Rent Tropico 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tropico 3

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.5

3259 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Takes some time so have patience

posted by Noodlz247 (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

104 out of 116 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

First of all, this game is actually a really good game. Very entertaining and very addicting to play. Its basically a mix of the sims and sim city. Every single person has their own stats and moods (ex. hunger, religion, happiness, etc.) and as long as you keep building the necessary buildings and meeting the certain criteria you will be just fine.

When I started I was absolutely horrible and if it wasnt for the U.S. giving me money i would of failed in no time. unfrotunately i failed anyways but once you get the controls and learn everything this game is a blast to play

PROS
-Graphics are cool
-Pretty Realistic
-Game plays some fiesta music which is always fun lol
-You get to be a dictator (who doesnt wanna be a dictator)
-Really addicting and makes time fly so you better hope you have no schedule

CONS
-Very hard to Master
-You need patience
-At first your gonna get mad
-Than your gonna get even more mad
-But than your gonna like it

So overall i gave this game an eight. This game is really cool though. you can send out secret police and raise or lower wages. very realistic. If your good with strategy than this game is deffinately for you. If not than this game is worth a rent for a while and hopefully you will love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tropico 3 is epic!

posted by theMIKErul (KATY, TX) Jul 11, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

22 out of 25 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

The game is very slow in the beginning, but once you get your economy going the game turns out to be very fun and enjoyable! I normally don't like games like games like this, but i played it at a friends house and was hooked from there on out! id give it a 10 out of 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An underrated and woefully unavailable game

posted by Vamphaery (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Feb 24, 2010

Member since May 2009

39 out of 47 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Pros: A true simulation with NPCs that have needs and desires that they actively attempt to fulfill.
Complexity is offset by a still daunting but nevertheless accessible tutorial.
Plenty of variety and options for players to experiment with and customize their governing/building style.
Excellent graphics for this kind of game.
Memorable, unobtrusive, appropriate music sets the mood.
Sandbox mode.
Retains the spirit, basic gameplay, and premise of the Tropico of old, while introducing plenty of new features and tweaks to the game mechanics that today's gamers no doubt expect and demand.
A next gen update to a beloved classic done well.
Great for both brief and lengthy play sessions.
A lot of fun once you overcome the learning curve.
Cons: May be too complex for those who lack patience.
More online functionality would be nice.
The camera at times makes positioning some buildings on certain terrain cumbersome (this is not frequent and it isn't that big of a deal when it does occur. Just a slight source of frustration.)
Otherwise lush graphics are marred by noticeable jaggies (though these are still by far the best graphics you'll see in a game of this sort.)
The duration of the game - while you can save and resume at your leisure - may be too great for some players' tastes (though if you enjoy the game itself I can't see why this should be a real issue.)
Other Thoughts: It is a crying shame that because retailers see Tropico 3, as its distributor Kalypso media put it, as a game that "would not be profitable for them," retail availability for this gem is unacceptably low unless you order it online. If you played the original Tropicos and loved them, or if you love Tropico 3, you owe it to yourself and to the hobby of gaming to let your local retailers know you want them to stock this game. It deserves your support, and unlike many AAA titles, really needs it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Finally Enjoyable

posted by Vyyk78 (NASHVILLE, TN) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

This game is not for the casual gamer. The tutorial is very weak, and it thows out icons over a building and never tells you what it means. I completed the game and still have no idea what a sun over a building means. There is also, as of recently, no walkthroughs or guides to help you, so you'll be on your own. I believe you can download the instructional booklet, that may have been a good idea.

But after I got past the steep learning curve, I really did enjoy the game. I liked the scenarios where you had a certain objective to meet (maxing out your swiss bank account, peoples happiness over 65 [tough!], 500k+ in exports, etc). It can be unforgiving, and you can't change the difficulty.

The music was fun at first, but it got old after a while. They really should have tripled the number of songs it played.

The voice acting was above average, though repetitive sometimes.

There were a few quirky logical problems that should have been found in QA. i.e. I had three cathedrals on an island, but they docked me 20 religious respect because I did not have a church on the island. Lots of little bugs like that.

Those are all just minor items that detract from an overall enjoyable game. If you like Sims City Builder, but want more of a militarist flavor, get this game. It was well worth the 25 hours or so I put into it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Being a Dictator is hard Work!

posted by ssjgoku80 (POMPTON LAKES, NJ) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Presentation-8.5
Never played the original Tropico. Was very interested in seeing the transition from PC to console and it does a great job giving you the feel of Revolution.
Graphics-8
The jungle locations are beautiful and the atmospheric effects are very nice but the framerate drops at time whcih can make it frustrating.
Sound-8
The music and sound effects bring the world to life and you'll love the comments made from the people as well as the radio stations.
Gameplay-8.5
You'll have a lot of flexibility and choice. Tropico 3 adds an intriguing political element to the city builder.
Lasting Appeal-8
The ability to play "Dictator" gives you the freedom to make real decidions without any risk of real assasination. Different challanges and achievements gives you a reason for multiple playthroughs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Has to be your type of game

posted by PIEEEEEEE (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

30 out of 46 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

If you are impatient,can't see tiny letters or hate getting invaded,stop now,don't even finish reading this review. I lost 3 times already trying to get the strategy right. It's a fun game,but it's almost not worth it because of how complex it is.My advice DO THE TUTORIAL!!!!!!!!If I hadn't done the tutorial I would have returned it by now,but because I used the tutorial I have an awesome metropolis.Good...Once you get the hang of it you do everything it says you can,which is everything. Bad...need to do tutorial,brutal controls,get invaded alot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Almost awesome

posted by Foxxbird (ERIE, PA) Sep 12, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Tropico 3 was a well-designed game with detailed mechanics and numerous strategical approaches to similar problems. At first, I was enveloped in a way I haven't experienced since the early days of SimCity.

Then the bugs started showing up.

There are no fewer than five different ways to freeze the game, each caused by events that are not under the player's control. There is also a bug which can corrupt your save file if your city is above 500 citizens (normal population in most missions). The game's producers seem to have given up on fixing these game-breaking errors, and after losing five or six games I had been playing for hours, I gave up on them. I am truly disappointed, as Tropico was clearly cut out to be one of the best-crafted sim games I have seen, but any seasoned gamer will agree that missions that take 3-4 hours to beat absolutely cannot be subjected to frequent freezes and file corruption.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is not good it was awsome

posted by Giants123 (MIAMI, FL) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

18 out of 36 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has everything that you will be looking it never gets boring and you should buy it ten times because

1. It has awsome graphics
2. It has an excellent story
3. Supirior custimation

Overall: This is a must buy game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tropico 2 is more of the same, but BETTER

posted by Atreidi (PHARR, TX) Mar 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you played the first one on the PC you will be instantly familiar with this sequel. The game mechanics and flow are are exactly the same. You have the same buildings (a couple of new ones), same objectives, and same game play. The only changes worth mentioning are the improved graphics, edicts options and much smoother game play. Although this game is very similar to the first one, it is in essence a new experience. Its got charming music and funny dialogs.

Game Highlights:

Great Graphics
Online Challenges
Smooth Game-play
Funny Dialogs
Varied difficulty levels

Negative Points:

Low Replay Value (Repetitive Game Play)
Not Enough Buildings

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Unfriendly to the Color Blind

posted by Variand (LARGO, FL) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

First off: I'm color blind. It took me nearly 2 straight minutes to start a new game because I couldn't tell what was highlighted. There is little contrast in the highlighted regions. If you're color blind or just Color Deficient: These menus will tick you off.

As far as the game goes. It's a great premise. And it can be entertaining, but I found too many small flaws to be completed sold on this game.

1) Menus like before are nearly impossible for color blind people to navigate.
2) Menus are slow to respond and can be rather unintuitive.
3) Campaign missions can be challenging but generally seem pointless compared to just sandbox play.
4) Your personal avatar while fun to have is pretty much negligible and will be mostly ignored. It's only actually useful skills are improving a places service quality (minimally), speeding up construction of buildings (marginably), and giving a speech from your palace which gives you a respect boost (hardly noticeable). So you'll spend most of your time ignoring your character and treating it like any other "God Game"
5) You get to have a "swiss bank account" which is pretty much your own personal retirement fund... that serves no purpose other than for achievements.

It does have good graphics for the genre, deep and complex game mechanics, including around 10 difference "Happiness Factors" ranging from healthcare, job quality, housing quality, food, entertainment, rest, etc... And one thing that I actually found enjoyable to learn the game a little easier, a "God Mode" in sandbox that gives you massive amounts of starting cash, no rebellions, no losing conditions, etc.

Final Verdict: If you are a fan of this genre, this is a great game but it is NOT a war RTS. You have no control over military forces.

However, if you're Color Blind like me, or dont have the time or patience to spend on learning the quirks of tropicans, you may wish to pass this one up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by Bublay (OROVILLE, WA) Mar 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a great city managing game and will provide you with days and days of fun. The graphics are good and the music will keep you happy (although it gets a little annoying) and there are lots of choices for how you run your island you can be all industry, you can focus on more of tourist attractions, or you can be a complete self contained. Its all your choice. Only problem i found with it and i dont know about anybody else but with the tv that i had the text for anything is unbeilievably hard to read. But that doesnt take away from the game that much and this is one you should definetly rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Warning to plasma TV owners

posted by MrRoberts (MEDFORD, WI) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

The game itself is fun when it's working. I experienced a major bug in the game when playing the one of the campaign islands. The game locked up for about a minute and when it unfroze the menus were inaccessible. I had to return to the Xbox 360 lobby and restart the game. That was unusually because I've played the PC version of Tropico 3 extensively without any problems. The much more significant defect in the game I noticed when I tried watching a movie after having played the game for probably 10 hours total the prior couple days. The area where the menu displays on the screen is apparently completely static and doesn't move. The image of the menu was burned-in to my plasma tv screen. I don't understand how you can develop a game for a console system and not handle the burn-in issue. I have played X360 games for over two years, some games a LOT, and I have never had another game burn anything into my screen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Only Played The Demo And I Brought It Right Away

posted by Vertikle (HOPE MILLS, NC) Feb 21, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

This game was so good I played the demo and liked the game and yes it has small writing but that's the only Con I can see. Difficulty is a good thing it's not present in alot of games nowadays. I get this game tommorow and can not wait I love city building games and especially ones like this where some humor is involved. Also, for the ones saying Che was a killer and mass murder we already know this if you know history but the game itself is a city building game not some kind of rally for communism. Take politics somewhere else stop trying to put your ideals of politics in a game and score it bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

aspiring 'Just Cause' map editor

posted by DrAssinine (KILN, MS) Mar 13, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game is fun, bottom line. If you ever spent hours playing SimCity, etc., or RollerCoaster Tycoon or anything like that, then you will definitely enjoy this game.
Although... I do have some problems with it.

The maps are too confining to build the elaborate city-scapes I envisioned.
There is no option to blast a troublesome mountain out of the way(or build tunnels through said mountain).
There are not nearly enough building types, and they don't improve with the progression of time.
I can't NAME my establishments... that's not cool.
I can't walk or drive around at street level (big fantasy)
...and the public transit system is horrible.

Yes the game is fun!... The concept is great, but I think the effort would have been better spent turning this into a map editor for Just Cause... now THAT would be awesome. Designing city areas for dude to paraglide around? Yeah. That would be sweet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

very small almost unreadable writing

posted by wcgbraves (KATHLEEN, GA) Feb 21, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

10 out of 25 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this game has very small almost unreadable writing. I struggled reading what the text was saying majority of the time. I would recommend avoiding this game unless you have a large screen tv.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cant Read!

posted by Vice12 (EDMOND, OK) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

8 out of 26 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

If you dont have a nice high-def TV you cant read any of the words! And you cant play if you cant read the words!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Relaxing game

posted by NikSRB (VALPARAISO, IN) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Its a great game even with some of the cons. If you enjoy city building games this is good. Caesar 3 was a little easier to control and understand but Tropico 3 is a nice change.

Controls are a little difficult and some issues of freezing and saves not loading. Situations become repetitive after a few different replays.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tropico 3

posted by Bachman (WHITE STONE, VA) Jun 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

When I received this game, I was excited about it. I had read about it in the reviews, but when I started to play it, I was upset. It is impossible to read anything on the screen to play the game. I would never get this game, and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

this game is ok but does attend to get boring

posted by canaday (TULSA, OK) Feb 20, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 15 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

this is an ok game to play for a while it does get boring as you play it but at least it`s a step in the right direction for sim type games all this makes me wonder is how long before they bring a redone sims 1 2 3 sims pets 1 and 2 and other sims games on over to xbox 360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Very good game, very bad bugs.

posted by Agykoo (GLENSIDE, PA) Feb 5, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Let me start by saying this is a very fun and addicting game. However the amount of game breaking bugs I faced where unacceptable. I was truly hoping for a patch for this game after so long, however there was none.

The 2 Big bugs I faced where that after a certain size any attempt to load a game will not work. meaning that most levels have to be done in one sitting. The 2nd bug was that even just playing if my island got to a certain size it would begin to freeze up and no longer load pages for things such as building or edicts.

Without those 2 game breaking bugs I would easily give this game a 10. But sadly I cannot due to these 2 game breaking bugs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tropico 3

posted by Shadow_Walker (RUTHERFORDTON, NC) Sep 11, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I thought the game was pretty fun.If you like Sim City you will like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Simulation City!

posted by nstarr2 (FORT MYERS, FL) Sep 3, 2012

Member since May 2012

This is a great game, but it requires a long learning curve. Much like most of the simulation games, you have to mine for minerals, grow food . . . keep the people happy! :-) If you have the time, then this is a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

TROPICO 3

posted by hfkjhgrhgjhfjgh (CLEVELAND, TX) Jul 31, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game is fun at first but after a while it gets boring.Not really my cup of tea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tropico 3

posted by nNiuqq (LINDEN, MI) Jan 9, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

I find myself constantly yelling at this game, screaming because for some reason the Soviet Union decided to invade my island. However, I love this game. I greatly enjoy simulation games. For PC gamers, it's a more difficult version of Sim City. This game is worth the rent, and probably worth the buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Games Like This....

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Jan 1, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

Don't do well with hand held controllers. Even with the tutorial, I really struggled with this game to the point of frustration and sending it back in short order. That's a shame because I really like this type of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse