Rent Turok for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Turok

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.0

7038 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

They think Hard is too easy.

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Apr 3, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

49 out of 54 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

This edition of the Turok series is by far the best looking, and most intense. Every detail has been given loving attention and it shows all over the world Turok is forced to try and stay alive. trapped on an alien world inhabited by various Jurassic creatures Turok must cope with not only Dinos', enemy soldiers and a hostile environment, but also his own fellow team. Turok is viewed as a traitor by his fellow crew mates and it seems that he is in relatively constant danger of being shot in the back. This aspect of the game adds some intriguing back story and depth but not a ton worth calling this a great story.

Enemies are often incredibly difficult to shoot down, and the aiming system although customizable is painfully spastic and hard to control for a clean shot. Often even on the Normal difficulty the game presents extreme challenges that really end up being so aggravating that the game loses its fun appeal and turns in to an angry venture in frustration. Some choke points are worth overcoming, but as the game progresses that very challenge which many will enjoy becomes too much worth continuing.
Enemies seem able to often just dance between chain gun bullets unscathed and when you can see without any doubt that you pulled off a clean dead on shot they just continue attacking you as if they had never been touched. At one point I was fighting some flying acid spitting bugs, shooting them point blank and yet they just keep flying and attacking in an endlessly spawning barrage of impossibility. That is just stupid, and not fun.

Turok is a beautiful game worth the rental if you have amazing patience and jedi reflexes, otherwise forget this horribly frustrating shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Turok

posted by Hornet65 (KATONAH, NY) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

24 out of 28 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Turok, Created by Touchstone, was created with the original Turoks in mind. When I got this game, I was hoping for a great experience, I was hoping for the cerebral bore. I'll have you all know, that there is no Cerebral Bore.
Stylistically, the graphics are amazing, the environments are great. Turok is Native American in heritage so they didn't screw that up. The storyline isn't perfect, but it's quite interesting.
Turok has a simple control scheme, and a not too steep learning curve. Though it does take a little bit of time to get used to the controls, and the look sensitivity is defaulted way too high. The AI varies at times. The enemies are smart though, they take cover, move around, and are accurate. But other times, they don't do much more than run around. One huge pain about the game is that the easiest difficulty is normal, and it's way far from normal. I died constantly numerous times from getting knocked down and not being able to get back up. And if you don't hit a checkpoint you go back to the last one you hit, which could be 3 seconds back, or 10 minutes back.
I can't honestly say that this game has much replayability to it, I would never play the single player again because of the difficulty. I couldn't try the multiplayer because there was nobody on to play with so there's nothing there for me.
All in all, if you like FPSs with just pointless amounts of shooting, you'll probably like this game. It has some stealth aspects to it (sneaking around is optional.) I wouldn't recommend it to someone as a game to buy, maybe rent and check it out, but not buy, it's just not that good of a game, so I can only give it a 7 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good single player, on-line play is nothing new

posted by ZackyCakes (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Feb 1, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2002

52 out of 73 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

If you like first person shooters, this is a game you have to try. The graphics aren't bad, but Gears, Halo 3 and COD4 raised the bar. I expected more out of this.

Plays a lot like the N64 version of the game, only bigger and better. I like the changes in the story and the voice acting is pretty good. I liked the single player campaign, but nothing really stood out as great. It was too short and I don't have a reason to play it again.

The multiplayer seems to have problems, hopefully there'll be a patch soon. I could get a match and play all the way through with out problems only twice. I tried a few different times all night.

I'd recommend this to fans of Turok, the shooter genre, or kids who like to see blood and hear swear words. Stay a way if you're tired of any of these things.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

different but very cool

posted by italiano13 (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Feb 6, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I thought this game very cool because you have the option to flippen knife a dinosuar. I enjoyed it because it gives you the ability to be sly and stealth or go loud and tear em up. I love the fact that dinosuars come out freakin nowhere and chow down on some un-lucky soldiers, while u can make your escape. I also thought the storyline was very interesting. This is defenitly a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A rework thats actually an improvement for once.

posted by Boowhatty (BANGOR, ME) Feb 17, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed all aspects of this game start to finish.(as will most other FPS fans with any amount of notable skill): The difficulty on normal is a challenge for sure, but that makes it all worthwhile. Although the aim sensitivity is quite annoying and too fast even on the slowest setting, thats the only downside i found here. Definately not for kids under 14 or 15 because of blood and a good amount of violence. So to sum it up if you enjoy TONS of dinos and all of them tryin to rip your legs and arms off this game will have you hooked in a second. Oh and P.S. There are several weapons and all nicely done- up with secondary fire options, but the knife BY FAR surpasses them all!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better then I thought it would be!!!!

posted by maxpower36 (LAYTON, UT) Apr 8, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I'm kind of surprised this is getting as low of rating as it is. I played the demo and thought it was okay. Once I got the game I was way surprised at how fun it was. Really I guess I compare this game to Area 51. They look the same (sense they both are using the Unreal engine). Even though Turok doesn't have that great of story, it has a much better story then Area 51.
I found the guns fun to use! All the guns had some alt fire to them that add some fun to the game. If anything I wish some of the guns had more ammo.
There are times where the game kind of drags on, sometimes you go off killing dinosaurs for not real reason (but its still fun). But over all I thought it was a great game! No Halo 3 (I like Halo 3's outside area better then this). But over all I good fun game to play! I only played the single player game, but I think this would also be fun with co-play with I guess another 2 people (you can play 3 at a time?). I hear the Multiplayer is good (you can add dinosaurs to an area that can kill anybody in the game).
I do wish they had some local Multiplayer game, but most games are going away from this (which is kind of sad).
For the cost of renting it, it was way worth it! I enjoyed it (I even get made at it sometimes)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Turok

posted by skippy (AMELIA, OH) May 1, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The story line was excellent on this game. Also the dino's was a real scary treat of how you should be able to keep going even with dino's and scorpions coming at you plus the fighting of the people were great. This shooting game was awesome I think you should rent it and find out for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Huge Potential, but not there yet...

posted by Se7ens (HERSHEY, PA) Aug 2, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

For me the whole point of the Turok franchise was to be killing dinosaurs, and stalking enemy troops through the forest. And, dont get me wrong,those parts of the game were great, but it was the intolerable battles with overpowered troops that got be frusterated, Along with the same old knife attacks.
When you first open the game it starts you out on an alien sub-tropical world where there are massive dinosaurs roaming around, and you start thinking, wow this looks amazing. You start brutally killing dinosaurs with your knife and only your knife because it is so overpowered. When you go indoors, however, the fun stops. You try to knife baddies, which awesome, but as you are killin you are being shot, and eventually die. so you alter your tactics and start using guns.
then you figure out the shooting mechanic arent precise and all and get mowed down yourself. But being the persistant person that you are, you trudge on through and get back into the wilderness. where the sense of awe fades a bit because, it looks exactly like the wilderness you just came from. But you keep knifing your way through hoping it gets more original, but even that gets old, using the same knife insta-kills on the dinos. Right now your thinking this game needs something amazing to bring it back in your good books, but what do you get more repetitiveness. The same overpowered enemies and the same knife attacks.
Add into the mix adequate graphics and a metiocre story and you get a game with huge potential, but utterly broken.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dino blasting goodness

posted by Ragnar (FARMINGTON, NY) Feb 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

20 out of 37 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

I never thought knifing a dino in the head, or climbing on its back and cuttings its throat would be so satisfying...but it def was. I bought this game on release day and i have to say it is incredible. Its most def a sleeper hit. The story is awsome (just like a touchstone movie), and the voice work/acting is great. its not corny or without emotion. the graphics are superb (using the unreal engine) and the gameplay is neverending fun. Choose a tactical path and use stealth kills or go toe to toe with 13 different weapons. And killing someone with a a bow and arrow never gets old. The enemy is A.I. is very well done, and the dinosaurs act like true predators. I will often find myself being stalked by raptors and other dinos. Fighting a T-rex? comon, how is that not awsome? I honestly have no gripes with this game. The first big hit of 2008. Do yourself a favor and buy this game, you wont be dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Worst Turok to date

posted by Scitech (MILWAUKEE, WI) Feb 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2003

11 out of 20 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Very disappointing. Graphics are adequate. Game play is mechanical with little option to choose your own path. No humanoid-lizard like creatures or interesting paths or puzzles. Same dinos time after time. There seems to be more human(?) mercenaries all over the game being dropped off by helicopter all the time. The only new aspect I enjoyed was when a dino closed in on Turok, you would have to do "God of War" button reactions to get the creature off or kill it. I look forward to a future Turok that is more aligned to the earlier humanoid-lizard creatures with a more diverse environment. The couple of Boss fights were unimpressive and not always intuitive how the designers forced you to defeat the boss. Worth a play if there's nothing else available. Even the bow had little benefit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Xbox Does It Again!

posted by konnetix (BELLEVIEW, FL) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Once again Xbox has released another flawless shoot em game and Turok delivers! Awesome graphics, great story line, awesome weapons, fast paced action, love stealth moves. May be hated for this but so what it my review and my opinion, Turok is better than Bioshock and COD 4, but neck and neck with Assasins Creed because of the stealth moves-I love the stealth moves - A+! It's what makes or breaks a game and stealth moves put the icing on the cake for the game! I've only had the game for a couple days and just got through the facility and it was intense especially the elavator level. I also the the fact you have to watch your back on every level, dinos and other enemies try to attack you from behind. This game rocks! Would highly recommend renting or buying. I plan on buying this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Things I'd rather do than play Turok again.

posted by Stones (PHOENIX, AZ) Mar 20, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

13 out of 25 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

If you are planning on acquiring this game, here's a list of stuff you should do instead:
-Stick your head in a running cement mixer.
-Ingest a box of razor blades.
-Tell your girlfriend she could lose a few pounds.
Any of these suggestions will be more fun than playing this, at best mediocre, mound of rubbish.

There are several grievances I take with this excrement on dvd:
-I think the game play is sub-par, compared to recent games like Bioshock, Call of Duty 4, and Orange Box.
-Melee attacks cause you to go into a kill cut scene every time, this by itself wouldn't be horrible, but you can get shot while in it.
-Multiplayer is "not" fun.
-I've seen better stories in remedial English class.
-I don't like playing video games that make me want to destroy the disc and everything around it.

The only redeeming feature that stops this game from getting a lower score:
-You get to Kill Dinosaurs with your bare hands. You become the reason for their extinction...Again...

Summary
As you can probably gather I did not find that much fun with this game. But if you are a masochist you might like this game. If you are a gamer stay as far away as possible, in fact I suggest you play Portal again. If you haven't played Portal I inquire one thing, how was the cave you were living in?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Turok is good for fans of the shooter genre

posted by 1297ev (PALOS HEIGHTS, IL) Feb 9, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First of all, if you don't like shooters, or you like really tactical shooters, ignore this review. If you enjoy the occasional shoot-this, stab-that kind of game, its worth a rent. If the shooter genre is your favorite or even the only type of game you play, you will probably want to buy this game immedietly, because the graphics, the sound, the presentation, everything is top-notch and has obviously high production values. This game has some great replay value: other difficulty levels, online play, and soon some downloadable content I'm sure. If you play shooters, you probably don't care about any tactical stuff, or even the AI, and thats a good thing, because there is no tactical-ness to this game, and the AI aren't the brighest of the bunch. But when you're pinning enemies to the wall with arrows and stabbing dinos in the head, you probably wont give a darn, so get on the edge of your seat (thats where you'll end up anyways) and get ready for an UNBELIEVABLY FUN shooter that you will most certainly enjoy for months to come.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing This Game is so Underated

posted by samsterds (BELL, CA) Aug 30, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The gameplay was just amazing, and for the people who could not pass levels and complain that the game was hard, must one, are real amateurs at games, because I went through the game with no problems, I knew that headshots were one bullet kills. The knife was a tactical way to get through levels, and for all the people who complain, did you forget how turok originally was? It was 1000x's harder than how it is now, for the people who have played turok since N64, you should know this is nothing, The bosses only take some logic to beat them, but if there was no challenge to the game, then where is the fun to it? Am I right? I think so. :)
Definitely worth the rent, have fun. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

TUROK SHOULD HAVE STAYED EXTINCT!!!

posted by Brikz3488 (ROCKVILLE, MD) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

8 out of 19 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

Yeah I know Gears of War was a great game, and Yes even though I HATE HALO, millions of players love it. And yes you would think hey combine the 2 and it must be great, WRONG. This game is horrible. After the 5th time you use your knife to stealth kill or animal kill it gets old and redundant. The positioning of Turok to knife kill is very touchy meaning 1 time it will work one way, but not the other. Also, when u use the knife kill it moves you around so your character gets lost a little.

The scenery is ok at first, but you do a lot of backtracking because it all looks the same, and then it gets boring because it all looks the same. The AI is non-existent. Enemies only move when you advance to certain areas. Then they stand there in groups while you pick them off.

I hate the camera angles, the switching you do between kills, the weapons are weak, even though some are EXACT COPIES from other games. The story is horrible with cut scenes put in to more annoy you then make sense. Maybe the ending is cool but i hated the game so bad i didn't even care if i finished it and I have a 9850 game score so I really want the 10,000 mark but not that way.

CONCLUSION: If i wanted to play Halo, I would play Halo, and I will wait for the new Gears if its coming but don't try to trick me with your big marketing campaign and just copy someone else. Either bring new innovation and ideas and gameplay or just stay out of the business.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by Nikademuz (NEW PORT RICHEY, FL) Apr 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game should have been released on N64. Very poor graphics and gameplay. Disgrace to the Turok franchise. Rent a real shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Impressive

posted by Dork8503 (DOWAGIAC, MI) Feb 14, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I was skeptical of the hype for the game, but once I played I was hooked.

If your looking for a challenge, a game of length and fun, well this game is it. There is not a lot of gore in this game but their is blood. The blood is perfect, not to much and not to little. The graphics are amazing. Watching the weeds bend as you walk threw them, or as the wind blows them over is great.

The game play is good too, choosing to kill the Dino's with your knife or a gun, makes the game that much more fun. Also makes for a challenge if you want to go knife happy.

Overall good game, not repetitive and gets right down to the dirty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

All I can say si WOW!!!

posted by GearHalo (BRIGHTON, CO) Feb 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the bestgames to come out this year. Well worth the wait. The graphics are amazing and single player makes it worth the 60 dollar price tag. If you get it from gamefly keep it. Killing dinos is so much fun and the game has really cool boss battles. But of course this game does have flaws like dead muliplayer and single player can be really fustrating at times. Overall a great game and one of the best FPS out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Game

posted by MehdiN (LAKE MARY, FL) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This game is a complete waste of time and money. I am so happy I did not buy this game and used gamefly. I loved Turok on N64 and had high expectations for this one. Man was I let down, horrible game and ruined my image of Turok forever. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. DO NOT RENT THIS GAME. DO NOT THINK ABOUT THIS GAME. Just move on and be happy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Quite Interesting In different Aspects

posted by Darknessd (MIDVALE, UT) Feb 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

At the Beginning the controls seem to be a little fast but It gets better as the game continues. The killing of the Raptors and others are quite sweet. The game seems to be a little to animated in the fact that almost every kill is a short film that you have little control over. Easy to get turned around and backtrack. The players view seems to be really narrow?!? Maybe just me I don't know. Overall so far good game Not finshed with it yet though so we will see!
Φ DarknessDown Φ

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A let-down...

posted by IRONBROTHA (HONOLULU, HI) Feb 2, 2008

Member since Sep 2003

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Yet another mediocre game using Epic's Unreal Engine technology. The save system is poorly done so you'll get to enjoy parts of the game ad nauseum. Dinos and enemy soldiers magically pop into view for the sake of cinematics which ultimately detracts from the realism. The weapons are not satisfying either. It takes far too many direct hits to take out even the regular foot soldiers.

Unless you like the Turok franchise or simply love FPS games you should pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really a 8.5

posted by m4rcoperua (PALM COAST, FL) Feb 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

So they took out all the really cool weapons and the odd storyline turok has. How do you sell a game that has a story of dinasours and aliens and some supernatural power that fits into a an indian with futuristic weapons? it would take too long to find a story that makes sense to fit all that together.

I think this game did good. Not excellent, because it is missing a lot of things that past FPS's did. But that really only relates to multiplayer. At first the game was kinda mediocre..but as you kept playing you start to get into the story a lot more. It goes from finding somebody, to survival, back to finding that person.

The gameplay is pretty awesome. The weapon choices are alright, just the general basics with a nice twist (they have alternate fire). This game is less tactical and more of a run'm and gun'm game. Sometimes it can get really frustrating, but its good cuz stuff like that is what makes a game addicting. It's never TOO hard, you just have to use your head sometimes to find an efficient way to kill an enemy, or a squad of enemies. A solid 9 really.

Graphics are cool, not the greatest, but they dont suck either. i give it a 8

The story is whats most captivating...you'll find that the way dinosaurs fit with the cut scenes and the scenario your in works really well. that i give a 10. I dont see many good story lines in FPS's, to me it ties with CoD's story line, while halo is at the bottom. good amount of hours into it too, not too short or too long.

overall the game is fun, alot of explosions, turok...well..to compare to a movie, is kinda like live free or die hard, the guy takes like 1000 hits but he keeps going. If your a fan of good boss fights and a challenge, i dont really know if this is a buy or rent game...because sometiems youll feel the erge to kill more dinasours later other than more military men.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

LETDOWN WITH A CAPITAL T

posted by HamBurgler (PINE BUSH, NY) Mar 20, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was waiting for my first game fly game very patiently. When I got it I was so exited. Then I Played it and it was absolutely horrible. The control scheme was horrible, the weapons were boring, and it was just mindless violence. It had its moments, but after an hour I got really really bored. In conclusion If you like mindless games without plot, this is it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I thought I was renting Turok but . . .

posted by monteljs (MARLBORO, NJ) Jun 7, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Clearly not. This game was absolutely terrible. The controls are shotty, there are tons of glitches (such as the few dino's there are being able to spit at you through walls), and the gun selection is less than impressive. Turok is supposed to be a dinosaur hunter, not an army commando, fighting other commandos, while running into the occasional dino. This game is a disappointment to any Turok fan going into this game expecting to do same major dino/mutant slaying and cool dinosaur missions. At one point there is a spark of hope when you encounter some giant scorpions, but after one mission you pretty much never see them again. The game should have focused on dinosaurs or him being a commando, because they failed at trying to incorporate both successfully. The game isn't exciting, and I couldn't wait to get to the end. Don't waste your time with this huge disaster of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

kind of a boring game

posted by jone1020 (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game kind of reminds me of a game that really has no point, it is not a hard game which is good and bad. The graphics are ok, i have seen alot better. This is a good game to rent not really own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse