Rent Tropico 4 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tropico 4

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.5

1330 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love, Love, Love.

posted by freednerd (STONE MOUNTAIN, GA) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2007

25 out of 25 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was a big fan of Tropico 3, while it took a while to learn and was a little 'convoluted' in some of the controls. This version is much like Tropico 3, but it seems like they have improved on some of the control issues and made it much easier to learn with a very useful tutorial. Over all, it hasn't changed that much since the last version but it is still very enjoyable. If you have not played older versions, then it may still take a while to catch on, but I find it addicting. I bought this out right because I knew I would like it- but if you have never played before it is certainly worth a rent before you buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

LOVE this game, minor setbacks though...

posted by thunderbird103 (LA VERGNE, TN) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let's start out with a simple summary of the game: Tropico is a strategic city-building game , you take role as " El Presidente " the ruler ( Or dictator in some cases :D ). You build a country in the Carribean called Tropico. The time set there is 1950's - 2000 you can set how many years you can rule that is the max though. OK , onto the REAL review. A real Tropico series fan knows that owning and building this country requires patience and consistency. With Tropico 4 , they add 10 new maps and 20 new buildings. Now you may think ... That it? Well, yeah it is but I guess it was enough to hold us off until the DLC arrived and it was. But , 20 new buildings? I was expecting a little more actually all Tropico 4 is , is a version of Tropico 3 with a little better graphics , new maps and new buildings. All in all, THAT'S IT!
Pro's:
+ New maps
+ New buildings
+ A tad better graphics
+ New soundtrack
+ Better natural disasters such as Tornadoes, Droughts, etc

Con's:
- No more Juanito on the famous Tropico radio
- W/O DLC this game gets boring after you beat the missions and some sandbox mode sessions.
- Not much difference Comparing and Contrasting
Tropico 3 and 4.
- Not enough buildings
- Was expecting new features, guess not though :(

FINAL THOUGHTS:
This game is a definitely a RENT. But if you are looking to keep it , you might wanna extra 20-30 bucks for DLC such as modern times, bonus pack ( which adds new maps ) , etc

FINAL RATING : 8.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sim City with PC humor

posted by DRS (OGDEN, UT) Jul 23, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm a big Tropico fan and 4 just adds to the legacy. Would give 10 except it can be kind of buggy. Well worth it. Be prepared to lose track of time and play for 5 hours and only think its been 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVE THIS GAME

posted by KINGK9 (SALEM, OR) Mar 31, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

i really dont know why or how but i can not get enough of this game!! the humor in this game is really funny, i love the weird llama bits lol. If you were a fan or even liked tropico 3 than this is a must have. it is more or less more tropico 3 but better. this game series is just GREAT. if you wont to take a break from all the shooters like i do than this is a great game to just calm down and enjoy a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun but the same

posted by austin7 (MIAMI, FL) Oct 22, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

if you played tropico 3 you played tropico 4 the game has essentialy the same graphics and the same layout but its still super fun i personally loved tropico 3 and i loved tropico 4 basically all they did was give the options a new skin and give you some more edicts but there are a ton more buildings to make and the game is more directive now by giving you leaders of factions to tell you what to do to please them this adds more control over you which might hinder some but it gives you more goals in the game to do which is awesome personally id say rent the game play it to your hears content and if your a hardore sim city lover buy it cause this one is fun :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

recommended

posted by gameviewer (WINTER GARDEN, FL) Oct 27, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I rented this game because it looked liked civilization revolution. I totally recommend it. Civilization revolution was cartoony and this is better in every way. So rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

only gotten up to level 6 but....

posted by RwcSaint (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

its a pretty cool game, i never played this before except for the Demo so i looked it up and read reviews saying that its kind of like RollerCoaster Tycoon and i thought it would be but its not what i expected. Ive only made it to level 6 in the campaign and its pretty much the same thing over and over buld and establish and win the mission then get another and start all over again, would have been cool if i could continue to progress in the campaign by remaining in the same same city/country/island but instead i had to start all over again. Not to mention the people in Tropico nag way to much about things even though they are there or not either way they are never happy (idk if i suck or what but its annoying having to build three hospitals and 5 police stations and 30 churches just to improve the sections quality and yes i exaggerated a bit), i find myself just rushing to beat the mission and getting it over with.

Overall:
good game if you barely play, or if you beat a mission and get off after, but its pretty much the same thing and tropico citizens would never be happy in campaign at least

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by yo0885 (WESTERNPORT, MD) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

great game but when i played it i really couldn't continuously play it for hours. Tropico 4 is a huge improvement from tropico 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun&Boring

posted by BMarcus89 (SOUTHAMPTON, PA) Oct 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

its an okay game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not all that great

posted by ashanks2004 (PALO CEDRO, CA) Oct 15, 2014

Member since Dec 2012

I recently bought this game looking for a fun life simulation. But this game was a bit dull. I haven't played the game much, but I already know that the controls are absolutely convoluted. I did not know how to hire and fire. To me, it wasn't all that fun. It might be if I play it longer, but really, if you think it looks good, rent it. No one is stopping you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Gets boring fast, pc version better

posted by FaylinaMeir (OMAHA, NE) Jun 19, 2014

Member since Jun 2011

This game is worth a rent if you're a fan of the Tropico series, however as someone who used to play the older ones on the PC, this one kinda falls flat. Firstly, the controls are inverted which kinda makes me crazy. Ie, push right to turn camera left, go down to make it pan up.... I hate that.
It also gets boring quickly, after you do the tutorial and maybe the first scenario, thats really all there is to it, unlike other Tropico games where you're limited to what you can build early on (you work into it), this one isn't like that so I had built most of the buildings in the first scenario.
I'm glad I tried it, but it fell flat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best one yet!!!

posted by Dren_Addams (NEW YORK, NY) Jun 5, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Pros- easier to keep track of the whole island by means of statistics page...its funner to play...music is better.. if you add the DLC content it makes the game 10Xbetter, voice overs are better, the gun fights are funny to watch. overall this is an improvement to its predecessors.

cons- requires a lot of time and patience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better on the PC

posted by jaguar7676 (TITUSVILLE, FL) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Nov 2004

This game screams for a mouse!!! I love the Tropico Series and this one is fun as the rest. Just not happy using with using an Xbox controller

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Worth renting

posted by The_Equinox (CORVALLIS, MT) Mar 6, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Its above average, at lest from what I expect from this type a game. Its worth renting if you got a lot of time on your hands, as it takes a while to beat any mission, even if its not that hard. I've only completed a few missions and its already getting tedious. It also feels like a remake of Tropico 3, with a couple of things different.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I love this game!

posted by wwpmmedianet (PANA, IL) Feb 22, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Would love it a little more if Gamefly made it available for sale.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

want to buy

posted by mustybutt (PORTLAND, OR) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

would love to buy this for my grandson, he loves it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Are You A Rebel?

posted by EnigmaticMind (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Because if you're into city builders and you don't like this game you are treasonous. The game let's you become "El Presidente" the all powerful ruler of tropico. In your rule you can exercise your power to help your people or rule by force. The game throws humor in a lot of the time, and while there not Laugh till you lungs hurt funny they do entertain you. The latin music makes you want to dance and the graphics are enjoyable. The game adds politicts to the city building aspect and allows you to pass laws and if you wish have people executed. Citizens of your island nation are all different. There are intelligent people, stupid people, brave people and cowards who all have different political groups they side with. The sees you pleasing your people or surrounding them with soldiers to deter uprising and rebellion, as well as keeping on the good side of the U.S. or U.S.S.R (unless your country has a nuke) so that you aren't invaded.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tropico 4 is highly addictive

posted by Spinal (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

I started this game without realizing how addicting it was.

Highly fun! Some of the missions are kind of long but overall the game is worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Haven't recieved game

posted by jpfister55 (THURMONT, MD) Jun 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Need help with where to send message of game not coming in mail

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's a Great Game ..... The First Play

posted by casmouse (MARTINEZ, CA) Jun 21, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

This game has lots of good qualities of this genre, but the playability is one playthrough. After you do everything once it's not fun to do it again, because almost everything you did in one campaign will happen again in the next.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Tropico 4

posted by SistaKnight1318 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jun 8, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I got confused at times on how to do some things like cancelling the job slots in one of the tasks. this really hung me up, so I couldn't complete the tutorial. If I couldn't complete the tutorial, how was I going to get through the game? They should've made it a little easier I think. I couldn't figure out how to get back to the info on how to cancel the job slots, and when I finally did one time, it failed, I would cancel a worker by mistake. So much for fun with this game. Tears!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by xmattxrules (NORFOLK, VA) May 30, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

This is one of the most addicting games I have ever played. I never really liked games like SimCity or anything of that nature, but Tropico rules.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too Hard

posted by Duane1344 (COLUMBUS, TX) Apr 19, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I have a 30 inch television, and could not read any of the text on the screen. I also found that the game is quite challenging. I did not like building a city in the middle of nowhere. I would have liked to build a city somewhere that isn't on an island in the middle of the ocean...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

sloppy programming

posted by Rabbitleggys (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 7, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

I was very much looking forward to playing this game, but the invert look setting doesn't invert. Actually doesn't seem to do anything at all… very frustrating. I checked out the game a bit anyway. The interface is a bit clunky, but it might be fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Still a good game.

posted by will602080 (BRANDON, MS) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

It is quite obvious that this was designed to me a computer game. How ever, it is still a really fun game on the console if you don't have a good game computer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse