Rent UEFA Euro 2008 for PS3
view large frontback

UEFA Euro 2008

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

297 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fifa: Refined.

posted by aenderw (GREENSBORO, NC) May 22, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Every year there is a new football title released. Fifa 08 was another decent addition, but had one glaring problem. The 'Be A Pro' mode allowed you to play as your favorite footballer (or a player created one) and featured a zoomed in camera for a more intense experience. However, it only lasted a single game at a time.

UEFA 08 introduces the 'Captain Your Country' feature, essentially an extension of 'Be A Pro' across the entire season. Your chosen player and three other mates from his team drop to B-team status and you're forced to work your way back up. You earn attribute points to distribute for yourself and chosen teammates in order to get a spot on the actual team of your choice.

The only real problem with the game is A.I. So if you've opted to play 'Captain Your Country', you have to rely on spotty computer controlled teammates. Sometimes they'll catch a pass, sometimes they'll let it go. Most of the time, the goalie reacts well. Other times, he'll dive into a ball leaving the opposing corner open. It's a small price to pay, and doesn't detract from the overall experience very often, if at all.

Other modes include the 'Knockout Cup' (bracket style tourney) and 'Battle of the Nations' (online mode, with a points system) from Fifa 08.

The controls have received a welcome overhaul, as passing, shooting, and movement in general is much less of a chore. Not to mention, the animation is much more fluid in UEFA thanks to improved graphics over Fifa 08. The only blips I've seen occur during the replays.

The audio is spot on. Still no 'on the field' talk, but Fifa 09 isn't far off (hah).

As with any football title, it's worth a rent if you're moderately interested. Most of the diehard fans (myself included) will enjoy every minute of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Surprisingly Intense....Surprisingly Hard

posted by notthatguy (BOSSIER CITY, LA) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had been waiting to get this game forever because I saw all of the great reviews and I like soccer. I was a little disappointed though, but I think it was mainly because I sucked.

My first instinct was to rip it out of my console, but I decided to keep playing to see if the game (or myself) improved at all.(Just so you know, I did choose a good team)which is not the best way to earn team points, but is supposed to be best for actually winning!

Four hours later, I was still playing with a furious, yet crazed determination that I was going to score a goal. I did end up scoring two total goals, one on accident past my own goalie, the other a miracle from God!

The reason I had such a difficult time was that the players without the ball can run faster than the player with the ball....which I guess is kinda true in real soccer, but SUCKS for video games! I was always overcome by the opposing team, and was not able to find a workable strategy to overcome this problem.(Yes, I passed the ball....more times than necessary). Slidetackling in this game is truly an art, and will most often land you a yellow card rather than a steal. I probably should have looked online for hints and tips, but I was so emersed and involved in this game that I thought I could just keep playing and eventually find something that worked....nope.

Anyway, the graphics were great, character movements were realistic and fluid, the announcers had a creepy accuracy and intelligence to what was happening in the game. The controls were simple and responsive. Oh, and if you have a small standard def TV...you might want to leave this one alone. The players were a little smaller than they should have been....at least IMHO.

There was a lot of detail in this game, and it was done very well and it is one of the most surprisingly INTENSE sports games I've played thus far, I just sucked at it. It almost resulted in a broken controller until I thought to myself "Yeah, not on this game bro....not on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT GAME

posted by chargersjr (IMPERIAL BEACH, CA) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

GREAT GAME LOVE PLAYING IT..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not work

posted by anaelena (GRAND ISLAND, NE) Jun 3, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

it diren't work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

i love the game bit

posted by pjlq1990 (STROUDSBURG, PA) Mar 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

its not fun game maybe u like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Totally fun game

posted by Pmbumfoi1 (VANCOUVER, WA) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

If you are a fan of soccer games, check this out. In some reviews there are comments about the lack of club teams. Well the point of this is national teams from Europe and the tournament that crowns the champ of the continent. There are all sorts of fun mini games and scenarios to tryout. Take FIFA 08 and tweek it a bit and add a few new moves by the players but not as good as 09 and you have EURO 08. This is a long rental for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh

posted by spencerj07 (ANNAPOLIS, MD) Mar 12, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

It's alright. I am not experienced in soccer video games, so maybe that was why. Of the sports genre, I definitely prefer college football or madden.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

UEFA Euro 2008

posted by caseyscott (CALDWELL, ID) Feb 1, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

This game made it way too hard to score a goal. On easy with the best team was still hard

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best game till date

posted by Rock2Roll (MADISON, WI) Oct 14, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

awesome game. some of the through balls u can do here cannot do anywhere. best game for passing and build up ea has made till now.

:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Way below expectation

posted by tony13 (BOTHELL, WA) Oct 11, 2008

Member since May 2008

Definately not up to the FIFA label and EA sports level of expected game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too Hard

posted by gregboam (GLENDALE, AZ) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

this game was too hard to learn and feel like you have a lot of control. its all eruo teams too, for some reason i thought there would be Brazil but then i read the title. when i rented all i saw was soccer game. This game is very hard to be good at and got too frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »