Rent Turning Point: Fall of Liberty for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Turning Point: Fall of Liberty

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
4.2

3486 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth the time!!!

posted by CNTRINSGNT (MANVILLE, NJ) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

204 out of 223 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Ok like all my reviews I will give you the good and the bad, however with this game there is a new addition, "The REALLY Bad!"

Good:
For some reason I kept wanting to play it. I dont know why but for some reason the story intrigued me

The realism is quite good, Infact this is the most realistic shooter I have played in terms of weapon aiming and damage

Thats about it for the good!

THE BAD:

The graphics are horrible! downright junk!
you will see so many white lines it makes you sick!

FRAGS!... These things are just plain silly, its the only weapon that is really off
they will kill you even if you are in the next room or about 30 feet away, its just bad!

IF an enemy falls on you, you are dead! could be a 3 foot drop on your head... you die!

THE REALLY BAD!!

Yes this game gets a REALLY BAD spot....

SAVING, OMG the saving sucks in this game
you will be playing the same thing about 15 times at least because you cant save the game checkpoints for you, however the checkpoints are so far from on another that you need to be flawless to make to the next point in one piece... you die and its back to square one

BLACK HOLES...! WHAT THE HECK!??? ...
Yes this game comes with its own BLACK HOLES. I have found two so far... fall or jump in and you are stuck just spinning slowly in circles over and over... then you need to hit restart

They look like black squares in the ground about 6 feet by 6 feet

In conclusion I would highly suggest you avoid this game at all costs
Its really a hassle to play and it seems like the people who made the game have no real world exp making games

Its almost like a bunch of 1 year programmers made this game with all of the flaws in it

Its really quite disappointing because the concept is amazing but the game its self just does not deliver

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Turning Point: Freeze of Liberty

posted by Stewie84 (EVANSVILLE, IN) Jul 17, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

20 out of 22 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

What if? What if Winston Churchill had died when he was struck by that taxi? What if he never became Prime Minister? Would the Nazis roll over western Europe? If they did, what would stop them from heading straight for the eastern seaboard? And what if they did?

This is where you come in. As a construction worker in the wrong place at the wrong time, yo-

And then the game freezes.

Completely ignoring the fact that the US was NEVER in any danger of (apparently singular use of the name of German soldiers during WWII is against the rules here) occupation, even if the above events occured, what we had here was your typical run and gun WWII sim. Pick up weapons, shoot Nazis (which never gets old), blow up things, all the usual. War-torn New York and DC come in remarkably clear, and you get the adrenaline rush of a "Not in my back yard!" mentali-

And then the game freezes.

Weaponry tends to differ very little. All it really boils down to is American this and German this, American that and German that. You may find a weapon or two you're better with, but it mostly boils down to what the enemies are using, and what you can get more ammo fo-

And then the game freezes.

The levels are rather linear, go from point A to point B, ad nausium. Checkpoints are spread in sometimes generous, sometimes not manners throughout the various levels, and save automatically at that point, so you can pick up at the immensly difficult part you left off/died/froze a-

And then the game freezes.

To top it all off, what would otherwise be a fun and challenging game is bogged down by it's often-enough-to-tick- you- off tendency to freeze, sometimes at extremely aggravating times. I admit, I didn't finish the game, sending it back after I froze six out of the eight times I tried to accomplish the second to last level, and after a while I was so mad I ha-

And then the game freezes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I Really wanted this game to be good

posted by ManOnFire (WAYNESBORO, PA) Mar 5, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

The game keeps on freezeing up, the controls are too loose, the graphics are not very good. But I could not get enough, I don't know why. Checkpoints are to far a part. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME RENT IT PLAY HATE IT SEND IT BACK.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Honest Review.

posted by DavidW (PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL) Mar 19, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

40 out of 49 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

First this game is not designed for the hardcore gamers, that much was obvious.

I was kinda disappointed to see the bad reviews, but I figured I would give it a try.

The Graphics are decent, in some spots they are above average, but it is no where near as bad as others have said.

Is the Game broke? No it is not, yes there are problems, like load screens at bad times, but it is very playable.

The storyline is interesting, while it could have been better with your toon having dialog it is easy to follow. The game as a whole is not worth the asking 59.99 it should have been priced about $30.00. The game definitely needed more time to polish. It was fairly obvious when I got near halfway that a lot of reviews were from people who were just following the crowd and never played it through.

This game is worth a rental, as it will give a day or 2 of fun times.

All I can say is do not base everything you read on you decision to rent or not, if I did I would not have had the opportunity to play this game and gather some easy and quick points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst FPS Ever! No pros to this review

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Feb 27, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This was one of the worst pieces of hot garbage games I've ever played on the 360. I have nothing good to say about this game, but thought that I should warn any other person who is considering renting this game to stay away. Pretend this game has AIDS and you will definitely get it if you play it.

This was some of the choppiest, blurriest, glitchiest few hours of video gaming I've sat through. The controls are terrible. It's almost impossible to shoot enemies because of how choppy and sloppy the aiming system and guns are. Even normal mode was a nightmare in later levels. Don't even try playing MP for the achievements, like I tried, because there aren't any servers. I could only imagine the frustration and migraine inducing piece of junk that would be the multiplayer deathmatches.

Whatever you do, do not rent this game. I would rather lick a burger king men's room public bathroom toilet seat than to play another minute of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Turning Point: Fall of Liberty

posted by Cletus (CANTON, GA) Mar 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

I was originally turned away from this game because of all the negative publicity surrounding it. Against my better judgment, I rented the game anyway.
After playing it, I discovered that all of the people who rated this game negatively were, in fact, correct to some extent. Yes, the checkpoints are very far apart(which is extremely angering). Yes, the game is short(8 levels, 6-8 hours approximately). And yes, the gameplay isn't exactly amazing. Still, despite these set backs, this game is worth playing. The story is very good. (Most of) the missions are entertaining and exciting. The graphics, while not exactly top-notch, are still pretty good (and not at all something that should be used against this game in people's reviews). My favorite levels were the ones New York and Washington. The levels in London were frustrating and fairly boring. All of the invade-a-German-secret lab-by-yourself stuff reminded me a lot of MOH Frontline. Being able to use an enemy as a shield is an exciting feature in the game, although it isn't always particularly useful.
All things considered, this game isn't awesome, but it does not reek either. If you are debating whether or not to rent this one, I'd say go for it. Expect some disappointment, but a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The Box Alone Should Have Been The Turning Point.

posted by Niko408 (SAN JOSE, CA) Feb 29, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

36 out of 48 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Since it's original announcement, people have been eagerly awaiting this game hoping for an awesome game. Well, keep waiting my friends.

Graphics are ok.... when you aren't moving!!! This game is plagued with bad framerates and drab surroundings. The soundtrack is great while the sound effects are horrible. Control is rather flighty as well. Aiming is really bad, AI is worthless. I was able to walk 4 circles around an enemy before they actually attacked me.

Trust me, as good as this game COULD have been, this is sure to disappoint EVERYONE. If you need to kill Nazis, wait for Sabotage or go play ANY other WWII shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Avoid at all cost

posted by jonbauer99 (OXFORD, MS) Mar 5, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

The graphics rival that of original xbox. There is very little actual story to the game. No cinematic cut scenes.

Unless you are bored alternate history buff, you'll hate yourself for renting/buying this game. The only upside to this game is that the gamerpoints are pretty easy to get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It's something to play but not worth paying for

posted by catman021 (CHESTER, PA) Mar 17, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I had been waiting for this game to come out ever since the demo was available but what a disappointment! It's short, not very involved, the environments aren't all that interactive, the play is completely linear, and it only took me 4 hours to beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fun if you could actually play it...

posted by morgan72 (STRATFORD, CT) Mar 16, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I put this on my list based on the commercial alone, and when it came in I noticed how many bad ratings it got, but played anyways. i was surprised at the poor ratings because I actually had some fun with it. It was no ground breaking title, but it was fun enough to keep me occupied and the story was interesting enough. Early on I had a couple freeze-ups and since the game is checkpoint saved it got a little annoying, but I persevered. I get to a stage later on which involves blitzing a zeppelin undergoing repairs on the London Bridge, which was the most challenging part of the game thus far and it froze up time and time again where I finally just said enough is enough and back in the envelope. I checked online and its not an XBOX problem like a dirty disk, seems like it freezes quite often for many in the same place. Its a shame, 'cause although it wasn't the best on the block, I was actually enjoying it. Too bad they couldn't publish a game you can actually play. Giving it a 1 on sheer lack of actually playability.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Turn, Turn, Turn... Away!

posted by ryan51 (NORTH ANDOVER, MA) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It is sad that in today's gaming world a producer would take a genre that is not only important in out history as a country, but also in gaming as a whole and attempt to fool us with garbage. That is exactly what Turning Point is. Horrible frame rate, Genesis quality sound, and "Meh" graphics will leave a bad taste in your mouth... Especially after the hype. A complete waste of great potential and a blemish on the gaming genre. Shame on you, Unreal Tech.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WHAT WHERE THEY THINKIMG!!!!!!!!!

posted by bigmike700 (HOWELL, NJ) Jan 31, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Straight up, this game was terrible! The fact that it could happen i believe, but just the way the game was played out was horrible.... to thoes who haven't played it yet, dont waste your time or money. thanks for listening

Mike

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

About What I Expected

posted by TheColonel (BLOOMFIELD, IN) Aug 14, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First of all, I heard this game was bad and I heard right. The aiming mechanics are the worst in any game I've ever played. You can be aiming at someone's head from 2ft away, shoot 5 times, and miss every time. There is no real direction in the game and it feels completely caotic. Whatever though, that's why I use GF...I've bought 1 too many games that I'm surprised anyone even released.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by coreymray (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Feb 2, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

the worse game ever made

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A New Twist

posted by drykill13 (GADSDEN, AL) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Usually I don't like WWII era games, this is a huge exception. The game play was pretty good though glitchy at times, but nothing that was worth making a big deal over. I love the plot and the story line, although I wish the main character had a bit more development as well as dialog. Over all it was a very good game that was just overshadowed by a larger release, but a good find none the less. Happy Gaming.

drykill13

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Like MOH, on PS

posted by templar877 (POQUOSON, VA) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I was very disapointed in the graphics. The game CONCEPT is quite interesting. Past that, it's like playing MOH on the Playstation with a bright ten year old writing the story line. Not to mention I beat the game in just under 6 hours. I feel if you're going to pay $50 for a game then they should at least spend a little money on decent writers, good game time, and graphics that can at least compete with the other games on the market.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

VERY UNDERRATED!!

posted by gamedog (SAN JOSE, CA) Jun 15, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented this game thinking it would be terrible, but i was suprised!! I didnt find any glitches or "black holes".... and the weapons were awsome. it was like Medal of Honor.
the wepons did take ages to kill someone and the enemies did look stupid, but so what!
it is also a short game, but once u start u cant stop. the achievements were fun to get also! MULTIPLAYER: No one playes this game, but i found a guy and we played for hours on end!! Overall, just try it i loved it and got 800 points!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I HATE this game

posted by RELLIKMIT (LEVITTOWN, PA) Jan 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Played for 30 mins, sealed it up and sent it back, It is the worst game I have ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horible

posted by baseruner (HAMDEN, CT) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

straight up this game is terible dont get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't get this game

posted by a2ndfamine (MAGGIE VALLEY, NC) Mar 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Wow. This game is not worth the price of the electricity used to run my 360 for the 15 minutes i played it. The graphics are choppy (i especially liked the shaking when i went down stairs) the plot is lame and overused, you can kill guys w/ a single elbow shot. If you make the grand mistake of backtracking, the characters usually freeze and stare at you. I really hated the "Magic Sniper button" that shows the location of enemy snipers even through walls! Wow. Bad. Awful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the worst game ever

posted by theman0789 (RACINE, WI) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i hate this game it takes for ever to load a gun hard to see the people running around bc their is so much gray and the enemies are gray to so it makes it vary hard to see and the gun is hard to keep aimed at the enemies it moves up when u shoot it... just vary hard to keep aimed ...and o0o ya the computer ppl are always in ur way or run in your way...to me this GAME JUST SUCKS....i would even waste my time putting in my system if i would have known that it would be so horrible....but ill leave it up to u to decide

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Game

posted by LaZNinja12 (AUGUSTA, ME) Aug 30, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the good side:

ummmm nope there is no good side. i thought there was nothing good about this game it was really sketchy. it reminds me of movies u see on the sci fi channel.

the bad side:

yeah there tons of things wrong with the game for one the graphics i mean to me it looked blocky idk about other people but to me it was also the controls were a bit confusing to me, and whats up with the special moves like for instance getting an achivement for giving a bad guy a swirly i mean really. oh and the guns were ok i guess still a bit cheezy reminds me of 2 games put together aka call of duty and wolfenstein.. all in all i say it was a horrible game but the storyline was understandable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Turned Off

posted by ormanB (MALDEN, MA) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Ok I guess I'm spoiled after playing Halo 3, Medal Of Honor and even the demo of Frontlines (more in another review)- I expect a lot.

Turning Point does not deliver. Its clunky, things like trying to climb are sketchy and the graphics are like and old Cinemaware game in fact it reminded me of Rocket Ranger without anything ground breaking...the soundtrack was blah...the voice acting marginal...

Are you getting the point that I was not impressed which is to bad because I was really looking forward to its release.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hot Garbage!

posted by Hagakurefl (SARASOTA, FL) Mar 4, 2008

Member since Dec 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Dont even bother with this one. Take the first medal of honor's graphics and story line then throw the German's into New York and WalaH! You have the same old garbage that Call of Duty realized was a dead trend brought back to life. I had it in the mailer before the night was done on the day it came in the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

$uxx0rs

posted by Neor19 (SAN LEANDRO, CA) Mar 16, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

13y |=412 +|-|3 \/\/012$+ 94/\/\3 /\/\4|)3 13 4 p0pu|412 u.$. (0/\/\p4|\|y !n 4
\/\/|-|!|3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse