. The right stick just taps the ball 3 feet in whatever direction you tap the stick.

Also while on defense your teammates seem to be afraid of the ball. Either that or they suffer from laziness. I even caught one of the lazy little buggers leisurely walking away from the guy with the ball while he was lining up a shot on my goal.

On the other hand when I have the ball all of the defenders swarm around me like angry bees. while my team is hanging out on our half of the field.

It's like being in middle school PE all over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I need to title my review?

posted by GoodMP (KALAMAZOO, MI) Dec 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

I like the game, frustrating at first and at times even after becoming pretty ok at it. It takes some time to figure out how to play it, and even then the passing/shooting seems to go in unexplainable directions. All in all I rate the game high because I play it alot and have fun doing so. I favor the option that lets you be just one guy, cuz even when you put autoswitching to nothing it still screws with you. Captain your country is cool, too. I kept the game cuz I was getting it for $15, it was a very easy choice to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better Then Fifa (360/PS3) and PES but it could...

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Nov 29, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

be better. The representing of your country is awsome, and the scoring is spot on, however the AI is to difficult. The players move fluidly n there is depth to this title however get Fifa08Wii!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GOAL!!!!

posted by atlmvp66 (ATLANTA, GA) Oct 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

Very good game. I love the game play and it is lots of fun once you get started. Make sure that you play around with the different camera angles. That way you get to find which view is best for you. The better the view the more you will be able to dominate the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game didnt read

posted by pitbull84 (DEERFIELD BEACH, FL) Sep 4, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

game opened up n everythign fine til u wanted to actually play a match n then it wouldnt work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game for 360

posted by Hotdog (AUSTIN, TX) Jul 13, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I loved fifa 06, and when I saw there was a new world cup game I was really excited, waited like 15 days for it to finally ship to me and I have to say it was like opening a Christmas present when you were 5 years old and getting socks. The controls are HORRIBLE, absolutely god awful. By the time you have them down, you could have designed and published a better game, honestly it was just god awful. The computer is constantly making you switch charactars and you can never handle the ball the way you'd like to. The graphics aren't noticeably better than the last game either.

Please, please, rent fifa 06 if you're looking for a soccer game, this was horrid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »