Rent Turok for PS3
view large frontback

Turok

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.0

2301 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A True Review for an overall Good Game

posted by BmwFreak (HACKETT, AR) Feb 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

65 out of 78 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Why is everyone complaining? This is a solid 8.5 game that has no problems with gameplay, visuals, or sound at all. The Graphics are excellent, the sound sets the mood better than most any other game created, and the game plays smooth and fluid.

I personally love the button control scheme. What is so wrong with a company saying, "Hey, every FPS in the market uses R1 and L1 for the trigger, but why can't we use R2 and L2 instead?" The only difference between Turok's buttons and CoD is the trigger button. If you can't play Turok because R2 and L2 are the trigger then your not a true gamer anyways. Adapt. Turok is a different game than CoD and so should be its control scheme.

As far as I'm concerned Turok is more original than CoD. CoD is a Standard Warfare game that has you follow a specific route, run here, shoot everybody that runs out, then run there, and repeat cycle. I've never played a single FPS creature/monster game that has the creatures attack both you and the enemy soldiers, its completely original. There is so much more to this game than just run through the level and kill everybody single handed and then advance to the next level. If you find that your heavily outnumbered shoot a flare into an enemy group, then sit back and watch a Raptor tear them to pieces. Then run in and dispatch of the remaining Dinos or Soldiers. This is a Stealth game with James Bond Action areas.

Another thing I seem to see gamers complain about is the long checkpoint times. Quit Complaining. I'm tired of playing a game that saves every two minutes like CoD for example. If I died in CoD no big deal cause I would restart at the exact area I died. Where's the reason to stay alive in a game if I know I'll just restart from where I died? In Turok your pushed to become a better player or suffer the punishment by having to replay the last 10 minutes of insane action. I love it! If you don't want to restart then don't die.

This is a must play that is unlike any other title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game

posted by xander1972 (FAIRBORN, OH) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

17 out of 20 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Whenever I asked someone if they had played Turok, the answer usually sounded something like "The new one? or the good one on N64?" That discouraged me for quite awhile from trying this game. Then I decided, what the heck, put it in the Q and lets see what happens.
From the very first set of cut scenes, before any gameplay, there was one thing that made me say, "This game shows some promise." Two words - Ron Perlman. NICE!! I LOVE THAT GUY!! There are few that do better sarcastic humor than Ron. If you don't know who he is, (HOW? WHY?) it's Hellboy, or for you older folks, Beast from the old Beauty and the Beast TV series.
Anyway, once you get into the game, the storyline itself is pretty cool, and the gameplay is pretty much like every other shooter on the market. Of course being Turok, there had to be lots of dinos, and I must say, overall they were done pretty well. It would have been nice to see a few more non-lethal ones though, maybe a Triceratops or Stegosaurus in there somewhere, but I guess we can't have it all. Of course there are evil humans trying to get you as well, who bare a striking resemblance to Helghast from Killzone might I add.
Overall, the graphics are pretty darn good the AI of the humans is better than I've seen in a lot of nextgen shooters, the dino AI however, not quite as good, you can kill pretty much every raptor with your knife if you time it right.
Overall though, I really enjoyed Turok, and by the way, the cast doesn't end with Perlman, Timothy Olyphant, Powers Booth, and lil Donnie Wahlberg join in the fun too. Not too shabby.
So don't listen to your friends, give it a rent. You won't regret it. Wow that was a long review.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good graphics...good story...but just not the same

posted by Vertisce (TOOELE, UT) Feb 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I remember playing Turok on the N64 with my buddies back in the day. The weapons were awesome and the dinosaurs as enemies were loads of fun to kill. The new Turok...just doesn't have what the old one used to. The controls are fine and the story is actually pretty decent but it lacks in originality. While the graphics look great they also look a little off...too much shine and glare to everything. The AI is not all that great...seems like you can get just about any enemy to run in circles. The weapons are pretty standard. Nothing new with weapons at all. Sure you got your bow, your knife, shotty...and so on, but that's it. Nothing new...nothing unique...nothing all that fun. I would say this game is at least worth a rent but it just doesn't live up to the standard of its predecessors.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This Doesn't Work...

posted by andrewka (ROCKVILLE, MD) Feb 12, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

20 out of 28 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I think the coolest things about this game are the way that 2 shoulder buttons can fire the guns in both of your hands and the way you can sneak up on your opponents and use your knife.

Other than that, one of the fundamental problems with first-person shooters these is the complete lack of peripheral vision and unless you have a game that really uses surround sound and have a decent sound system, you are not really aware of your surroundings.

That's fine with most first person shooters as targets are usually far enough away for that not be an issue, but in a dinosaur shooter, it just doesn't work. These dinosaurs just encapsulate the whole screen and then you are left in this phase of frantically looking around to see where it went. The fact that you can't see just left, just right, and just down from you means that constantly these things sneak up at you and you don't even realize they are there.

I have surround sound, but there is very little audible warning that a dinosaur is near until it is too late. One could say it adds challenge, to me it is just annoying because of the fundamental restrictions on vision in video games. This kind of close quarters and hand-to-hand combat just doesn't work well in this game. In some games, like Oblivion it works great, but just not in this, it's too fast and just frustrating.

Besides that the weapon don't make any sense. A knife and bow does more damage than a machine gun. I can't explain that, and the fighting between non-dinosaur opponents is just run of the mill. Besides that I don't think the graphics are all that spectacular and this type of gameplay doesn't work as a first person shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time

posted by ledzeppd92 (LA JOLLA, CA) Dec 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Please, please don't waste your time by renting or buying this game. The graphics are terrible and the plot line is weak. The enemies, while incredibly stupid, are tough to kill. The weapons are weak and very inaccurate, with the exception of the bow and knife. Knife kills are impressive to watch but are ultimately useless during firefights with more than one enemy- which is usually always the case. The same goes with the bow. While it's incredibly satisfying to watch your enemy squirm while pinned to a wall with an arrow, the reload time is slow and it's tough to hit a moving enemy with one.
Dino's are fun to kill but in the end it's just a way to spice up the boring gameplay. When you aren't getting mauled by them, raptors are easy to kill- unfortunately, most of the time you end up getting mauled to death by them. I haven't even made it up to the first boss yet and I'm ready to break the disk out of pure frustration.

So please, for the sake of your sanity, don't rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

frustrating

posted by ck0007 (PINSON, AL) Feb 4, 2008

Member since May 2007

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game if ok but its just like an other shooter game. the save points r so far apart and u die alot and have to do really hard and frustrating parts over and over again. its worth renting but not worth $60 dollars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I have to agree

posted by shobiz (WINTER PARK, FL) Feb 5, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I got the game 2 days early and I have a 110" 1080p projector with a yamaha 5.1 sound system and this game is perfect. Graphics that blow away gears and lush jungle settings with a jurassic park meets FARCRY theme to the game. = awesome. I have had every TUROK game since N64 and this is the best to date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Yet Another Game...

posted by tank017 (GLENDALE, CA) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

being wrongly rated...

Turok is not the best game ever nor is it the worst..

deserves a 7-7.5....if you want a fps fix,then this will fulfill it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Will the Next One be As Good as the first

posted by bioresistt (NECEDAH, WI) Oct 15, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Turok is a okay game. The story is turok is trying to kill Kane (bad guy). The are flying to where they think he is and they get hit by a missile sending them crashing to the ground. When the first get a good look at the planet the realize that there are dinosaurs. The story will take a good 10 hours to beat. THe graphics are okay but textures are flat. The gameplay is fun but not like the first game, where you had cool weapons. THe bow is probably the coolest gun in the game in which you can have exploding arrows. Most of the guns have a secondary fire too. This is a rent not a buy. One more thing is the bosses, they are pretty cool. The t-rex is quite cool when you first see it. Overall if you just love manslaughtering dinos then pick this up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Got game 2 days early! AWESOME

posted by adminwendt (EASTON, PA) Feb 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

8 out of 18 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Well if you have a 65" TV (1080p) like I do with a Bose surround sound this game is SICK! The controls take a while to get used to but other than that it is a great shooter. The T-rex chasing you in the back ground sounds great on surround sound. The noises and sounds from the environment and dinosaurs sound real. This version is much better than the previous versions. The graphics are amazing as is the levels.
This game is right up there with Call of Duty 4.
Watch out for the Raptors!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One of the worst games that i ever played

posted by Fisher (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Feb 23, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

8 out of 20 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I liked the idea of the game. I thought it was more or less original and had lots of perspectives. But developers of the game decided to screw us and release product that had to be worked on for at least several month.
First of all they decided to cut their budget on integrating story line in to the game play. So now we have nice cartoon on a one side and lots of cliches on the other. Elevator scene with exploding barrels – very original.
On other hand the way they decide to locate save points is very irritating. It is probably the first game i ever seen when save point was before a dialog .
and don't make me started on games AI. One of the games tips stated that you could use dinos as your allies in the fight with the MP. I was surprised when the dino that was fighting MP made 180 degrease turn and run for me the second he got in my visual range.
Usually i do not write reviews, but this game made me do that.
So i gave it rating 1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game but hate controls

posted by gamelister (UNION, NJ) Feb 1, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i played the demo and it was decent I liked the game and the concept but the shooting controls are not comfortable. i dont like the back r2 and l2 as the shooting button. its a fun game but not worth the hassle so i reckemend that you save up for the club 0.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What the HECK!

posted by Philiooo (OLYMPIA, WA) Oct 5, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i was extremely excited for this games realease but all i have to say after playing it is No! I seriously thought i was playing a nintendo 64 after looking at the graphics. The explosions looked like a flower sprouting for a few seconds, and every thing else looked horrible especially the characters. An ok storyline but to original, and the gameplay was pretty bad too. The only cool thing on the game was when turok took down dinasours with his knife which displayed alot of gore and cool action. Seriously dont rent the game, dont even spend time watching videos of it cause it was a total waste of my time and it will be a waste of your time too. Worst game released on the Ps3!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST DINO GAME

posted by itsrnike (NEW YORK, NY) Feb 10, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

THIS IS THE BEST EVER!!

Intense with perfect graphical dino's.

The graphics are amazing on their own, the scenery is great.

Just like the original with 10x graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Mehhhh....

posted by neogammama (Killeen, TX) Feb 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I remember getting my N64 and buying turok. It absolutely amazed me...so I was hyped to hear that they were making another turok for PS3. Upon spendig about an hour with it....well it just sucks. It feels like another ho-hum clone of a game. Some people are reviewing this game saying its the best thing scince sliced bread...well its NOT. Do yourself a favor and rent something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I'd give it 20 if I could!!

posted by sbs350 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 23, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Hi. I've never played this game, but I watch my dad and brother play it all the time. All these people who say it sucks, or just isn't worth it, Is LYING!!!! This game is amazing. Great graphics, great personality traits, and mostly, great sounds. If you have a large tv and a great surround sound, you will love this game. It does have some very graphic images, but it's a great game if you are a hard core gamer. So, believe me when I say: rent it, and you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I HATE IT SO MUCH

posted by crazyinthehouse (WEST ALEXANDER, PA) Jun 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

The game is TOO HARD. I usually have NO problem beating games. I hate how many enemies are in one place. Every area with human enemies has AT LEAST 100 enemies in one small area toward the end of the game. The game is also VERY VERY repetitive. At least 5\6 of the objectives are MEET UP WITH WHISKEY CAMPAIGN or ENTER THE BASE or EXIT THE BASE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by celticdude2011 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Jun 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Great and fun first person shooter game. This game is fun but the controls take some getting use to. The controls are just like xbox 360's controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it was alright

posted by ErTh32 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jun 10, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Turok was an 'alright' game, it had a slow start and slow gameplay, it was alot of walking, getting lost and then a few seconds of fighting. i got so bored i wasnt even able to finish the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games EVER

posted by Tredeez (EDGEWOOD, NM) May 29, 2011

Member since May 2011

This is a great game! I've played it before and I cant wait to play it again. Its action packed with an all around great experience. The combat, story line and that intense feeling you get with great games that make it hard to stop playing, this has it all. I'll keep it short and simple, you got to play Turok!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible

posted by wackysam712 (OCONOMOWOC, WI) May 12, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This game is absolutly horrible. I gave it a two just because of the bow and arrow in the game otherwise one of the worst games ever. Graphics were incredably bad, controlls were bad, story line, and it came out originally for gamecube. So all around bad, but worst part is that there are no trophies!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Turok

posted by mrkushington (DEKALB, IL) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This game was pretty sick i really enjoyed it, and it is very addicting. Although there were some flaws with it such as it being a little weird with the gaming controls when trying to kill a dinosaur. The story line is pretty good, although i felt that it could have been developed a little better. Once you figure out the controls its fun, its just figuring out the controls and figuring out how to effectively use the knife on dinosaurs that takes a little, but once you figure it out, you'll be eager to killing as many dinosaurs as possible with the knife. Overall i enjoyed the game and i would recommend it to any enthusiast of blood, gore, and the killing of dinosaurs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

More annoyance than entertainment.

posted by Joesafario (COLLEGE STATION, TX) Feb 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

Turok was a very cool idea for a videogame IMO. Even after beating it and sending it back I still think that the idea was cool. Everything else, disappointing. The storyline was somewhat disappointing. To have a game concept that is very unique, then to implement a dull and cheesy script, is a big failure on Touchstone's part. I think I could find a better story in the book section of walmart. The graphics on the game were very out dated. I felt as though I was playing on a ps2 rather than a ps3. The game was glitchy too. The environment was not horrible, but annoying. Especially the dinosaurs. Enemies will usually flank you and try to out maneuver you to some degree. Cool. However due to a bad UI and aiming system, things became a nuisance. It is extremely hard to track enemies on the move (especially dinosaurs who move a lot faster than enemy soldiers). There were points where I got disoriented. I love intense sequences of action in a game, but I like having a certain degree of control. Turok gives you limited visibility, absolutely horrible sound effects (which is said to help you...), and bad/oversensitive controls. Overall I found the game to be a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not even average PS3 FPS

posted by ChazinPA (BLOSSBURG, PA) Nov 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

I wanted to like this game, good graphics, almost good play control. But in the end the only cool thing about it was the bow, and that wasn't enough to keep me interested long.

The aim was not precise, killed the play control. Guns jumped around terribly while shooting, even when shooting in short bursts. You are given this big survival knife as your first weapon, but you can only use it as a stealth weapon effectively, no actual melee attack to speak of. So in close action if you run out of ammo, you have to reload and get killed, because the bad guys are tough in this game. The dual wield was a decent way to fix this by shooting one gun, and reloading the other, but still no melee is lame.

I will say the stealth portion of the game was fun to play, sneaking with the bow and pinning guys to walls was cool. However then you have to play the parts that are not stealth and that ruins it. The bad guys were tough, and had incredible aim... the elevator sequence in the MG facility was brutal.

Which brings me to my main problem with this game. A "SAVE" option in the pause menu, but no "LOAD" so I could save at any point, but I would still start at the same checkpoint every time I died or continued the game. This was what did it for me, I don't mind a hard game, if I can save my progress without having to play an entire portion over again. But when I've played the same sequence 6 times because I keep dying later on, enough is enough, it better be a great game for this to be enjoyable and this wasn't.

Don't buy or rent it, not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I think it's pretty cool

posted by wtfmuck (ROCKLIN, CA) Oct 9, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

I will admit, I have only played the demo and seen a few videos that go into the game, but I'm pretty stoked about it.

A lot of the reviews say the graphics are bad, the cut scenes are bad, when really neither make up a game. Cut scenes CAN be skipped, so you shouldn't have to complain about that. And graphics? If you can tell what's going on and can easily tell if that's a bird, that's a plane, and that's a big freaking dinosaur that's about to bite your head off, the graphics are decent. People in the reviews are also complaining about the fact that L2 is zoom and R2 is fire. I'm not sure if there's a way to change that or if there are custom bound controls or switchable controls, but the purpose is [to my knowledge, take this with a grain of salt] to make it feel like you're actually squeezing the trigger of a gun, although I don't get the point of L2 being zoom besides the thought that it'd be awkward shooting with R2 and zooming with L1/R1.....

I will definitely agree with the people who say it should only be rented - this game doesn't seem to have much replay value except for being able to go back for 5 minutes so you can go Rambo mode with a knife and bow only to slit the necks of both dinosaurs and army men in epic and gory 5 to 10 second cut scenes, or trying to get only headshots with the overpowered bow, then get owned by the immense amount of enemies, realize why you haven't picked up the controller in so long, and put the game back in its case and play something else.

Still though, it's worth a try if you want a decent dinosaur killing game that gives a pretty good challenge that apparently has made people want to snap the disk in half, throw the controller through the wall, break the box that their PS3 came from and then think about throwing the PS3 itself at the wall with the controller but then realizing it might not be worth it....Or would it?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse