Rent Two Worlds II for PS3
view large frontback

Two Worlds II

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.0

2470 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Give it a chance!

posted by MikeOckizard (KALAMAZOO, MI) Feb 20, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

50 out of 51 gamers (98%) found this review helpful

I'm not going to tell you that this game is as good as an Elder Scrolls game or anything like that, but if you give it some time (takes about 5-6 hours to get good), then I think most people will find it really enjoyable. I honestly could not stand the game in the beginning. The tutorial was WAY too long, and the game started off really slow. Once the world opens up and you start exploring and doing quests though, the game really starts to shine.

Here are some of the positives and negatives I have found in the game:

High points:
+Graphics can look really nice with the right tweaks.(use the console commands to remove fog, blur, and change the lighting, and you will be amazed!) I wish more console games would allow console commands!
+The lockpicking and thieving aspects are some of the best I have seen in an RPG.
+Crafting and upgrading of weapons and armor is amazing! TONS of variety in weapons and armor, and the ability to customize them adds a ton of depth.
+Landscapes and enemies are quite varied. I love that there are normal animals like cheetahs, baboons, and rhinos, to go along with the mythical creatures and monsters.
+Quests are varied, and most are actually quite good.
+Leveling. Oblivion could learn a few things from this game. Higher level creatures are unlocked slowly, but lower level ones stick around. You actually start to feel real powerful later in the game.

Low points:
-The game progression can feel a bit linear at times. It took me probably 20 hours before I could wear any heavy armor because no one would sell it before then. Also, many skills and weapons require much higher levels, so you are forced to level up skills you don't want to, and use equipment you don't like until you are higher level.
-Voice acting. Ugghh, seriously the worst aspect of the game.
-Animation and combat lacks punch. Feels like weapons don't hit.

Overall if you like RPG's, I think you will enjoy this game if you are willing to really give it a chance

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Give it time, it's great...

posted by piggiepie (DALLAS, TX) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

68 out of 81 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

This game is a real gem if you allow itself to reveal its qualities. To begin with the game is very slow. So slow that you begin to over analyze the graphics and character movements in anticipation that this will be how the game goes. I was in this boat, struck with disappointment that this was a potential bust. Choppy cut scenes, PS2 character movements and sensitive controls.

I trekked on and began to get into the story and figured out the lay of the land. Before long all that was disappointing went right out the window and I found myself sitting in front of a really good deep game. There is so much to do and so much to see/explore. The choppy cut scenes got less noticeable and the controls begin to click after a little experience grinding. Now I am flying through the land having a blast and having trouble fighting the urges to get back and play it.

The combat system is very enjoyable after you increase the particular style you will be using. You start off basic so the system seems basic and lackluster. Give it time. The scenery is wonderful. You can ride a horse (controls fine), sail (ditto) and play a violin for cash. This game has a ton to offer. Get through the first hour or so of the game laying out the scenario for you and you will be pleasantly surprised by what it has to offer. It has its flaws but everything does, learn to appreciate the good in things more than the bad in things and you will enjoy life more. Beneath these small flaws lies a game screaming for you to drift away from real world problems and enjoy your moment of peace. Enjoy…

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great RPG

posted by SimianRage (FISHERS, IN) Jan 30, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

32 out of 42 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

I play almost every RPG available on the 360, and I have to say Two Worlds II is one of my favorites. Honestly I haven't been able to stop playing it. Yes, the first few hours were frustrating because the controls are relatively complicated, and out of the box the HUD elements were off the screen until I found the "safe area" setting. It certainly doesn't have the polish of more notable games, but the game play makes up for it. I think the #1 feature is the super fast load times. Games like Fallout and Oblivion were agonizing at time just due to slow loads. The loot / crafting system is also a big plus. Here's my litmus test - can I sit down and play a game for hours without getting bored? With Two Worlds II so far, yes.

I'm not giving this game a 9 on its technical merits, but on it's value as an RPG to a big RPG fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Jan 27, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

25 out of 41 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

This has to be the best RPG game out there... Anyone who has played Two Worlds on the PC would know the game is a lot like Fable and Oblivion - Placed together... However, the map is far larger then any RPG game out there.

In this game you assume the role of a Warrior that is aiding the Orcs--a race that was nearly eradicated from the world of Antaloor--redeem their culture that was wrongfully accused. The Warrior is also attempting to find his sister, who was abducted by the tainted evil ruler... Once you home your skills nothing stands in your way...

The title has a lot of folklore in it... There is a clever abstract idea, in Two Worlds II. The developers have dinosaurs in Two Worlds II -- As well as dragons, it cliche's nicely with the old Dragon slaying -- medieval era that hollywood endorses. But then who knows.. maybe knights use to slay dinosaurs back in that era?..

Beautiful graphics -- MASSIVE WORLD... You never find many ambient worlds that are very large; have no loading screen; allowing you to free roam, without restraints... The developers have created a rich, lush world - Filled with colorful foliage, that really creates the Two Worlds II ambient world, nicely. You can go anywhere, and really need to make use of the horse.
You are able to craft things(of-ALL-sorts) - Take apart/break down swords and craft swords/axes/maces/bows/arrows/ect... ; create potions with ingredients you find in the landsides; adjust your armor/clothes in anyway you like.. Billions of things you can craft in this game.

Multiplayer is set aside for co-op and other competitive modes.. You can go online and play with some friends on quests not a part of the single player game.

The game now has better controls for everything, aiming with bow & arrows; you can now pick a lock; you can now block attacks... The renovations of the game, makes the title more practical...
The controls are not hard to adjust too.

This game is Amazing... You will want to buy it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

eh

posted by TrainOAwesome (WACO, TX) Dec 21, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the story, but once you beat it, there's nor=thing left to do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great RPG

posted by iamsean83 (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Feb 7, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is great, sure the cut scenes are mediocre at best. Other than that this game is a RPG, good amount of game time, tons of stuff to do, Everybody these days are all about fast twitch gaming and this is not for you. Making it past the first hour or two is key to really enjoying this game, the spell system gets deep and is very satisfying for those who like lots of customization. These days RPG's are dying because of the gaming base. Give this great RPG a chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sub par

posted by Tigey75 (TOMS RIVER, NJ) Feb 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

14 out of 25 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This game is a mockery to all quality RPGs. If you enjoyed Oblivion, Dragon Age, Fallout III, or even Final Fantasy, this game will destroy your hopes. The combat system is a joke, and seems ten years out of date. The character movements are awkward, and the bad conversations take you right out of the story. Only reason not give one star is the armor development is interesting. Overall, a failure

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Expect perfection and your always let down.

posted by WADGamer (ANSONIA, CT) Feb 3, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I myself am a fairly angry gamer. I do admit to becoming frustrated very easily. This game has supplied me plenty of points where I announce for my neighbors "WHAT THE !#$% WAS THAT ALL ABOUT????"
The lock picking has made me squeeze my controller hard enough to hear plastic cracking, the buggy movement has me palming my face and breathing deep slow breaths to calm my self for the 6th attempt to get onto a ledge or a rock. Watching old dubbed to English Japanese movies has better sync with the lips for the dialogue. But with all of that said, if you don't play a few hours into the game, gain experience, skills, better gear and spells, you will never see the true quality of this game. It isn't perfect, no game is. 14 hours into the game and I do enjoy playing it, I have learned to use my skills effectively and have little to no trouble overcoming tough situations. The graphics are not bad by any standards if you take the time to look around. If you are playing on a high def television then it should not be hard to see that. Comparing games to other games is irrelevant, each game is its own specific experience and trying to say things like, Oblivion was a better game is like trying to say apples taste better than ham. Oblivion is an RPG as is Two Worlds, but an apple is food, as is ham. They are just different.
For all the bad there is to be said, and there is plenty. If you cant see and have fun with the good in the game. Then you are likely not capable of enjoying many games out there today. I recommend renting this game before buying it because I am not sure there will be much replay ability, but it is worth playing through once. To the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Terribly bad

posted by RAMBOSOTE (TAMPA, FL) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love how some of these people just have nothing but negative things to say about a game, they have problably only played for 20minutes do us all a favor and shut your yap.

Two worlds 2 has flaws, controls are glitchy, graphics are not the best and the map coulda been done better, and combat is a bit lame, specially as a mage were monsters run away and pluck you with arrows while you fight a second monster.

But if you are a true rpg player you will see past some of these issues and just straight play for quest and leveling wich is what im doing and im enjoying it so far.

Btw please fix the pick locking in this game ever chest or drawer needs to be picked and then looted again so you can get the goodies what a huge time waster.
I hope some updates will fix some of these problems and make the game more enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Sequel to a cheap knock off

posted by lamefly (LOS GATOS, CA) Mar 7, 2011

Member since May 2010

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Two Worlds II is... junk (Gamefly is a female dog about language on here so that's the worst you'll get out of me). Compared to the first steaming pile of excrement, though, it's not bad. It's at least playable. The first installment made it back to the Hollywood Video the day after I rented it. This one... lasted a little longer. I guess I'm bored, or I'm tired of Gamefly getting something for nothing with my money. You can play Two Worlds 2, but you probably won't like it unless you're high.

It's fun to play with the subtitles on and see how much the voice actors had to ad lib, unless they're doing it right and whoever was in charge of subtitles had a problem with fluent English... I don't know. This game is broken some of the time, you can get through pretty much everything with enough jumping and... yeah. Not much more to say. Rent if you're bored, purchase if you have too much money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It is ALMOST a really good game...

posted by Grizzledog (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Feb 9, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The story is ok, the graphics are ok... I even endured the choppy frame rates, grainy movement, the cinematics that look as though they were attempting to be run on an old 486 computer, the bad voice acting that got cut off at times, and the bad interface that just feels uncomfortable. Even with ALL that said, it was almost a good game! I loved and enjoyed Dragon Age, and this game is not quite to that level. The combat is frustrating and feels unnatural, the special moves and magic are kind of lame, but armor and weapon leveling is kind of cool. Two Worlds was a joke, Two Worlds 2 was a much better attempt, and I am sure if they make a third that it will be much better. It's a shame that with just a few well placed changes that this would be a solid RPG...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sucks early on, but you will be rewarded...

posted by KMA2k10 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Feb 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Im not going to lie, i let the negative reviews affect me, i was starting this expecting it to really suck, & low & behold the first few hours really do suck. It starts slow, buggy, clunky, ugly, & just a mess. But if you force yourself to stick with it (I had no other games so i had no choice) the games get atually very good. I had this as a followup to Mass Effect 2 so the compairson is unfair.

If you want an honest opinion & comparison.

This is a updated (graphically) version of Elder Scroll: Oblivion

Comparisons to Oblivion:

The Good:
-Better graphics
-More than 4 peoples voices
-more people to deal with
-Loot system better in some ways (breaking down equipment is fun)
-Loading times are almost non existant

The Bad:
-Complete & utter lack of direction, i spent the first 7+ hours just figuring out what was going on, quests dont really give you any direction. Ive spent lots of time trying to figure out what im supposed to do next because its kinda up to you to figure it out.
-The game graphics & avatars in the begginig looked horible but progrsivelly got better as the game went on, which is much like the game strangely enough
-The controls seem clunky & non responsive at times
-My biggest complaint there is no lock on feature for an emeny, you can keep swinging at air because an enemy has moved its quite anoying

The more i play this game the more i just think if i didnt know the bethesda formula so well i wouldnt be able to tell the difference between this & oblivion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

They said they made it better?

posted by hiiiiiiiii (SOUTHGATE, MI) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2006

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game is mediocre at best. Character models are fine, melee combat is alright, ranged and magic, are plain terrible. Lip sync and sound sync during cut scenes are DREADFUL, most of the time during cut scenes it sounds like they are using a push-to-talk in ventrilio, it will cut off the last second or so of the word. This game is, as i said before, mediocre at best, but is only a minor improvement from the last. Seems like they spent more time making the graphics look good, then they did making animations correct, and spending more than 5 minutes on voice acting. Game is terribly laggy and has multiple graphical glitches.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just terrible.

posted by Harry_Botter (CANTON, GA) Feb 12, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

7 out of 17 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

Where to start? First off this game is a decent looking game, i will give it that. That is where it stops being good for me. The camera is just terrible, the way it moves when you sprint is disorienting and confusing, (in my opinion). The voice acting is atrocious and the way the characters move their bodies while talking is just painful. The combat system left a lot to be desired and seemed unfinished to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

High hopes.. Not met!

posted by McWise1 (LORAIN, OH) Jan 30, 2011

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This game got my hopes up I wont lie. I'm a big fan of RPG's and after the flop the first game was, plus the promises from developers over a new game, got me excited. Quickly i was let down. Campaign, extremely long cut scenes, lack of quest info, buggy combat, and lack of display on enemy lvls makes campaign both long and frustrating.

Online which i had high hopes for mostly, Is more like titan quest. Just 6-8 maps, all not very long. Lack of players make it so you never get into groups with same levels. theres also pvp but wouldn't recommend it due to lack of same lvls online.

I do not recommend this game. On top of the mentioned issues i had, the game just isn't fun to play.. Locks you in for maybe 10 hours then you feel like you've wasted to much time playing a game that lacks in almost every category.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

lackluster

posted by Rballer (LAKEWOOD, CO) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I admittedly did not give this game much more than an hour before sending it back. It may get better if you have the patience to endure.

For me, if I am expecting to embark on an epic adventure, one that will take 40+ hours of gameplay, I require clean cut scenes, quality character graphics, and well done voice overs.

After 10 minutes I had already suffered through several cut scenes in which objects would randomly appear and disappear (i.e. wall sconces, columns, tapestries), extremely choppy frames, and some of the worst dialogue to lip movement matching I have ever seen.

Also, some of the characters looked like they were straight from the PS1 days. The ogre prophet chick's face is a good example of this.

There were some redeeming qualities such as the environment looking pretty good and it seemed like the different character classes would have a nice variety to offer in time.

I simply could not endure the horrific downsides to this game for 40+ hours of gameplay. I couldn't even do it for two for that matter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible game

posted by McKrush (PHILO, CA) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

5 out of 19 gamers (26%) found this review helpful

Graphics look alright but the frame rate is horrible. Control is horrible and way too sensitive even after making adjustments in setting. Having to jump up to ledges is annoying because it happens way too often. Not a fan of the item icons. Voice acting is horrible. Not interested in finishing the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not good.

posted by ddg4284 (PIERRE, SD) Jan 30, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

5 out of 20 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I'll be honest, I played this game about 40 minutes, and if it can't catch your attention in that timeframe, it probably never will. I never heard of this game before renting, the opening cinematic was cool, but the game quickly went downhill.

The controls for the game were not good, and gave little to no tutorial on how to play. I typically have an open mind for a game like this, but this game started so boring and the inventory was way to confusing. I don't like to rate games so low, but this was well deserving of that. Voice acting, terrible, controls, terrible, story, ok, graphics, good. At least sync the mouths with the words being spoken.

So to summarize, this game might have been ok on the PS2, but it is WELL below PS3 standards. I do not recomment it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Eh.....

posted by Crick118 (CINNAMINSON, NJ) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

5 out of 21 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

While this is a Far superior game than their last one. It has a lot of graphic glitches. Lip sync is worse than Godzilla vs. Mothra Dubbed. And combat, movement and... well controls over all are just really sensitive and again glitchy. Character development is great and is much easier than the original. If you can get past a lot of it's downfalls you may really enjoy the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I have beaten it. Rent it, dont buy

posted by IAmSam (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Jan 28, 2011

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I did every quest possible. Spent 3 days playing it obsessively. It is a fun game though in the END it leaves you with a sour taste. This game is a hack and slash. As it is not reasonable to try and be a mage or archer when warrior does more damage, has greater survivability and so on. This game is at most a 25 hour game. At the least it could be done in 19. I beat it in 22. Its worth playing but rent it only. have fun, slash em up, but dont expect much for an ending. WTB a good writer for these things.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not what I expectd...

posted by FFXI101 (MINOT, ND) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I was going to buy this game but decided I'll rent it first.

After installed the game I was really excited and looking forward to play. However after about two hours into gameplay I stopped, I didn't like the game at all. I had more fun going back to play WKC.

I'd suggest to rent it first, don't spend money to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Still a work in progress....

posted by MrShikenai (PERRY, FL) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is well...not what I expected. I watched a few vids of it, combat looked amazing and the mage/warrior/assassin skills were just pure fun especially necromancy....but sadly it seems they spent all their time working on the graphics and combat animations. Now I'm not saying don't try...you might like it, but overall I'd rather just stick with good ole' Oblivion or wait for Skyrim. This game just isn't worth the time and effort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What Garbage!

posted by bobaluga (MANHATTAN, IL) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

5 out of 22 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

I would compare the graphics to a PS2 game. Not only is the character animation laughable it does not even match the dialogue. The dialogue itself is a joke. The character movement/control is atrocious. Do not waste time on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Looks like it would be fun...

posted by gamesrlife (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Jan 29, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

if I could stand to play it. I like a lot about this game; the skill system, and the crafting system in particular. However the game is basically unplayable for me due to getting unreasonable amounts of lag. The game noticeably lags if you try to look around to fast and forget trying to ride a horse. The game stops to load every couple seconds while riding, way to go designing a game that doesn't work well with the specs of a PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sucks

posted by Tunzof420 (BINGHAMTON, NY) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

5 out of 24 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

Its amazing it took reality pump this long to produce such a terrible game the character animation for there speech and movement is terrible the graphics they use could be compared to a ps2 game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse