Rent Turning Point: Fall of Liberty for PS3
view large frontback

Turning Point: Fall of Liberty

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.0

1819 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Clunky, slow, and boring.

posted by Phatslugga (FARMINGTON HILLS, MI) Jun 11, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Before getting into gameplay I would like to note that the graphics are pretty forgettable. The game felt like it was made 2 or 3 years ago. A well-designed game will have graphics that absorb you into the game, at points you may even forget you're playing a game. In Turning point, it's painfully obvious that you're playing a game the entire time. The game starts off like Red Dawn, Germans attacking New York while you're watching helplessly, but it feels very scripted. This intro to the game was compared to Call of Duty by many... it is NOWHERE near that epic. Call of Duty does a much better job involving you in the game and making you think that you're a part of what is going on. Turning Point is just mundane and linear to the point where you feel like it's a chore to play this game.

The gameplay... where do i start?

First off, the weapons are all very familiar and uninteresting. So you have your smg's your rifles and near the end you get some explosives. This is the case for many games, but Turning Point's mechanics for gunplay are just tiresome. When you shoot your enemies, it feels like you're not even hitting them, they sit there motionless shooting at you until they finally die and just slump over. In a good game, shooting an enemy in the leg will cause him to stumble, and wince in pain. It needs to be more animated to give the player a small type of reward for his success.

The level design as before mentioned is very linear. You go from point A to point B with almost no chance or reason to explore. There's almost always one straight-forward path you take to get to the end of the level. This is a style that most games abandoned, and the ones that kept it, did it well. This was not done well.

Setting it on a hard difficulty for a challenge. The AI doesn't get any better, they just shoot with 100% accuracy, and take a bit longer to die. Instead of making the game trickier or require more strategy, they just give the AI cheats. Not even worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Step In This One

posted by REVJR1 (ROANOKE, VA) Mar 19, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

36 out of 47 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I was foolish, so avoid my error and and don't waste a spot in your queue for this horrible mess of a game. This is what happens when I read reviews and decide that the harshest critics are just being grouchy. It's spelled D-E-N-I-A-L.

I don't know where to begin when describing the flaws of this title, so I'll keep it short and bitter. First and foremost - the best HD set in the world won't rescue you from the bland, untextured environments that look like storyboard sketches someone in video game design school threw into his trashcan. The characterization is truly atrocious: blotchy, dough-faced people who might as well be stick figures for their lack of detail, and who move with a stiff jerky gait. The voiceovers sound completely scripted and lackluster. About the only half-decent features are the control scheme, which is easy enough, and some of the sound effects (air raid sirens, explosions), but unfortunately, they're not enough to redeem it. What aggravates me is that Turning Point was on my short list of games I had been anticipating for many months. It's just another insanely overpromoted title, interesting in concept, pitiful in development. It's supposed to compel you to a "what if" pondering of history, but it only makes you ask yourself: "What if all game publishers realized that it's 2008, not 1998?"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolutely Horrible

posted by yluhstak (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 29, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

15 out of 21 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I picked up this game a couple of days ago, played it for a few hours and traded it in the next day. Everything is wrong about this title.

The graphics look awful. Yes, the textures are high resolution, but the way they are implemented, with shading and the like, makes the look (especially uniforms) tacked on and lifeless. Explosions look fake and are not confined to rooms that they occur in.

The AI is horrid. Soldiers will just stand there or even face the other way. The animation on NPC looks like a rather poor marionette act. The model of the main character is also poorly animated.

The controls are clanky. Areas where one must stand to interact with the environment are very small, which makes for a frustrating experience. The grappling aspect is an interesting novelty but gets old quickly and doesn't serve much of a purpose.

The way the game is presented, one would think that it was one of the first games for PS3; rushed and horrible but showing the fact that the system can handle some nice textures. The fact is that even the games that came out right when the system did looked much better than this; even the xbox ports. To think that this title came out months after... Completely inexcusable.

The horrible graphics and game play maybe could be remedied by a really good story. Are they? NO. The story is not well done at all. The main character is not introduced or developed. He is some construction guy that gets caught up in the war. Before you know it, you are fighting along side real soldiers and their officers (who you've never met) know who you are. Mind you this happens less than an hour into the game (which means less than an hour into the character's experience). And the whole premise of an alternate reality where something else happens in WWII is soooooo tired. It has been used again and again starting with C&C Red Alert in the mid nineties.

All in all, the game does not have even one good thing about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Potential for a great game wasted

posted by GFR013 (MERRIFIELD, VA) Apr 27, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2004

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Let me begin by saying this is a short, largely forgettable game. Unfortunately this seems to be a trend with FPSs recently, or maybe it is just the ones I'm renting (overall with Blacksite: Area 51, Soldier of Fortune: Payback and this it has been a pretty bad week for gaming :( ). The graphics and sound are acceptable, although there are some clipping problems (which can actually be amusing at times), but they are definitely not up to this gen's standard in my opinion. Also the AI can be weak at times, occasionally you end up standing next to an enemy that is not reacting to you, on the flip side you will be lining up a sniper shot and the enemy is moving around all over the place (I have not seen Nazis dance this much since The Producers ;)). It also does one thing I hate in FPSs, resetting of weapons at the beginning of a level without my input :( Despite all this, overall it is not that it is an unplayable game, the question is whether or not you actually want to play it. There is nothing here that has not been done before.

Frankly, the full potential of the story never seems to be realized to give it a truly unique flavor. The only thing it does that you do not usually find in FPSs is add in some "adventure" game aspects, going hand to hand over pipes to get from one balcony to another for example. While doing this one time it occurred to me, given the subject matter, it would have been better to make this an adventure game, or maybe even a full RPG. If they had gone that route they could have explored the alternate history (which is the whole point of the game in the first place) a lot more than what was done. As a shooter there's just not enough to keep it interesting, maybe that's why it is so short ;)

The bottom line is if you just have to play all shooters go ahead, add it to the queue, and blow an evening knocking it off (5-6 hours). If you are not that attached to shooters though you will probably want to give this one a pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Attack of the Assault blimps...

posted by jsllewel (GAITHERSBURG, MD) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Does it really matter that assault blimps seem ridiculous? I guess codemasters didn't think so.


Even if you get outside of the impossible / problematic things that occur in the this game, when you come down to it the game play and graphics stink!


Usually, I am always willing to let a game push the limits on the realm of possibilities. However Turning Point sets a new low for bad. It doesn't even compare to every other shooter that has come out on PS3. It is by far the worst I've played. I sat there playing the game, and started wondering if anybody at the developer really thought this would be good. They should really consider the food service industry after this.


Don't even get me started about the graphics. It makes me wonder if they just tried to code for the PS2. There's no reason that this game should be dropping the frame rate for such poor quality graphics.


Overall, it could very likely be the worst game of 2008. There are so many good games coming out this year. Don't even bother renting it. Just keep COD4, heck just get RFOM or anything else and you'll be much happier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Good idea, poor execution

posted by DCVegas (FORT MYERS, FL) Mar 15, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was really excited about this title because of the idea behind it.. however upon playing it i was sorely disappointed... it was obviously rushed to release... a poor choice because with the story this game could have had, combined with some killer 3rd gen graphics, it could have been a blockbuster... choppy play and a "nothing new" 1st person medal of honor style interface added to the disappointment... i felt like i had already played this game a thousand times before... booooo

D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

turning point fall of liberty

posted by leeb419 (BLOOMDALE, OH) Mar 11, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is not too bad. I didn't like the small choice of weapons and the graphics were not great. It seemed like a very short game. When it was over I was thinking "No, there must be more.?" There is no clifhanger, but there is really no climax. It just ends. It was not all bad I did have fun playing this game. It's weak on blood (boooo), but still a fun game to try. I would say it's a good game if you are waiting on something to come out. Just rent it. You'll have fun and you'll beat it with no trouble.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

AWFUL! STAY AWAY!

posted by Eradicator (CLEARFIELD, UT) Mar 4, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This has to be one of the worst PS3 Games I have ever played. Even the worst PS2 game! The graphics were awful, the gameplay is slow, and everything about it looked cheap. When you shoot an enemy they just slump over in a weird way, it is the same animation every time. The controls are slow and there are no objectives that help you navigate to where you are supposed to go. You wander around aimlessly sometimes trying to stand in the right position before it triggers the game to proceed. I would suggest not even wasting a rental on this awful game. It looks like they slapped it together from a PS1 game and decided to put the PS3 logo on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

liked it

posted by minutemen1 (ELKHART, IN) Mar 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

When I got the game every thing about it was great. I loved the human shield the instant kill. The only bad thing about this game is that it only has 11 levels which is so easy to beat. But I would get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A different prospective

posted by ebook32 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 10, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What if the events that take place in the game were real, how would things be now, that's what codemasters is trying to get across to us; the gamer. I like to give them credit at least for trying. This game is getting a lot of bad reviews, but I think people are just not giving the game a chance. Play it and have fun with it, remember it's just a game, there were times I just wanted to quit, but then I would remind myself, I'm just renting this game. Bottom line rent the game and finish it; it's fun, but don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

TURNING POINT FALL OF LIBERTY

posted by GAMCritic2 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Oct 7, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had played but not beat the game TURNING POINT. POSITIVE: this game is SOOOOO COOOOOL!! The graphics are AWSOME! The world war 2 weapons are cool. This game also includes multiplayer. I really dont anything negative to say about this game & I disagree with all the negative comments. This game is AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

real big E307 upset

posted by johnmichae (EL PASO, TX) Mar 18, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

turning point fall of liberty is the worst game in the world. The weapons suck the soldiers dont die if you shoot them in the head.entertainment is so bad you could buy a dora game and get better entertainment.The soldiers dont die if you shoot them they just stand there like nothing happend so you kill them by meele atacks if I wanted to play a game where i hit people I would get fight night.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Big letdown

posted by neechevo (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Mar 4, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm not going to lie, in terms of shooters I'm fairly easy to please. Also, I was very excited to play this game since the idea was really interesting. In short, I should have been thrilled by this game.

But it is bad, not so-so...bad. The game constantly froze for a few seconds during fights. The fighters do the same thing over and over. The worst part though is the graphics...I mean, this isn't a launch title so it shouldn't look like a PS2 game, but it does.

I tried to play it just because I thought it was a great idea, but it's not enough. This game really could have done something cool, but instead it's a really big letdown.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

more natzis

posted by Jedi9mm (POTTSVILLE, PA) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I found the game too much like a regular shooter.
Nothing made it stand out or was over excitting about this title.The cut scenes are nice some of the actions were cool but the game play was slowthe firing in the game was off and then we have the main thing that turned me off the lack of movement .I felt restricted as if I was playing a Ps1 game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Much needed game.

posted by bulldawg76 (HINESVILLE, GA) Mar 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

First the graphics and game play are almost equal to Call of Duty 4. The artificial intelligence for the enemies is great. If you have to redo a checkpoint the enemy will change its tactics to kill you. The controls are easy to learn and use and the grapple function adds to the game play. I would and do recommend this game not only as a rent but also as a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

this game angered me more then any other

posted by MrMunk (KENDALLVILLE, IN) Aug 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i try to be completely unbiased when writing reviews for games, but this game had me literally screaming at my TV. im gonna try to make this short and sweet (bitter, that is). the game's concept had alot of promise and potential, yet the execution on nearly all elements fell very short. the graphics were better then PS2 (not much), but was very choppy and glitchy (similar to Oblivion). the gameplay had interesting adventure elements (using wires and pipes to traverse gaps) and grappling with enemies to finish them off or use them as human shields, but the execution turned out to be more difficult. there were many times where i would either run out of ammo or just couldnt hit the enemy for some reason (yet he was able to continue shooting me), and when i ran to him to grapple, i couldnt. i think theres only 6 weapons available in this game (far fewer then id rather have).
summary: if you have nothing better to do, a few hours to kill, or just no other game to play, this game could pose a bit of fun, but i would never recommend this game for a buy, its just not that good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Average rating is wrong

posted by hardtosayx (COATESVILLE, PA) May 4, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

To see that the average rating for this game is deceiving. The game is at least an 8. I wouldn't say it's quite close to Rainbow Six Vegas or Resistance, in my opinion. But it's a good game. Starting out I thought... eh, it's an average game, not a keeper. But as I got a bit further I realized it's actually pretty hard. You can die a little too easily, but I guess that's what happens when you have granades and rocket launcers coming at you.

Checkpoints are pretty easy to get to. The game is a challege to an extent. I recommend this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible...Shameful

posted by samuelc (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I can't believe what a terrible game this turned out to be. How is it possible that these companies are still producing these horrible games on such a powerful system like the PS3? How can you give us a game like CoD4 then allow this piece of garbage to be sold as a next generation game? This game was pathetic and there is no other nicer way to put it. This game should not be bought or even rented we as consumers must send the developers a message that we will not put up with a substandard product and pay premium prices for that product.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

stay away

posted by ANGEL99PR (KISSIMMEE, FL) Mar 4, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is so bad, that when u play it u ask your self,how in the world sony allowed this game to come out for the ps3? turning back: fall of a game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Borrowed Technology from the early 90's!

posted by clucku1 (ONTARIO, CA) Mar 2, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This game was so disappointing! While the story line could have set up for a great game, it was matched up to horrible game play. I felt more like they went back and borrowed technology from Pitfall and Wolfenstien. I have not seen graphics this bad, since PS1 games. Nothing good about it at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game

posted by etnies911 (AVON PARK, FL) Mar 4, 2008

Member since Apr 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible from the minute i started playing it was boring if you don't move to the right place you will never start the game.graphics stink this game was not next gen it seems like a bunch of two year olds made it. it is super clunky the a.i is dumb you can walk up 2 most enemies and they will never hit you with a bullet. this game is plain out boring and ridiculous i feel for who wasted there hard earned money$$$ on this game.this game should be recalled!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just Sad

posted by Chris00786 (SWARTZ CREEK, MI) Mar 4, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I recived this 3 days after release, 5mins in the game froze. had to kill the power on ps then when i tried to play agan about 30min into game i get Error reading disk please wait... had to exit agan , but from what i played i can say controls are sloppy no intro video and it lacks a radar...
i was hyped about this game ive always liked WW2 shooters but this was just a big disappointment

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fall of Liberty

posted by thefootballfan (FORT MYERS, FL) Oct 8, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Great Idea and Plot. But I think that they need more levels and better garphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible

posted by RushRules (STERLING HEIGHTS, MI) Apr 8, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

I rented this a while ago, around when it came out. The graphics were ok, nothing special. But the game play was just uninteresting. Not recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ok

posted by joshboff (PALM COAST, FL) Jan 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

this is a ok game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse