Rent Twisted Metal for PS3
view large frontback

Twisted Metal

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

GF Rating
5.9

4343 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Enough stress to break a ps3 controller.

posted by cLeonhart (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Mar 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

22 out of 25 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Ive been playing the TM series since the PS1 days and I must say the creators did an amazing job with environmental destruction and detail to vehicles. Though the story lines are short they show the twisted tales of 3 characters maybe 4 tops. The game should of added more characters, rather than 4 characters and a few vehicles. Some in which you would never use so your limited to what you can use.

I have a major problem with the AI system. I have manage to beat the game after many attempts, but the frustration of the AI perfect shot accuracy and only targeting YOU can get quite annoying. At least in TM Black the AI fought itself along with you.

Some levels have should of never made it to the game such as...racing?

Sorry why would you add racing to a game that is about destruction and dominating your opponent by blowing them up to pieces and running over their flaming corpses. HORRIBLE idea.

Another issue i had were the boss battles. Especially Iron Maiden. Its pure luck to win the battle. Dying in this fight will result in a retry and your weapons reset back to 5 shots. In that fight Iron Maiden will move away from you causing you to leave the playing field. Without spoiling anything you cannot leave the playing field for too long or you fail. with no ammo to your disposal how can you even win. So after braking a ps3 controller over this and many hours of attempting I won by ambushing Iron Maiden with the ONE LIFE i had.

She is not the final boss so dont think it ends there. The final boss is just as bad especially with useless obstacle courses.

All I'm saying is, if you want your moneys worth just get online and fight. Other than that this game is not what i recommend. TM Black is still the best TM in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Controls Controls Controls!!!

posted by twinnmann (LAWRENCE, MA) Mar 1, 2012

Member since May 2011

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

this game brought back good memories but thats it! the controls take way to long to master. the characters are limited and the specials are all dumbed down. its like they rushed the game. twisted metal black was and still is the best tm game ever made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dented Metal

posted by D0CT0R (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I have been waiting 6 years for a TM title on PS3, PSP got one on release and PS2 had one pretty quickly. If I have to wait 6 years for a major title like Twisted Metal (Or GT5 COUGH COUGH) then it had better be amazing! This leaves me wanting. I have heard people say "Stop whining about online passes" but they are $10 and that is something I consider when buying games. It's a cheap way around their policy of not charging for PSN... We'll just charge our customers $10 for every account they want to use past the 1st on their consoles... It's cheap and thus affects the ratings I give those games.

ASIDE from that Twisted Metal has bad AI, practically no story, the weapons are a disappointment, the levels are actually less complicated then before and don't have as many secret/hidden zones. I liked the general concept of the game, but I found myself thinking that ModNation would be more fun to play than Twisted Metal if I want my weaponized racing game fix...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game is fun, but at the same time, annoying.

posted by jonathan28 (DUNDALK, MD) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

One minute they're showing sweeth tooth losing his right eye in a cut scene, suddenly he's without a left eye.. ? Then they show him with his right eye cut out? Are they dumb? Someone didn't pay attention.... At first it was fun but I just got to the level with the whole 'changing cage' thing, ABSOLUTELY FRUSTRATING. The cage changes every five seconds (the area you need to stay in, if not you lose health) and you have to rush to the other. You have a set amount of time to be out of the cage. If you exceed that time, your health goes down extremely fast. Gotta take a hardcore TM fan to love this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mediocre at Best

posted by JuicyJews (COLUMBUS, GA) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I've been a fan of Twisted Metal ever since they released the first one back in 95 and Twisted Metal 2 in 96. After that the series slowly but surely declined until Twisted Metal Black. Now with the release of Twisted Metal for PS3 I was having very high hopes for this one. I hated how they made the story revolve around 3 characters only. Where are all my other beloved characters and their stories!?? YellowJacket, Minion, Axel?? The art style could've been better in the cutscenes. This new Twisted Metal was made with multiplayer being the prime attraction this time around. Only problem with that is, when you're like me and rent games from gamely you can't play online without that stupid online code they make you buy for $10. So Im stuck with either buying a $10 pass for a game I don't even own, or going out and buying the game for the full retail value of $59.99. Its just not worth it. If multiplayer is your thing, then it might be worth the extra buck, but in my opinion Twisted Metal has always been about the single player experience and the stories that come with it. David Jaffe dropped the ball with that one. Please take time fixing the single player portion in the next one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good game worst race

posted by nathan12 (KENNESAW, GA) Mar 2, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

everything in the story is fine until you get to the last chapter where you have to do a stupid race with going off bridges and crashing into pillars the best part is the game designers probably laghing his beep off with all the tricks he can pull out of his beep hole

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Online pass required says it all...

posted by DrJess (ESTACADA, OR) Feb 28, 2012

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The need for an online pass makes it that I will not buy this game, just like EA games... The offline mode is OK, but short in story mode. In challenge mode, it is quite pointless. Had brief fun, but sent it back before the end of the story mode due to lack of interest...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

twisted metal review

posted by samurai_kyo45 (THORNTON, CO) Feb 16, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

After 10 or 12 years absence twisted metal has made its return to the PS3. I didn't have too much high hopes for this game but I wanted to try out this classic after 12 years absence. The main story is short its should may take a hardcore gamer maybe 8 or less hours to beat the game is mostly based on the online play which I expected.

Good:
The good parts I have to say is that the makers stayed old school where you can have 4 or 2 players on slit screen playing the main story.

There always things to crush into or blow up so there is endless chaos.

The robot sweet tooth and the helicopter are interesting new cars but it takes a while to get use to on the
control.

The bad
The bad I kind of have to say is that the controls takes little getting use to but that hardly matters.

There are a few bugs here and there like see though wall and such but I haven't came across too much of that.

The fun factory dies after a few hours unless your playing with friends.

Overall twisted metal come back after 12 or so years I have to say its not to bad but I would recommend blowing only $20 for it. Its one of those classic nice to have as a trophy to me its good to see good old sweet tooth in the flash again. I would also like to add is this at least its better then Duke Nukem remake.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth it

posted by HuldanMeGroyn (ATTLEBORO, MA) Aug 22, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Controls are clunky at best
Gameplay is monotonous and not even close to as good as the originals
AI focuses solely on you -- doesn't even consider it's other opponents (point of a "tournament?")
Graphics/particles are equivalent to PS2 gameplay (are we not using a PS3??)

Overall, this game was a poor remake of a legendary franchise. TM is what got me into the weaponized race games and this title was an epic failure before I even popped it into my PS. Maybe if I felt like dropping the $10 for online play it would have been a different story, but it wasn't worth finding out. I'm glad I didn't buy this game like I was going to in February. It would have been a complete waste of time and money for little to no return value, not to mention that replay value is non-existant since you won't even care to play through it the first time, nevermind a 2nd or 3rd.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

My Twisted, Twisted Metal Review.

posted by RoughDivide (CADILLAC, MI) Jul 31, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I am a die hard old school Twisted Metal fan, there was nothing better than playing good o'l spectre for me in the past and flyin just into range to use his special missiles then fly out.

I was very dissappointed to find out Spectre was removed from the game entirely.

I did enjoy playing with the new Outlaw character up until about the 4th mission in the story line.

The storyline was very dissapointing to me and lacked on all fronts. It was definitely Twisted, but not very entertaining.

The BIGGEST letdown for me was not the cage match mentioned in other reviews, even though that was hard it was good to finaly beat and feel that feeling of accomplishment. However you are then thrust into a Racing mission. Yes Twisted Metal has added Racing into its main story line. To stand a chance on these Racing missions you have to play them over and over until you pretty much Memorize the entire map you are racing on, and of course are pretty much forced to taking a vehicle with high speed and low armor. So much for playing a game where you can just drive around and blow things up :P

The racing missions were a total show stopper for me. If i knew that they were in this i would not have rented the game period as going from destroy and drive to memorize a map and dont miss a gate is totally out of Genre for this game type. If thats what i wanted there are tons of racing games i could have picked from.

Thumbs down from me, and i was SO excited to see this released. Now i am just dissapointed. If you are going to rent this game for just the shooting destruction of the old quality TM games, be aware up front that it soon shifts to racing and will have you pulling your hair out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Twisted Metal = Fail

posted by Tirade (GLENDALE, CA) Apr 9, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Popped Disc in. Started a New campaign. Watched the movie. Game play begins, no tutorial to how to use the horrible controls, all enemy cars gang up on me, shooting me and smashing into me. I can't drive 20 feet without being blown up and flipped over. I go through all three of my available cars, I manage to kill one car before I'm dead. Pop the disc out. Back in the envelope, back to Gamefly. Fail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKS!!!!!

posted by anccle7 (CORDOVA, TN) Mar 8, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

i received the game on a wednesday played it for like 30min. i couldnt wait till thursday came so i could give it a rush delivery back to game fly dont like the game at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

MAJOR let down.

posted by CaliDSM13 (WICHITA, KS) Feb 28, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I was very excited to see a new Twisted Metal, because I loved the series. BUT, after I got this new one, it turned out to be completely ridiculous. For one, I looked at the controls, and my jaw dropped. I couldn't even think about memorizing them before I played. Two, the difficulty, even on the easiest setting, was outrageous. I would compare it to playing MW3 with one hand, because that's just about the damage you can do. I was getting ambushed and destroyed within SECONDS. I couldn't even find ammo before I was done for. And three, the way the weapons were operated was not helpful in any way, and also just a little too complicated.

Basic breakdown::: Don't get me wrong, it was cool and all, but it was the fact that it was hectic fast, way too difficult at the lowest level, and pretty confusing trying to find and fire weapons, especially when you need or want to use a certain one. This, all with really complicated controls. But hey, at least it looked awesome, ...right?

So have fun if you're up to it, but I would definitely rent it before you go out and buy it and end up with a controller inside you're TV.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad, but not great.

posted by ZeroCS (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 19, 2012

Member since May 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

In short, any old school Twisted Metal fan might play this one and feel something lacking, and that something is the more arcadish feel to playing that TM gave way back in the day. Now the controls are too confusing and the storylines are made out like a movie. Its not bad at all, but its not the Twisted Metal most fans would recognize.

And what is this online pass nonsense? I wait over a decade for a classic game to be reintroduced to the current gen and I actually have to buy it to test out online play? Nice job respecting the fans there Sony, its obvious now this was brought back as a cash cow rather than to respect the novelty it provided years ago.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Blah.

posted by BadLarry (DEER PARK, NY) Mar 11, 2012

Member since Jun 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Bland last-gen graphics, unlikable game modes, and only 3 characters for story mode make this an over-hyped mediocre entry. This is all they can do in a decade? I think I'll go back and play Duke Nukem Forever.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible game

posted by Diablo2437 (MIDDLETOWN, IN) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was pretty bad. The controls are incredibly hard and you can hardly move without being blown up. I would strongly advise not to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pity

posted by tailsjmu (WINDERMERE, FL) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

A lot of game designers are now going the route of the "online pass" and "redeeming codes" from your game case.

This, of course, is a large flaw in how the Gamefly system works. This is a good game if you like Twisted Metal; however, the fact that you can't get online to play with friends with this rental without purchasing an extra pass is a game breaker. If you're a hardcore Twisted Metal fan, buy it. Renting it only allows you to play possibly 30% of the game.

I should say I liked Twisted Metal: Black more..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ugh

posted by ZebisJeb (MISSOULA, MT) Mar 17, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is THE one PS3 exclusive I'm glad that I didn't bother to buy... wouldn't spend a dollar to keep this title. It's a cluster of computer AI teaming up solely on you making it a constant "what's hitting me now?" and, "I'm glad that's over" when you finish a level. Story mode was interesting with Sweet Tooth, but the whole "Mortal Combat with Vehicles" feel it was vibing, not a fan. Glad I sent this back, and glad I've learn to give up on impulse buys. NOTE: never was a fan of the series, maybe if you are it just becomes bipartisan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Certainly don't buy this... I wouldn't ren

posted by Tleguard (SALEM, OH) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Easily one of the worst games I have ever played. Unless you have ADD, which fortunately for game manufacturers is becoming a larger portion of the population, this game will only frustrate you. You barely have time to learn what the weapons do in battle before six cars are shooting you from all directions. This causes you to flip wildly across the map. The whole game reminds me of when a 2 year old takes two toy vehicles, sits on the floor and proceeds to smash the two cars into one and other violently for a half an hour. The games isn't even worth waiting the 4 days for it to come from Gamefly. Don't rent it. Don't bother with it... especially if you have children. I began playing the twisted metals at about the age of 11 or 12 and since then my sick sense of humor has only further degenerated. This game even for me is disgusting and I can find a redeeming quality in A Clockwork Orange. That is what originally attracted me to the game. The characters from the original game had some sort of redeeming quality to why they were competing in the competition. Yet Calypso proved in the end to show the competitors that wishes do not make your life what you expect them too much like original stories of genies. Sweet Tooth's character... spoiler alert... is a man who murdered his entire family except his daughter and his one wish is to find her and murder her. I have no interest in finding out how this story plays out. I already sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

used to luv this series, now i'm just vry angr

posted by stayfrosty2GQ (Asheville, NC) Feb 19, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

14 out of 24 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

I never write reviews but I wanted to save some of you the frustration and anger that I have gone through for the past week. 1st) you need an online pass to play humans-sux. 2nd) Alot of the game is good but certain points will have you close to breaking your tv. Example: u'll hav a chek point race further in the game that requires u to memorize the locations of the chekpoints after several attempts, if after 8 hours u actually make it to the last checkpoint a car hits you and u fly so far out of the way its impossible to win now; and this will happen 100s of times, and ur anger will grow until you scream obscenities at you dog for wlking around, or ur woman for talking to u. Then u'll get to the point where u throw ur controller, take the game out and come very close to breking it. save urself the trouble and rent something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Remembering why better games are made

posted by catchacase (HILLSBORO, OR) Feb 20, 2012

Member since Mar 2006

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Twisted metal starts out good. It has a variety of vehicles and weapons a-plenty. It has those classic elements of the old twisted metals that you know and love. Cars destroying other cars. The story of the different characters is dark and wonderful. However, it hits a few snags.

The dark story, has to be played in order, and you only get the story of 3 characters out of all the possibilities. Second, the environmental weapons that used to be in the arena are gone. Still a sold game, then it makes some major unforgiving errors.

1) it tries to be a racing game. Twisted metal was never about racing and never should be. Especially when the last race is not setup in a common sense method, but the computer knows exactly where to go to hit the next checkpoint...oh and it never falls either...yeah, super.

2) The boss battles which start as fun, turn really awful fast. At one point you fight a giant robot and you dont really have any idea what to do unless you have played multiplayer..lame. The last boss battle is an simply an exercise in frustration.

I wanted to finish the game, but the last boss area was simply too arbitrarily hard to be enjoyable. So much for my youth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Twisted, in all the wrong ways.

posted by Forsvaine (VANCOUVER, WA) Feb 20, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

13 out of 24 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

I do not recommend renting this game. The single-player is a nightmare of annoying AI that seems designed only to ruin your day. Most of the time, the combat will revolve around whether or not it's you or the AI that spams EMP missiles. I was playing Sweet Tooth and I could not tell you how many times I used his car's Special Ability to turn into Megas XLR only to get immediately EMPed by a cheap little AI with attacks that are accurate 98% of the time.

One nitpick I have for this game is the default control scheme. Rather than picking the trigger buttons which are intentionally designed for things such as driving in games, Eat Sleep Play thought it acceptable to set it to the cardinal buttons like X and Square rather than using the triggers that can actually control your driving speed. For a game focused primarily around driving, this is a step backwards.

Speaking of driving, don't even get me started on the races that aren't meant for the game. Rather than actually trying to win the race, AI constantly fires at you to try and kill you or knock you off the road, with enemies even determining not to win the race solely so that they can keep you from finishing. This isn't the only gimmicky mode that's crowbarred into the single-player for the sake of pretending to be innovative, either.

The only thing I can recommend in the single-player are the cute, psychotic and dark little stories behind each character, which aren't really that impressively written anyway. They're poorly paced and far too brief, much like the story. This would be okay if the gameplay could save it.

The irony behind this game is that even David Jaffe himself - director of the Twisted Metal series and former employee of Eat Sleep Play - said that the single-player is not worth $60 on Podtoid. Bottom line to Sony: either make sure the single-player is worth it, or take your online pass and shove it. If a single-player is supposed to sell you on a game, then Twisted Metal has failed treme

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

IGN Had it Right

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

How could you not love a game where you blow up other cars and reek havoc throughout a good handful of maps with a huge selection of weapons all to heavy metal music?

Gameplay:
Awesome. The multiplayer should take Call of Duty's spotlight as central online multiplayer game. Its incredibly addicting. The single player is definitely a challenge and the control scheme takes a minute to get used to. Give it an hour or two and you'll be hooked.

Graphics:
Its style is different. Dark live action cut scene are a welcomed addition. They have a visual style that gives the game a personality. The graphics of the actual gameplay are decent enough too. They're not on par with Uncharted, Battlefield, God of War or Rage but not many games really can say they are. The graphics are far from mediocre.

Story:
The low point of this game. Its story mode is only 2-3 hours long and the story isn't all that interesting (or prominent for that matter.) I haven't played the previous Twisted Metal games, but I wasn't really expecting much of a story from a game like this.

Pros:
+ Multiplayer
+ Soundtrack
+ Visual style

Cons:
- Story was weak
- Difficulty curb thins out this games audience

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Aweful

posted by AutoEuphoria (MIDLAND, MI) Feb 17, 2012

Member since May 2011

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

I used to love playing the twisted metal games as a child (older child, mind you...like early teens). Loved the bit of humor, loved the gameplay. I am really disappointed with what this game has been made into. I'm OK with the really dark twist. I think that fits the game style. But the game itself is terrible. WAY too complicated (too many buttons to press at any given time to do anything), an unbelievably frustrating "race" mode, too few weapons scattered around, dumb additions like the Juggernauts that drop new enemies until you destroy them. Stupid game modes that make you chase after a constantly moving "safe zone". They just made the game too complicated, and that's what I LOVED about the original games - they were simple to pick up and play, and a ton of fun. This game is not fun at all.

The ONLY saving grace is the cinematic sequences, which are generally very well done and tell very dark stories in a very compelling way. However, skip the frustration and just watch the videos on YouTube.

I do have to say that I only played single player offline, so I'm not sure if the experience changes online. This is purely a review of the single player offline content.

I gave it a 4 for the movies...the rest is just not worth the frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible rent

posted by Terran (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 18, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

12 out of 24 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I walked into this knowing there was gonna be a online pass, what i didn't expect is them locking out online COMPLETELY. No 2 day trials no lvl cap and a story(or lack of compared to past TM) that takes a few hours to complete (along with bad AI).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse